Running X3TC in another language?

Ask here if you experience technical problems with X³: Terran Conflict or X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderators: timon37, Moderators for English X Forum

Post Reply
User avatar
TECSG
Posts: 1571
Joined: Tue, 17. Feb 04, 23:06
x3tc

Running X3TC in another language?

Post by TECSG » Mon, 27. Apr 09, 06:16

Is it possible to run X3TC in a language other than the OS default (so I can test my scripts in different languages)?

I've reinstalled X3TC with all the additional languages selected, but can't find an option to change the game language, so I assume it's checking to see what language the OS is using?

eladan
Posts: 5331
Joined: Sat, 7. Jan 06, 17:01
x4

Post by eladan » Mon, 27. Apr 09, 06:47

I don't have access to TC at the moment to check, but I believe there's a file in the main TC folder where you can change the language used. (I.e. it's not an in-game option.) Note that this only changes the text language, not the voices, though it sounds like that's all you'd need anyway.

User avatar
TECSG
Posts: 1571
Joined: Tue, 17. Feb 04, 23:06
x3tc

Post by TECSG » Mon, 27. Apr 09, 07:11

Thanks eladan,

You're right, there's a file 'lang.dat' that contains (in my case) the number 44 (English).

I changed it to 49 (German) and restarted and both Text AND Vocals were in German.

For anyone else wanting to test their files, the languages are (taken from Exscriptor)

33 - French
34 - Spanish
39 - Italian
42 - Czech republic ?
44 - English
48 - Polish
49 - German

Not sure if that's all the supported languages, or just the main ones though!

User avatar
Terre
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)
Posts: 7524
Joined: Mon, 19. Dec 05, 22:23
x4

Post by Terre » Mon, 27. Apr 09, 10:35

If you running the game via a short cut, you can put the following in the 'Properties' target.

Example: (using the language number required and include the quotes)

"C:\Program Files\X3 Terran Conflict\X3TC.exe" -language 44

User avatar
TECSG
Posts: 1571
Joined: Tue, 17. Feb 04, 23:06
x3tc

Post by TECSG » Mon, 27. Apr 09, 12:31

From the looks of it, the game (as of V2.0a) doesn't support the languages Spanish, Czech or Polish as Exscriptor indicates.

If I try to run the game in those languages, the selection screen that appears before the game loads has 'NO TEXT ID' in all the boxes.

Can anyone 'in the know' confirm the supported languages?

Cycrow
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Posts: 20600
Joined: Mon, 15. Nov 04, 00:26
x4

Post by Cycrow » Wed, 29. Apr 09, 03:24

theres a few other languages available, but the codes for the language is basically the international phone dialing codes

User avatar
TECSG
Posts: 1571
Joined: Tue, 17. Feb 04, 23:06
x3tc

Post by TECSG » Wed, 29. Apr 09, 04:06

Egosoft only seem to support:

33 (French)
39 (Italian)
44 (English)
49 (German)

The file '0002.pck' which contains the text for the startup menu screen (where you select graphics options, mods, etc.) is in those 4 languages only, anything else just produces 'NO TEXT ID' messages in all the boxes and on the buttons.

Cycrow
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Posts: 20600
Joined: Mon, 15. Nov 04, 00:26
x4

Post by Cycrow » Sun, 3. May 09, 02:23

those 4 are just the language files that were including in your install. There are other versions of the game that have different languages available.

Like, Russian and Spanish

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Terran Conflict / Albion Prelude - Technical Support”