EnglishGermanFrenchRussianItalianSpanish
Log inRegister
 
X Plugin Manager and SPK Tools for Mac v. 1.21 and AP Bonus Pack How-To (5/4/2012)
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
icEPiraka





Joined: 02 Jul 2008
Posts: 64 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 28. Apr 12, 19:50    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

glennbroce wrote:
Ice and all, thanks for all work.

Is there now an updated instruction set to install the bonus pack?

I want to install the bonus pack, but with the earlier versions and revisions of the various programs involved, I'm confused and hesitant to start. I'm fairly new to the Mac. Thanks!


No worries. All relevant info is on the front page, which should be all up to date. In short, just right click (or control click) the .exe and select "Open With" > "Other" from the dropdown and manually select the Plugin Manager. You may have to mess around with file permissions first (see front page).

Basically, all the revisions I have done have nothing to do with being physically able to open .exe files: they only pertain to being able to run the Plugin Manager itself. If all people were doing was just running the .exes, then they could have done that from the start without great difficulty.


_________________
The Ultimate Guide to X3 Mods for Mac
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cycrow
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)



Joined: 15 Nov 2004
Posts: 20519 on topic
Location: London
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 29. Apr 12, 15:39    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

just a quick update.
recently i've been doing programming on macs, so eventually i will be able to create a native mac client for the plugin manager

it'll be awhile before i will be able to get this done however


_________________
My Scripts | MY X3TC Scripts | X3 Plugin Manager | Custom Gui
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
icEPiraka





Joined: 02 Jul 2008
Posts: 64 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 4. May 12, 20:40    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Looking forward to it.

In the meantime though, another little update.

v. 1.21 (5/4/2012)
Added Advanced Plugin Manager app.

This update may come in handy if you find yourself wanting to manage a lot of false patches. I feel I may be using it a lot.


_________________
The Ultimate Guide to X3 Mods for Mac
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ddr666





Joined: 24 Jul 2011
Posts: 3 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 6. May 12, 22:20    Post subject: It works Reply with quote Print

Followed your instructions, had some trouble, until I realized I was trying to install on my backup drive, didn't notice the "C" drive instead of the "Z" have used only macs since 1988. Great work, instructions are very clear, my reading is not so much so. System Mac OS 10.6.8 french, with the deliver2mac app. Question dose the plugin manager work for all kinds of X-verse addons. I mostly a newbe, but I've seen some of the interesting stuff on the form, looking forward to long nights of gameplay. Thank you for all your hard work.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
temetvince



MEDAL

Joined: 29 Jul 2011
Posts: 158 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Tue, 17. Jul 12, 06:00    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Can anyone confirm whether or not this shows your game as "modified?"

I mean, theoretically it shouldn't. But being on a mac, does it?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
icEPiraka





Joined: 02 Jul 2008
Posts: 64 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Tue, 17. Jul 12, 18:20    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I'm not quite sure what you mean by 'theoretically', but if you install a mod or script with this, I'm pretty sure it sets your game as modified. From my experience, when it comes to the game's data files, scripts, and behavior when such files are modded, the windows version is practically identical to the Mac version.


_________________
The Ultimate Guide to X3 Mods for Mac
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
temetvince



MEDAL

Joined: 29 Jul 2011
Posts: 158 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 18. Jul 12, 02:06    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

icEPiraka wrote:
I'm not quite sure what you mean by 'theoretically', but if you install a mod or script with this, I'm pretty sure it sets your game as modified. From my experience, when it comes to the game's data files, scripts, and behavior when such files are modded, the windows version is practically identical to the Mac version.


Theoretically, as in because I'm only installing the bonus pack, it shouldn't show as modified. But since we aren't simply installing the bonus pack but doing all this weird stuff, will our game show modified?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
icEPiraka





Joined: 02 Jul 2008
Posts: 64 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 18. Jul 12, 02:44    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Ah, thanks for that clarification. With regards to only the bonus pack, I'm fairly certain it will not mark the game as modified. Like I said, it seems the game files behave the same on both Mac and PC.


_________________
The Ultimate Guide to X3 Mods for Mac
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
temetvince



MEDAL

Joined: 29 Jul 2011
Posts: 158 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 18. Jul 12, 04:53    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

icEPiraka wrote:
Ah, thanks for that clarification. With regards to only the bonus pack, I'm fairly certain it will not mark the game as modified. Like I said, it seems the game files behave the same on both Mac and PC.


