EnglishGermanFrenchRussianPolishItalianSpanish
Log inRegister
 
[AL Plugin] Revelation, by Litcube - V 0.85b (Beta)
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 12, 13, 14
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
CloneSargaent





Joined: 16 Jul 2014
Posts: 37 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 2. Aug 17, 14:48    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I tried using the patch XRM-TC but still had Aquata and Venturer's Sentinel overlapped and the rest of the sectors are not connected to the universe. So now i want to fix this by (quoting Patrick Star) "Taking the Omicron channel and moving it somewhere else". I want it to be the east gate of Unknown sector 18-16, here is the XRM-TC map for reference How would I go about doing it?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mythrantar





Joined: 17 Jun 2005
Posts: 170 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 2. Aug 17, 15:45    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

The overlap shouldn't happen, nor the gates not connected. Did you install in this order: IEX (if using) -> XRM -> TCAP -> XRM-TCAP -> XRM-TCAP patch -> IEX patch for XRM-TCAP (if using) -> Revelations XRM-TCAP?

Also, just to confirm: You are using this with AP 3.2 and not with X3TC, correct?


_________________
TCAP patch for AP3.2
XRM-TCAP patch for AP3.2
LoCo patch for XRM-TCAP AP3.2
IEX patch for XRM-TCAP AP3.2
IEX patch for XRM-TCAP with LoCo AP3.2
Saturn Complex patch: XRM AP
Saturn Complex patch: XRM AP (PTNI HQ)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CloneSargaent





Joined: 16 Jul 2014
Posts: 37 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
modified
PostPosted: Wed, 2. Aug 17, 16:27    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

No, playing on X3TC, I downloaded the Revelations .85b then downloaded the patch on page 11 and followed the patch instructions, which i thought was for X3TC. Didn't touch any of the other patch links. I didn't even know that there was another install order.



Last edited by CloneSargaent on Wed, 2. Aug 17, 16:28; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mythrantar





Joined: 17 Jun 2005
Posts: 170 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 2. Aug 17, 16:28    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

That's the problem then. My version is for AP, not X3TC. TCAP is a mod that allows one to play the X3TC story missions in AP, and Revelations XRM-TCAP adds revelations to that particular setup. The maps are different between X3TC XRM and AP XRM, hence your conflicts and other issues.


_________________
TCAP patch for AP3.2
XRM-TCAP patch for AP3.2
LoCo patch for XRM-TCAP AP3.2
IEX patch for XRM-TCAP AP3.2
IEX patch for XRM-TCAP with LoCo AP3.2
Saturn Complex patch: XRM AP
Saturn Complex patch: XRM AP (PTNI HQ)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CloneSargaent





Joined: 16 Jul 2014
Posts: 37 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 2. Aug 17, 16:42    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

sigh, well thanks for clear that up for me. Anyway I want move the omicron channel to the area east Unknown sector 18-16 do i need a galaxy editor? I already have X-studio2 and X3Editor2.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mythrantar





Joined: 17 Jun 2005
Posts: 170 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 2. Aug 17, 17:24    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

You could use the galaxy editor, but I prefer to use a text editor like Notepad+, and the file you need to modify is located in the "maps" folder of Revelations (you may need X3 Editor to extract it from the cat/dat).

Having said that, it's not a trivial thing to do because:

1) You need to connect the map to a sector that is not unknown/pirate/xenon because otherwise the OCV will not expand past the Omicron Channel. Therefore, your proposed sector will not work
2) You will then need to manually edit the coordinates of every sector as well as the origin and target coordinates of all gates in those sectors in order to avoid overlap with other sectors
3) You may need to change the position and/or orientation of those gates so the connections look logical on the map (but that really is an aesthetics issue; not strictly necessary)
4) You need to change the location of the gate in your link system (in your case 18-16 if you were to use that) in order to connect to the rest of the channel.

If you have not done any map editing before, I recommend taking a look at the tutorials sticky to better acquaint yourself with the process.


