[SCR] CODEA Weapon System [13th May 2010 X³:TC 3.1.14]

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

Post Reply
mpcribeiro
Posts: 185
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31
x3tc

Post by mpcribeiro » Tue, 22. Sep 09, 01:10

CODEA Replenishment Tender

This is what happened

- On Omi* sector I've bought 3 ATK new ships (nova raiders) with necessary equipment, set my carrier as their home ... then issue them to go from Argon ShipY to my EquipDock on same system and wait there for pickup.

- My carrier and RepTender were in Ore* sector when I bought those ships

- RepT my carrier is listed; no orders visible

- My RepTender start flying through sectors instead of jumping; it didn't stop at Power station that was in the same sector to get (energy for jumps). Its home was my EQ in Omi* sector


Q1: Please could you add 1 or 2 extra lines on the "manual" explaining a bit more the "order" and how to create it?

Q2: RepT ignoring the jump.... bug? The twp power stations on Ore* sector were full with energy cells. The RepT were set to make use of jumpdrive and jump drive were installed.

ah the RepT is Yaki TM
Thanks

User avatar
Saetan
Posts: 2977
Joined: Wed, 1. Feb 06, 20:26
x3tc

Post by Saetan » Tue, 22. Sep 09, 01:33

mpcribeiro wrote:Q1: Please could you add 1 or 2 extra lines on the "manual" explaining a bit more the "order" and how to create it?
Replenisment tenders replace pre-owned killed fighters of a CODEA carrier only. The don't deliver "new" ones. Also, they only deliver fighters of exact the same type as the lost ones.

Replenishment tenders cannot be used to stock a carrier with new fighters. This has to be done by hand.


mpcribeiro wrote:Q2: RepT ignoring the jump.... bug? The twp power stations on Ore* sector were full with energy cells. The RepT were set to make use of jumpdrive and jump drive were installed.
Do you have ecells stored in your EQ? They may refuel only on their homebase but maybe this is only because of the missing correct order (see Q1) ... I'll check that.

Inverness
Posts: 174
Joined: Tue, 3. Jan 06, 01:28
x4

Post by Inverness » Tue, 22. Sep 09, 05:47

I have a small request to make, could an option be added to the carrier console for ignoring the current target? I'm a bit conservative with hotkeys and don't assign them until I find I really need them, so I'd like to be able to ignore my target from the console. It should also indicate if that target is currently ignored.

Though perhaps I should learn how to edit scripts in this game so I'd be able to do it myself, though I wouldn't fancy doing it every time there is an update.

mpcribeiro
Posts: 185
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31
x3tc

Post by mpcribeiro » Tue, 22. Sep 09, 09:29

Saetan wrote:
mpcribeiro wrote:Q1: Please could you add 1 or 2 extra lines on the "manual" explaining a bit more the "order" and how to create it?
Replenisment tenders replace pre-owned killed fighters of a CODEA carrier only. The don't deliver "new" ones. Also, they only deliver fighters of exact the same type as the lost ones.

Replenishment tenders cannot be used to stock a carrier with new fighters. This has to be done by hand.
Thanks Saetan for the clarification it helps indeed to understand the RepT role

Saetan wrote:
mpcribeiro wrote:Q2: RepT ignoring the jump.... bug? The twp power stations on Ore* sector were full with energy cells. The RepT were set to make use of jumpdrive and jump drive were installed.
Do you have ecells stored in your EQ? They may refuel only on their homebase but maybe this is only because of the missing correct order (see Q1) ... I'll check that.
Again thanks, I had the impression that RepT would work like the Tenders; since the Tenders fetch ecells from the closest power station then they jump to the EQ that is set on their config. Ok RepT work differently, so would be matter of fetching ecells manually for it to make use of the jumpdrive. Cheers

User avatar
Lucike
Posts: 12341
Joined: Sun, 9. May 04, 21:26
xr

Post by Lucike » Wed, 23. Sep 09, 18:40

Inverness wrote:I have a small request to make, could an option be added to the carrier console for ignoring the current target? I'm a bit conservative with hotkeys and don't assign them until I find I really need them, so I'd like to be able to ignore my target from the console. It should also indicate if that target is currently ignored.
Next version.

Regards
Lucike
Image

kmardis
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue, 27. Dec 05, 06:33
x4

Post by kmardis » Thu, 24. Sep 09, 17:10

This is a very impressive script. I am planning on using it when I start building a CAP fleet. I do have questions though.

1. Does anyone know how well does this work with the MARS system?

2. Can anyone sum up what MEFOS is? Ich kann nicht lesen Deutsch oder sehr gut sprechen. :cry:

mpcribeiro
Posts: 185
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31
x3tc

Post by mpcribeiro » Thu, 24. Sep 09, 18:23

kmardis wrote: 2. Can anyone sum up what MEFOS is? Ich kann nicht lesen Deutsch oder sehr gut sprechen. :cry:
Allows to set gunners and set group of weapons... anyway is essential to have if you want to repair ur ships in a Carrier(s) coz the repair crew is part of MEFOS and doesn't exist on CODEA :(

User avatar
Saetan
Posts: 2977
Joined: Wed, 1. Feb 06, 20:26
x3tc

Post by Saetan » Thu, 24. Sep 09, 19:29

kmardis wrote:1. Does anyone know how well does this work with the MARS system?


