[MOD] PSCO1's CockpitMod v1.33 for X3TC v3.1 (update: 13.09.2014)

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

Post Reply
lrd99
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed, 27. May 09, 12:42

Post by lrd99 » Fri, 31. Jul 09, 12:16

someone else wrote: i'd like to modify my Ship Rebalance Mod to let this mods work together...
Any news? :)

someone else
Posts: 2970
Joined: Sun, 18. Jun 06, 13:37
x3tc

Post by someone else » Fri, 31. Jul 09, 12:18

the next version of my mod will be compatible. :D

btw... there will be any Goner Cockpit in the future?

another question... will there be race-specific cockpits in the future?
(the standard ones just tweaked to use race-specific textures would be cool)

cooool Xenon Cockpits... a bit low on buttons and dials though.

and what about removing the big and "ugly" (imho) beams from the Capitals cockpits? :D
Trade, Fight, Build, Think, Modify.
Ship Rebalance Mod
OOS Rebalance
Resized Aldrin Big Rock
SIDE/TOP/FRONT Ship Size Comparison
Remember young Padawan: money stolen can be, time cannot.

Anubitus
Posts: 685
Joined: Fri, 21. Jan 05, 01:44
x4

Post by Anubitus » Fri, 31. Jul 09, 17:20

is it not possible to just re-arrange the icons..? (and put them out of sight.. lol)

Madtrack
Posts: 184
Joined: Tue, 25. May 04, 01:44
x3tc

Post by Madtrack » Fri, 31. Jul 09, 17:41

I believe the lack of dials and all on xenon cockpits is I believe intended (not made for other races to use in fluff), same goes for khaak cockpits

Could you specify what you mean by beams on the capital cockpits ? I'm not sure I understand correctly

I don't speak for the author (I just updated this mod for 2.1) but I can forward your questions to the french forums

someone else
Posts: 2970
Joined: Sun, 18. Jun 06, 13:37
x3tc

Post by someone else » Fri, 31. Jul 09, 18:05

for xenon cockpits: Xenons are computers, AIs. they don't need any cockpit to fly a ship... they were Terraformers though, and may have mantained the "emergency control rooms" that Terran put on Terraformers. The cockpit is for humans... and need some "human-specific" features. a machine can do the same thing with a USB port.
Mind me, the Xenon Cockpits are the best cockpits I've ever seen... you get the best visibility around you while still being cool.

khaak cockpits: khaaks are insect-like creatures... but still need a control system... even if alien.. maybe a ball with various dials and buttons in their Khaak colours in the place of that object under the Hud.
Removing the chair would ve another good thing... I've never seen a tired insect. :P

Beams: heh! the two big metallic things that hold up the roof (one on the left and one on the right). they look very ugly imho and I don't think they are really needed. (the french word for them is "poutre" i think)

Can you please ask him if he can use race-specific (and maybe better quality) textures? That is very very important imho, and will make this a very cool mod. (another mod that adds Cockpits, but seems on hold)

If they give permission I can link a Italian Reunion Cockpit mod that ported over the X-tension cockpits... maybe he is interested in that.

Thank you if you can forward it... my french is... crappy at best. :D
Last edited by someone else on Sat, 1. Aug 09, 01:34, edited 1 time in total.
Trade, Fight, Build, Think, Modify.
Ship Rebalance Mod
OOS Rebalance
Resized Aldrin Big Rock
SIDE/TOP/FRONT Ship Size Comparison
Remember young Padawan: money stolen can be, time cannot.

Erilaz
Posts: 160
Joined: Mon, 8. May 06, 13:49
x4

Post by Erilaz » Fri, 31. Jul 09, 19:29

PSCO1 wrote:thx Erilaz
Just as an aside I'm really interested in the no-stars mod you're using, where can I find that?
- it's not a mod .. it's a personal modification :)
- You must remove all .dds containing "objects\environments\nebulae\bluedistance\..stars" etc .. in 01.cat file but i don't remember the list of files u must remove sorry...
- use "DDS converter 2.0" to be sure of not making mistakes
- don't forget to save original .cat of course

Saturn sector
Image
Thanks PSCO1, I've just downloaded doubleshadow's X3 Editor 2 and will give it a try after backup.

The cockpits look really good with 3D vision and with the stars depth 3D rendering issue removed, which I've been searching for ages, the game is going to be a fully immersive 3D experience. You've made just my day, thanks again :)

someone else
Posts: 2970
Joined: Sun, 18. Jun 06, 13:37
x3tc

Post by someone else » Sat, 1. Aug 09, 17:20

just in case anyone is interested my Ship Rebalance Mod has a optional PSCO1's Cockpits Module to make ALL ships display the cockpit as intended...

