[Mod/Patch] X3-Unleashed [RC2] [Aug-06-2010] - X3 Performance gains up to 38%

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderators: Scripting / Modding Moderators, Moderators for English X Forum

Post Reply
User avatar
Jaga_Telesin
Posts: 430
Joined: Sat, 16. Sep 06, 22:48
x4

Post by Jaga_Telesin » Fri, 16. Oct 09, 00:51

Gripen,

I think CMod has an altered Jobs.txt file as an option (don't personally use it, but read about it a while ago). If you can, make sure that Unleashed's Cat/Dat pair are loaded last (highest numbers), since they only make a change to the # of flights in the universe.

What it sounds like, is something with an altered Jobs file is loading after Unleashed, and not allowing it to change flights as a result.

Gripen
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri, 12. Jun 09, 12:10
x4

Post by Gripen » Fri, 16. Oct 09, 12:10

I have Unleashed as the last loaded cat/dat (excluding the "dummy" cat/dat that the plugin manager adds when you close it)... just to be sure, is there a fool-proof way to check if the mod really is active?

User avatar
yospanky
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri, 18. Aug 06, 04:12
x3ap

Post by yospanky » Fri, 16. Oct 09, 15:06

Jaga_Telesin... I can set my graphics settings higher! :lol:
I'm using Improved Races, CMOD, Pirate Guilds along with
many other great scripts and thus far I have seen an
incredible change in my x3TerranConflict game-play
experience especially with a very low end desktop.
Thanks & keep up the great work.
Lakers 2009 CHAMPIONS!!!!

Targ Collective
Posts: 1733
Joined: Wed, 4. Feb 09, 22:42
x3tc

Post by Targ Collective » Fri, 16. Oct 09, 18:10

Jaga, due to the huge size of Aldrin it suffers from the wrath of GoD disproportionately - loads of stations just don't trade enough. They vanish. They do not return!

Here's an idea! If certain stations - the marine training barracks in Home of Light springs to mind - are removed, the game replaces them. I wonder if it would be possible to do this with Aldran stations?

Otherwise, the only way to save Aldrin is through the gratuitous use of many many traders. The weapons fabs are at the top of the production chain, so arranging a brisk trade there will create demand all through the economy. Perhaps an Aldran station buys weapons without stocking them like the corporation HQs...? If not then perhaps such could be arranged?
Learn to use stickies. Look here for mods for X3TC and here for guides across everything since X2. If you haven't read the Forum Rules do so before we beat you with sticks. Above all have fun.

User avatar
Jaga_Telesin
Posts: 430
Joined: Sat, 16. Sep 06, 22:48
x4

Post by Jaga_Telesin » Fri, 16. Oct 09, 20:40

@Gripen:
There is a way to check and see if Unleashed has an effect on your installation, but it requires an existing savegame that never had Unleashed installed. When you add Unleashed in, and load that savegame, you will notice flights in the universe for a short time that have no name on the ship. That means that their job in the file was truncated, and they are to remove themselves when their script expires (completes).

If you don't have a savegame like this, you can always:
  1. Uninstall Unleashed temporarily.
  2. Start a new game, save a savegame from it
  3. Exit and install Unleashed
  4. Start the game and load the savegame you just made
  5. Look for the nameless ships in different sectors.
That will tell you whether or not their jobs are being altered, and if you do see some ships without names for a short time, then Unleashed is installed and working. Those ships disappear after a while (I think an hour or so depending on what else the God engine is doing), so flying around or looking with satellites is required.



@yospanky:
Glad to hear it really helps your machine. Improved races probably stomped hard on your CPU due to the additional ships (along with the other mods).



@Targ Collective:
I believe I understand what you are saying about Aldrin. Part of the problem could easily be alleviated by the addition of some fast and large M3 and/or M6 traders in the sector. Just enough of a bump to deliver resources to stations on a regular basis so that they can keep producing.

