EnglishGermanFrenchRussianItalianSpanish
Log inRegister
 
invalid serial number problem HELP!
Post new topic Reply to topic
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Sizplayer





Joined: 02 Jan 2009



PostPosted: Sat, 6. Jun 09, 11:58    Post subject: invalid serial number problem HELP! Reply with quote Print

@ctive says request refused by server : invalid serial number

I bought X3:TC by steam, so i don't have any different serial number..

what should i do??

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Carlo the Curious





Joined: 05 Mar 2007
Posts: 15622 on topic
Location: London, UK
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 6. Jun 09, 13:56    Post subject: Re: invalid serial number problem HELP! Reply with quote Print

What is @ctive?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
aquatica



MEDALMEDAL

Joined: 06 Nov 2002
Posts: 103 on topic
Location: Kerava, Finland
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 10. Jun 09, 19:37    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

The very same error here: I just played 2.1 RC3 (I think...) before, and tried to uninstall: I got an error message saying "this uninstaller can only be run from 64bit OS" - so I decided to do the Bad Thing and install 2.0 -> 2.1 patch. Installed OK, but when starting the game it gives a box for serial number that seems to be 5x5 letters (xxxxx-xxxxx-xxxxx-xxxxx) - considering, that the cd-key for this is only 4x4 letters it can't be right? And that @ctive thing is TAGES @ctive, ONLINE-Authentication or something like that.

I am currently trying to make a clean install of my X3 TC, to see if it works...

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
danbarker





Joined: 10 Feb 2006
Posts: 47 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 10. Jun 09, 21:09    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I have just had the same problem when I installed the 2.1 patch over 2.1RC3.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CBJ
EGOSOFT
EGOSOFT



Joined: 29 Apr 2003
Posts: 35908 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 10. Jun 09, 21:13    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

You are confusing two different things. The 4x4 character code that you entered is just your registration code for this forum. It has nothing to do with the TAGES copy protection, which uses a 5x5 character code. The activation code is shown to you by Steam when you first install the game, and I believe it's also stored in a file in the game folder for later reference.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
danbarker





Joined: 10 Feb 2006
Posts: 47 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 10. Jun 09, 21:18    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I am using the DVD version of X3:TC not the steam version but it is still asking for a 5x5 serial number so not sure what it is asking for.

I download the patch via bittorrent using the link on the egosoft download page.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CBJ
EGOSOFT
EGOSOFT



Joined: 29 Apr 2003
Posts: 35908 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 10. Jun 09, 21:35    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

It sounds like you've got a wrong patch there. Try reinstalling and repatching from scratch with a fresh download.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
danbarker





Joined: 10 Feb 2006
Posts: 47 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 10. Jun 09, 21:38    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

OK, just tried that as well, downloaded the X3TCUpdate2.0_to_2.1.exe from http://www.egosoft.com/download/x3tc/patches_en.php?download=499 and still get the same thing.

Am just downloading the 1.0.1_to_2.1 patch to try that and if that doesn't work I may just reinstall the game from the DVD.

Edit:
Just tried using the 1.0.1_to_2.1 patch and still get the same thing. Looks like an uninstall and reinstall required..

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scoob





Joined: 27 Feb 2003
Posts: 5577 on topic
Location: Oxford, UK
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 11. Jun 09, 01:03    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Hi,

Same issue here. I am patching from RC3 which I thought might be linked to the problem.

I downloaded the 2.0(a) to 2.1 incremental patch from the first of the Egosoft mirrors - 'X3TCUpdate2.0_to_2.1.exe' file size 88.7mb (93,044,768 bytes)

All appeared to work but I cannot run the game anymore...odd.

Cheers,

Scoob.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CBJ
EGOSOFT
EGOSOFT



Joined: 29 Apr 2003
Posts: 35908 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 11. Jun 09, 01:04    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Check that you don't have a file called "tagesclient.dat" in your game folder. If you do then delete it and reinstall the patch.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scoob





Joined: 27 Feb 2003
Posts: 5577 on topic
Location: Oxford, UK
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 11. Jun 09, 01:19    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Hi,

That appears to have done the job...where did tagesclient.dat come from?

Cheers,

Scoob.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CBJ
EGOSOFT
EGOSOFT



Joined: 29 Apr 2003
Posts: 35908 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 11. Jun 09, 01:24    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Possibly a previous patch, incorrectly.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aquatica



MEDALMEDAL

Joined: 06 Nov 2002
Posts: 103 on topic
Location: Kerava, Finland
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 11. Jun 09, 01:45    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I believe the Tagesclient piece came in from RC2 (possibly? since that's the last patch I had...).

Anyway, I did a simple re-install and it works like a charm, well at least in theory. For some odd reason I *still* get the error about 64bit OS uninstall, even if I did complete reinstall o_O (Manually had to delete every file I could locate, to make it be true).

Thanks for the help tho, I thought it might be the tagesclient file, or something to do with it, since I don't remember seeing it before.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eladan





Joined: 07 Jan 2006
Posts: 5307 on topic
Location: Sunshine Coast, Australia
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 11. Jun 09, 03:36    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

aquatica wrote:
I believe the Tagesclient piece came in from RC2 (possibly? since that's the last patch I had...)

For future reference, if the public testing continues, I'd suggest that you make a copy of your installation, and use that for testing, leaving your initial installation untouched by testing files. You won't then need to worry about any leftover files from testing affecting your game.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aquatica



MEDALMEDAL

Joined: 06 Nov 2002
Posts: 103 on topic
Location: Kerava, Finland
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 11. Jun 09, 09:46    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I know, eladan Smile It was my lazyness that I didn't have two installations.. But it's sorted, so it ain't a problem anymore anyway.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic Reply to topic
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum
Control Panel
Login Data
The time now is Sun, 23. Sep 18, 10:34

All times are GMT + 2 Hours

[ Disclaimer / Impressum ] | [ Privacy Policy / Datenschutz ]

Board Security

Copyright © EGOSOFT 1989-2018
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Template created by Avatar & BurnIt!
Debug: page generation = 0.12643 seconds, sql queries = 29