EnglishGermanFrenchRussianItalianSpanish
Log inRegister
 
Kha'ak Carrier Fix?
Post new topic Reply to topic
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
TechSY730





Joined: 26 Jul 2016
Posts: 99 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
modified
PostPosted: Sun, 22. Jul 18, 19:59    Post subject: Kha'ak Carrier Fix? Reply with quote Print

According to the wiki: https://www.x3wiki.com/index.php/Kha%27ak_Carrier
The docking bay of the Kha'ak carrier is bugged, causing it to not be able to dock anything. Does anyone know what is wrong with it and how to fix it?
(Presumably the same fix will also work for the Kha'ak Queen)

If it requires edits to the model, I can't do that on my setup (I'm on Linux, and there isn't a practical way to get modeling software to read X3's model format that I am aware of on Linux), so if this is the case, has anyone else done this?



Last edited by TechSY730 on Sun, 22. Jul 18, 21:09; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Flippi





Joined: 21 Mar 2008
Posts: 754 on topic
Location: Saarland
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 22. Jul 18, 20:33    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

The Kha'ak M1 (and the Queen, as it uses the same model), have the old X2 Hangar bays that don't work any more. You need to actually change the model, which is a rather large thing.

All Kha'ak ships are basically still on X2 level. The new Kha'ak fighters Egosoft made, are rotting in the game files. And I don't know exactly where the X2 models are, so people have to search for them first. They are probably in that one folder with the thousand files that have only numbers as names. So lots of fun finding the models.


Greetings Flippi


_________________
KI Schiffsnamen/AI Shipnames
ETNO Mod Techdemo/Ressources Release: English / Deutsch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Raider480



MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 30 Jul 2010
Posts: 188 on topic
Location: Texas
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 10. Aug 18, 11:06    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I can't speak for what exactly is wrong with the Carrier, other than as above. That is, it's all crusty X2 stuff that doesn't necessarily work anymore. But, the XTC team did manage to fix the Carrier that included their own replacement for the old hangar. Backporting that to straight AP was the best way I found to make the ship work again, outside of committing to an XTC installation.

I actually have both a modded base game, and a modded XTC installation, so the only real trouble was getting a handle on all of the new XTC assets. That was nearly a year ago though, on an old system, and I'm still rebuilding my installations again. I can tell you some of what I remember doing though.

This all included both copying over XTC's TShips entry, and creating analogous entries in the game's Components file for some of the new animated bits. I'm not specifically sure whether XTC used new assets to accomplish this in particular, but it wouldn't surprise me. Fortunately all of that is fairly well organized, so it shouldn't be too hard to suss out the necessary models/textures.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic Reply to topic
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum
Control Panel
Login Data
The time now is Fri, 17. Aug 18, 06:16

All times are GMT + 2 Hours

[ Disclaimer / Impressum ] | [ Privacy Policy / Datenschutz ]

Board Security

Copyright © EGOSOFT 1989-2018
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Template created by Avatar & BurnIt!
Debug: page generation = 0.05731 seconds, sql queries = 17