[SCR] Missile Data Display (v1.03 - 22.01.12)

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

User avatar
Gazz
Posts: 13244
Joined: Fri, 13. Jan 06, 16:39
x4

[SCR] Missile Data Display (v1.03 - 22.01.12)

Post by Gazz » Fri, 26. Aug 11, 20:07

English / Deutsch


This script furthers your laziness.


Feature 1: Installed missile data display

When you change the currently installed missile, it displays data about that missile type in the subtitle.
(yes, it would be helpful if you had subtitles enabled in your game options)

[ external image ]

WHAT data is displayed and in which order is controlled by the script's text file.
X3:TC: t\7073-L044.xml
X3:AP: addon\t\7073-L044.xml

You want the missile name on the right of the line? Set it's sort order number to 40 or so.
Want the "dumbfire" tag shown as the first thing? Set the sort order to 1.

Want no missile name displayed at all? Set it to 0.

Want more spacing?
Add more spacing.
It's a text file...

How often the script checks up on the installed missile and for how long the subtitle stays on screen... those values can also be edited there.



The available data fields are explained in the text file but I'll explain the ones you get with the installation default. (and see in the screenshot)

3 / 1063
You have 3 of these missiles in the cargo bay and you need to fire 1063 missiles to destroy your current target - assuming all hits.

Wasp Missile
The name of the missile.
If the current target is within the missile's max range, it is shown in green, otherwise in red.

560 m/s
The missile's speed.
If the missile is 15 % faster than the current target, it's shown in green.
If it's slower than the current target, it's shown in red.
These percentages can be changed in the text file.

18 km (target +11 km)
Two displays for the same thing.
18km is the missile's nominal range.
You can also see that my target is 6.88 km away. That means the missile's reach = target +11 km.
That way you can see how "in range" the missile actually is.

Dmg 8x 1000 (D 8000)
Two displays for the missile damage.
For personal use I'd probaby disable one of them.

in range
Somewhat redundant given that the display colour of the missile name already tells you that but if you want it spelled out... there it is.

SWARM
This is a swarm missile.
These missile tags are read from the engine directly.
Other tags would be FF (friend foe recognition), PROX, Manually detonated... the usual suspects.



Feature 2: Targeted missile data display

If you target a missile in space (maybe because it's incoming to your ship) the same display is given.
If does not automatically target any missiles.

The comparison stats of the target ship are now... those of your ship, regardless of where the missile is going.

So... if the display tells you that there is one missile required to destroy the target... you should do something about it. Real quicklike.

Same goes for the missile range or speed display.
If the speed is listed in red, your ship is faster than the missile.
You could just fly away.
If the missile is out of range well... it's not going to reach you .


[ external image ]Download: ZIP


Installation:

Unpack the archive into the TC folder.


Deinstallation:

Delete TC\scripts\setup.plugin.gz.msl.display.xml
or disable the script in the textfile.


Resources used:
Textfile: 7073
Last edited by Gazz on Sat, 28. Jan 12, 08:02, edited 6 times in total.
My complete script download page. . . . . . I AM THE LAW!
There is no sense crying over every mistake. You just keep on trying till you run out of cake.

User avatar
Gazz
Posts: 13244
Joined: Fri, 13. Jan 06, 16:39
x4

Post by Gazz » Fri, 26. Aug 11, 20:09

** reserved **

User avatar
perkint
Posts: 5191
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 20:31
x3tc

Post by perkint » Fri, 26. Aug 11, 21:14

Cracking script! Playing vanilla this time thru, but this (along with quite a few others of your's :p ) is definitely going on next time thru :)

Tim
Struggling to find something from the forums - Google it!!! :D

User avatar
joelR
Posts: 2008
Joined: Mon, 9. Jul 07, 23:33
x3tc

Post by joelR » Fri, 26. Aug 11, 23:03

Another quality script Gazz. Great work.
I assume that this only knows vanilla missle stats correct?

User avatar
Gazz
Posts: 13244
Joined: Fri, 13. Jan 06, 16:39
x4

Post by Gazz » Sat, 27. Aug 11, 14:33

No. It knows everything.

Your thoughtcrimes will not be concealed forever!



Version 1.02 released.

Added display mode for damage in "k", which corresponds to the shield strength nomenclature in MJ.

You could also rename "k" to "MJ" in the textfile if you like. It's all text...
My complete script download page. . . . . . I AM THE LAW!
There is no sense crying over every mistake. You just keep on trying till you run out of cake.

Dakota-
Posts: 128
Joined: Sun, 25. Dec 11, 06:14
x4

Post by Dakota- » Fri, 30. Dec 11, 11:46

Thanks for the script. Seems to work great with AP.

That said, would it be difficult to make it so that it updates the display on target change? e.g. the id "20" variable is set at 100s and all the while will change depending upon what target is selected.

Also, what happens when another script wants to post text to that text area? Is it displayed immediately or does it wait for the id "20" variable to expire?

