[X3TC] Using CLS2 to distribute wares in sector

General discussions about the games by Egosoft including X-BTF, XT, X², X³: Reunion, X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

Post Reply
amoe
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat, 22. Nov 14, 15:30
x4

[X3TC] Using CLS2 to distribute wares in sector

Post by amoe » Wed, 7. Mar 18, 19:44

Hi all

I'm building up a set of factories and complexes in my own sector, for instance I have a bunch of weapons fabs that aren't self sufficient, they all need energy cells to operate. And I have a self-sufficient SPP complex at the centre of the sector. I'm wanting to use a *single* CLS2 pilot to provide ecells to all the factories on a kind of round-robin basis.

That is, say that I have a FAA fab and a CIG fab in my sector, my guy can take 6000 energy cells in his cargo bay.

I set up CLS2 with 3 waypoints:

1. SPP complex - load up to 6000 ecells
2. FAA fab - unload up to 3000 ecells
3. CIG fab - unload up to 3000 ecells

I set the minimum supply and delivery threshold to 0%. It often seems to work for 1 round, but after that my guy just stays on standby. Or sometimes it seems like he randomly starts working again, but I can't figure out why. Specifically, he returns to the SPP, picks up 6000, but he won't travel to the factories to unload, even though they have both have space for far more than 3000.

I think that I'm misunderstanding something but can't figure out what...

Timsup2nothin
Posts: 3177
Joined: Thu, 22. Jan 09, 18:49

Post by Timsup2nothin » Wed, 7. Mar 18, 21:53

The misunderstanding is in how the "unload up to" command works. That is based on the STATION capacity, not the ship. In other words, it will only head over there if the station has less than 3000 cells, and it will then only unload enough to bring the station up to 3000 cells.
Trapper Tim's Guide to CLS 2

On Her Majesty's Secret Service-Dead is Dead, and he is DEAD

Not a DiD, so I guess it's a DiDn't, the story of my first try at AP
Part One, in progress

HEY! AP!! That's new!!!

Timsup2nothin
Posts: 3177
Joined: Thu, 22. Jan 09, 18:49

Post by Timsup2nothin » Wed, 7. Mar 18, 21:58

That said...

If you just use:

Load Max Cargo
unload 3000
unload 3000

You will get a continuous triangle that will fill up both factories over time as long as the triangle can be completed faster than they use 3000 cells. When they are filled the triangle will continue, just topping them off at each stop and dragging the remaining cells back to your SPP.

If the freighter takes too long to complete the triangle the factories will run out of cells and have to wait for deliveries.
Last edited by Timsup2nothin on Thu, 8. Mar 18, 01:16, edited 1 time in total.
Trapper Tim's Guide to CLS 2

On Her Majesty's Secret Service-Dead is Dead, and he is DEAD

Not a DiD, so I guess it's a DiDn't, the story of my first try at AP
Part One, in progress

HEY! AP!! That's new!!!

Nanook
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)
Posts: 25955
Joined: Thu, 15. May 03, 20:57
x3tc

Post by Nanook » Thu, 8. Mar 18, 00:28

Assuming you haven't already built them, why not just complex the weapons fabs to the energy fab? Much simpler.
Having an Acronym Attack? See the Ego FAQ. Also now for Terran Conflict and Albion Prelude.
NOT an Egosoft employee.

Timsup2nothin
Posts: 3177
Joined: Thu, 22. Jan 09, 18:49

Post by Timsup2nothin » Thu, 8. Mar 18, 01:17

Well, using CLS 1 instead of CLS 2 would also be simpler, but far be it from me to question motives. If ya wanna use CLS 2, go ye forth!
Trapper Tim's Guide to CLS 2

On Her Majesty's Secret Service-Dead is Dead, and he is DEAD

Not a DiD, so I guess it's a DiDn't, the story of my first try at AP
Part One, in progress

HEY! AP!! That's new!!!

amoe
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat, 22. Nov 14, 15:30
x4

Post by amoe » Thu, 8. Mar 18, 15:25

Wow, it was that simple... Can't believe I didn't try that! I thought that the regular "Unload ... 200" command would be more likely to go to standby if the CLS pilot wasn't able to unload exactly 200. But I guess you just control that with the supply-conditions parameters instead.

Timsup2nothin
Posts: 3177
Joined: Thu, 22. Jan 09, 18:49

Post by Timsup2nothin » Thu, 8. Mar 18, 19:25

Glad to help.

It is convenient that I have bounced my head repeatedly off just about every simple mistake that CLS 2 makes available, including that one.
Trapper Tim's Guide to CLS 2

On Her Majesty's Secret Service-Dead is Dead, and he is DEAD

Not a DiD, so I guess it's a DiDn't, the story of my first try at AP
Part One, in progress

HEY! AP!! That's new!!!

Timsup2nothin
Posts: 3177
Joined: Thu, 22. Jan 09, 18:49

Post by Timsup2nothin » Fri, 9. Mar 18, 06:00

It occurred to me that I should probably answer the "why do this with CLS2?" question.

Taking the three stop triangle above, you can add a fourth stop selling e-cells to a NPC fab. This stop will not be served unless one or both of your factories are filled without taking their full share of the cargo, so your factories will never be shorted, and excess cells won't accumulate at your SPP as fast.
Trapper Tim's Guide to CLS 2

On Her Majesty's Secret Service-Dead is Dead, and he is DEAD

Not a DiD, so I guess it's a DiDn't, the story of my first try at AP
Part One, in progress

HEY! AP!! That's new!!!

Post Reply

Return to “X Trilogy Universe”