[SCR] Personnel Transporter [7th May 2010 X³:TC 3.3.01]

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

A_Sebastian
Posts: 350
Joined: Sat, 5. Mar 05, 09:25
x3tc

Post by A_Sebastian » Sun, 10. Oct 10, 22:36

I have a question regarding changing professions. I have not found the option to change one of my trained pilots into a Flight Instructor. Prior to attempting to change him, he was 5* across the board, 21:00 hours of civilian flight time and 12:00 hours of military flight time. He was a 5 star marine, trained in civilian piloting as a CLS pilot up to Logistician rank and trained in military piloting as a CODEA pilot up to Lieutenant rank, in that order. When trying to change his profession I got the options to turn him into nearly all other professions, i.e. navigator, technician, gunner, scientist, mechanic, prospector..., but not Flight Instructor.

My next question, that I cannot seem to find the answer for but has been asked multiple times in this thread... What is a Flight Instructor? Or rather, what purpose does he serve and where does he go? I have checked the other threads, like Military Transport, and have found at least a base description on all the other possible professions, but the Flight Instructor description has eluded me. Forgive me if it is buried in there. I am not the most observant person.

Thanks for the help!
Veni
Vidi
Vici

User avatar
Saetan
Posts: 2977
Joined: Wed, 1. Feb 06, 20:26
x3tc

Post by Saetan » Mon, 11. Oct 10, 01:00

The only official information about the flight instructor:
Lucike wrote:Der Fluglehrer existiert bisher nur auf dem Papier. Er wird in Zukunft mehrere Aufgaben bekommen. Seine Hauptaufgabe wird sein, den Pilotentransfer auf Trägern selbstständig durchführen. Das heißt, er wird mitten im Betrieb die erfahrenden Piloten aus den Jägern holen und durch Rookies ersetzen. Im zivilen Bereich wird der Fluglehrer den Lernprozess der Händler verkürzen, wenn er an Bord mitfliegt ...
... for those of you, who don't speak German.

The flight instructor exists only in theory yet (state of 28th may 2010, there's no updated information about that I'm aware of). That's may the reason, why flight instructors can't be selected yet.

He will have multiple tasks in the future. Main task will be to rotate the pilots on a (CODEA-) carriers automatically. That means that experienced pilots will be taken out of their cockpits and replaced by new ones. In the civil sector a flight instructor will shorten the process of learning for the traders, if he's flying on their ships.

A_Sebastian
Posts: 350
Joined: Sat, 5. Mar 05, 09:25
x3tc

Post by A_Sebastian » Mon, 11. Oct 10, 01:19

Thanks much Saetan! With the ability to train CLS pilots via a saved training course, a Flight Instructor could be of use, but not supremely necessary. However, it is good to know that I most likely wasn't doing anything wrong.

I am really liking the idea of the combat pilot auto-rotation for CODEA ships. While doing it manually isn't that hard, having it done automatically would be fantastic.

I am truly enjoying this script and can't thank you guys enough for the work you have been doing on this one and the others that accompany it. Please be sure to pass along my thanks, if reviewing these forums is not high on his to-do list!
Veni
Vidi
Vici

Strategist
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed, 6. May 09, 00:44
x3tc

Post by Strategist » Wed, 10. Nov 10, 08:09

Can mechanics repair ships on board a carrier, and if so do they need any special resources?

User avatar
Saetan
Posts: 2977
Joined: Wed, 1. Feb 06, 20:26
x3tc

Post by Saetan » Wed, 10. Nov 10, 11:29

CODEA Weapon System - FAQ wrote:
  • What do I need for the Hangar Maintenance and how does it work?
You need at least one mechanic on your carrier. You also need one unit of microchips and two units of ore per repair unit.
If you have more than one mechanic, multiple fighters can be repaired at once. If you have more mechanics than fighters to be repaired, multiple mechanics will work on the same fighters. So, the more mechanics you've got, the faster the repairs will be finished, as long as you've got the needed materials.
A repair unit is individual to each fighter. One unit gets calculated through the minimal prices of the ore and microchips, the repair costs at a shipyard and the damage of the fighter. One unit gets repaired by any mechanic every 20 seconds.

schutzengel
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed, 23. Jan 08, 19:37

Post by schutzengel » Thu, 3. Feb 11, 12:54

I think I need a more detailed explanation... can someone walk me through what I need to do to get a full crew for my pirate Carrack?

I have a TP, I can hire apprentices, but I can't get them into my M7... I can make them a pilot of another TP, but even the marine converted to gunners can't transfer into my ship :(

Can someone walk me through this?

User avatar
Saetan
Posts: 2977
Joined: Wed, 1. Feb 06, 20:26
x3tc

Post by Saetan » Thu, 3. Feb 11, 16:10

Do I get right, you are able to hire the personnel and your only problem is to get them onto your desired ship?


Only the pilot needs to be transferred into the cockpit of any ship, all the others just get moved into the cargo bay via the normal egosoft ware transfer command. Just don't forget to install the cargo bay life support system first.

schutzengel
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed, 23. Jan 08, 19:37

Post by schutzengel » Thu, 3. Feb 11, 21:47

oh ok thanks, but another question: Can I only hire pilots from stations? because I was hoping to train my whole crew up from scratch, but other than pilots I can't figure out how to train, or how much I need to train the other new guys to get them to function on my ship...

I have apprentice technicians, and gunners, but I can't hire scientists mechanics and the others I need as crew for my Carrack... I just want to get everyone on my ship or in a ship training so that I can get everything I need later, like navigators machinists ect...

Or is the only way to hire them from Military transports?

