invalid serial number problem HELP!

Ask here if you experience technical problems with X³: Terran Conflict or X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderators: timon37, Moderators for English X Forum

Post Reply
Sizplayer
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri, 2. Jan 09, 15:33

invalid serial number problem HELP!

Post by Sizplayer » Sat, 6. Jun 09, 11:58

@ctive says request refused by server : invalid serial number

I bought X3:TC by steam, so i don't have any different serial number..

what should i do??

User avatar
Carlo the Curious
Posts: 15622
Joined: Mon, 5. Mar 07, 23:03

Re: invalid serial number problem HELP!

Post by Carlo the Curious » Sat, 6. Jun 09, 13:56

What is @ctive?

aquatica
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31

Post by aquatica » Wed, 10. Jun 09, 19:37

The very same error here: I just played 2.1 RC3 (I think...) before, and tried to uninstall: I got an error message saying "this uninstaller can only be run from 64bit OS" - so I decided to do the Bad Thing and install 2.0 -> 2.1 patch. Installed OK, but when starting the game it gives a box for serial number that seems to be 5x5 letters (xxxxx-xxxxx-xxxxx-xxxxx) - considering, that the cd-key for this is only 4x4 letters it can't be right? And that @ctive thing is TAGES @ctive, ONLINE-Authentication or something like that.

I am currently trying to make a clean install of my X3 TC, to see if it works...

danbarker
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri, 10. Feb 06, 16:53

Post by danbarker » Wed, 10. Jun 09, 21:09

I have just had the same problem when I installed the 2.1 patch over 2.1RC3.

CBJ
EGOSOFT
EGOSOFT
Posts: 36043
Joined: Tue, 29. Apr 03, 00:56

Post by CBJ » Wed, 10. Jun 09, 21:13

You are confusing two different things. The 4x4 character code that you entered is just your registration code for this forum. It has nothing to do with the TAGES copy protection, which uses a 5x5 character code. The activation code is shown to you by Steam when you first install the game, and I believe it's also stored in a file in the game folder for later reference.

danbarker
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri, 10. Feb 06, 16:53

Post by danbarker » Wed, 10. Jun 09, 21:18

I am using the DVD version of X3:TC not the steam version but it is still asking for a 5x5 serial number so not sure what it is asking for.

I download the patch via bittorrent using the link on the egosoft download page.

CBJ
EGOSOFT
EGOSOFT
Posts: 36043
Joined: Tue, 29. Apr 03, 00:56

Post by CBJ » Wed, 10. Jun 09, 21:35

It sounds like you've got a wrong patch there. Try reinstalling and repatching from scratch with a fresh download.

danbarker
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri, 10. Feb 06, 16:53

Post by danbarker » Wed, 10. Jun 09, 21:38

OK, just tried that as well, downloaded the X3TCUpdate2.0_to_2.1.exe from http://www.egosoft.com/download/x3tc/pa ... wnload=499 and still get the same thing.

Am just downloading the 1.0.1_to_2.1 patch to try that and if that doesn't work I may just reinstall the game from the DVD.

Edit:
Just tried using the 1.0.1_to_2.1 patch and still get the same thing. Looks like an uninstall and reinstall required..

Scoob
Posts: 5598
Joined: Thu, 27. Feb 03, 23:28

Post by Scoob » Thu, 11. Jun 09, 01:03

Hi,

Same issue here. I am patching from RC3 which I thought might be linked to the problem.

I downloaded the 2.0(a) to 2.1 incremental patch from the first of the Egosoft mirrors - 'X3TCUpdate2.0_to_2.1.exe' file size 88.7mb (93,044,768 bytes)

All appeared to work but I cannot run the game anymore...odd.

Cheers,

Scoob.

CBJ
EGOSOFT
EGOSOFT
Posts: 36043
Joined: Tue, 29. Apr 03, 00:56

Post by CBJ » Thu, 11. Jun 09, 01:04

Check that you don't have a file called "tagesclient.dat" in your game folder. If you do then delete it and reinstall the patch.

Scoob
Posts: 5598
Joined: Thu, 27. Feb 03, 23:28

Post by Scoob » Thu, 11. Jun 09, 01:19

Hi,

That appears to have done the job...where did tagesclient.dat come from?

Cheers,

Scoob.

CBJ
EGOSOFT
EGOSOFT
Posts: 36043
Joined: Tue, 29. Apr 03, 00:56

Post by CBJ » Thu, 11. Jun 09, 01:24

Possibly a previous patch, incorrectly.

aquatica
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31

Post by aquatica » Thu, 11. Jun 09, 01:45

I believe the Tagesclient piece came in from RC2 (possibly? since that's the last patch I had...).

Anyway, I did a simple re-install and it works like a charm, well at least in theory. For some odd reason I *still* get the error about 64bit OS uninstall, even if I did complete reinstall o_O (Manually had to delete every file I could locate, to make it be true).

Thanks for the help tho, I thought it might be the tagesclient file, or something to do with it, since I don't remember seeing it before.

eladan
Posts: 5315
Joined: Sat, 7. Jan 06, 17:01

Post by eladan » Thu, 11. Jun 09, 03:36

aquatica wrote:I believe the Tagesclient piece came in from RC2 (possibly? since that's the last patch I had...)
For future reference, if the public testing continues, I'd suggest that you make a copy of your installation, and use that for testing, leaving your initial installation untouched by testing files. You won't then need to worry about any leftover files from testing affecting your game.

aquatica
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31

Post by aquatica » Thu, 11. Jun 09, 09:46

I know, eladan :) It was my lazyness that I didn't have two installations.. But it's sorted, so it ain't a problem anymore anyway.

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Terran Conflict / Albion Prelude - Technical Support”