EnglishGermanFrenchRussianPolishItalianSpanish
Log inRegister
 
Mod : Tractor Beam Range
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
apricotslice





Joined: 16 May 2004
Posts: 13628 on topic
Location: In the Hunter Legacy Universe
Thank you for registering your game
modified
PostPosted: Thu, 6. Apr 06, 08:04    Post subject: Mod : Tractor Beam Range Reply with quote Print

Tractor beam Range Mod.

Download http://circleofatlantis.com/games/X3/apricot.html

-------------

Apricot Mapping Service.
Internal Memo.
From : Bob Derr (Chief Mechanic)
To : John Slice CEO
Subject : New Tractor Beam

John,

The new Tractor Beam is not up to specs.

They can only be mounted at present by M6 and TL ships, but the design of them seems to be expecting them to be mounted on a smaller ship that can get a lot closer to a roid or station.

In testing, the tow was found to be inherently unstable, and only a dead slow speed could be maintained. Continual reattachment is necessary to keep a tow moving.

We either ditch them or modify them to work.

Bob.


Apricot Mapping Service.
Internal Memo.
From : John Slice CEO
To : Bob Derr (Chief Mechanic)
Subject : New Tractor Beam

Bob, do what you have to, to make them work !

John.


Apricot Mapping Service.
Internal Memo.
From : Bob Derr (Chief Mechanic)
To : John Slice CEO
Subject : New Tractor Beam

John, I've extended the range of the beam and towing is now stable. The most difficult part is still attaching the tow in the right spot to avoid rotating the station or roid while moving, but once any movement ceases, the tow is now stable.

Tests are still ongoing to determine a safe top speed.

Bob.


Instructions :

Unzip the file into the x3\mods directory.

Then before starting X3, the select mod option will be available, click, then select the tractor beam range mod, and ok. Then start game normally.

To stop using it, select original in mods list, and restart game.

Note, this mod is already included in the Gunbus Heavy Transport Mod.


_________________
Apricot Mapping Services HQ
CLICK HERE for X3 Handbook; TC and AP Guides, Mods, Scripts & Downloads


Last edited by apricotslice on Fri, 28. Jul 06, 04:14; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
apricotslice





Joined: 16 May 2004
Posts: 13628 on topic
Location: In the Hunter Legacy Universe
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 10. Apr 06, 02:56    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Download now available, sorry for the delay.


_________________
Apricot Mapping Services HQ
CLICK HERE for X3 Handbook; TC and AP Guides, Mods, Scripts & Downloads
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Diablos



MEDALMEDAL

Joined: 08 Dec 2003
Posts: 123 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 10. Apr 06, 14:55    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Does this interfere with any other mods?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
apricotslice





Joined: 16 May 2004
Posts: 13628 on topic
Location: In the Hunter Legacy Universe
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 10. Apr 06, 15:29    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Diablos wrote:
Does this interfere with any other mods?


You can only run 1 mod (unless you use one as a patch). If you look at the 2 changes made, its easy to make the same changes within any other mod. Those changes wont affect anything else if you make them within another mod, since they just change the nature of a single gun.


_________________
Apricot Mapping Services HQ
CLICK HERE for X3 Handbook; TC and AP Guides, Mods, Scripts & Downloads
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Krim





Joined: 06 Apr 2004
Posts: 77 on topic
Location: Denmark
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Tue, 11. Apr 06, 12:52    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Cant u make this into a script?

would be nicer that way

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
apricotslice





Joined: 16 May 2004
Posts: 13628 on topic
Location: In the Hunter Legacy Universe
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Tue, 11. Apr 06, 12:58    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Krim wrote:
Cant u make this into a script?
would be nicer that way


I wish.

Its jusy the way the modding/scripting was designed.


_________________
Apricot Mapping Services HQ
CLICK HERE for X3 Handbook; TC and AP Guides, Mods, Scripts & Downloads
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Krim





Joined: 06 Apr 2004
Posts: 77 on topic
Location: Denmark
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Tue, 11. Apr 06, 14:03    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Oh well

ill just try adding it as a new patch and see if it will work

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Jakesnake5



MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 17 Feb 2006
Posts: 2874 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 12. Apr 06, 02:17    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I merged it with the EMP mod and slapped it on as a 'false patch', going to see if it buggers anything. Very Happy

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
apricotslice





Joined: 16 May 2004
Posts: 13628 on topic
Location: In the Hunter Legacy Universe
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 12. Apr 06, 02:57    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Jakesnake5 wrote:
I merged it with the EMP mod and slapped it on as a 'false patch', going to see if it buggers anything. Very Happy


I'd be very surprised if it does.

