[Script] Litcube's Bounce V1.7: Player Owned Autopilot Fix

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderators: Scripting / Modding Moderators, Moderators for English X Forum

Post Reply
builder680
Posts: 1028
Joined: Mon, 14. Feb 11, 04:58
x3tc

Post by builder680 » Sat, 1. Feb 14, 08:47

Hello there, back playing X3 since Rebirth didn't pan out as expected. It's been a couple years, but I recall being very grateful this mod existed and wanted to say thanks again to Litcube for making it.

I just bought Albion Prelude (because why not) and installed XRM 1.3

I noticed that the most recent wall file for XRM in your download was for 1.19f

I'm not sure if there have been updates to the actual ships and such in XRM since that version, however as a precaution, I generated my own wall file for XRM 1.30 and it came out to be twice the size (~34k) of the one included with your download (17k... the one which says 1.19f)

Litcube if you like I will email this file to you for future inclusion. However, as I'm not positive it's right (it's twice the size of 1.19f... that seems odd to me) I'll defer to you to decide if you actually want this wall. The xml looks to be right to me as far as ships are concerned though. Let me know, and thank you again for this mod.

Tom5Cat
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun, 13. Jan 08, 20:35
x3ap

Post by Tom5Cat » Tue, 25. Feb 14, 20:34

Yeah...well... :roll:
I installed this, making a new wall (needed it I guess, because I scripted in two player ship models) and that went all exactly as outlined by the OP (gr8 job!!)

So, I took it for a spin (bound a hotkey and toggled Bounce on). Flying my scripted carrier with 100 fighters (run under CODEA) headed for an enemy battle group. My 70 attack fighters launched as they should (catapulted by CODEA, so transported into space instead of actually taking off), some of them get spawned at the other end of my ship and... one of them crashes into my carrier trying to get to the enemies! Mind you, my carrier is laying dead in the water, not moving an inch at the time of launch! Even so, the lieutenant (!) pilot of the fighter happily tries to find a shortcut straight through my ship. Emphasis on 'tried'. Sure, he damn well ejected, but that's a bit besides the point talking about 'bounce', isn't it?! :(

In short... did I miss anything?

User avatar
apricotslice
Posts: 13737
Joined: Sun, 16. May 04, 13:01
x4

Post by apricotslice » Wed, 26. Feb 14, 02:01

I'm wondering the same thing, did I miss anything ?

I've an off and on game going at the moment where I'm building M2's for sector defense duties as I expand my influence.

My manufacturing base is in a sector with a lot of roids. So I'm docked at the PHQ in that sector, and in the distance there is this large explosion. I check the player log and you guessed it, My M2 destroyed by roid.

So what am I missing ? Is there any way to check if bounce is actually turned on ? I must admit, I did not see the message saying it was turned on, even though I inserted mail messages to inform that the scripts had run. Even knowing they ran, I am not at all certain that bounce is actually running., expecially given on major explosion that I wasnt expecting.

So what have I missed ?

PDouma39
Posts: 239
Joined: Thu, 26. Aug 10, 04:15
xr

Post by PDouma39 » Wed, 26. Feb 14, 03:55

If you turn Bounce on, you will (or should) get a temporary message on your screen. In flight or battle(when you are easily distracted) its easy to miss this message if you turn on/off Bounce.
And well to be honest when IS with a large or even small complex those tubes/roids are, even with Bounce on, a real challenge for your patrolling ships.
For that I use the mod TCM Tubeless Complex Mod, that way my ships will never have to deal with those tubes when I am IS (OOS it doesn't matter, collision is off then).
But even then I had, when IS, rarily but still, some ships crash into one of my stations.
I allways save before going IS with my ships patrolling my complex(es), especially when traffic is murder, so to speak.
I think of Bounce like a calculator, the busier it gets with more ships and stations, the more it has to calculate and the higher the chance that something will or might crash, even with Bounce on.
Awareness in life is rewarded by many

Tom5Cat
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun, 13. Jan 08, 20:35
x3ap

Post by Tom5Cat » Wed, 26. Feb 14, 21:17

I'm 100% sure bounce was activated, because I specifically took notice of the message, being it my first tryout of the script. Also, my fighter did not crash into a roid, nor into a complex (don't have a complex in that sector), nor into a gate, nor even into an enemy ship. He crashed into the carrier he was launched from just seconds before. He launched, turned 180° towards my carrier and hit the padel (and it wasn't the brakes!) Not too smart huh.

And with me it's just a fighter. apricotslice loses a destroyer to a roid, while a script specifically for those kind of instances is running? Oh my!!!

I'm ok with accidents still happening in rare occasions. That's life for you anyway, right? But running this script, I fail to see the improvement in absolute idiotic vanilla ai behaviour when on first tries a fighter hits its own carrier and a M2 crushes into a roid.

builder680
Posts: 1028
Joined: Mon, 14. Feb 11, 04:58
x3tc

Post by builder680 » Wed, 26. Feb 14, 21:41

A Destroyer crashing into an asteroid sounds like a SETA-related accident, but I could be wrong. It could also be an instance where you had just jumped in and the Destroyer happened to be "inside" the asteroid, so to speak. Or maybe the AI got creative with a Tractor Beam? Hehe.