See the quotes:
Saetan wrote:
KaZTek wrote:3. how do I use them in relation to CODEA and avoid the turret part of MEFOS to avoid a conflict with MARS.
MEFOS and MARS are developed for compliance. If you don't want to use MEFOS because you use MARS just don't set the MEFOS turret commands of your ships and hire no personnel for them.
MEFOS only cares about turrents on which the MEFOS commands are running.
... but ...
Hangman111 wrote:However, I now get messages from unknown that are blank when I ask to see the cute overviews of personnel costs. Neither do I get messages when ships are lost.
Hangman111 wrote:Turning the drones off in MARS did it - corvettes are now "Convoyed" and I am able to see the personell costs! (I actually turned them off in the ship I am flying - a Springblossom - rather than the carrier - which is OOS.)

Thanks! :) So I guess this is a MARS/CODEA interaction problem?
... there is a known bug. But again ...
Lucike wrote:
Hangman111 wrote:Thanks! :) So I guess this is a MARS/CODEA interaction problem?
I think so. We will see. I want to talk to Gazz.

Regards
Lucike
... Lucike is working on it. There are no other known problems and quite a lot of CODEA/MEFOS-users are using MARS too.

Hangman111
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat, 12. Sep 09, 07:17

Post by Hangman111 » Sat, 26. Sep 09, 06:31

CODEA has basically changed from a fighter management system, with a carrier and its fighters, to a fleet management system where corvettes and heavier ships are included as well. Now the fleet may include several corvettes (I have 5 attached for the moment), possibly several carriers (I have 2), frigates (1), missile cruisers (1) and destroyers.

Yet the tactical ideas of CODEA are still those of the fighter management system. I feel that the tactical side is in need of further development in order to take fully into account the expansion of CODEA as well as for CODEA to become really useful. So perhaps it is also time to develop that aspect of CODEA some more?

Some situations:

(1) A group of pirate fighters - 5 or so - with a couple of Broadclaws enter the carriers' zone of control. The carrier sends out fighters. They win, but it costs me 3-4 fighters (which is annoying, as my corvettes could have taken them out without problems). However, my corvettes were not sent along with the fighters. I would have liked to assign a couple of corvettes to enemy fighter suppression within the zone of control - to be sent out with the attack fighters every time there was a strong or big group of fighters entering my zone of control, and possibly to be retreated and replaced by others if the shilds became critical

(2) An enemy Brigadine and a couple of pirate corvettes enter, along with several fighters. My fighters go out to take out the enemy fighters (my setting tell them not to attack big enemies). However, they do not stay far enough away from the Brigadine, and several end up as cannon fodder. I would like to tell them to stay 6 km away from major enemy ships.

(3) I would like to be able to instruct my fighters about the size of my zone of control (30 km, 20, or say 10 km), depending on the type of sector and enemies likely to be encountered. It is one thing to patrol Argon Prime and Red Light, another to fly into a pirate sector in order to isolate and capture a pirate destroyer. As it is, I prefer to simply assign all my fighters as interceptors and none of them as attack fighters in order to make the zone of control small and maximize the chances of corvette involvement in fights.

(4) I can successfully escort a convey of 4 ships from Paranid Prime to Terracorp headquarter in Home of Light with my old trusty Panther equipped with 4 wings of 8 fighter planes, with one wing assigned to each of the 4 convoyed ships and with me flying the Panther and taking out heavy enemy ships. Doing it this way I lost 3 M5's only. Using my Raptor (with much stronger guns) and with 64 ships on the same mission, I lost 11 fighters as well as 2 of the ships I was protecting.

(5) I have not yet tried CODEA on assassination missions, protect station missions or Zenon patrols, simply because I don't think it is up to it.


So in my humble opinion CODEA needs tools and tactical concepts that makes the fleet management system it has now become able to carry out more complicated tasks than patrols of the core Argon sectors, which currently is what it does best. Anything I can do in a lone frigate, CODEA with a carrier, 60 fighters, 5 corvettes and a frigate should be able to do without breaking a sweat (or without me having to run off to buy and equip a large number of new fighters :) ).

I like CODEA a lot, and it is fun to play with, so this is meant as constructive criticism :)

Cheers,
Hangman111

Commander Zane
Posts: 283
Joined: Thu, 3. Aug 06, 05:23
x3tc

Post by Commander Zane » Sun, 27. Sep 09, 16:51

I'm having trouble getting CODEA to be applied to one of my M6 ships, I have all the required software and a pilot for it, but I still can't access the menu screen.

