EnglishGermanFrenchRussianItalianSpanish
Log inRegister
 
doubleshadow's X3 Editor (0.15 - patch 2.0 compatible)
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 19, 20, 21, 22  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
doubleshadow





Joined: 12 Mar 2004
Posts: 671 on topic
Location: Czech Republic, Prague
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 25. Apr 07, 10:12    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Laureati wrote:
Great tool doubleshadow. Been working on my own mod and it's been really easy to use. I'd like to make a request though. Would you add support on it for the Sounds.pck file?

Took me awhile to figure out but finally managed to unpack that file with the x2tool.exe file. Would be great if I could access it using your editor instead.

Cheers,
keep up the good work.


You may as well use X3MM to extract the file. There's not way to add propper support for such files (sounds, ware lists, videos) in X3E. Without the comments, you would be totally lost Smile And I think that such files are better to edit in text editor anyway (of course not in Notepad...).

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeonSamurai





Joined: 02 Jun 2006
Posts: 64 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
modified
PostPosted: Sat, 21. Jul 07, 22:05    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Edited: Nevermind i see the missle file layout changed since i was last modding.

But i did find a problem with editing Tshields. For shield efficiency it wont let me put a decimal value (0.00) and insists on whole numbers only. Not a big deal though as i can just edit that by hand easily enough.



Last edited by NeonSamurai on Sun, 29. Jul 07, 17:04; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wesley Franken





Joined: 08 Aug 2006
Posts: 86 on topic
Location: Houten, The Netherlands
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Tue, 24. Jul 07, 20:50    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

He,

I have a question, why is it not possible to change Tships files and all the other T-files in the XTM 0.7.2?? with the XTM 0.7 it was possible.

Greetings,
Wes

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Algoran





Joined: 05 Apr 2006
Posts: 405 on topic
Location: Perth, Fourecks
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 28. Jul 07, 08:10    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Hi, I dont know much about modding and things, but what im trying to do is fix the khaak ship models (the nose triangle disappearing when viewed up close) and i read somewhere else (http://forum.egosoft.com/viewtopic.php?t=165613&highlight=khaak+triangle+fix) that it just requires one number in one of the model files in the cat03 file to be changed.

I understand doubleshadow's program is the thing to do this with? But when I go to the text editor and open the file mentioned there, it says something like 'cannot open, invalid T file'

Be very grateful for any help.. what might the problem be? Is this even how to fix the ship models?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
doubleshadow





Joined: 12 Mar 2004
Posts: 671 on topic
Location: Czech Republic, Prague
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 30. Jul 07, 13:40    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Algoran wrote:
Hi, I dont know much about modding and things, but what im trying to do is fix the khaak ship models (the nose triangle disappearing when viewed up close) and i read somewhere else (http://forum.egosoft.com/viewtopic.php?t=165613&highlight=khaak+triangle+fix) that it just requires one number in one of the model files in the cat03 file to be changed.
...


In short (you can find/ask the details): you need X3 ModManager to extract the body file. Then change the file as explained in the thread. Next you must put it back into catalog. The easy and dangerous way is to overwrite the original file. Better would be to make your own mod - instead of TShips, put inside the modified objects\v\00771.bod and activate the mod. That's all.

Wesley Franken wrote:
He,

I have a question, why is it not possible to change Tships files and all the other T-files in the XTM 0.7.2?? with the XTM 0.7 it was possible.


I have no idea Smile I'm lazy to download ~350MB just to get the TShips. Can you send it to me? Or ask the XTM crew to send me the file. Are you using the latest X3E version?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wesley Franken





Joined: 08 Aug 2006
Posts: 86 on topic
Location: Houten, The Netherlands
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 30. Jul 07, 15:12    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Quote:
I have no idea Smile I'm lazy to download ~350MB just to get the TShips. Can you send it to me? Or ask the XTM crew to send me the file. Are you using the latest X3E version?


Yes, I'm using the latest X3 Editor version (the 0.0.15 or something), and I can ask the XTM team to send you the T-ships file and where should I send it to??

P.S.

You can change the T-files but it rejects to work in the game, its like you never changed it at all??

