EnglishGermanFrenchRussianItalianSpanish
Log inRegister
 
Will the warehouse mining bugs be fixed one day ?
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Browser_ice





Joined: 05 Feb 2006
Posts: 231 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 29. Sep 17, 20:03    Post subject: Will the warehouse mining bugs be fixed one day ? Reply with quote Print

As I restarted playing XR 2 weeks ago, I am painfully reminded of the warehouse mining bug by looking at my 14 mining ships (smalls + XL) that exibit one of the following 2 behaviors:

1) they have just been assigned to the warehouse manager and yet they are stuck in just looking around for what to mine

2) they are full and just keep indicating they are mining when in fact they are not doing any mining; they should be returning to the warehouse to transfer their cargo

I know we can bypass these by doing some manipulations but its just a drag having to do it often when the bugs could just be fixed.


_________________
Steam X-Superbox, playing XR
WIndows-7
Intel I5
16Gb Memory
Nvgidia GT 960
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iforgotmysocks





Joined: 08 Nov 2013



PostPosted: Fri, 29. Sep 17, 20:32    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

For mining to happen u need to set a buy price. I know that's a bit annoying, but if u set up a seperate warehouse for mining u can set the buy price to the lowest amount and sell price for an average price that would sell. By not giving the manager any money to begin with u can avoid that the warehouse buys the goods somewhere, but if u keep the buy price low that is unlikely anyway.

Once u did that ur ships will mine away. Just make sure u have enough ships to sell ur goods otherwise they'll be sitting around alot cuz warehouses don't have that much storage for just a few ressources, even if u redistribute the most storage to those wares. Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Browser_ice





Joined: 05 Feb 2006
Posts: 231 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 29. Sep 17, 21:18    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I had figured that out for the first bug. If you have no buying price, they will not mine at all.

This first bug is a minor one and not a show stopper. They should start mining as soon as you selected the mineral/gaz in your storage selection even if you have not set a price.

The second bug is closer to a show stopper. I tried putting back those miners in my group and then reassigning them to the warehouse commander. At first it was indicating they were returning to the warehouse but then if they are already full, they simply do not return to base at all and keep ghost mining.

Giving the possibility to use a warehouse to mine ressources and then selling them is an important part of the game. It should be fixed. Otherwise what is the point of mining if you have to do it all manually ?


_________________
Steam X-Superbox, playing XR
WIndows-7
Intel I5
16Gb Memory
Nvgidia GT 960
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iforgotmysocks





Joined: 08 Nov 2013



PostPosted: Fri, 29. Sep 17, 22:01    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Hm, i'm not sure i've seen the second one before. The only reason i found that would cause such behaviour is a full warehouse. But as soon as new space is available ships keep unloading and mining. Surprised

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Browser_ice





Joined: 05 Feb 2006
Posts: 231 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 30. Sep 17, 00:43    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

My warehouse is brand new. What it has in stored products are from the first wave of mining. The second wave of mining is where I have the issue.

I also noticed that there are no products at all in the Buying window of the commercial details of my warehouse. However, I do see them in the selling window. There is a buying price and a selling price for each products (ice, ore and silicium). I maximized the vrak space to have the biggest storage possible for each of those 3 minerals.

Also, my station's missing having a commercial ship assigned is still not done. I only assigned smalling mining ships and 3 XL Albatros vrak with surface drones.

Found some old threads of when I was looking at these a while ago. I just never got back to them:
https://forum.egosoft.com/viewtopic.php?t=394431&highlight=
https://forum.egosoft.com/viewtopic.php?t=394598&highlight=
https://forum.egosoft.com/viewtopic.php?t=394284&highlight=


_________________
Steam X-Superbox, playing XR
WIndows-7
Intel I5
16Gb Memory
Nvgidia GT 960
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iforgotmysocks





Joined: 08 Nov 2013



PostPosted: Sat, 30. Sep 17, 02:03    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Any old mods that mess with miner/trade logic? Gotta say i'm really clueless. Mine are making good money.