User avatar
Gazz
Posts: 13244
Joined: Fri, 13. Jan 06, 16:39
x4

Post by Gazz » Fri, 30. Dec 11, 13:56

Subtitles have no priority value like voices so they cannot be queued.
My complete script download page. . . . . . I AM THE LAW!
There is no sense crying over every mistake. You just keep on trying till you run out of cake.

User avatar
TSM
Not a Moderator
Posts: 2947
Joined: Thu, 1. Jul 04, 12:31
x4

Post by TSM » Fri, 30. Dec 11, 14:03

This should be ingame! already nice one Gazz :)
FAQ's Egosoft Interactive FAQ
Egosoft Wiki

wga
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu, 19. Feb 09, 15:04

Post by wga » Fri, 20. Jan 12, 03:28

Hi, since already know the missile speed, enemy speed and the range between player ship and enemy ship. We can calculate the seconds of missile travel time approximately.

How about add following text display when firing missile.

Missile xxx will hit target in yyy seconds.

It is useful when firing long range missile like topedo on target.

User avatar
Gazz
Posts: 13244
Joined: Fri, 13. Jan 06, 16:39
x4

Post by Gazz » Sun, 22. Jan 12, 13:36

Function for ETA added.
My complete script download page. . . . . . I AM THE LAW!
There is no sense crying over every mistake. You just keep on trying till you run out of cake.

wga
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu, 19. Feb 09, 15:04

Post by wga » Fri, 27. Jan 12, 09:20

Huh, I've install new version, but don't see any change. When will the ETA info display ? Press 'L' or 'M' ?

User avatar
Gazz
Posts: 13244
Joined: Fri, 13. Jan 06, 16:39
x4

Post by Gazz » Fri, 27. Jan 12, 13:21

wga wrote:When will the ETA info display ? Press 'L' or 'M' ?
Whenever you edit the textfile and assign it a position on your display.
My complete script download page. . . . . . I AM THE LAW!
There is no sense crying over every mistake. You just keep on trying till you run out of cake.

wga
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu, 19. Feb 09, 15:04

Post by wga » Sat, 28. Jan 12, 07:50

Gazz wrote:
wga wrote:When will the ETA info display ? Press 'L' or 'M' ?
Whenever you edit the textfile and assign it a position on your display.
OK, I find it, thanks

User avatar
HoPLoN
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue, 19. Oct 10, 07:09

Post by HoPLoN » Mon, 5. Nov 12, 16:05

Cant seem to find the text file 7073 ...

I have installed both in tc and Ap scripts folder .
( your installation instructions said on in TC folder , but that didnt work so i installed in AP folder as well , since I run AP )
The t/ folder in any of them does not contain any 7073 text file .

Although in Artificial life plugin settings i can see the Missile Data enabled.

Subtitles are on , but all i get is the standard subs files.

In your zip file there is an X3AP_MIssile_safety_Ai folder, i extracted those to addon/scripts also ( dont know where else these could go )

I run AP 2.5.1 + XRM + PureX V2 Hud mod.

Any help ?

***edit
Seems I have downloaded wrong file !
What confused me was the Missile Display tag on top of your Missile Safety zip file , I think its misplaced , maybe you d' want to fix that .

All seems to be good now , ty for this script :)

BrianManeke
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu, 26. Oct 06, 22:46
x2

Post by BrianManeke » Sat, 17. May 14, 18:36

Images from post are broken, Please fix I would love to be able to see exactly how this functions before downloading.

BrianManeke
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu, 26. Oct 06, 22:46
x2

Post by BrianManeke » Sun, 18. May 14, 16:04

It seems this mod is continusoulsy asking me for the amount of missile salvos, after typing a number in it does nothing. Just keeps popping up every 1-3 minutes... whats going on?

Nicoman35
Posts: 681
Joined: Thu, 17. Nov 05, 13:12
x3tc

Post by Nicoman35 » Sun, 18. May 14, 17:21

BrianManeke wrote:It seems this mod is continusoulsy asking me for the amount of missile salvos, after typing a number in it does nothing. Just keeps popping up every 1-3 minutes... whats going on?
Just checked the code of this mod - there is no such thing as an required input from the player. The issue you have must be related to something else.

User avatar
DrBullwinkle
Posts: 5715
Joined: Sat, 17. Dec 11, 01:44
x3tc

Post by DrBullwinkle » Sun, 18. May 14, 20:25

BrianManeke wrote:It seems this mod is continusoulsy asking me for the amount of missile salvos, after typing a number in it does nothing. Just keeps popping up every 1-3 minutes... whats going on?
Do you have Missile Safety installed?

BrianManeke
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu, 26. Oct 06, 22:46
x2

Post by BrianManeke » Mon, 19. May 14, 14:47

I did, I removed both of them. Didnt not seem to matter having safety installed. I did like the tool tip though in subtitle.


Post Reply

Return to “X³: Terran Conflict / Albion Prelude - Scripts and Modding”