Mobile Mining Mk2 (MM Mk2) v1.05 [TC][AP][SCR]

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

Post Reply
dubnium
Posts: 1078
Joined: Thu, 12. Feb 09, 09:54
x3tc

Post by dubnium » Mon, 30. Sep 13, 07:09

from what i know there are about 5 places in the universe that buy at most 10 units of nividium. even if that nvidium is instantly destroyed to make way for new sales you would need a constant stream of ships capable of carrying XL cargo flying there to offload nividum at the rate it is being mined.

User avatar
DrBullwinkle
Posts: 5715
Joined: Sat, 17. Dec 11, 01:44
x3tc

Post by DrBullwinkle » Mon, 30. Sep 13, 07:31

Traders won't buy all of your stock instantly. It takes time to sell your Nividium from your PHQ. But it is faster than you think. And easier, as well.

dubnium
Posts: 1078
Joined: Thu, 12. Feb 09, 09:54
x3tc

Post by dubnium » Mon, 30. Sep 13, 07:55

how many simultaneous miners can one run with a setup like that without a surplus building up? also, in one of your earlier posts you spoke about traders selling your nividium, which implies player-owned traders, while in the most recent one you speak about traders buying your nividium, which implies npcs traders (which seems more feasible to me as npc traders are too stupid to realise that every other trader in the universe is buying the same nividium that is almost impossible to sell); which is it? if it's npc traders, how low does the price need to be to attract them? if you mean player-owned traders, where do they go to sell it, corporate HQs?

User avatar
DrBullwinkle
Posts: 5715
Joined: Sat, 17. Dec 11, 01:44
x3tc

Post by DrBullwinkle » Mon, 30. Sep 13, 09:52

Both. Try it.

I use gnasirator's Improved Mk3's for most trading, and Shimrod's new(ish) traders are awesome as well. While it is possible to do a lot of trading with CLS2 and CAG, I find it more trouble than it is worth.

Your mileage may vary.

dubnium
Posts: 1078
Joined: Thu, 12. Feb 09, 09:54
x3tc

Post by dubnium » Tue, 1. Oct 13, 09:20

how many miners can work simultaneously without building up a surplus?

Sanjor
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun, 18. Sep 11, 14:59
x4

Post by Sanjor » Thu, 21. Nov 13, 06:23

Code: Select all

* Subroutine: Transport wares to specified TL
SubMineralsTL:
skip if $station->exists
  endsub

* Sanjor: \/====================\/
do if [THIS]->get amount of ware {Transporter Device} in cargo bay
  $TransporterDevice = [TRUE]
do if $station->get amount of ware {Transporter Device} in cargo bay
  $TransporterDevice = [TRUE]

* Move to target if in jumprange
if $follow AND $TransporterDevice
  $tmp = [THIS]->call script '!move.movetoobject' : Target=$station  Range=4500
else if $TransporterDevice
  $tmp = [THIS]->call script '!move.movetoobject.samesector' : Target=$station  Range=4500
  
else
  gosub SubMineralsTLDock
end

if $tmp == {FLRET_TARGETREACHED}
  do if [THIS]->get amount of ware {Transporter Device} in cargo bay
    $TransporterDevice = [TRUE]
  do if $station->get amount of ware {Transporter Device} in cargo bay
    $TransporterDevice = [TRUE]
  if $TransporterDevice
* Sanjor: ^====================^
    
    $x = [THIS]->get amount of ware $mineral in cargo bay
    $y = $station->get free amount of ware $mineral in cargo bay
    do if $y < $x
      $x = $y
    = $station->add $x units of $mineral
    $x = -$x
    = [THIS]->add $x units of $mineral
    
* Sanjor: \/====================\/
  else
    gosub SubMineralsTLDock
  end
end
endsub

* Subroutine: Dock and unload wares to specified TL
SubMineralsTLDock:
skip if [THIS]->is docking allowed at $station
  return 'error.CannotTransferMineralsToTL'
* Return Error.  I don't even know if I'm doing this wrong. -Sanjor

* I don't know how it will handle the TL being in an unconnected sector. 
* The station subroutine didn't check for that, so I guess it's safe. -Sanjor
$ tmp = [THIS]-> fly to home base
if $tmp == {FLRET_LANDED}
  $x = [THIS]->get amount of ware $mineral in cargo bay
  = [THIS]->unload $x units of $mineral
end
endsub
* Sanjor: ^====================^

return null
I took a crack at transferring freight from either miner- or Homebase-based Transporter Devices and allow transfer via docking.
The unload command doesn't behave as I had hoped, leaving my miners docked and full of ore. I could replace it with the code used for the Transporter Device-based transfer, but I'd like to use trade commands if an appropriate one exists.
It occurs to me that I could use $tmp in place of $TransporterDevice at the expense of some readability.