The true problem with Aldrin, is the massive space between stations in the sector. It was simply designed too large - for a standard freighter to fly from one side to the other takes far too long. Even using a M3 trader only reduces that time by 1/2 or 1/3. Putting a fleet of Springblossoms in there might help some, but it also might be too tempting for a player to abuse in trying to capture them.

I'll have to think on it a bit and see if there is a graceful option to help the sector. It is outside the scope of Unleashed from a basic "what it was meant to do" perspective, but due to edits in the Jobs file, Unleashed is clearly the place to try and arrange the fix.

Gripen
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri, 12. Jun 09, 12:10
x4

Post by Gripen » Fri, 16. Oct 09, 20:57

Okay some progress if you can call it that... i think my plugin manager has gone haywire...

No matter how many plugins i uninstall they still remain active ingame (cmod etc) probably been some mismatch with the cad/dat files...


update: cant for the life of me figure out what im doing wrong.... removed all dat/cat based mods... cleared out the plugin manager... reapplied 2.5.. renamed Unleashed-NoCivs-Beta1.cat + .dat to 10.cat and 10.dat and put them in main folder... loaded existing savegame and visited family pride which turned out to be flooded with civ ships with proper names! if i add any other mod this way same method works instantly (complex cleaner in this case)...

Sorry bout crappy english :(

User avatar
Jaga_Telesin
Posts: 430
Joined: Sat, 16. Sep 06, 22:48
x4

Post by Jaga_Telesin » Sat, 17. Oct 09, 00:21

Well, Unleashed doesn't totally remove Civilian flights, just a lot of them. Many still remain to keep flavor in the universe.

It is possible that the cat/dat aren't taking effect for some reason, though I can't imagine what that would be on your end. I'm hesitant to recommend a reinstall since that wipes any custom start options you've earned from the new game menu. If you can track down the topic on these forums that tells you how to add those back in, you might really benefit from a reinstall.

You may be on the right track with the plugin manager. You could always do a backup of your X3TC directory first, then uninstall any/all mods you can, then just try a new savegame + Unleashed and see what happens to flights. It isn't unheard of that X3TC installs get screwy after enough mod installs/uninstalls.

Gripen
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri, 12. Jun 09, 12:10
x4

Post by Gripen » Sat, 17. Oct 09, 13:18

Okay i must be doing something wrong because i still cant get it to work.

Let me say what ive been doing step-by-step

1. Uninstalled X3TC

2. Reinstalled X3TC

3. Applied 1.0.1 - 2.5 patch

6. Started game, changed name to thereshallbewings, flew to a sector with lots of civ ships, saved in a station.

4. Copied Unleashed-NoCivs-Beta1.cat and Unleashed-NoCivs-Beta1.dat to the install folder as normal.

5. Renamed them to both to number 10 in the list.

6. Started the loaded game, not a single civ ship in the sector is without name. (i know what it looks like since ive used other no militaries/civ mods)



Tried for reference to do the same thing with a nociv mod and that works... nameless ships everywhere...


I probably just have to give up on this mod since for some reason i cant get it to work even on a fresh install :(

User avatar
Jaga_Telesin
Posts: 430
Joined: Sat, 16. Sep 06, 22:48
x4

Post by Jaga_Telesin » Sat, 17. Oct 09, 21:44

There's always the possibility of a corrupt cat/dat from the download. It does sound like your process is valid for testing on your machine. Are you using a new game or loading an old one?

If you'd like, I can send you a cat/dat pair that I've used in testing here (via email) so that part could be eliminated as a potential problem on your install. Sending me a screenshot of your install directory might help as well, if you have detail view for it. Shoot me a PM if you'd like to do a bit of investigation.. I'm sure there's a fix.

Gripen
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri, 12. Jun 09, 12:10
x4

Post by Gripen » Sat, 17. Oct 09, 22:24

Well now im somewhat confused, I kinda gave up and started over with tormented teladi... left the cad files in place though kinda hoping it would just happen to work... anyways i have yet after a couple of hours play to see a civilian ship..

