"Select Mod Package" button greyed out

Ask here if you experience technical problems with X³: Reunion, X²: The Threat, X-Tension or X-Beyond The Frontier

Moderators: timon37, Moderators for English X Forum

Post Reply
Xenodom
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue, 7. Apr 15, 18:01

"Select Mod Package" button greyed out

Post by Xenodom » Wed, 15. Apr 15, 13:01

When i start the game the "Select Mod Package" button is greyed out
in the launch menu.

also i have no idea where to put the cat and dat files.
I tryed finding a post about it but I couldn't find any clear information on how to do this.

User avatar
X2-Illuminatus
Moderator (Deutsch)
Moderator (Deutsch)
Posts: 21849
Joined: Sun, 2. Apr 06, 16:38
x4

Post by X2-Illuminatus » Wed, 15. Apr 15, 15:09

In your gamefolder (see this FAQ article for X2 and this for X3R to know where to find it) create a new folder and name it "mods". Afterwards put the pair of cat/dat files in there and you can select the mod from the starter.
Alternatively, If you want to use more than one mod, you can install them as Fake patches.
Die komplette X-Roman-Reihe jetzt als Kindle E-Books! (Farnhams Legende, Nopileos, X3: Yoshiko, X3: Hüter der Tore, X3: Wächter der Erde)

Neuauflage der fünf X-Romane als Taschenbuch

The official X-novels Farnham's Legend and Nopileos as Kindle e-books! (NOW also available: X3: Yoshiko!)

Xenodom
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue, 7. Apr 15, 18:01

Post by Xenodom » Wed, 15. Apr 15, 16:53

still greyed out when i start....

Xenodom
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue, 7. Apr 15, 18:01

Post by Xenodom » Wed, 15. Apr 15, 16:54

I am using the steam version BTW.

Xenodom
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue, 7. Apr 15, 18:01

Post by Xenodom » Wed, 15. Apr 15, 17:47

but the fake patches work. Still is not right that this is the only option.
It should work in menu too. The game costs a little too much too be buggy like this. esspecially after 7+ years.

is it a windows 8 thing? Or is it steam?

User avatar
X2-Illuminatus
Moderator (Deutsch)
Moderator (Deutsch)
Posts: 21849
Joined: Sun, 2. Apr 06, 16:38
x4

Post by X2-Illuminatus » Wed, 15. Apr 15, 17:52

Xenodom wrote:It should work in menu too.
It does. You're obviously making a mistake somewhere.

Is your mods folder named correctly? Do you have a pair of equally named cat/dat files in the mods folder? Have you placed the mods folder in the Steam game folder?
Die komplette X-Roman-Reihe jetzt als Kindle E-Books! (Farnhams Legende, Nopileos, X3: Yoshiko, X3: Hüter der Tore, X3: Wächter der Erde)

Neuauflage der fünf X-Romane als Taschenbuch

The official X-novels Farnham's Legend and Nopileos as Kindle e-books! (NOW also available: X3: Yoshiko!)

Xenodom
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue, 7. Apr 15, 18:01

Post by Xenodom » Wed, 29. Apr 15, 20:04

I'd like too continue this post as it still does not work entirely.

Yes i have done all of the things above.

the mod im trying to make work is

CockpitMod v1.33 for X3TC v3.1 (update: 13.09.2014)

yet the albion prelude one does not work even as a fake patch.

Xenodom
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue, 7. Apr 15, 18:01

Post by Xenodom » Fri, 1. May 15, 13:15

I figured it out my self.

the mods folder needs to be in the addons folder.

I could not find this info anywhere even do I looked for it.
The thing that is told is that it should be in the main x3 folder.
But that doesn't work.

Alan Phipps
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)
Posts: 22161
Joined: Fri, 16. Apr 04, 19:21
x4

Post by Alan Phipps » Fri, 1. May 15, 13:41

The addon folder within the X3TC gamefolder effectively *is* the X3AP gamefiles. X3TC mods/scripts go in the main X3TC gamefolder and (most) X3AP ones in the addon folder. The majority of X3AP mod/script users would probably know that - although you are correct in commenting that the relevant mod thread Opening Post has not had the installation instruction fully updated in respect of X3AP versions.

It was only 2 posts above that you first mentioned what game you were playing or somebody here would probably have advised checking the appropriate installation location earlier. Glad it is all sorted now though. :thumb_up:
A dog has a master; a cat has domestic staff.

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Reunion, X²: The Threat, X-T and X-BTF - Technical Support”