[MOD] Manual Command Extension v0.20 (Updated : Jun 28, 2014)

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X Rebirth.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

Berserk Knight
Posts: 233
Joined: Tue, 17. Dec 13, 02:34

Post by Berserk Knight » Tue, 22. Apr 14, 18:41

Update on my current..."situation"


With the mod...

Fleet/escort scripts are in a state I'd consider release-worthy.
Movement - specifically, booster usage - has been fine tuned so it's seamless as possible, and doesn't send ships speeding into the unknown regions of space anymore.
Ships boosting around like crazy within the same zone should no longer happen. (They WILL use boosters when their escort target is also boosting, or when they need to close distance. However, they will only do so when they are properly aligned.)

Issuing the "move forward #km" command will make the ship boost.

Attacking targets...well, until I stop using the vanilla combat scripts (which EgoSoft had the courtesy to break even more with 1.30) the "attack target" command will be limited to targets that have relation values low enough to be considered an "enemy". (-10 or lower)

...What did they do to the combat scripts? Well, someone decided to remove the 2 lines of code that told capital ships to fire their non-turret weapons. (Novadrones for Balors and IHC for Sucelluses.)
If it had to be done because it interfered with some new important function, it could be forgiven. (COULD, not would.)
Nope, all they added was one line that gives a list of additional targets to the DRONES. Oh, and only once when they launch. No updates on the target list after that.
Wow, it's such a vast improvement that totally justifies losing the ability to fire off signature main weapons! ...Not.


With my laptop...

This thing's a few years old, and while it's still powerful enough to run most games at reasonably high fidelity presets, it's been suffering abnormal and severe overheating issues for about a week or two.
(MSI GT680R. i7-2630QM CPU, 10GB RAM, Geforce GTX460M VGA...still fairly powerful.)
I'm guessing the thermal compound on the heatsink module has dried out or something like that, since cleaning all the dust and setting the fan to max still results in overheating when playing games.
(I'm SO glad this thing has that button for putting the fan on overdrive.)

Because of this, testing is extremely slow. (Overheating results in an immediate automatic power cut.)


At any rate, the mod is effectively ready.
I'll be packaging and releasing this thing very soon.

Edit : Since some people are having a hard time finding stuff, and, to be frank, I'd have problems finding stuff if I didn't make it myself, I'll need to cook up a simple manual so people know what's where (along with what they do) without going through the entire menu system several times over.

Sparky Sparkycorp
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)
Posts: 7064
Joined: Tue, 30. Mar 04, 12:28

Post by Sparky Sparkycorp » Tue, 22. Apr 14, 19:57

Sorry to hear of your troubles and the nerf to the Sucellus. Many thanks for persisting.

Jakesnake5
Posts: 2874
Joined: Fri, 17. Feb 06, 05:55

Post by Jakesnake5 » Wed, 23. Apr 14, 23:42

Been using UFO (Mainly to get ships to come to my position, not 35km away) and suspect it's the cause of some phenomenal drone spam near one of my stations that has enemies nearby.

Going to give MCE a go once I 'remove' UFO.

BTW, which scrip did they mod to kill Balor and Sucellus main guns. I have an idea I want to try.

Berserk Knight
Posts: 233
Joined: Tue, 17. Dec 13, 02:34

Post by Berserk Knight » Thu, 24. Apr 14, 13:13

Well, v0.16 is out now.
Hopefully I can cook up new combat scripts before the next patch.
Jakesnake5 wrote:Been using UFO (Mainly to get ships to come to my position, not 35km away) and suspect it's the cause of some phenomenal drone spam near one of my stations that has enemies nearby.

Going to give MCE a go once I 'remove' UFO.

BTW, which scrip did they mod to kill Balor and Sucellus main guns. I have an idea I want to try.
fight.attack.object.capital
It's the only script they use for capitals.

User avatar
NZ-Wanderer
Posts: 1464
Joined: Thu, 5. Aug 04, 01:57

Post by NZ-Wanderer » Thu, 24. Apr 14, 23:04

Hi there, installed the new version (as well as the dependency) using nexus mod manager..
When I go in-game I get the following in my mission manager.

http://cloud-2.steampowered.com/ugc/328 ... 943618AC0/

Is this normal?

astaldion
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri, 13. Jun 08, 21:53

Post by astaldion » Fri, 25. Apr 14, 02:19

FINALLY! Attack commands are working again and my arawn has a sense once again.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vGZoyG6w5Ng

Probably the best and most important mod out there right now!


