Station placement limits

General discussion about X³: Farnham's Legacy.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Moderators for the X3:FL Forums

Post Reply
jordew82
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri, 24. Sep 21, 23:13

Station placement limits

Post by jordew82 » Wed, 13. Oct 21, 21:46

Hello! In X3TC I used to pack the stations extremely close together when building complexes... I noticed that this is not possible in X3FL due to a collision detection function that prevents you from dropping a station near to another one. Is there a setting to turn this restriction off? Thank you!

dmk
Posts: 470
Joined: Fri, 25. Nov 05, 01:59
x3ap

Re: Station placement limits

Post by dmk » Sat, 16. Oct 21, 05:32

why you want to do that?
stations would getting damage, even being inside complex.
p.s. mk3 software build complex made mistake and placed one mine too close, and now it's getting damage.

jordew82
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri, 24. Sep 21, 23:13

Re: Station placement limits

Post by jordew82 » Sun, 17. Oct 21, 04:49

Ah. Some stations can actually be packed very close to each other without actually touching and suffering damage. Cahoona bakeries and chip plants in particular.

rudi_pioneer
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri, 2. Apr 21, 21:06
x4

Re: Station placement limits

Post by rudi_pioneer » Sun, 17. Oct 21, 17:59

Cycrow just explained it in discord: “ also note, even if they arn't actually touching, their bounding spheres could still be intersecting, which means they will be constantly checking for collisions between the models, which is quite expensive, and could reduce performance while in sector. FL keeps them separate so this doesn't happen. Its less of an issue once they are joined in complex though”

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Farnham's Legacy”