Mine doesn't show the buy price aswell, but that's cuz it's storage is full.
Also the trade ship part is fixed, my mission for a tradeship is gone.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sparky Sparkycorp
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)



Joined: 30 Mar 2004
Posts: 6719 on topic
Location: UK
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Tue, 3. Oct 17, 02:51    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I'm not sure if it would be relevant, but what are the 3 primary skill levels of the station Manager and ship Captains?


_________________
X:R mod list. X:R Wiki.
Updated TC/AP Bonus Pack. AP TS efficiency.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Browser_ice





Joined: 05 Feb 2006
Posts: 231 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Tue, 3. Oct 17, 15:50    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Not sure if you meant which are the 3 highest skills or the first 3 ones. So I will answer both

ship name /Nav-Comb-Mor/3 highest skills
Miner-Small-Gaz /2- 1- 2/ Nav=2, Mor=2, Ing=2
Miner-Small-Vrak /0- 1- 1/ Mana=2, Sci=2, Comb=1
Miner-Large-Gaz /2- 0- 1/ Ing=3, Lead=2, Mor=1
Miner-Large-Vrak /4- 3- 0/ Lead=4, Nav=3, Sci=3
Miner-XL-All /0- 0- 0/ Mana=3, Comb=3, Sci=1
Miner-XL-Liquid /2- 2- 1/ Lead=2, Nav=2, Comb=1
Miner-XL-Vrak /1- 2- 0/ Mor=3, Lead=3, Sci=3

p.s.: my game is in french so Mana is the translation of Gestion (managing)

That is an interesting point you bring, but I do not recall saying any usages of skills in the mining scripts (I may have missed it).

I currently repeat the same scenario and check how they behave (aprox. 60m)
- load a saved game where all ships are not assigned to warehouse
- assigned them all to the warehouse
- let it run for a while
- extract the infos from the log

[added comments]
I did a search on any skill wording in the mining skills and did find some in the mining.ship.collect.html:
Z:\temp\aiscripts\mining.ship.collect.xml (6 hits)
Line 154: <set_value name="$skill" exact="(this.combinedskill - 50) * 3" />
Line 154: <set_value name="$skill" exact="(this.combinedskill - 50) * 3" />
Line 164: <do_elseif value="$pickup.{$i}.wares.{$checkware}.count le 0" chance="$skill">
Line 325: <set_value name="$skill" exact="(this.combinedskill - 50) * 3" />
Line 325: <set_value name="$skill" exact="(this.combinedskill - 50) * 3" />
Line 337: <do_elseif value="$pickup.{$i}.wares.{$checkware}.count le 0" chance="$skill">

So maybe there is a relation between the behaviors I am seeing and skills ....


_________________
Steam X-Superbox, playing XR
WIndows-7
Intel I5
16Gb Memory
Nvgidia GT 960
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Browser_ice





Joined: 05 Feb 2006
Posts: 231 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 5. Oct 17, 01:48    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

From the same saved file, I tried recreating the situations several times but it reacts differently almost all the times.

My saved game has several kind of mining ships not assigned to the warehouse. Then once I load this saved game, I assigned all mining ships to the warehouse commander and then start watching log records.

Sometimes, its all the ship that are stuck in Free Mining.
Sometimes, its just a few or just one stuck in Free Mining.
Sometimes, none are stuck in Free Mining.

Seams random. Using the same saved game and doing the same actions from the start should produce the same result but I there are randomizations affecting the outcome. Not the one where drone's collecting efficency is affected by the pilot/commander of the mining ship. This stuck in Free Mining happens before they even decide to mine someplace.

I am still at it. It is a good practice for me.


_________________
Steam X-Superbox, playing XR
WIndows-7
Intel I5
16Gb Memory
Nvgidia GT 960
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sparky Sparkycorp
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)



Joined: 30 Mar 2004
Posts: 6719 on topic
Location: UK
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 5. Oct 17, 08:52    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Please could you upload the save for Devs to look at if they have time during this X Rebirth beta? Are you using any mods?