This is kinda odd since if i load the other savegame that i had for reference i get tons of civilian ships everywhere (thier names intact)...

Perhaps its a coinsidence i havent seen any civies in teladi space in comparison to split space but i guess i will see after i get some more hours ingame..

Dunno what to think atm :P


I know for a fact that the savegame im trying with is bloated with diffrent scripts and mods, could that affect things even if the mods are removed?


Perhaps if i sent you the savegame im testing with you can check if any ships are removed on your install?

User avatar
Jaga_Telesin
Posts: 430
Joined: Sat, 16. Sep 06, 22:48
x4

Post by Jaga_Telesin » Sat, 17. Oct 09, 22:44

Nope - sending me a savegame that has a bunch of scripts/mods already used in it doesn't help much, since odds are poor I'd even be able to run it. That's sorta why I suggested a new script/mod-free savegame to test Unleashed on your end.

When you start a new game with Unleashed installed (already), those civilian ships are never permitted to spawn in the first place. That is the cleanest and best test to see if the install is working, which it sounds like it is.

I'd suggest your old savegame has something going on in it that is mucking with ships and/or the Jobs. Chances are good the civ ships would disappear there too over time. It is hard to say which script/mod might be the culprit, or if there even is a problem - some of the ships you see there might be spawned by a script, and not the God engine at all.

Since it is working perfectly for you in Tormented Teladi, keep watching your game's performance and ships in sectors, see how it goes. Sounds like Unleashed is working on your rig now.

User avatar
Sorkvild
Posts: 2798
Joined: Thu, 8. Jun 06, 14:07
x3tc

Post by Sorkvild » Wed, 21. Oct 09, 21:35

Hello and thanks for such a great improvement and really analytic approach on the performance.

Readme specifies that user should not use any "No-Civ" mod with X3 Unleashed. Well... what If use Graxter's mod with X3 Unleashed Standard version ? I'd like to keep "specialist civ's" for a flavor.

DOes Unleashed No Civilian version remove all civilian ships or only certain types like civilian ship, taxi, dropship ?
Elite Dangerous| I survived the Dragon Incident ... then I took an arrow to the knee
We want the Boron back!

User avatar
Jaga_Telesin
Posts: 430
Joined: Sat, 16. Sep 06, 22:48
x4

Post by Jaga_Telesin » Thu, 22. Oct 09, 02:33

Unleashed No-Civ removes any and all Civilian ships from the universe. What remains are police, military, pirates, yaki, xenon, traders, etc.

The standard version of Unleashed reduces Civilian ships to a more realistic number, but doesn't remove them completely. It sounds like you're wanting this version. Due to the way Graxter's NoCiv mod and Unleashed work, the two are mutually exclusive, and can't be installed together.

Give the standard Unleashed a try, I expect it has what you want.

User avatar
Sorkvild
Posts: 2798
Joined: Thu, 8. Jun 06, 14:07
x3tc

Post by Sorkvild » Thu, 22. Oct 09, 11:50

I removed Graxter's NoCiv and tried Unleashed Standard. I must admit from now on the game work like it should. No huge, pointles traffic anymore, reduced military. Now I see my cpu is breathing, original game is such a choke up for the cpu.
Now It is the time if this mod works good with Pirate Guild and Military Base response Revamp.
Elite Dangerous| I survived the Dragon Incident ... then I took an arrow to the knee
We want the Boron back!

fragma
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat, 5. Sep 09, 08:15
x3tc

Post by fragma » Fri, 23. Oct 09, 14:21

Jaga, did you accidentally use the pre-2.0 jobs.txt? I was comparing your version to one I created and saw that all the new jobs from the 2.0 patch (ID:6300-6509) are missing.

Also, I see that you changed the classification of the civilians to "None" instead. What exactly does that do?

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Terran Conflict / Albion Prelude - Scripts and Modding”