_________________
TCAP patch for AP3.2
XRM-TCAP patch for AP3.2
LoCo patch for XRM-TCAP AP3.2
IEX patch for XRM-TCAP AP3.2
IEX patch for XRM-TCAP with LoCo AP3.2
Saturn Complex patch: XRM AP
Saturn Complex patch: XRM AP (PTNI HQ)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CloneSargaent





Joined: 16 Jul 2014
Posts: 37 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
modified
PostPosted: Wed, 2. Aug 17, 18:02    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I knew it was not going to be easy at all, but want to fix this for my XRMTC setup and maybe give some people an alternative position in stead it being east of Bluish Snout, Thanks Mythrantar for the advice Smile



Last edited by CloneSargaent on Wed, 2. Aug 17, 22:30; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mythrantar





Joined: 17 Jun 2005
Posts: 170 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
modified
PostPosted: Wed, 2. Aug 17, 18:32    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

One more thing I forgot: After you know where the channel will be, you will also need to go over the script files to update them to the new coordinates of the OCV home system.


_________________
TCAP patch for AP3.2
XRM-TCAP patch for AP3.2
LoCo patch for XRM-TCAP AP3.2
IEX patch for XRM-TCAP AP3.2
IEX patch for XRM-TCAP with LoCo AP3.2
Saturn Complex patch: XRM AP
Saturn Complex patch: XRM AP (PTNI HQ)


Last edited by Mythrantar on Wed, 2. Aug 17, 18:44; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CloneSargaent





Joined: 16 Jul 2014
Posts: 37 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 2. Aug 17, 18:43    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Got it! thanks again

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CloneSargaent





Joined: 16 Jul 2014
Posts: 37 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Tue, 8. Aug 17, 16:58    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I just finished moving the sectors of your version of Revelations, Mythrantar. Wanted to know if there is another script besides akeela's gate connecting script, that connects the omicron channel. Also was wondering since your version is for AP, what scripts do I need to edit or delete to make it a TC compatible? O̶n̶e̶ ̶m̶o̶r̶e̶ ̶t̶h̶i̶n̶g̶ ̶d̶o̶ ̶I̶ ̶n̶e̶e̶d̶ ̶t̶o̶ ̶g̶e̶n̶e̶r̶a̶t̶e̶ ̶a̶ ̶b̶o̶d̶ ̶f̶i̶l̶e̶?̶ (Don't worry I'm not going uploading this without your permission)

Edit#1: Is that pirate sector needed?

Update: I have gotten almost everything work, but the new positions of the sectors are only visible and traversable when I start a new game. When ever I start the plugin, after connecting the Omicron channel to the universe with akeela's connecting script my game freezes after 5 in game minutes. Even SETA'd for 15 in game minutes no freeze. So I'm stuck at wall here and could use some help. Headbang

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mythrantar





Joined: 17 Jun 2005
Posts: 170 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 12. Aug 17, 14:44    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Hey!

Sorry for the ate reply, I was on a business trip and just got back. I saw you mentioning Akeela's script so it got me wondering: Which version of Revelation did you use as your basis? LitCube's, Akeela's, OwnlyMe's, or mine?

Since you are using X3TC and not AP, I would strongly suggest using Litcube's as base, since that was specifically made for X3TC when it came out. The others are only for AP, and Akeela's specifically is buggy and would suggest against using that. I posted the link to Litcube's Revelation a few posts up.

Now, if you want to use OwnlyMe's or my version to take advantage of the improvements we made, it should work with X3TC but I cannot guarantee it. If you use ours then you don't have to worry about connection script as the way the Revelation map is designed in our versions bypasses the need for a connection script (he very last sector in the Revelation map overlaps with the actual connecting sector, but it is blank and only adds the connecting gate). You will, however, need to create a new .bod file so that your map looks ok.


_________________
TCAP patch for AP3.2
XRM-TCAP patch for AP3.2
LoCo patch for XRM-TCAP AP3.2
IEX patch for XRM-TCAP AP3.2
IEX patch for XRM-TCAP with LoCo AP3.2
Saturn Complex patch: XRM AP
Saturn Complex patch: XRM AP (PTNI HQ)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CloneSargaent





Joined: 16 Jul 2014
Posts: 37 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 12. Aug 17, 22:29    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Late or not Thanks for the reply! Very Happy I have been using Ownlyme and your version as my base. I looked back Ownlyme's post about his version's compatibility issues with 3 scripts for his version, but 2 them are only broken because their coordinates don't match my new sector coordinates, fixed those already. The one i did not look at before which maybe the cause of my freezes was the create ship script how it is suppose spawn OCV ships with XRM weapons and spawn the Xenon I, which is not in XRMTC.

