EnglishGermanFrenchRussianPolishItalianSpanish
Log inRegister
 
SETA needs to stop less
Post new topic This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
CommanderTM





Joined: 20 May 2013
Posts: 536 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 13. Mar 16, 10:19    Post subject: SETA needs to stop less Reply with quote Print

Right now, every buying and selling message disables it. If you have 10+ traders all queued up with trades it makes me hit j every 5 seconds.

Please make it so only messages that require my attention would disable SETA.

For example:
if my ship gets attacked
if all trade operations for a ship is finished
if something goes wrong with trade

All other trade related messages should not disable seta. Also, SETA should nat be disabled for messages related to reputation changes.

Additionally, why is proximity affecting it? Sometimes my traders finish their job and i have none to give them. Then, they fly to my position but they fly too close to me so i have to move away to activate seta again.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exogenesis



MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 09 Sep 2007
Posts: 1451 on topic
Location: UK
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 13. Mar 16, 12:29    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Totally agree, I tried to keep this subject alive during beta-testing of HoL :

http://forum.egosoft.com/viewtopic.php?p=4587473#4587473

but :
Alan Phipps wrote:
From the devs, this gameplay aspect is unlikely to change in the near future unfortunately.


My only solution was to massively reduce the frequency of 'info-messages' :

Gave each of my station managers (200+) at least 1/4 billion, up to 2/3 billion.
Took nearly all zone-patrolling cap-ships off duty.
Removed defence officers from my stations in enemy zones (& let them 'die')

This way I got some SETA peace...

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CommanderTM





Joined: 20 May 2013
Posts: 536 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 13. Mar 16, 17:28    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Is it possible to create a mod that makes those messages lower priority. There must be some priority system already in vanilla because some messages disable seta and some do not.

Would be a mod i would install in a heartbeat.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
X2-Illuminatus
Moderator (Deutsch)
Moderator (Deutsch)

MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 02 Apr 2006
Posts: 20268 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 13. Mar 16, 18:25    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

On the first page of the topic linked by exogenesis, CBJ explains that the internal message system currently has its limits with regards to priorities, which is also the most-likely reason of said behaviour of interrupting SETA.


_________________
Besteht Interesse an einem Nopileos-Hörbuch?

Farnhams Legende und Nopileos als E-Books!

"People who think they know everything are a great annoyance to those of us who do." - Isaac Asimov

"If it's not impossible, there must be a way to do it." - Sir Nicholas Winton
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ubuntufreakdragon



MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 23 Jun 2011
Posts: 3636 on topic
Location: Das Randland des Wahnsinns!
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 13. Mar 16, 19:22    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I've just disabled the money message, moneytransfer was silent in X3 so I don't see the downside of it.
you can do this yourself just add a new extension containing a md\Notifications.xml
with this code:
Code:

<diff>
  <replace sel="/mdscript/cues/cue[@name='PlayerFactionTradeCompleted']/cues/cue[@name='PlayerFactionTradeCompleted_Actions']/actions/do_if[@value='$FireInteractiveEvent'][signal_cue[@cue='PlayerFactionTradeCompleted_Wait']]">
    <do_if value="$FireInteractiveEvent">
      <do_if value="$tradenpc.money gt $tradenpc.maxbudget">
        <transfer_money result="$result" from="$tradenpc" to="player.entity" amount="$tradenpc.money - $tradenpc.maxbudget" />
        <substitute_text text="$logtext" source="{1016,40}" comment="Received surplus of $MONEY$ Credits from $TRADER$.">
          <replace string="'$TRADER$'" with="$tradenpc.name" />
          <replace string="'$MONEY$'" with="-$result / 1Cr" />
        </substitute_text>
        <write_to_logbook category="upkeep" text="$logtext" />
      </do_if>
    </do_if>
  </replace>
</diff>



_________________
My X3 Mods

XRebirth, things left to patch:
In General; On Firing NPC's; In De Vries; Out Of Zone; And the Antiwishlist
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exogenesis



MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 09 Sep 2007
Posts: 1451 on topic
Location: UK
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 14. Mar 16, 03:16    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Thanks for that ubuntufreakdragon,

would be interested in where the list of definitions like 'PlayerFactionTradeCompleted' resides

Wondering if it's worth getting into modding...