That's what I'm hoping for. Thanks!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Deleted User
Guest








PostPosted: Mon, 6. Aug 12, 15:24    Post subject: Jorkin ships problem Reply with quote Print

I'm playing X3AP-Mac and trying to edit ships from: http://letreferit.narod2.ru/ in xsp format (using Package Creator), which are editable in every respect except for the Turrets tab where the Main Cockpit box reads: No Scene File Loaded!! (ships\props\cameradummy:0) and is greyed out.

Is there a fix for this, or are these ships unusable?

Confused

Back to top
icEPiraka





Joined: 02 Jul 2008
Posts: 64 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 6. Aug 12, 20:52    Post subject: Re: Jorkin ships problem Reply with quote Print

hubris wrote:
I'm playing X3AP-Mac and trying to edit ships from: http://letreferit.narod2.ru/ in xsp format (using Package Creator), which are editable in every respect except for the Turrets tab where the Main Cockpit box reads: No Scene File Loaded!! (ships\props\cameradummy:0) and is greyed out.

Is there a fix for this, or are these ships unusable?

Confused


I'll be honest, I have not really used the Package Creator or XSP editor at all, so your question might be better spent on someone who has experience in using these tools and in modding in general. This doesn't appear to be a Wine problem, so I don't think I can fix your issue. You might try asking in Cycrow's X Plugin Manager topic, since my Plugin Manager tools are simply ports of his original work.


_________________
The Ultimate Guide to X3 Mods for Mac
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Doug50891





Joined: 03 Nov 2009

Location: United States

PostPosted: Wed, 8. Aug 12, 19:38    Post subject: Mountain Lion Reply with quote Print

Hey,

I'm trying to run this on my new laptop, but I keep getting a "can't connect to server" type error followed by a very creepy gray full screen. Is the app not compatible with mountain lion or something? I've also tried manually installing cycrow's cheat package like I used to in X3:TC (dropping the scripts and T's into their respective folders) but this isn't working either. I'd really like to get X3:AP up and running any help would be great.

Thanks,
Doug

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
icEPiraka





Joined: 02 Jul 2008
Posts: 64 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 8. Aug 12, 20:49    Post subject: Re: Mountain Lion Reply with quote Print

Doug50891 wrote:
Hey,

I'm trying to run this on my new laptop, but I keep getting a "can't connect to server" type error followed by a very creepy gray full screen. Is the app not compatible with mountain lion or something? I've also tried manually installing cycrow's cheat package like I used to in X3:TC (dropping the scripts and T's into their respective folders) but this isn't working either. I'd really like to get X3:AP up and running any help would be great.

Thanks,
Doug


It's likely that the Wineskin version I was using was dated. I've updated the wine wrapper for the app and have re-uploaded it, so hopefully it's up to par with Mountain Lion. I'd appreciate it if you could test it to see if it works (because I have not updated to Mountain Lion myself, and do not want to commit to an update just yet).

With regards to manual installation of scripts, AP works differently than TC. You don't put the new scripts directly into the Scripts and T folders. Instead, if I recall correctly, there is an addons folder with its own set of Scripts and T folders (unless you have not installed any mods/scripts, in which case it might be empty). You should install new mods/scripts in there.


_________________
The Ultimate Guide to X3 Mods for Mac
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Doug50891





Joined: 03 Nov 2009

Location: United States

PostPosted: Wed, 8. Aug 12, 22:31    Post subject: Mountain Lion Reply with quote Print

That certainly did the trick. Thanks for the quick response!

-Doug

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lemant





Joined: 27 Jul 2012



PostPosted: Wed, 15. Aug 12, 05:29    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Hello icEPiraka. I'm a Mac user (who happens to be clueless on just about all matters related to coding/software side of things) attempting to run "X3 Editor 2" on my Mac desktop machine via free trial version of CrossOver. To successfully run X3 Editor 2, however, I've been told that I will need something called a "wrapper" and that you are the person to ask.

If you have already created such item for Mac users, please kindly direct me to the link. Thank you.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum
Control Panel
Login Data
The time now is Wed, 15. Aug 18, 08:47

All times are GMT + 2 Hours

[ Disclaimer / Impressum ] | [ Privacy Policy / Datenschutz ]

Board Security

Copyright © EGOSOFT 1989-2018
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Template created by Avatar & BurnIt!
Debug: page generation = 0.09962 seconds, sql queries = 29