[AP][MISSIONS]Mission briefing fix for stock missions, vanilla-friendly

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

dillpickle
Posts: 1159
Joined: Mon, 3. Nov 08, 14:25
x3tc

Post by dillpickle » Sun, 6. May 12, 21:55

kurush wrote:
-eni- wrote:A realy nice one. Is there any chance to inlcude more details to trade/passenger missions too? An information about how much cargospace is required would be good.
One thing I am not sure is whether I can do any math in the language files, but I assume that probably not. I am also not sure whether there is a macro that gives you the # of cargo units required for one ware of this type. If there is, I can probably put it on the briefing. Otherwise, it would require a modification of the actual MD files and this is something that will be breaking with each new release. For passengers it is always 6 * # of passengers though, seems to be simple enough to calculate without modding. And for wares you can just print yourself a table of their size and then do some math practice :)
For the Group Passenger Transport Missions (2.130 Generic Group Transport), you can use {value@L2M130.NeededSpace} for the cargo space needed - from:

Code: Select all

<set_value name="L2M130.NeededSpace" exact="{value@L2M130.Passenger Count}*{lookup.type.cargospace@SS_WARE_PASSENGER}"/>
Number of passengers * passenger cargo space - already in the mission code.

The Cargo Transport Missions (2.116 Cargo Transport - Entertainment Chips etc...), the total space needed isn't calculated until after the briefing is created.
However as each ware has its own individual text, you could add the cargo class - {lookup.type.cargoclass.name@SS_WARE_RWASTE} - {already in radioactive waste briefing) telling the player they need a ship to carry XL cargo. There is also {lookup.type.cargospace@SS_WARE_RWASTE}, which will give the Cargo space per unit of the specified type, as you are already told the number to collect it should be simple maths.

kurush
Posts: 4320
Joined: Sun, 6. Nov 05, 23:53
x3tc

Post by kurush » Mon, 7. May 12, 18:51

dillpickle wrote: For the Group Passenger Transport Missions (2.130 Generic Group Transport), you can use {value@L2M130.NeededSpace} for the cargo space needed - from:
After you did all the hard work I guess I have no excuse not it include it :) Thanks! The links are updated. I also added Escort convoy missions and it really covers all I can think of. BTW, is there any sort of reference for properties available on each object and what is available as lookup.* ?

Nanook
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)
Posts: 27829
Joined: Thu, 15. May 03, 20:57
x4

Post by Nanook » Thu, 10. May 12, 22:00

kurush wrote:...or if somebody asks for TC support...
[Raises hand and asks politely].

Pretty please? :D
Have a great idea for the current or a future game? You can post it in the [L3+] Ideas forum.

X4 is a journey, not a destination. Have fun on your travels.

kurush
Posts: 4320
Joined: Sun, 6. Nov 05, 23:53
x3tc

Post by kurush » Fri, 11. May 12, 00:20

Nanook wrote:Pretty please? :D
SPK version should work on both AP and TC. If you prefer to stay vanilla, I added a download link for TC prepared using cattafett's method. Please let me know if it works - I currently can't test it.

User avatar
cattafett
Posts: 884
Joined: Thu, 30. Aug 07, 00:40
x3tc

Post by cattafett » Fri, 11. May 12, 00:45

just so you know the TC vanilla safe version should work in AP as well
as all the AP 0003 tfile contains is the text for the AP uplink and i had no problems with my colour freight menus when trying to upload my AP stats
may make it easier for people to merge instead of using all of 0001 tfile

also if you haven't wiped your hands of this as finished
for the return ship missions any way to tell where the ship is before you say you'll get the ship
and
Courier missions - displays the size of one ware in cargo units
this is FREAKING GENIUS

now all you have to do is back date this to X3r and X2 :wink:
those UFOs you hear about are just what you tried to explaine to me going over my head
Advanced Complex-Hub you know you need it Catta Fett's D.O.G.S Vanilla safe mod collectionyou don't need them but you want them
Friendship is like peeing on yourself: everyone can see it, but only you get the warm feeling that it brings

kurush
Posts: 4320
Joined: Sun, 6. Nov 05, 23:53
x3tc

Post by kurush » Fri, 11. May 12, 01:00

cattafett wrote:just so you know the TC vanilla safe version should work in AP as well
as all the AP 0003 tfile contains is the text for the AP uplink and i had no problems with my colour freight menus when trying to upload my AP stats
may make it easier for people to merge instead of using all of 0001 tfile
Figured that, the only issue is that your upload dialog will say "X3TC" instead of "X3AP". I'll probably put some game-neutral text there if I ever manage to add the sector for return ship. It also seems to be a good location for shameless advertisement of running modded games as vanilla, :lol:

User avatar
cattafett
Posts: 884
Joined: Thu, 30. Aug 07, 00:40
x3tc

Post by cattafett » Fri, 11. May 12, 02:18

are you sure as i thought that the TC uplink was somewhere on the 0002 tfile.
if I ever manage to add the sector for return ship
from your tfile

Code: Select all

 <t id="1002">One of our pilots has abandoned a {lookup.type.name@{value@L2M105 Return Ship.Shiptype}} in a nearby sector. We need someone to bring it back.</t>
 <t id="1003">Return Abandoned {lookup.type.name@{value@L2M105 Return Ship.Shiptype}}</t>
 <t id="1004">A pilot abandoned a ship. Return {object.name@{param@ShipName}}, {object.code@{param@ShipName}} in {object.sector.name@{param@ShipName}} to {object.name@{param@DestName}}, {object.sector.name@{param@DestName}}.</t>
line 1002 is the the offer and 1004 is the go and get my ship from message then would this work

Code: Select all

<t id="1002">One of our pilots has abandoned a {lookup.type.name@{value@L2M105 Return Ship.Shiptype}} in sector {object.sector.name@{param@ShipName}}. We need someone to bring it back.</t>
am going to test and will let you know
or if i find out i'm wrong quickly i'll edit my post and hide my stupidity :P :twisted:

EDIT: didn't work, guess if it was that simple you would've done it
those UFOs you hear about are just what you tried to explaine to me going over my head
Advanced Complex-Hub you know you need it Catta Fett's D.O.G.S Vanilla safe mod collectionyou don't need them but you want them
Friendship is like peeing on yourself: everyone can see it, but only you get the warm feeling that it brings

kurush
Posts: 4320
Joined: Sun, 6. Nov 05, 23:53
x3tc

Post by kurush » Fri, 11. May 12, 04:04

cattafett wrote:are you sure as i thought that the TC uplink was somewhere on the 0002 tfile.
Nearly 100% :) I found the same strings in 0001. In AP they just added this override file where they changed X3TC to X3AP in the file path. Don't ask why didn't they just change 0001... :) I'll look into the sector issue, it makes sense to add it if it is available. I just haven't tried.

kurush
Posts: 4320
Joined: Sun, 6. Nov 05, 23:53
x3tc

Post by kurush » Sat, 12. May 12, 07:55

cattafett wrote: EDIT: didn't work, guess if it was that simple you would've done it
I got it working with a slightly different macro. Links are updated.

kurush
Posts: 4320
Joined: Sun, 6. Nov 05, 23:53
x3tc

Post by kurush » Mon, 14. May 12, 07:59

Added station position to the station build mission to help people trying to build something in terran or Albion sectors.

argon_emperor
Posts: 1225
Joined: Mon, 12. Dec 05, 07:41
x4

Post by argon_emperor » Sun, 12. Aug 12, 20:46

Just tried it, works like a charm :)

Just a thought, but for the courier missions, as well as displaying how much volume one ware will take up, also display what freight class? Because several of them don't bother mentioning what size you require, and it's just a bit frustrating...
[ external image ]
***modified***
"You can get more of what you want with kind words and a gun, than you can with just kind words" - Al Capone

RustInPieces
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon, 13. Feb 12, 08:22
x4

Post by RustInPieces » Sun, 26. Aug 12, 02:46

To get this working in X3TC, I had to delete E:\Games\steam\steamapps\common\x3 terran conflict\t\0003-L044.pck

It seems to be working now. I'll keep an eye out for different mission types, but a taxi mission listed the needed cargo space.