(just to be clear Smile )

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wesley Franken





Joined: 08 Aug 2006
Posts: 86 on topic
Location: Houten, The Netherlands
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 30. Jul 07, 15:17    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I have the T-ships file ready, I can send it to you as soon as I know where to.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
doubleshadow





Joined: 12 Mar 2004
Posts: 671 on topic
Location: Czech Republic, Prague
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Tue, 31. Jul 07, 09:28    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Wesley Franken wrote:
You can change the T-files but it rejects to work in the game, its like you never changed it at all??

(just to be clear Smile )


I never played XTM or DDRS or XFP. I never played any mod at all - beside my own.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wesley Franken





Joined: 08 Aug 2006
Posts: 86 on topic
Location: Houten, The Netherlands
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Tue, 31. Jul 07, 15:45    Post subject: Re Reply with quote Print

I have E-mailed the T-ships file.

Quote:
I never played XTM or DDRS or XFP. I never played any mod at all - beside my own.


You should try it, I think the XTM 0.7.2 mod is a !ReAl! improvement for X3.

Greetings,
Wes

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
doubleshadow





Joined: 12 Mar 2004
Posts: 671 on topic
Location: Czech Republic, Prague
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 1. Aug 07, 08:48    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

@Wesley Franken - It looks like we have some misunderstanding. I thought that you are unable to open the TShips when you wrote "unable to change". However I'm able to open/save the file without problems. So what exactly is your problem? When you make a change, it is not visible in the game? If so, I doubt this is error in X3E. Maybe you are changing wrong mod? (it's not that I'm underestimating you... Wink )

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wesley Franken





Joined: 08 Aug 2006
Posts: 86 on topic
Location: Houten, The Netherlands
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 1. Aug 07, 13:35    Post subject: Re Reply with quote Print

Quote:
(it's not that I'm underestimating you... Wink )



Haha Laughing

Realy, I already did try every types map with the T-ships file and others in it, but it doesn't infect the game, I changed everything, I tried to make a sector killing missile with the hornet but it still lacks power. Question Question Question

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pogi





Joined: 13 Apr 2006
Posts: 521 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 27. Sep 07, 03:42    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I get this pop-up when trying to use the .txt editor...Can't open wrong version (47) or something like that..I have Devil installed and using .15..Any ideas?..Trying to edit the TMissles..everything else seems to work fine.


Thanks


_________________
X3..The most fun a man can have...With his clothes on.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jakesnake5



MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 17 Feb 2006
Posts: 2874 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 27. Sep 07, 13:47    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

TMissile version 47 is from BEFORE X3 2.0. 2.0 changed the number of offsets each entry has, and was unreadable by the current version of the Editor back then.

With a 2.0 compatible version of the Editor, it cannot READ the pre-2.0 X3 TMissiles file, as it has an extra offset per entry, and is not usable in 2.0 at all.

Try opening the TMissiles file in the 08 cat/dat, that's 2.0.


_________________
Perfection is in the hands of God, we bags of dirt can only do the best we can©

Modders are a source of ideas to help the Game Makers improve what they have made. Cherrish them, for they are the fruit of thy labors.©
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Pogi





Joined: 13 Apr 2006
Posts: 521 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 27. Sep 07, 14:15    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

@Jakesnake5..Right on the money..Thanks for your help Very Happy


_________________
X3..The most fun a man can have...With his clothes on.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Soul3dge





Joined: 05 Mar 2004
Posts: 22 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 14. Nov 07, 04:47    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I was having the same problem as Wesley, apparently altering the tships.pck but it having no effect in game.
After a lot of rooting around i discovered that Vista doesn't like programs that write information into certain folders (Program Files, Windows etc) and so it decides to create a copy of whatever your changing and stick it in to a virtual store. It tricks the app into thinking all is well but, of course, X3 reads from the correct folder while the editor is changing the dummy. I suppose its not really a problem with the editor more an issue with Vista.

I understand that if you have the editor set as 'run as admin' then it should alter the correct files but i didn't have much luck and had to disable UAC to allow it to work correctly.

Anyway just a heads up as more of us change over to microsofts latest offering its bound to catch a few people out.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 19, 20, 21, 22  Next
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum
Control Panel
Login Data
The time now is Sun, 27. May 18, 09:42

All times are GMT + 2 Hours

[ Disclaimer / Impressum ] | [ Privacy Policy / Datenschutz ]

Board Security

Copyright © EGOSOFT 1989-2018
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Template created by Avatar & BurnIt!
Debug: page generation = 0.08920 seconds, sql queries = 29