PS:
I found a small bug i think. After i installed your mods new version, i keep getting 2 MCE generic missions called "MCE Target" and "MCE Mass Selection". Any idea why? Are these some kind of tutorial?

Berserk Knight
Posts: 233
Joined: Tue, 17. Dec 13, 02:34

Post by Berserk Knight » Fri, 25. Apr 14, 05:53

Those 2 missions are intended, and are normal.

After setting the MCE Target and playing the game for a loooooong time, you have a high chance of forgetting what the target was.
(Unless you own the ship and renamed it specifically.)

Same goes for the MCE Mass Selection, and it also has an additional problem of you not knowing exactly what's in the selection when you pop an AOE select.

An example for the Mass Selection.
You have 10 ships in a 10km-ish sphere centered around one central ship.
However, one of them is constantly shifting around, and keeps going in and out of the 10km mark.
(And the fact that it's doing this happens to be barely noticeable from a distance.)
You use Mass Selection to select ships within 10km radius of the central ship.
You presume all of them have been selected, but that one ship that was constantly moving was apparantly just outside the 10km range on the moment the selection was processed.
Sometime after issuing an order, you notice that one of your ships isn't following orders.
You'd have no clue why it's not responding to Mass Commands.

Those kind of situations are what the missions try to prevent by telling you exactly what you have selected.
Aside from pointing to the current target/selection, it doesn't do anything.
(Well, they do double as an under the hood cleanup when things get destroyed, but that's it.)
As I said, it's perfectly normal for those missions to appear.
No need to be alarmed.

Wana
Posts: 270
Joined: Sun, 27. Jun 10, 15:46

Post by Wana » Fri, 25. Apr 14, 13:50

Well... sir you are a hero for X:R players.

A manual is very welcome because i just get the mass selection command reading your last post.
there's menus everywhere and this UI is so awful !

typing 2-4-1-5-4 to order a ship to move in a sector is horrible. even worse if you have to do that to 15 ships.

So thank you ! and nice job !

astaldion
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri, 13. Jun 08, 21:53

Post by astaldion » Fri, 25. Apr 14, 15:42

Okay, i tried to play with these two missions and they work as you have mentioned.

But i have some feedback.

-When you use "Reset target/remove selection" i think the two generic MCE missions should be removed from the mission screen.

-Whenever you finish another mission, you will get a "Wait MCE target" mission assign. I think you should only get these MCE mission by selecting them manually, can you somehow disable the automatic mission selection on them?

Next to that, i love your update. I even stopped playing this game, when the old MCE and later your MCE version stopped working.

BlackRain
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Posts: 5038
Joined: Mon, 15. Dec 03, 19:53

Post by BlackRain » Fri, 25. Apr 14, 23:05

I tried out the new version a little yesterday and I just want to say so far it is very good. Good job!

angerchan
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon, 13. Feb 12, 11:20

Post by angerchan » Sat, 3. May 14, 05:33

There is an error iteration in MCE menu(MCE_UniverseMenu, MCE_NonSquadMenu, MCE_NotOwnedMenu), mybe caused by "BK Universal Menu System". Could you check it ?

BlackRain
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Posts: 5038
Joined: Mon, 15. Dec 03, 19:53

Post by BlackRain » Sat, 3. May 14, 18:12

Hey Berserk, was curious if you think you could do something like Mad Joker did, with UFO. Meaning, could you add a UI like he did to make things easier to set up? You could have multiple fleets, easy to set up UI and easy command structure with the UI mad joker made with ufo. Would be awesome if it could be implemented with MCE.

BlackRain
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Posts: 5038
Joined: Mon, 15. Dec 03, 19:53

Post by BlackRain » Tue, 13. May 14, 14:27

This will need to be updated for new version 2. It doesn't work correctly.

Wana
Posts: 270
Joined: Sun, 27. Jun 10, 15:46

Post by Wana » Mon, 19. May 14, 01:41

it doesn't work at all, and must be uninstalled if you want to play 2.0 because there's serious conflicts with "new order" menu.

Moreover, it's not new, but the debug log list is freaking hudge...

well, awaiting an update, because it has excellent features.

BlackRain
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Posts: 5038
Joined: Mon, 15. Dec 03, 19:53

Post by BlackRain » Wed, 21. May 14, 00:01

Berserk, really need you to fix this for new version heh.

Post Reply

Return to “X Rebirth - Scripts and Modding”