User avatar
Saetan
Posts: 2977
Joined: Wed, 1. Feb 06, 20:26
x3tc

Post by Saetan » Thu, 3. Feb 11, 23:22

Jobs like Gunners, Technicians, Mechanics and Scientists can be hired automatically by TP's (or other suitable ships) with a Lieutnant in the cockpit. Also, they can be hired by yourself of course, if you get to dock before (and wait for) the docking blue-colored military transport.

Specialists like Helmsmen, Navigators, Machinists can only be hired by yourself from a military transport.

All offered personnel by a Military Transport is by random.

Flight Instructors are not in the game yet.

Pilots can be hired at Military Outposts via CODEA. Also all the trader scripts (not sure for SRS, which is military), automatically hire civil pilots for their freighters if they get run without a pilot and docked at a station while beiing started.

Anyone can be reassigned and retrained in another job, als long as they meet the requirements. That means, anyone can be used as a pilot as pilots don't have special requirements.

Normal (bought) Marines can be trained to fullfill the requirements of any job to get used as one of them. The hired personnel can't be retrained as Marines (yet) and therefore they can't be used as any other job than pilots and their origin ones.

schutzengel
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed, 23. Jan 08, 19:37

Post by schutzengel » Sun, 6. Feb 11, 21:24

Thank you all for your help! I've got everything working now :) I just had a few recommendations for future updates...

1. Just add a simple command for all ships in the additional commands section to 'Display Crew Roster' just so we can see who's all onboard in more detail...

2. Maybe also a list of what we "need" to run the ship. I know you can check what you need to activate the MOSFET system, but that's the only one I could find. It'd be nice to see that and the Codea all in one place, maybe even list their efficiency for fun ;)

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

this one's just for fun, but:

*maybe a script to show what your crew is up to, like if they're on the bridge, sleeping, eating ect...

User avatar
Saetan
Posts: 2977
Joined: Wed, 1. Feb 06, 20:26
x3tc

Post by Saetan » Sun, 6. Feb 11, 22:01

schutzengel wrote:2. Maybe also a list of what we "need" to run the ship. I know you can check what you need to activate the MOSFET system, but that's the only one I could find. It'd be nice to see that and the Codea all in one place, maybe even list their efficiency for fun ;)
Here's a list of a description for the different jobs: Military Transport

PS: "Schutzengel" is a German name ... do you speak German as native language? If so, you are aware of that Lucike is German and any script of him is released and descriped in German firstly? ;-)

schutzengel
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed, 23. Jan 08, 19:37

Post by schutzengel » Mon, 7. Feb 11, 08:08

Hehe... Yeah, I know its german, but no I don't speak it. I can read some of it, enough to understand whats going on anyway :P

but anyway, I know there's a list here, I just meant it might be nice to have a 'crew status' page I can look at on each of my ships. I think it would be a convenient and simple change, just so I can see how many gunners I have in my ship, verses how many of them are actually working, or how many more I need.

It would be a nice touch I think :)

User avatar
Saetan
Posts: 2977
Joined: Wed, 1. Feb 06, 20:26
x3tc

Post by Saetan » Mon, 7. Feb 11, 11:26

MEFOS has such a list, as you already posted by yourself (or, did you mean somethin' else with MOSFET ;-)) ... for all the other personnel, it's all optional for additional functionality. As also only one of each can be used at the same time, I've never missed such a list.

Ok, mechanics for CODEA can be used also in an larger amount, but that only affects repair times and the amount of fighters which can be repaired at once. One of them is enough to start repairing anyway.

You can see them all in your cargo bay, for the case that you have more jobs (specialists like helmsmen, machinists and navigators) of the same type at once on board, the active ones even gets colored in green to prevent you from accidentially moving the wrong to another ship.

schutzengel
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed, 23. Jan 08, 19:37

Post by schutzengel » Tue, 8. Feb 11, 00:39

Gah! I know I know.... I was just saying I thought it would be neat... Even if it's a little repetitive :p It just kinda reminded me of the crew lists in a game called 3000Ad (i think) where you had a crew, even doctors and stuff... You could tell them to go different places on the ship and check to see what they were up to. Like at work, sleeping, in the rec room... It was kinda neat ;) I know that it probably won't happen for this game, but I though a 'CREW STATUS REPORT' command might make me feel more like a real captain, instead of digging through the cargo bay of each ship and comparing it to the Mefos and calculating how many people I need to make CODEA run faster... just my opinion though, Having one button to do it for me...


Anyway... Just a random though occurred to me... maybe we could hire doctors and crew could get injured during battles.... Ignore me if I'm being annoying, :p but it might make it more involving...

Captsavmhoe
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu, 26. Mar 09, 22:10

Post by Captsavmhoe » Fri, 11. Feb 11, 16:58

hi there its me again im getting the hang of the script now with some time to mess with it ,i do have some more ? about changing professions and or after hiting the hre buttons the selection.

when docked at a station and or outpost when i hit the hire button i dont get any listings/bullitin boards i just get a blank screen but at that point i can select said profession ie freighter pilot and then hit hire as meny times as i want then i gets the said pilots .may be normal not sure didnt look like it in the screen shots but either way i get choices then i keep who i want and fire the others .meaning i can only see said choices after i hire them .next is and i have looked and i have choices for travel and travel agent and also one for technician on board ? i know what technitions are for but whats the differance and whats travel and travel agent for ?

also ive been reading these forums for yrs and have seen alot of help being done by Saetan and want to say thank for for all the help i see in these forums from u and the time u take to reanswer alot of these posts .


Thanks again.

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Terran Conflict / Albion Prelude - Scripts and Modding”