[ALP] Jumpgate Construction Technology 1.4 TC/AP 17/7/12

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderators: Scripting / Modding Moderators, Moderators for English X Forum

Post Reply
User avatar
Argonaught.
Posts: 1618
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31
x3ap

Post by Argonaught. » Wed, 14. Apr 10, 01:05

Ulan Dhor wrote:Hmm. Any idea what I could have done wrong?

I put the EMP-X files into their destination folder, ran the dat/cat as false patches, installed the ALP via X Plugin Manager and made sure it's running. I bought two of those Jumpgate kits. If I understood it correctly, there should now be a "Create Gate" command in the "General" tab of the command console. I have the "General" tab when docked, but only with other commands (some of Lucike's scripts) and no "General" tab when flying.

Any obvious error on my side here?
Your ship has to have XL cargo bay.

hth

Argo.
[MOD]X3TC No Fog / [MOD]X3AP No Fog / [MD]X3TC Menagerie Shipyard / [MD]X3AP Menagerie Shipyard
<==<<Argonaught>>==>

XBTF>XT>X2TT>X3R>X3TC>X3AP

I lurk alot for the most part now
:thumb_up:

Ulan Dhor
Posts: 1544
Joined: Sat, 8. Aug 09, 06:14
x3tc

Post by Ulan Dhor » Wed, 14. Apr 10, 01:48

Argonaught. wrote:
Ulan Dhor wrote:Hmm. Any idea what I could have done wrong?

I put the EMP-X files into their destination folder, ran the dat/cat as false patches, installed the ALP via X Plugin Manager and made sure it's running. I bought two of those Jumpgate kits. If I understood it correctly, there should now be a "Create Gate" command in the "General" tab of the command console. I have the "General" tab when docked, but only with other commands (some of Lucike's scripts) and no "General" tab when flying.

Any obvious error on my side here?
Your ship has to have XL cargo bay.

hth

Argo.
I'm in a Springblossom at the moment, so this should not be the problem.

jonigt
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri, 6. Jul 07, 19:33
x3

Post by jonigt » Wed, 14. Apr 10, 11:04

Hello I am Spanish and my English is very bad.
I have the same problem that Ulan Dhor.
Neither the command goes out for me. Is it possible for problems with another script??

User avatar
Argonaught.
Posts: 1618
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31
x3ap

Post by Argonaught. » Wed, 14. Apr 10, 19:13

When I am building a gate I use a ship I'm not in.
See if you get the menu when your not in the ship.

hth

Argo.
[MOD]X3TC No Fog / [MOD]X3AP No Fog / [MD]X3TC Menagerie Shipyard / [MD]X3AP Menagerie Shipyard
<==<<Argonaught>>==>

XBTF>XT>X2TT>X3R>X3TC>X3AP

I lurk alot for the most part now
:thumb_up:

Senator Vrax
Posts: 207
Joined: Tue, 18. Sep 07, 06:57
x3tc

Post by Senator Vrax » Thu, 15. Apr 10, 17:42

Argonaught. wrote:When I am building a gate I use a ship I'm not in.
See if you get the menu when your not in the ship.

hth

Argo.

This hasn't helped me unfortunately. It makes no difference what ship i'm in, there is still no 'create gate' order in the General section.


Edit : ok, I got it to work. The command shows for me if the ship with the gate software is a TL, but not when i had the software on my M7.
So, maybe ship type does matter ??? :roll:

User avatar
LV
Sith Lord
Posts: 6362
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31
x3tc

Post by LV » Thu, 15. Apr 10, 18:55

1. what commands do show in your general menu

2. what ship are you in (must be M1 TL TM TP)

Senator Vrax
Posts: 207
Joined: Tue, 18. Sep 07, 06:57
x3tc

Re: [ALP] Jumpgate Construction Technology 1.0 16/3/10

Post by Senator Vrax » Thu, 15. Apr 10, 19:06

LV wrote: Costing 95k any ship capable of carrying XL cargo with 2 Units of JCS can order gate building.

