[AL Plugin] Revelation, by Litcube - V 0.85b (Beta)

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
Yacek
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed, 18. Jul 07, 11:44
x3tc

Post by Yacek » Sun, 11. Jul 10, 21:04

I have one suggestion: the transfer of a new gate in the sector Bluish Snout to Ocean of Fantasy (according to what I wrote to PM)
X3:AP 3.1+XRM 1.30d+MSP 1.7+LoCo 2.01+IR 2.0
Zapraszamy wszystkich chętnych na forum XUDB, gdzie znajdziesz FAQ, opisy skryptów, modów i fabuł, oraz Mamut HQ.
Image

User avatar
Litcube
Posts: 4245
Joined: Fri, 20. Oct 06, 19:02
xr

Post by Litcube » Sun, 11. Jul 10, 21:11

Yacek wrote:I have one suggestion: the transfer of a new gate in the sector Bluish Snout to Ocean of Fantasy (according to what I wrote to PM)
I understand what youre saying, but i dont believe its necessary. If ego uses those broken gates in the future, i will likely have bigger issues to correct.
Last edited by Litcube on Sun, 11. Jul 10, 21:22, edited 1 time in total.

Maddox65
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed, 8. Oct 08, 19:27

Post by Maddox65 » Sun, 11. Jul 10, 21:21

You Rock,

:lol:

User avatar
Litcube
Posts: 4245
Joined: Fri, 20. Oct 06, 19:02
xr

Post by Litcube » Sun, 11. Jul 10, 21:32

0.83b
- Another packing issue. Forgot to update the .bod when updating the map file for 0.82b. No biggy.

User avatar
Yacek
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed, 18. Jul 07, 11:44
x3tc

Post by Yacek » Sun, 11. Jul 10, 22:01

Litcube wrote: I understand what youre saying, but i dont believe its necessary. If ego uses those broken gates in the future, i will likely have bigger issues to correct.
Ego can not, but otherwise moders ...
For example, I transformed these gates on the acting :)
X3:AP 3.1+XRM 1.30d+MSP 1.7+LoCo 2.01+IR 2.0
Zapraszamy wszystkich chętnych na forum XUDB, gdzie znajdziesz FAQ, opisy skryptów, modów i fabuł, oraz Mamut HQ.
Image

Kadatherion
Posts: 1005
Joined: Fri, 25. Nov 05, 17:05
x4

Post by Kadatherion » Mon, 12. Jul 10, 01:07

Litcube, it's astonishing, you keep making things that perfectly fit my playing style: AL plugins bringing action to the universe in an orderly fashion, instead of random chaos all around.
Not to mention the position is perfect for building up my multi-sector player empire, as long as I'm able to defeat and conquer those sectors of course. Another nice goal to aim for before the end game when we usually just nuke everyone else out :D

Kudos for the great work, I'll fire it up as soon as I finish balancing some things between other AL plugins, and I'll begin a new epic game thanks to you :thumb_up:

SLeeZeCoRe
Posts: 549
Joined: Fri, 10. Sep 04, 19:55
x3tc

Post by SLeeZeCoRe » Mon, 12. Jul 10, 03:02

I've had a small problem.

Every gate in the universe is dead :lol:

You just go through the middle of them.

User avatar
Litcube
Posts: 4245
Joined: Fri, 20. Oct 06, 19:02
xr

Post by Litcube » Mon, 12. Jul 10, 03:06

SLeeZeCoRe wrote:I've had a small problem.

Every gate in the universe is dead :lol:

You just go through the middle of them.
Huh? Is anyone else having this problem?

User avatar
ezra-r
Posts: 3136
Joined: Fri, 14. Oct 05, 21:04
x4

Post by ezra-r » Mon, 12. Jul 10, 05:01

Looks like the thing I want to try ;)

Kadatherion
Posts: 1005
Joined: Fri, 25. Nov 05, 17:05
x4

Post by Kadatherion » Mon, 12. Jul 10, 05:48

Litcube wrote:
SLeeZeCoRe wrote:I've had a small problem.