I just copy/pasted the files to make them compatible and modified my Tships to fix the stupid ships that have the wrong cockpit entry.

p.s. the Italian X-tension Cockpit to X2 Mod contains some new cockpits that can be reused if you want, just give some credit to Pandamonium, the Italian guy who exported and made them work from X-tension.
download link
original thread (with dead links)
Trade, Fight, Build, Think, Modify.
Ship Rebalance Mod
OOS Rebalance
Resized Aldrin Big Rock
SIDE/TOP/FRONT Ship Size Comparison
Remember young Padawan: money stolen can be, time cannot.

Madtrack
Posts: 184
Joined: Tue, 25. May 04, 01:44
x3tc

Post by Madtrack » Sat, 1. Aug 09, 18:32

someone else wrote:just in case anyone is interested my Ship Rebalance Mod has a optional PSCO1's Cockpits Module to make ALL ships display the cockpit as intended...

I just copy/pasted the files to make them compatible and modified my Tships to fix the stupid ships that have the wrong cockpit entry.

p.s. the Italian X-tension Cockpit to X2 Mod contains some new cockpits that can be reused if you want, just give some credit to Pandamonium, the Italian guy who exported and made them work from X-tension.
download link
original thread (with dead links)
Thanks!

I passed your comments to the author, and he said he was out of material to work with, and he was not experienced enough to create new textures and everything, he created his cockpits using by combining bits of different X2 cockpits

However those X-tension cockpits might be just enough to get him started again :wink:

Thanks also for making your mod compatible, I believe he'll be pleased that his work is appreciated enough for that :)

I'll let you know as soon as I know more

someone else
Posts: 2970
Joined: Sun, 18. Jun 06, 13:37
x3tc

Post by someone else » Sat, 1. Aug 09, 20:02

he was not experienced enough to create new textures
I know how he feels... :roll: I never found a way to let the game recognize my textures.
(<cursing on Gmax>)

The other Cockpit mod (Shawn's) changed the name of the used textures to have a cooler result. (they changed the name of the .jpg file, crude but somewhat effective)
he created his cockpits using by combining bits of different X2 cockpits
well... the "new" ones he create look pretty cool. He knows how to modify them. :D
Trade, Fight, Build, Think, Modify.
Ship Rebalance Mod
OOS Rebalance
Resized Aldrin Big Rock
SIDE/TOP/FRONT Ship Size Comparison
Remember young Padawan: money stolen can be, time cannot.

RooksBailey
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu, 1. Jan 09, 09:52
x3tc

Post by RooksBailey » Sun, 2. Aug 09, 08:03

Wow. This seems awesome. Does this mod affect the game's performance at all?

I am relatively new to X3TC, so I never modded it before. Can I use this mod without needing to restart my current campaign?

User avatar
Arkblade
Posts: 78
Joined: Sun, 23. Jul 06, 04:13
x4

Post by Arkblade » Sun, 2. Aug 09, 08:09

hi, PSCO1.
i send messages to you about cockpit resource. check it.

someone else
Posts: 2970
Joined: Sun, 18. Jun 06, 13:37
x3tc

Post by someone else » Sun, 2. Aug 09, 10:25

Can I use this mod without needing to restart my current campaign?
yep. go ahead. :D
Trade, Fight, Build, Think, Modify.
Ship Rebalance Mod
OOS Rebalance
Resized Aldrin Big Rock
SIDE/TOP/FRONT Ship Size Comparison
Remember young Padawan: money stolen can be, time cannot.

amtct
Posts: 1907
Joined: Thu, 13. Nov 08, 23:19
x3ap

Post by amtct » Sun, 2. Aug 09, 10:26

someone else wrote:
Can I use this mod without needing to restart my current campaign?
yep. go ahead. :D
With modified tag :(

This mod should be included in the future bonus pack . 8)

User avatar
Arkblade
Posts: 78
Joined: Sun, 23. Jul 06, 04:13
x4

Post by Arkblade » Sun, 2. Aug 09, 10:55

hi, amtct.
I want to get permission from you.
Isn't the problem in sending the texture sent to me to PSCO1 before?

amtct
Posts: 1907
Joined: Thu, 13. Nov 08, 23:19
x3ap

Post by amtct » Sun, 2. Aug 09, 11:07

Arkblade wrote:hi, amtct.
I want to get permission from you.
Isn't the problem in sending the texture sent to me to PSCO1 before?
Do whatever you want .

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Terran Conflict / Albion Prelude - Scripts and Modding”