This was the problem for me. I wasn't using the correct ship type as i thought i had more choices :P

Ulan Dhor
Posts: 1544
Joined: Sat, 8. Aug 09, 06:14
x3tc

Post by Ulan Dhor » Thu, 15. Apr 10, 19:59

LV wrote:2. what ship are you in (must be M1 TL TM TP)
Hey, that might be the solution. The description just says "any ship capable of carrying XL cargo with 2 Units of JCS can order gate building", so I used an M6. I can try that.

User avatar
Argonaught.
Posts: 1618
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31
x3ap

Post by Argonaught. » Thu, 15. Apr 10, 22:52

Yea description needs to be changed a little, I was using a slow TL with a jumpdrive to create my gates, hadn't tried any other ships with XL cargo.

Argo.
[MOD]X3TC No Fog / [MOD]X3AP No Fog / [MD]X3TC Menagerie Shipyard / [MD]X3AP Menagerie Shipyard
<==<<Argonaught>>==>

XBTF>XT>X2TT>X3R>X3TC>X3AP

I lurk alot for the most part now
:thumb_up:

User avatar
LV
Sith Lord
Posts: 6362
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31
x3tc

Post by LV » Thu, 15. Apr 10, 23:33

I'll be toughening up the ship requirements next build so enjoy it while you can ;)

Ulan Dhor
Posts: 1544
Joined: Sat, 8. Aug 09, 06:14
x3tc

Post by Ulan Dhor » Fri, 16. Apr 10, 08:00

LV wrote:I'll be toughening up the ship requirements next build so enjoy it while you can ;)
Hopefully not too much. Half of the stations that sell those jumpgate kits cannot dock big ships.

Anyway, using an Elephant, everything went fine. The script seems to build N gates first, at least as long as there aren't already two N gates in the sector. Connecting Aldrin2 with Elysium of Light was ideal for such a setup. The result was nearly a traffic collapse :D.

As an aside, I was surprised that the Xenon still fly to Neptune. Their target seems to be Earth, not another Xenon sector.

User avatar
LV
Sith Lord
Posts: 6362
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31
x3tc

Post by LV » Fri, 16. Apr 10, 17:32

for balance i may have them TL only, the wares can still be bought from another smaller ship and transferred as it seems to cheaty with the current options

i'm also looking at the possibility of throwing the odd ship off course as i found something by accident the other day which may let me do this while they are jumping but i have not tested the idea yet
LV's TC Scripts
Readme's For All My Scripts


I felt a great disturbance in the forum, Like millions of voices cried out in terror, then were silenced

si tacuisses, philosophus mansisses

User avatar
Argonaught.
Posts: 1618
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31
x3ap

Post by Argonaught. » Fri, 16. Apr 10, 17:50

LV wrote:i'm also looking at the possibility of throwing the odd ship off course as i found something by accident the other day which may let me do this while they are jumping but i have not tested the idea yet
While they use the new gates or if they have the kits in cargo while jumping to the sector for the gates?

Argo.
[MOD]X3TC No Fog / [MOD]X3AP No Fog / [MD]X3TC Menagerie Shipyard / [MD]X3AP Menagerie Shipyard
<==<<Argonaught>>==>

XBTF>XT>X2TT>X3R>X3TC>X3AP

I lurk alot for the most part now
:thumb_up:

Ulan Dhor
Posts: 1544
Joined: Sat, 8. Aug 09, 06:14
x3tc

Post by Ulan Dhor » Sat, 17. Apr 10, 18:08

I just wanted to report that the timer for gate building doesn't always work. For the first gate, everything went fine (15 mizuras wait time). I constructed two others later, and the announced wait times (33 and 15 mizuras, respectively) didn't happen, but the gates were built immediately. Not sure whether it's related, but my Elephant had more than the necessary 2 jumpgate kits on board.

Saethan
Posts: 99
Joined: Sat, 31. Dec 05, 00:15
x3

Post by Saethan » Mon, 19. Apr 10, 08:16

Is there any way to determine ahead of time how much a connection is going to cost? Wanting to set up a gate from cloudbase SE to asteroid belt so all my nodes are connected, but no clue how much I need to save up.

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Terran Conflict / Albion Prelude - Scripts and Modding”