Every gate in the universe is dead :lol:

You just go through the middle of them.
Huh? Is anyone else having this problem?

Everything seems fine here. They have already took over the first sector and no bugs spotted for now. Just one thing: once I got the attack alert I warped to the Tokyo sector to take a look at how things would have gone, but even after some minutes in SETA nothing came through the gate. I then flew into their core sector just to check if they were actually there, and they indeed did... in force :P
At the moment I thought the alert was triggered by a minor "invasion" repelled by the blockade before I got there, so I flew away to mind my own business, but then after a while (maybe half an hour or so) the sector actually got conquered. I suppose then the invasion alert comes quite ahead of time?


On another note, a couple of personal curiosities: I see that once a sector has been recaptured it goes back to the race that did own it at the moment of plugin activation. Does it need the actual "we are going to try to recapture sector X" to happen, or wiping every xenon there yourself would be enough?
What happens to the sector once it is recaptured and ownership is back to the legitimate race? Repopulating it with stations is left to the engine's GOD or some script kicks in to spawn some stations and ships back?

I was considering the idea of editing the script so that once a sector is recaptured the ownership goes either to unknown (to be then claimed by me through STO, RRF or similar scripts without enraging any race) or directly to me. I see that to do so I would have to change a bit of code since right now it decides which message to send you on a successful recapture depending on the new ownership, but that wouldn't be much of a deal. How would the spawning be in those sectors, though, is a bit more of a mistery to me.

User avatar
Litcube
Posts: 4245
Joined: Fri, 20. Oct 06, 19:02
xr

Post by Litcube » Mon, 12. Jul 10, 05:58

Kadatherion wrote:Everything seems fine here.

Thanks for confirming. I'd say 40% of bug reports in this forum are improper installs.
Kadatherion wrote:Tokyo sector to take a look at how things would have gone, but even after some minutes in SETA nothing came through the gate.
By the time you get the message, all OCV ships are set to attack. There's a calculation I made that basically detirmines how long a ship has to wait for the slowest ship in the group to get to the gate at the same time as itself. Sounds confusing, but basically, the conquer script makes it so all ships, m5 or M2, reach the gate at the same time. The traffic jam them ensues. But the delay you experienced is normal. Unknown Sector Omega is massive.
Kadatherion wrote:Does it need the actual "we are going to try to recapture sector X" to happen, or wiping every xenon there yourself would be enough?
There's no need to wait for the cavalry. Give it a go. :) Once the station is gone, it's returned to the rightful owner.
Kadatherion wrote:What happens to the sector once it is recaptured and ownership is back to the legitimate race? Repopulating it with stations is left to the engine's GOD or some script kicks in to spawn some stations and ships back?
My jobs script will repopulate the military and colonists. Stations are handled by the GOD engine, and surprisingly fast.

Kadatherion wrote:I was considering the idea of editing the script so that once a sector is recaptured the ownership goes either to unknown (to be then claimed by me through STO, RRF or similar scripts without enraging any race) or directly to me. I see that to do so I would have to change a bit of code since right now it decides which message to send you on a successful recapture depending on the new ownership, but that wouldn't be much of a deal. How would the spawning be in those sectors, though, is a bit more of a mistery to me.
I guess.

Kadatherion
Posts: 1005
Joined: Fri, 25. Nov 05, 17:05
x4

Post by Kadatherion » Mon, 12. Jul 10, 07:58

Nice, then if I set an exception to those new sectors to be handed over to unknown race or player race on recapturing, this should prevent GOD from stepping on my toes too much. Well, I might give it a go in the future, for the moment second sector conquered, and I'm still in the Cutlass doing the first terran Plot: man, that's what I call a good incentive at growing up fast!

Also, absolutely no noticeable performance impact for me, and I can't say I have a powerful CPU, quite the opposite. :thumb_up:



EDIT: more testing, and finally stumbled upon two issues.