Please also indicate which game version you are playing. E.g. 4.10 or the 4.21 beta. Thanks.

It's possible that a skill check is being used to determine whether the miner needs to change behaviour (e.g. start returning to the warehouse). Failure could then mean waiting a while before trying again. If their cargo is full it might not make sense but it's a possible explanation for the inconsistent observations you've seen.


_________________
X:R mod list. X:R Wiki.
Updated TC/AP Bonus Pack. AP TS efficiency.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Browser_ice





Joined: 05 Feb 2006
Posts: 231 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 5. Oct 17, 15:28    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

iforgotmysocks wrote:
Any old mods that mess with miner/trade logic? Gotta say i'm really clueless. Mine are making good money.

Mine doesn't show the buy price aswell, but that's cuz it's storage is full.
Also the trade ship part is fixed, my mission for a tradeship is gone.


How and where do I upload ?

[added comments]
I sent an email to crash@egosoft.com containing all the infos and files.


_________________
Steam X-Superbox, playing XR
WIndows-7
Intel I5
16Gb Memory
Nvgidia GT 960
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Browser_ice





Joined: 05 Feb 2006
Posts: 231 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 8. Oct 17, 18:10    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I used the same savegame file I used for all my testing except, instead of assigning all the mining ships to the warehouse, I used them myself to tell them where to mine and when they are full, tell them to transfer their cargo to my warehouse.

Doing it this way seams to be going OK. I did not notice any waste of times.

This leads me to believe that somehow, the issue of wasting time between actions is related to the aiscript mining. ship.station

I haven't figured out why and where. But from my one hour log, it is clear theare are indications of wasting times or somehow being blind/unable to see asteroids properly.

[added comments]
One thing I noticed that I had forgotten, somehow, the warehouse looses all its commercial offers of buying. All the minerals are selected to be bought and with a price but when I look at the commercial offers of my warehouse, there are none to be bought. I do not know when it they disapeard. That is one thing I forgot to monitor. I guess Dev can find out looking at the logs I sent them.


_________________
Steam X-Superbox, playing XR
WIndows-7
Intel I5
16Gb Memory
Nvgidia GT 960
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Browser_ice





Joined: 05 Feb 2006
Posts: 231 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 13. Dec 17, 01:59    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Have those issues I mentioned in this thread been fixed in patch 4.30 ?

I had stoped playing since my last post.


_________________
Steam X-Superbox, playing XR
WIndows-7
Intel I5
16Gb Memory
Nvgidia GT 960
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Browser_ice





Joined: 05 Feb 2006
Posts: 231 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 17. Feb 18, 16:07    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I do not recall seeing any follow-ups to you guys investigating my save file and its been 3 months. I stopped playing XR back then because of this issue and others related to warehouse bugs that pissed me off.


_________________
Steam X-Superbox, playing XR
WIndows-7
Intel I5
16Gb Memory
Nvgidia GT 960
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sparky Sparkycorp
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)



Joined: 30 Mar 2004
Posts: 6719 on topic
Location: UK
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 17. Feb 18, 18:06    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

The v4.21 beta that I mentioned above ended up being released as v4.30. There are 3 Warehouse behaviour fixes listed.

https://forum.egosoft.com/viewtopic.php?t=347278

If they don't address the issue you experienced (i.e. if it is still occurs in v4.30), please feel free to post a new report.


_________________
X:R mod list. X:R Wiki.
Updated TC/AP Bonus Pack. AP TS efficiency.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
Control Panel
Login Data
The time now is Fri, 22. Jun 18, 22:42

All times are GMT + 2 Hours

[ Disclaimer / Impressum ] | [ Privacy Policy / Datenschutz ]

Board Security

Copyright © EGOSOFT 1989-2018
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Template created by Avatar & BurnIt!
Debug: page generation = 0.09155 seconds, sql queries = 29