So I decided to check the code of your version(which I'm using) and I noticed this
Code:
if $Pick == {Xenon K}
$Max = $Ship-> get max upgrades for upgrade {Rudder Optimisation}
= $Ship-> install $Max units of {Rudder Optimisation}
$Installed = $Ship-> install 24 units of {Phased Plasma Generator}
if $rnd < 3
$Installed = $Ship-> install 8 units of {High Energy Particle Railgun}
else
$Installed = $Ship-> install 8 units of {Electro-Magnetic Repeater}
end
$rnd = random value between 0 and 6
if $rnd < 3
$Installed = $Ship-> install 8 units of {Concussion Impulse Generator}
else
$Installed = $Ship-> install 8 units of {Mass Driver}
end
$Installed = $Ship-> install 1 units of {Hammerhead Missile}
$Installed = $Ship-> install 5 units of {Firestorm Torpedo}
$Installed = $Ship-> install 4 units of {Hornet Missile}
$Installed = $Ship-> install 4 units of {Beluga Missile}
else if $Pick == {Unknown zzPLACEHOLDER Hauler (SH_PLACEHOLDER_79)}
$Max = $Ship-> get max upgrades for upgrade {Rudder Optimisation}
= $Ship-> install $Max units of {Rudder Optimisation}
$Installed = $Ship-> install 26 units of {Phased Plasma Generator}
if $rnd < 3
$Installed = $Ship-> install 8 units of {High Energy Particle Railgun}
else
$Installed = $Ship-> install 8 units of {Fragmentation Bomb Launcher}
end
$rnd = random value between 0 and 6
if $rnd == 5
$Installed = $Ship-> install 14 units of {Ion Shard Railgun}
else if $rnd < 3
$Installed = $Ship-> install 14 units of {Concussion Impulse Generator}
else
$Installed = $Ship-> install 14 units of {Mass Driver}
end
$Installed = $Ship-> install 1 units of {Hammerhead Missile}
$Installed = $Ship-> install 7 units of {Firestorm Torpedo}
$Installed = $Ship-> install 4 units of {Hornet Missile}
$Installed = $Ship-> install 4 units of {Beluga Missile}
else if $Pick == {Xenon J}
$Max = $Ship-> get max upgrades for upgrade {Rudder Optimisation}
= $Ship-> install $Max units of {Rudder Optimisation}
$Installed = $Ship-> install 32 units of {Ion Pulse Generator}
$Installed = $Ship-> install 350 units of {Matter/Anti-matter Warhead}
$Installed = $Ship-> install 16 units of {Electro-Magnetic Repeater}
$Installed = $Ship-> install 1 units of {Hammerhead Missile}
$Installed = $Ship-> install 8 units of {Firestorm Torpedo}
$Installed = $Ship-> install 5 units of {Hornet Missile}
$Installed = $Ship-> install 5 units of {Beluga Missile}
else


You can see that the Xenon K and place holder (gonna put Xenon Z there) only have one weapon compatible. Missiles look ok, but what the heck is with the Xenon J code? Why are those other weapons there instead of the compatible ones?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OwnlyMe





Joined: 09 Feb 2016



PostPosted: Sun, 13. Aug 17, 23:05    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

in my code, the xenon j gets the Matter/Anti-Matter Launcher installed instead of the Ion Pulse Generator..
but what do you mean? according to http://www.x3wiki.com/index.php/J , the weapons are okay?
the xenon k and i also get 2 types of weapons installed, due to the different slots

maybe those {...placeholder....} ships make your game crash..

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CloneSargaent





Joined: 16 Jul 2014
Posts: 37 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 14. Aug 17, 00:16    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I'm confused because I'm running this on XRM and thought I need to change the weapons to the weapons their only compatible with in XRM. So is the code fine as is for XRM?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OwnlyMe





Joined: 09 Feb 2016



PostPosted: Mon, 14. Aug 17, 02:41    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

i dont know how xrm changed the weapon loadouts.

but since xrm doesnt have the xenon i, you need to delete the 2 code snippets with the {placeholder..} ships.
anyway i added a TC compatibility patch for my version https://forum.egosoft.com/viewtopic.php?p=4664081#4664081

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 12, 13, 14
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum
Control Panel
Login Data
The time now is Tue, 24. Oct 17, 13:20

All times are GMT + 2 Hours


Board Security

Copyright © EGOSOFT 1989-2017
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Template created by Avatar & BurnIt!
Debug: page generation = 0.64598 seconds, sql queries = 29