Actually, its the sort of thing that should be added to the emp mod. imho


_________________
Apricot Mapping Services HQ
CLICK HERE for X3 Handbook; TC and AP Guides, Mods, Scripts & Downloads
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Saint-Ashley





Joined: 03 Dec 2005
Posts: 1260 on topic
Location: Maryland USA
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 12. Apr 06, 04:20    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Jakesnake5 wrote:
I merged it with the EMP mod and slapped it on as a 'false patch', going to see if it buggers anything. Very Happy


If your using any weapon reballance modification it wont work. Thats really the only things that would break this mod being used as a false patch.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jakesnake5



MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 17 Feb 2006
Posts: 2874 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 12. Apr 06, 05:17    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I don't 'rebalance' my weapons with any mod, I've gotten used to how they behave as they are. Very Happy

Combining the EMP and this mod worked well. But I'm beginning to see why people complain about the TB's behavior.

I slapped a station I had (Silicon Mine) with this thing, and the 'rotation' that occures bugs me.

I lock onto the station (not the rock) part, and move back, it moves away (rotates), push and it tries to smack me (till I put to test the 3-4km range clearance).

It's the dumbest insanity I've ever heard of. and I haven't TRIED it with a station/complex not attached to a roid. Evil or Very Mad

This would require a rewrite of the code concerning the TB. Though I did get my mine sitting straight up according to the ecliptic.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
apricotslice





Joined: 16 May 2004
Posts: 13628 on topic
Location: In the Hunter Legacy Universe
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 12. Apr 06, 07:17    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Jakesnake5 wrote:

I lock onto the station (not the rock) part, and move back, it moves away (rotates), push and it tries to smack me (till I put to test the 3-4km range clearance).


Thats your problem. You dont aim at the station, you find the center of the rock, as indicated by the targetting.

You have to align and position your ship with the center of the roid, facing the direction you intend to go, then attach the tow, then move. If you got the alignment right, there is minimal movement of the roid.


_________________
Apricot Mapping Services HQ
CLICK HERE for X3 Handbook; TC and AP Guides, Mods, Scripts & Downloads
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Jakesnake5



MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 17 Feb 2006
Posts: 2874 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 12. Apr 06, 19:09    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Tad difficult with a Dragon as the only slots for the TB are on the front.

I did lock dead center and the stupid rock STILL rotated.

And I do know how to center. The trouble is, the rock is not a smooth sphere. and the TB doesn't HIT dead center, but is offset by where your TB is mounted. Even that slight offset can set the thing to spinning. (Haven't called in my Centaur since its slapping Rats in Mi Ton's to keep my UT's safe).

And of course, when the rock rotates the 'connection position' outside of the 500m window, you lose contact and the rock stop moving INSTANTLY (not glides to a halt). Not very realistic.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
dannyporter4u





Joined: 26 Jan 2006
Posts: 187 on topic
Location: Home base alpha - Trinity Sanctum
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 7. May 06, 07:03    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

The only way iv found to get it to work is to increase ur speed very slowly (2m/s) (and wait for the distance from the station to stop increasing before increasing again), and also not using seta ever it ruins my towing every time!

I got killed by my own station yesterday because the 'roid decided to rotated after about 5-10 mins of stable towing, i was putting my feet up with a drink in hand expecting a long wait.

Btw apricotslice i love the way you do the threads like memos.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
apricotslice





Joined: 16 May 2004
Posts: 13628 on topic
Location: In the Hunter Legacy Universe
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 7. May 06, 07:09    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

dannyporter4u wrote:
Btw apricotslice i love the way you do the threads like memos.


Thankyou Smile

I like to keep an ongoing 'character' going, in game and out.

The new Community Mod over at Xperiment will give the Apricot Mapping Service a home sector with a real HQ. Smile

And the modified Tractor Beam will be on sale there, along with my Gunbus and Camel M6's.


_________________
Apricot Mapping Services HQ
CLICK HERE for X3 Handbook; TC and AP Guides, Mods, Scripts & Downloads
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum
Control Panel
Login Data
The time now is Sun, 24. Sep 17, 05:01

All times are GMT + 2 Hours


Board Security

Copyright © EGOSOFT 1989-2017
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Template created by Avatar & BurnIt!
Debug: page generation = 1.24286 seconds, sql queries = 29