EnglishGermanFrenchRussianItalianSpanish
Log inRegister
 
Construction drones are bugged? (Modded game)
Post new topic Reply to topic
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Malamadre





Joined: 10 Dec 2013



PostPosted: Fri, 22. Dec 17, 10:44    Post subject: Construction drones are bugged? (Modded game) Reply with quote Print

Does anyone have troubles with them? I find lost here and there costruction drones from my ships, cluttered together like a single stuck "ball", like 10 of them occupying the space of a single one, they can't move and if i shoot at them they simply regroup in the form of the "ball"... how can i solve this problem? The galaxy is infested with those even more than xenos! Crying or Very sad

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
riky rice





Joined: 09 Nov 2017
Posts: 40 on topic
Location: Italy
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 22. Dec 17, 12:22    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

A twitch streamer also had the same issue, he had to wait 4 hours before his station was completely built

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Alan Phipps
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)

MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 16 Apr 2004
Posts: 17504 on topic
Location: Stonehenge, UK
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 22. Dec 17, 15:48    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Just to be clear given risky rice's comment on station building, if you issue a further module build command for a player station then only the CURVs that are docked at the CV at the time of giving that order will be used to build that module. Any in space outside the CV at that time will be ignored for building purposes, at least until the module after that.

(Moral of the story: let all CURVs redock at the CV after completing a module before issuing another build order.)

Back to the OP, are these CURVs from station building or from ship repair? Also, are we are talking about an unmodified game and the latest release version?

Also see this report.


_________________
A dog has a master; a cat has domestic staff.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RainerPrem



MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 18 Jan 2006
Posts: 1347 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 22. Dec 17, 21:05    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Alan Phipps wrote:
Just to be clear given risky rice's comment on station building, if you issue a further module build command for a player station then only the CURVs that are docked at the CV at the time of giving that order will be used to build that module. Any in space outside the CV at that time will be ignored for building purposes, at least until the module after that.

(Moral of the story: let all CURVs redock at the CV after completing a module before issuing another build order.)

Back to the OP, are these CURVs from station building or from ship repair? Also, are we are talking about an unmodified game and the latest release version?

Also see this report.


OMG! Now I know why some station building progressed so slowly.

This really should be categorized as a bug.

cu
Rainer

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RAVEN.myst





Joined: 20 Jun 2011
Posts: 2571 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 22. Dec 17, 22:53    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

One more time Very Happy (I've posted this several times now, heheh) - any time that a construction phase is ordered, the job will assign 90% of the currently available (not the total) CURVs, presumably leaving the remaining 10% for maintenance of their hosting CV. Since after the job the active drones don't return immediately (the process can be hastened by being well out-of-zone at start and completion of the task, but it's no guarantee - at least, not since 4.10, in any case), immediately starting a new job will apply 90% of this 10% remainder, meaning that 9% of the total drone complement will be used. Since this will likely take quite long, the previous phase's 90% allocation will become inactive during this time, but unfortunately they don't then get assigned to the current task - the allocations are locked in at the time of starting a task (which is quite a PitA if one orders a stage after losing the CV's drone bay without noticing - building with 0 CURVs is really slow [but it does progress, at least, so it's not a permanent show-stopper]) On the plus side, at least when THAT phase is complete, 91% of total drones are immediately available (and the rest don't take very long to come home.)


_________________
-
Boron passenger: "You must hurry - my testicles are drying out!"
-
Born on Lave, raised on Freeport 7...
-
The Write Stuff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Malamadre





Joined: 10 Dec 2013



PostPosted: Sun, 24. Dec 17, 13:47    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I thank everybody for their suggestions, and i want to add that if your drones get stuck or they dont dock at their ship, it seems that flying 00Z and than fly back to the zone solves the problem.

p. s. a total different thing: i was flying at Telady 's space, silent night, and i found a portal which isn't working. What is it ??

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Alan Phipps
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)

MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 16 Apr 2004
Posts: 17504 on topic
Location: Stonehenge, UK
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 24. Dec 17, 15:21    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Just an inactive gate.


_________________
A dog has a master; a cat has domestic staff.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Malamadre





Joined: 10 Dec 2013



PostPosted: Sun, 24. Dec 17, 16:02    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Alan Phipps wrote:
Just an inactive gate.


Very Happy

I truly hope is what i think it is...

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bioscmos303





Joined: 27 May 2014



PostPosted: Sun, 24. Dec 17, 16:47    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

i had the same (fixed) .. do you using mods?

i removed mods that dont work together like :

Carriers - Arawn S/M Launch- and Docking +addon (been updated but will conflict with CES mod so some drones will have broken AI (Land,launch)
REBalance Mod - will freez some the drones\animation when near cap ship

when i removed .rebalance and carriers all fixed!!!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Malamadre





Joined: 10 Dec 2013



PostPosted: Sun, 24. Dec 17, 17:32    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Yes i'm using mods but none of those you listed... i'm using show skills, capital bridge, taf, butter ranges, mission computer, no jump fuel and npcs gain xp... none of these should mess with drones

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Alan Phipps
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)

MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 16 Apr 2004
Posts: 17504 on topic
Location: Stonehenge, UK
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 24. Dec 17, 18:17    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

That characteristic 'ball of superimposed drones' clustering was introduced and later fixed in a couple of later vanilla updates (4.00 to 4.10 ?) and so I think it probable that either your modded gamefiles are not fully updated or your mods have somehow overwritten some of the later gamefile cat/dat areas when being installed.

Anyway, we are not seeing this behaviour in current vanilla.


_________________
A dog has a master; a cat has domestic staff.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic Reply to topic
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
Control Panel
Login Data
The time now is Thu, 19. Apr 18, 17:12

All times are GMT + 2 Hours


Board Security

Copyright © EGOSOFT 1989-2018
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Template created by Avatar & BurnIt!
Debug: page generation = 0.08896 seconds, sql queries = 25