Lakz
Posts: 127
Joined: Tue, 19. Feb 13, 04:20

Post by Lakz » Thu, 28. Nov 13, 16:38

Thanks for that script. The wing command has been an absolute godsend

Ferenczy66
Posts: 142
Joined: Sat, 14. May 11, 07:09
x3tc

Re: Mobile Mining Mk2 (MM Mk2) v1.05 [TC][AP][SCR]

Post by Ferenczy66 » Sat, 1. Mar 14, 07:44

DrBullwinkle wrote:.

If you ask me whether it works with XRM, I'm going to tell you to punch yourself for asking. :)
Just a side note Doc...

XRM removes (as far as a quick scan goes) all XL cargo from fighters...meaning Falcon Haulers wont work in that scenario, unless players edit their Tships.

I'm doing that now...as I want to compare productivity of some of Lucike's scripts with their counterparts from other authors.

User avatar
DrBullwinkle
Posts: 5715
Joined: Sat, 17. Dec 11, 01:44
x3tc

Post by DrBullwinkle » Sat, 1. Mar 14, 07:50

Yet another reason not to use XRM. ;)

(Just kidding. Editing the parts that don't make sense is probably the right thing to do. There are several. Otherwise, though, it has some great features.)

Lakz
Posts: 127
Joined: Tue, 19. Feb 13, 04:20

Re: Mobile Mining Mk2 (MM Mk2) v1.05 [TC][AP][SCR]

Post by Lakz » Sat, 1. Mar 14, 16:53

Ferenczy66 wrote: Just a side note Doc...

XRM removes (as far as a quick scan goes) all XL cargo from fighters...meaning Falcon Haulers wont work in that scenario, unless players edit their Tships.

I'm doing that now...as I want to compare productivity of some of Lucike's scripts with their counterparts from other authors.
Not true, there are a few fighters having an XL cargo hold. Mostly goner crafts. They're fast and have outstanding shields, making them perfect miners. However, they're pretty expensive . You can always cap them, if you have the bailing script (plenty to find in Yaki territory). Coupled with a light carrier and a TS for CLS, they make a good little mining solution.

But if you want to be serious about it, I recommend buying a large fleet of Mercury MK1 (80+), a Mammoth with a few marines (for eventual repairs) and a good TS for CLS (i.e. Mistral). Have also a few military assets patrolling, depending on the sector (rapid corvettes with a light carrier wing should work well).

User avatar
DrBullwinkle
Posts: 5715
Joined: Sat, 17. Dec 11, 01:44
x3tc

Post by DrBullwinkle » Sat, 1. Mar 14, 21:09

I don't know about XRM, but Falcon Haulers are *better* miners than TS's in the vanilla game. I would call them very "serious".

Ferenczy66
Posts: 142
Joined: Sat, 14. May 11, 07:09
x3tc

Re: Mobile Mining Mk2 (MM Mk2) v1.05 [TC][AP][SCR]

Post by Ferenczy66 » Sun, 2. Mar 14, 02:49

Lakz wrote:
Ferenczy66 wrote: Just a side note Doc...

XRM removes (as far as a quick scan goes) all XL cargo from fighters...meaning Falcon Haulers wont work in that scenario, unless players edit their Tships.

I'm doing that now...as I want to compare productivity of some of Lucike's scripts with their counterparts from other authors.
Not true, there are a few fighters having an XL cargo hold. Mostly goner crafts.
Actually, the Goner crusader and Ranger are the "only 2" with XL cargo.

So assuming you, like me, were trying to follow the author's advice, you might not pick up that fact until after you had bought a fleet of falcons and found out it was a mistake.

User avatar
DrBullwinkle
Posts: 5715
Joined: Sat, 17. Dec 11, 01:44
x3tc

Post by DrBullwinkle » Sun, 2. Mar 14, 03:04

The qualities that make Falcon Haulers good miners are the heavy shields, large cargo bay, XL cargo capacity, and decent turn rate. Falcon Haulers have heavier shields than most TS's (although the new TS+ ships in AP are fine for mining). (Also, you can dock Falcon Haulers at your TL and jump to another sector, including Undefined Space. You can't do that with TS's and most TL's.)