You can tell Bounce is running (aside from the message on toggle) by undocking big ships from big stations (while you're watching from another ship). Very often your big ship will 'teleport' a few kilometers from the station after a few seconds. That's one way, I'm sure there's others.

Collision detection is turned off if no enemies are within 10km, but if there are enemies nearby obviously things can still crash into "your" ship. Any imminent impact that doesn't involve the playership is supposed to trigger the "evade," basically bouncing the ship away from doom, but still susceptible to enemy fire.

It's hard to say why your fighter crashed into your carrier. I've occasionally seen some ship crashes but not nearly as much as vanilla behavior manages to create. All I can say for this script is that it obviously isn't perfect, but it's pretty damn good compared to the alternative.
Last edited by builder680 on Wed, 26. Feb 14, 21:45, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Litcube
Posts: 4245
Joined: Fri, 20. Oct 06, 19:02
xr

Post by Litcube » Wed, 26. Feb 14, 21:43

dooble post
Last edited by Litcube on Thu, 27. Feb 14, 02:08, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Litcube
Posts: 4245
Joined: Fri, 20. Oct 06, 19:02
xr

Post by Litcube » Wed, 26. Feb 14, 21:43

builder680 wrote:It's hard to say why your fighter crashed into your carrier. I've occasionally seen some ship crashes but not nearly as much as vanilla behavior manages to create. All I can say for this script is that it obviously isn't perfect, but it's pretty damn good compared to the alternative.
This has been my experience as well. It's far from perfect. LU's bounce implementation is far superior (and no wall files! hooray!).
Last edited by Litcube on Thu, 27. Feb 14, 02:09, edited 1 time in total.

builder680
Posts: 1028
Joined: Mon, 14. Feb 11, 04:58
x3tc

Post by builder680 » Wed, 26. Feb 14, 21:46

Litcube wrote:This has been my experience as well. It's far from perfect. LU's bounce implementation is far superior (and no wall files! hooray!).
LU's?

Oh, I'm gonna guess Litcube's Universe? How is it different from this one? If it's better, is there a chance we could have that version as standalone?

User avatar
Litcube
Posts: 4245
Joined: Fri, 20. Oct 06, 19:02
xr

Post by Litcube » Wed, 26. Feb 14, 23:37

builder680 wrote:If it's better, is there a chance we could have that version as standalone?
There's a chance, but it's desperately low.

User avatar
apricotslice
Posts: 13737
Joined: Sun, 16. May 04, 13:01
x4

Post by apricotslice » Thu, 27. Feb 14, 02:03

builder680 wrote:A Destroyer crashing into an asteroid sounds like a SETA-related accident, but I could be wrong. It could also be an instance where you had just jumped in and the Destroyer happened to be "inside" the asteroid, so to speak. Or maybe the AI got creative with a Tractor Beam? Hehe.
No.

The M2 was the only ship in the sector. No enemies of any kind. No other ships of any kind.

I had been docked at the PHQ for some 5 minutes before the M2 blew. I'd just finished a lot of transfers when it happened.

So nothing to do with jumping in, nothing to do with enemies turning bounce off, nothing to do with creative AI's.

Tom5Cat
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun, 13. Jan 08, 20:35
x3ap

Post by Tom5Cat » Thu, 27. Feb 14, 02:29

Litcube wrote:
builder680 wrote:If it's better, is there a chance we could have that version as standalone?
There's a chance, but it's desperately low.
Should we offer you a bribe? :wink:

Anyway, as I understand it, enemies or no enemies, within 10 km or beyond, isn't really that relevant. True, if they are abscent, bounce claims to make your ships crash-free, but even if enemies are close, it still supposedly offers a better avoidance routine than vanilla. Am I right at that? So the result is still up for scrutiny.

siddham
Posts: 406
Joined: Thu, 25. Nov 04, 22:05
x3tc

Post by siddham » Mon, 5. May 14, 21:00

I am just beginning with Terran Conflict on Steam and was wondering is the collision problem still a big issue or have Egosoft resolved it?

Thanks

User avatar
apricotslice
Posts: 13737
Joined: Sun, 16. May 04, 13:01
x4

Post by apricotslice » Tue, 6. May 14, 02:41

siddham wrote:I am just beginning with Terran Conflict on Steam and was wondering is the collision problem still a big issue or have Egosoft resolved it?

Thanks
No, they never did. Not even in AP either.

So Bounce is the only fix available.

siddham
Posts: 406
Joined: Thu, 25. Nov 04, 22:05
x3tc

Post by siddham » Tue, 6. May 14, 05:35

apricotslice wrote:
siddham wrote:I am just beginning with Terran Conflict on Steam and was wondering is the collision problem still a big issue or have Egosoft resolved it?

Thanks
No, they never did. Not even in AP either.

So Bounce is the only fix available.
Well that is a shame.

Thanks for reply apricotslice...and thank you for the great work you have done to support these games. I have your X3 Handbook

:)

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Terran Conflict / Albion Prelude - Scripts and Modding”