User avatar
Saetan
Posts: 2977
Joined: Wed, 1. Feb 06, 20:26
x3tc

Post by Saetan » Sun, 27. Sep 09, 17:29

Commander Zane:
Do I understand right? You want to use a M6 as a carrier? Do you have a modded one?


Or do you want to add a M6 into your CODEA fleet?

Commander Zane
Posts: 283
Joined: Thu, 3. Aug 06, 05:23
x3tc

Post by Commander Zane » Sun, 27. Sep 09, 18:15

Add it to the list, even though everything needed is there I can't add it to a Corvette battlegroup.

User avatar
Saetan
Posts: 2977
Joined: Wed, 1. Feb 06, 20:26
x3tc

Post by Saetan » Sun, 27. Sep 09, 18:22

Did you give the M6 the command to follow you? Weapons installed? Lieutnant on board? How far away is your M6 from the carrier? Sure, that every equipment needed is installed and forbidden Equipment not installed (SETA, Boost, Goggles)?

If so did you maybe have the M6 assigned to another carrier before?

Commander Zane
Posts: 283
Joined: Thu, 3. Aug 06, 05:23
x3tc

Post by Commander Zane » Sun, 27. Sep 09, 18:24

I got it, it was the "forbidden equipment!" :lol:

I thought the forbidden equipment only affected fighters, sorry, she's in my battlegroup now. :D

User avatar
Topcross
Posts: 180
Joined: Sat, 15. Aug 09, 03:30
x3tc

Post by Topcross » Sun, 27. Sep 09, 22:55

First off all I want to say great script and thanks for translating it:D Thank you very much, both of you.

Ok I started building a fleet using codea a few days ago, it is finaly finished, this is it:

-Odin (main carrier) with 10 attackers, 28 patrols and 6 reconnaisance,
-two more Odins, holding 8 bombers, 28 patrols 30 interceptors and 6 reconnaisance,
- 5 Tyrs
- 10 Valis
- 10 Skirnirs
- 3 Atmospheric lifters
- 2 Baldrics

(Yes I love ATF:D)

I tried it out now (I do realise this is maybe a bit too big:p) and I have a few remarks/suggestions.

First off all, if you have a big escort of corvettes/frigates/destroyes (like I have) it is a pain to move around without hitting your own ships:D So maybe if possible could you add an option so your escort flys in some kind of formation too, like this they keep their distance from eachother and the carrier.

Second one, when I want to start my patrol, I gotta do that in two different carriers (since they are spread out over two carriers). Would it be possible to link every ship on your support carriers to the codea of the main carrier? (Maybe this is already possible and then I must have missed that function, if so could anyone explain me how to do this please:D)

Third one, could you make it possible to have more than one supply tender and supply base because supplying sometimes goes quite slow with only one ship moving between the fleet and my base and since equipment docks can only stock a few of some missilies.

Fourth, the reason it took that long to putt my fleet together is simple, it takes quite a while before you get those captains needed to fly those destroyers, carriers and TLs. Now that wouldn't be too annoying if you would be able to putt em on a patrol and let em fly for the next fourty hours of gameplay, or four with SETA on and turned to 10x (that's the time needed I believe). But you gotta switch em to a corvette the moment they are lieutanant and than to a frigate when they get the rank of commander, would it be possible to add some kind of onboard training function, or on a station for all I care.:) Maybe something similuar to marine training but without having to restart training every lvl:D.

And last, this one doesn't have much to do with CODEA itself but more with MEFOS but I thought i'd post it here since I don't speak German very well and there isn't and English thread about MEFOS yet. Anyway, my first plan was to fill one carrier with bombers but once i started hiring the personnel needed to man them (Mechanics and Technicens (or however you write that lol)) I soon gave up as it is a pain to recruit them : first fly to a station and then sometimes wait for ages till they get there (or wait in seta just outside the target station and risk to miss em because they leave before you can dock). I then tried with a few scabbards but it was also quite hard to recruit em fast. So my suggestion is that you could get the personnel they carry while they fly to by some trade function (if you got a transporter device, or maybe even better, make a station somewhere in space comparable to a marines training station where you can recruit all MEFOS personnel. To compensate the advantage gained by doing this you could make em quite costly to buy and maybe raise their wagers too.

I also realise that I might be using the script not completly as you intended it, it seems it is mainly made to make control of your fighters on your carrier easier while I use it to control a entire fleet.:) Therefor I support what Hangman111 posted, some of the functions he suggestes would be very usefull espacialy the ability to assign corvettes/ frigates to offence too instead of defence only since those slow destroyers usually arrive in fire rang by the time you lost quite a few fighters (if fighting a large force that is:P)

But again I love the script, I'm going to use it all the time from now on but I probably will cut quite a big amount of my escort because it's kinda annoying to lose an Atmospheric lifter and one or two corvettes/frigates every time I move to another sector.

I hope these suggestions were interesting for you and hopefully you add some of them to your script in the future.:D

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Terran Conflict / Albion Prelude - Scripts and Modding”