Edit: 2 different courier missions did not list needed cargo space or size. One was titled Need Wares!, the other Ware Delivery Required.
Defend station worked, said to expect attacks by Pirates.
Last edited by RustInPieces on Sun, 26. Aug 12, 03:04, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
DrBullwinkle
Posts: 5715
Joined: Sat, 17. Dec 11, 01:44
x3tc

Post by DrBullwinkle » Sun, 26. Aug 12, 03:01

RustInPieces wrote:To get this working in X3TC, I had to delete E:\Games\steam\steamapps\common\x3 terran conflict\t\0003-L044.pck
That file does not exist in my vanilla t folder (Steam - X3TC 3.2b).

.

RustInPieces
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon, 13. Feb 12, 08:22
x4

Post by RustInPieces » Sun, 26. Aug 12, 03:11

Sorry.
After looking through all of the mods I installed, it was installed by Graxster's Remove: Press (KEY) to turn off Classic Flight Mode http://forum.egosoft.com/viewtopic.php?t=225356

I guess I can only use one of them?


Edit:
I opened Graxster's 0003_L044.pck file with 7zip, extracted the file inside of it, and added a .xml extension to it. Opened it in Notepad++, and copied the section

Code: Select all

<page id="350035" title="Menu strings misc" descr="0" voice="no">
 <t id="4600"></t>
 <t id="4601"></t>
</page>
and pasted it into this mod's 0003_L044.xml file, now they both work.
Found another taxi mission, listed cargo space needed, but a courier mission did not show needed cargo space again.


Edit 2:
These are the missions that did not list cargo size. I looked in <page id="353316" title="L2 Transport Cargo" descr="0" voice="no"> and did not find them, which would explain why they did not work. (unless I missed them under another category) (edit: checked whole file, did not find them)
1. http://i.imgur.com/ztNww.jpg
2. http://i.imgur.com/2e6CI.jpg
So far all the build station missions have worked.

Edit 3:
Here is another courier mission:
http://i.imgur.com/tSwQt.jpg

kurush
Posts: 4320
Joined: Sun, 6. Nov 05, 23:53
x3tc

Post by kurush » Sun, 26. Aug 12, 05:30

RustInPieces wrote: Edit 3:
Here is another courier mission:
http://i.imgur.com/tSwQt.jpg
I never tried to change anything for this type of missions. The mission I changed was the one that asks you to haul engine components, radioactive waste, med. kits, and artifacts from one station to another. On the 0003 file, yes, you need to merge its contents with whatever mod you have installed. It is not present in TC and has just two lines in AP (these two lines are included).
There is some elusive courier mission where the ware size is not displayed, but I only saw it once or twice in my game. May be I'll catch it eventually :)
argon_emperor wrote: Just a thought, but for the courier missions, as well as displaying how much volume one ware will take up, also display what freight class? Because several of them don't bother mentioning what size you require, and it's just a bit frustrating...
I think Rad. waste mission mentions that you need XL in vanilla. I never ran into any other limitations though, may be because I never use ships that can't take L cargo.

Joelnh
Posts: 429
Joined: Wed, 3. Mar 10, 00:12
x3tc

Post by Joelnh » Wed, 13. Feb 13, 13:24

This seems to be working in XTC as well.... very handy script.

jebu
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri, 23. Jan 09, 19:38
x3tc

Post by jebu » Sat, 27. Apr 13, 14:47

link seems to be broken :(

User avatar
DrBullwinkle
Posts: 5715
Joined: Sat, 17. Dec 11, 01:44
x3tc

Post by DrBullwinkle » Sat, 27. Apr 13, 20:47

jebu wrote:link seems to be broken
Works for me. Try another browser?

jebu
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri, 23. Jan 09, 19:38
x3tc

Post by jebu » Sun, 28. Apr 13, 20:29

yes it does work, but not with my surfstick i guess :/

got it elsewhere
thx

Solomon Short
Posts: 797
Joined: Wed, 25. Mar 09, 07:00
x4

Post by Solomon Short » Sat, 18. May 13, 06:42

I'm just getting into AP (I've played a little bit previously, but not much), & I installed this t-file, so thank you for another great adjustment kurush.

But I find I do have a question, & since I'm playing modified, I can't ask if it's "vanilla" behaviour in x-universe, could this modification have increased the mission rewards by any chance? 'cos I'm getting mission payouts way over the odds of what I'm used to from TC.

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Terran Conflict / Albion Prelude - Scripts and Modding”