[TOOL] X3 Customizer 3.15

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderators: Scripting / Modding Moderators, Moderators for English X Forum

Post Reply
TechSY730
Posts: 115
Joined: Tue, 26. Jul 16, 02:51
x3ap

Re: [TOOL] X3 Customizer 3.14.1

Post by TechSY730 » Sat, 17. Nov 18, 06:25

SirNukes wrote:
Sat, 17. Nov 18, 05:23
TechSY730 wrote:
Sat, 17. Nov 18, 02:57
According to the wiki, the Fragmentation Bomb Launcher is pretty weak because it lacks AOE damage due to a bug.

Any idea what that bug is and how it can be fixed?
After some reading, mainly viewtopic.php?t=365717, the problems are that A) frag bullets are set to do no damage, B) bullets don't have a proximity fuse, and C) bullets don't have an actual AoE effect (unlike missiles). I'm pretty sure all of those are going to be part of the in-sector code in the exe, and are outside the scope of changes I can make. I haven't seen any bullet code in the obj files; it calls lower level assembly functions for doing laser and bullet related stuff.


Oh dang, the bug is actually baked into the main executable, not in the bytecode like thing they have going on? Ouch.
Yeah, I can see why you wouldn't want to touch that. x_x

Pilotoftheuniverse
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed, 21. Nov 18, 15:09

Re: [TOOL] X3 Customizer 3.14.1

Post by Pilotoftheuniverse » Wed, 21. Nov 18, 15:17

This tool is not compatible with 32-bit Window 7 :(

SirNukes
Posts: 486
Joined: Sat, 31. Mar 07, 23:44
x4

Re: [TOOL] X3 Customizer 3.14.1

Post by SirNukes » Wed, 21. Nov 18, 20:01

Pilotoftheuniverse wrote:
Wed, 21. Nov 18, 15:17
This tool is not compatible with 32-bit Window 7 :(
While I am not set up to easily put out a 32-bit version, you can download an appropriate version of Python and run the source directly.

Pilotoftheuniverse
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed, 21. Nov 18, 15:09

Re: [TOOL] X3 Customizer 3.14.1

Post by Pilotoftheuniverse » Mon, 26. Nov 18, 16:22

SirNukes wrote:
Wed, 21. Nov 18, 20:01
Pilotoftheuniverse wrote:
Wed, 21. Nov 18, 15:17
This tool is not compatible with 32-bit Window 7 :(
While I am not set up to easily put out a 32-bit version, you can download an appropriate version of Python and run the source directly.
*smiles* im not a computer guy so can you teach me how? i do have python 3.7.1 installed.

i really would like to apply your fixes on complex lag and the removed cutscene when building stations

SirNukes
Posts: 486
Joined: Sat, 31. Mar 07, 23:44
x4

Re: [TOOL] X3 Customizer 3.14.1

Post by SirNukes » Mon, 26. Nov 18, 20:54

Pilotoftheuniverse wrote:
Mon, 26. Nov 18, 16:22
*smiles* im not a computer guy so can you teach me how? i do have python 3.7.1 installed.

i really would like to apply your fixes on complex lag and the removed cutscene when building stations
After grabbing the python source code off git, the simplest would be something like "python X3_Customizer\Main.py -default_script" from the command prompt (cmd.exe) or shortcut or batch file. Paths will need to be filled in depending on where you call it from. If python isn't registered with the command line, it will need the path to its exe as well.

As a warning, the complex related lag reduction is experimental. To be safe, back up your save before trying it out.

SirNukes
Posts: 486
Joined: Sat, 31. Mar 07, 23:44
x4

Re: [TOOL] X3 Customizer 3.15

Post by SirNukes » Sat, 27. Apr 19, 00:51

Updated to 3.15. Added Prevent_Ship_Equipment_Damage, which stops hull damage from destroying lasers/shields/etc.