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Moncada





Joined: 04 May 2012
Posts: 109 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 14. Mar 16, 10:45    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I wish I could turn of all messages that wasent critical. I dont want to be asked 500 times if the station manager should transfer the money or keep it. I stopped trading manually because of the message spam gave me a headache.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kyrah





Joined: 14 Mar 2016



PostPosted: Mon, 14. Mar 16, 18:05    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

ubuntufreakdragon wrote:
I've just disabled the money message, moneytransfer was silent in X3 so I don't see the downside of it.
you can do this yourself just add a new extension containing a md\Notifications.xml
with this code:
Code:

<diff>
  <replace sel="/mdscript/cues/cue[@name='PlayerFactionTradeCompleted']/cues/cue[@name='PlayerFactionTradeCompleted_Actions']/actions/do_if[@value='$FireInteractiveEvent'][signal_cue[@cue='PlayerFactionTradeCompleted_Wait']]">
    <do_if value="$FireInteractiveEvent">
      <do_if value="$tradenpc.money gt $tradenpc.maxbudget">
        <transfer_money result="$result" from="$tradenpc" to="player.entity" amount="$tradenpc.money - $tradenpc.maxbudget" />
        <substitute_text text="$logtext" source="{1016,40}" comment="Received surplus of $MONEY$ Credits from $TRADER$.">
          <replace string="'$TRADER$'" with="$tradenpc.name" />
          <replace string="'$MONEY$'" with="-$result / 1Cr" />
        </substitute_text>
        <write_to_logbook category="upkeep" text="$logtext" />
      </do_if>
    </do_if>
  </replace>
</diff>


Can you please more specific how to do this? Where exactly must the file be placed?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UniTrader
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)

MEDAL

Joined: 20 Nov 2005
Posts: 13419 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 14. Mar 16, 18:43    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

kyrah wrote:
ubuntufreakdragon wrote:
I've just disabled the money message, moneytransfer was silent in X3 so I don't see the downside of it.
you can do this yourself just add a new extension containing a md\Notifications.xml
with this code:
Code:

<diff>
  <replace sel="/mdscript/cues/cue[@name='PlayerFactionTradeCompleted']/cues/cue[@name='PlayerFactionTradeCompleted_Actions']/actions/do_if[@value='$FireInteractiveEvent'][signal_cue[@cue='PlayerFactionTradeCompleted_Wait']]">
    <do_if value="$FireInteractiveEvent">
      <do_if value="$tradenpc.money gt $tradenpc.maxbudget">
        <transfer_money result="$result" from="$tradenpc" to="player.entity" amount="$tradenpc.money - $tradenpc.maxbudget" />
        <substitute_text text="$logtext" source="{1016,40}" comment="Received surplus of $MONEY$ Credits from $TRADER$.">
          <replace string="'$TRADER$'" with="$tradenpc.name" />
          <replace string="'$MONEY$'" with="-$result / 1Cr" />
        </substitute_text>
        <write_to_logbook category="upkeep" text="$logtext" />
      </do_if>
    </do_if>
  </replace>
</diff>


Can you please more specific how to do this? Where exactly must the file be placed?
create a new Folder in extensions (name doesnt matter - its basically your personal mod), create an "md" folder inside there, and in ther create a notifications.xml and copy the code above into it Wink

@exogenesis
it refers to the original game files (you have to extract them first though, which takes about 15 minutes via a bat file)


_________________
if not stated otherwise everything i post is licensed under WTFPL

Ich mache keine S&M-Auftragsarbeiten, aber wenn es fragen gibt wie man etwas umsetzen kann helfe ich gerne weiter Wink

I wont do Script&Mod Request work, but if there are questions how to do something i will GLaDly help Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kyrah





Joined: 14 Mar 2016



PostPosted: Tue, 15. Mar 16, 13:57    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Thanks! This is awesome Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PsyClone





Joined: 23 May 2004



PostPosted: Wed, 30. Mar 16, 13:28    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I'm 5 days in to my campaign and there's a few things bugging me.. this is one of them. Thanks for the script!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RedPanther9



MEDALMEDAL

Joined: 27 Nov 2012
Posts: 23 on topic
Location: Orion Nebula
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 30. Jan 17, 17:13    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

hello

Unitrader , i did exactly what you said and it still dont work , i still have videos + messages money transfer of all my stations

(i created an XML file and pasted your code on it)

i took a pic to show you



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CBJ
EGOSOFT
EGOSOFT



Joined: 29 Apr 2003
Posts: 35619 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 30. Jan 17, 17:33    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Please don't dredge up year-old threads which may contain out of date information. You also already started one thread about this, which was moved to the Scripts and Modding forum where it belongs. Please use that thread so that people can follow what you've tried, rather than scattering the information all over the place.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
Control Panel
Login Data
The time now is Fri, 22. Sep 17, 02:52

All times are GMT + 2 Hours


Board Security

Copyright © EGOSOFT 1989-2017
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Template created by Avatar & BurnIt!
Debug: page generation = 0.46658 seconds, sql queries = 27