The reason that I point this out is that there are many misleading "guides" on the forum that incorrectly recommend TS's as miners. In fact, vanilla TS's are the worst miners (due to low shields and slow turn rate). M6's are better, and Falcon Haulers better still.

For those who play ship mods (such as XRM), you will have to figure out which ships have the right combination of qualities in your mod.

Idleking
Posts: 425
Joined: Tue, 15. Aug 06, 15:47
x3ap

Post by Idleking » Sun, 20. Apr 14, 14:33

DrBullwinkle wrote:In fact, vanilla TS's are the worst miners
True story. Ever seen 25 freighters trying to mine a single rock cluster?
Uuuhh.. let's say the collision avoidance algorithm seems to have the upper hand in more cases than less.

Just something that came to my mind trying to "automate" collecting the remnants of a Nividium Asteroid in Unfocussed Jump Space:
Am I the only one that had the idea of using a Transporter Device to collect rocks?

Sure it might be a bit imbalanced but well, since you can find an Aran and dock TS/M6 to it and bring them to unfocussed space, it's not much of a big deal, since those sectors give you "free money" anyway.
Might aswell make it work within a couple of meters to balance it a bit, because ~5km collecting radius would be insane.. so, what about 200m?

Possible/doable?
In the mood to? :D
As the size of an explosion increases, the number of social situations it is incapable of solving approaches zero.

[ external image ]
Litcube wrote:Don't succumb to the "I figured it'd be ok".

User avatar
DrBullwinkle
Posts: 5715
Joined: Sat, 17. Dec 11, 01:44
x3tc

Post by DrBullwinkle » Sun, 20. Apr 14, 17:44

I break an asteroid then set my miners to mine.

If I intend to mine myself (as in Undefined Space), then I break a second asteroid and mine there. That way, I do not have to worry about proximity to my miners.

In my experience, the miners spread out nicely when used this way.


Sure, transporter mining is possible. Script-wise, the mining "technology" uses a form of transporter anyway... the script command is the same. The reasons for the extremely short range are immersion and balance. Mobile Mining is already competitive with Universe Traders for "passive income". If we make mining *too* profitable then it would detract from the game rather than improve it.

That said, I will take another look at mining range the next time that I do tests with MM Mk2. Thank you for the suggestion.

facastefff
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon, 2. Feb 04, 15:17
x4

Post by facastefff » Sat, 4. Oct 14, 16:28

Hi.

I'm running Litcube's Universe v1.3.6 for AP and have dropped the MM MK2 files into the addon/script and addon/t folders.

I've crushed a Nividium rock with the help of a hornet and some additional shots and my miners are able to get Nividium with the 'Collect Rocks'-command, so mining seems to be possible.
Now I've added all my miners into a wing and tried starting the 'Mine Minerals' command, sadly this does not seem to work for me. The Following is my problem:

When I start the command everything seems ok, I can change the rock type, the amount to collect, the system and the homebase. But when i hit 'Start mining' the command resets. Same happens when I try to close the commands window. I seem to be stuck in a loop which restarts the command creation over and over again, only way to get out is a reload.

Any idea what would cause this? Did i mess up the install, do litcube+MM MK2 do strange things together, or is it something else entirely?

User avatar
DrBullwinkle
Posts: 5715
Joined: Sat, 17. Dec 11, 01:44
x3tc

Post by DrBullwinkle » Sat, 4. Oct 14, 18:58

facastefff wrote:Any idea what would cause this?
LU changes some of the standard menus and scripts; requiring changes to some scripts.

I modified most of my scripts for LU when it was in test phase, but all of that work is now gone. Sorry.

facastefff
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon, 2. Feb 04, 15:17
x4

Post by facastefff » Sat, 4. Oct 14, 19:01

That's a bummer. Thanks for your fast answer anyways :)

sithneverdiealone
Posts: 214
Joined: Thu, 15. Jan 15, 23:46

Post by sithneverdiealone » Sat, 17. Jan 15, 07:53

Dose this change the (infinite)respawn of Nividium rocks in places like kingdom end?
Peace thru Superior Corporate Management... and 47 fully loaded Valhallas.

User avatar
DrBullwinkle
Posts: 5715
Joined: Sat, 17. Dec 11, 01:44
x3tc

Post by DrBullwinkle » Sat, 17. Jan 15, 07:55

MM Mk2 makes no changes to asteroid spawning.

AP, however, has slightly different rules than TC. I believe that there is no longer infinite rock respawning. However, AP does have many more Nividium asteroids scattered throughout the 'verse.

Why do you ask?

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Terran Conflict / Albion Prelude - Scripts and Modding”