1- Performance. While when things evolve OOS I couldn't notice any impact, when I finally had the chance to participate in a battle (a counterstrike on Gannet), I stumbled upon the feared ships stopping in mid air at 0 m/s issue that has been seen before in other plugins. Mind that I have other AL plugins enabled which, of course, also tax the system, but my guess is that there are just TOO MANY ships involved when such battles evolve IS.
While I know there's the intention of letting epic, cinematic scale battles develop (and man, it sure looked epic), I would suggest a decrease in the number of ships involved: a fair chunk of the fighters we could live without, I guess, and even though a single fighter doesn't tax the system as a cap ship with several turrets scripts active, every fighter requires pathfinding, gunnery, collision detection calculations etc. It's the cap ships anyway what most creates the cinematic feeling, sacrificing those M5s, M4s and leaving in mostly some of the M3s shouldn't hurt too much.

2 - After experiencing the issue, I reloaded before beginning the assault, to uninstall RRF and see if that could help (RRF is known to be quite taxing, even though it's a great plugin). So, this time, I stood still behind the Ares-Gannet gate while the commonwealth strike force began to assemble in front of it and then began crossing.
Problem is, once the vanguard (AKA the small ships) went through, most of the big ships were left behind struggling with their autopilot to manage approaching the gate... and then, after a bit... PUFF! They vanished in thin air. I immediatly jumped to the other side just to see that entire fleet was gone.
From the look of it, seemed like the forced split of the strike force made them believe the assault failed once those first ships went through and were killed, and then the script removed any leftover, even though it was most of the actual fleet...

To avoid such issues - and in general unfair and/or odd results of gate bottlenecks - a good solution could be what's implemented in Improved Races: a single ship is tagged as the strike force leader; once that ship has crossed the gate in the target sector, it works as a beacon, and the rest of the strike force makes a gateless jump appearing immediatly in its vicinity. Then hell can break loose :P

SLeeZeCoRe
Posts: 549
Joined: Fri, 10. Sep 04, 19:55
x3tc

Post by SLeeZeCoRe » Mon, 12. Jul 10, 12:57

The only thing I can think of that might be conflicting with this is the gate creator script (which I haven't actually used yet). I'll have a fiddle about with it later.

I've been messing with mods since X2, can't be too hard :wink:




EDIT: Ok I had a quick dillydally before I go out. I reverted to a save that I had jst before I installed it. I erased everything from the mod out of my directory except the CAT/DAT (which is number 15 in mine), this fixed all the gates in the universe, but kept the new sectors you've made.

Even thogh all the scripts are gone the sectors still have names read out by Betty, and full populations of stations and ships :)

But when I enter the new sectors I can't use the universe map, its blank. But I jumped to Bluish Snout in the first place so the map works outside of yours.


Odd things, but interesting.

SLeeZeCoRe
Posts: 549
Joined: Fri, 10. Sep 04, 19:55
x3tc

Post by SLeeZeCoRe » Mon, 12. Jul 10, 23:12

Deleted everything and re-appled the mod, works fine now. Something must have been wonky the first time :lol:


Three things though...


1: is that a TandiTech TS flying towards those Cefa's, oops not anymore.

2: which script can I alter slightly to reduce the Attack frequency timer?


1 million internet points for flattening the stupid default map, I prefer it 2D and sequentual :D

User avatar
Litcube
Posts: 4245
Joined: Fri, 20. Oct 06, 19:02
xr

Post by Litcube » Tue, 13. Jul 10, 01:27

SLeeZeCoRe wrote:1: is that a TandiTech TS flying towards those Cefa's, oops not anymore.

2: which script can I alter slightly to reduce the Attack frequency timer?

1 million internet points for flattening the stupid default map, I prefer it 2D and sequentual :D
I lol'd.

To answer #2: Yes. Yes there is. But you'll have to be more specific.

@Kadatherion:

Noted points. As far as the volunteer ships and military ships disapearing, there is no disapear function. They're not supposed to dissapear ever. If they dissapeared, something in the engine went haywire. There's not a line of code in the whole plugin that destroys those ships.

As for the hang issue, let me look into it. It may require a tweak. I'll see how it goes.

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Terran Conflict / Albion Prelude - Scripts and Modding”