User avatar
RoverTX
Posts: 1166
Joined: Wed, 16. Nov 11, 19:37
x4

Re: [TOOL] X3 Customizer 3.15

Post by RoverTX » Tue, 28. May 19, 05:36

Two little neat things I found tonight and am working towards a PR on.

-----

Figured out how to make room for editing InitIllegalWares. Atm the Terran and the ATF use the same array as the Argon for illegal wares. The boron use a different but identical array. So instead of declaring the an identical array working on having the Boron use the same array and clearing up a lot of room for additions or changes.

-----

GetRaceLicenseSubtype works off a large switch statement, but in reality you can map from a race to a licence item id by

Code: Select all

race id + 25 = licence id 
Which allow you to delete a lot of the case statement and leaves room for handling Terran licence.

Realspace
Posts: 593
Joined: Wed, 15. Nov 06, 11:21
xr

Re: [TOOL] X3 Customizer 3.15

Post by Realspace » Fri, 24. Apr 20, 15:08

Almost one year no news but I discovered this great tool now! If the op reads, about ships speed, if I add the string << 'SG_SH': 1.5, >> will it increase the speed for ALL ships or do I have to add each single class like 'SG_SH_M6': 1.5, 'SG_SH_M3: 1.5, 'SG_SH_M7': 1.5, 'SG_SH_M7M': 1.5, etc.?
Also, my TShips lists ships under the SS_SH id not SG_SH, does it change anything? Thank you!

edit: nevermind, I found the solution, instead of the

Adjust_Ship_Speed(
adjustment_factors_dict = {
# Bump up interceptors about 30%, to better distinguish their role from
# fighters (which otherwise have a lot of speed overlap).
# Could also bump up to 50% and still be in about the right range.
'SG_SH_M4': 1.5,
'SG_SH_M3': 1.5,
'SG_SH_M6': 1.5,
'SG_SH_M7': 1.5,
'SG_SH_M6M': 1.5,
'SG_SH_M7M': 1.5,
'SG_SH_M2': 1.5,
'SG_SH_M1': 1.5,
'SG_SH_M8': 1.5,
'SG_SH_TL': 1.5,
'SG_SH_TM': 1.5,
'SG_SH_TP': 1.5,
'SG_SH_TS': 1.5,
})

which also works, I used

Adjust_Ship_Speed(scaling_factor = 1.5)

It works on all ships. Still the M4 need a boost over all the others, a factor of 2x is better

SirNukes
Posts: 486
Joined: Sat, 31. Mar 07, 23:44
x4

Re: [TOOL] X3 Customizer 3.15

Post by SirNukes » Fri, 24. Apr 20, 18:23

Ytes, the names need to be specific in the current version, with anything not matched falling back on the generic scaling_factor, as you noticed.

Realspace
Posts: 593
Joined: Wed, 15. Nov 06, 11:21
xr

Re: [TOOL] X3 Customizer 3.15

Post by Realspace » Wed, 6. May 20, 08:33

May I ask, is it possible to add some configurations of the maps using your tool as you did in the X4 versions? Some things are incredibly time sparing, such as changing the sector's size in one click. I already use an excellent script (don't remember the author) but it works only on started games and modifies the save file not the x3universe.xml. Which is good for testing ingame but not for modding, cant' be used in the galaxy editor.
Thanks!

SirNukes
Posts: 486
Joined: Sat, 31. Mar 07, 23:44
x4

Re: [TOOL] X3 Customizer 3.15

Post by SirNukes » Wed, 6. May 20, 19:14

It is possible, though I am not planning to do it since I've moved on to X4.

The X3 map file is much flatter and simpler than X4, so it shouldn't be too hard to write a basic rescaling tool for it, if you wanted to do so. The hard part would be tracking down all scripts which find or spawn objects, to adjust their coordinates (or random ranges) to match. It would also be awkward if you want to shrink sectors and avoid close objects (eg. asteroids) bumping into each other. (That was where most of my X4 map scaling complexity came from.)

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Terran Conflict / Albion Prelude - Scripts and Modding”