[SCRIPT] Player Workshops V2.0 [28.07.2009]

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderators: Scripting / Modding Moderators, Moderators for English X Forum

Post Reply
Sticks
Posts: 215
Joined: Thu, 29. Nov 07, 16:35
x4

Post by Sticks » Fri, 24. Apr 09, 19:14

Well done, i like it 8)

pelador
Posts: 1230
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31
x3tc

Post by pelador » Sun, 26. Apr 09, 04:26

Thanks for the feedback.

V1.4 Upgrade now available. Includes user definable packages. Details in main first post.

I have also reconfigured the scripts to make new equipment entries more readily appliable in the future. This means that although you will need to access the menu's again this time to restore default values to then re-set. It is with the hopefull expectation that future additions to the equipment/software lists will not require user intervention other than adding new items. Though I think I have vanilla covered.

draffutt
Posts: 4286
Joined: Wed, 21. Feb 07, 18:46
x4

Post by draffutt » Sun, 26. Apr 09, 06:46

question

only scripts loaded on first run is cycrows cheats and this

started a new game

if allow workships to...... or allow equipment/software..... if either or, or both are set to yes or remove stored values..... is selected, your starting ship is stripped of everything. is this intended?

small request

i noticed on when loading from a save game that specialized equipment costs the same no matter what your faction rating is. I.E. docking computer.

so could you simulate a black market? I.E. if one is no longer friendly with the paranid it now costs double or triple to get a docking computer.

awesome script.
None of us is as smart as all of us. ~Ken Blanchard

TC player bug fixes
Reunion player bug fixes

pelador
Posts: 1230
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31
x3tc

Post by pelador » Sun, 26. Apr 09, 12:57

draffutt wrote:question

only scripts loaded on first run is cycrows cheats and this

started a new game

if allow workships to...... or allow equipment/software..... if either or, or both are set to yes or remove stored values..... is selected, your starting ship is stripped of everything. is this intended?

small request

i noticed on when loading from a save game that specialized equipment costs the same no matter what your faction rating is. I.E. docking computer.

so could you simulate a black market? I.E. if one is no longer friendly with the paranid it now costs double or triple to get a docking computer.

awesome script.
Stripped of everything?

There isnt any bulk update process in the scripts to remove all equipment/software, and only one item at a time should be stripped if applied in the menu when chosen if you have set the ability to remove items from ships. Are you miss-interpreting the need to use the configuration menu to redefine values? With this update the values in the workshop menu wont appear and the list will be blank until you have loaded and reconfigured defaults using the configuration menu, accessed via hotkey. Thereafter the workshop will use the configured values. But the ships themselves will still have their equipment/software.

Also as mentioned above I have reconfigured the scripts to hopefully remove the need to reconfigure each time a new future update occurs.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


The faction ratings are used for the standard processes when buying items from stations that are hardcoded into the interface. They have specific notoreity settings to apply based on owner race. As the workshops are based on player infrastructure and you are 100% freindly with yourself the inclusion of equipment/software is pretty black and white if you have set a particular item to be included. And are then based on average price settings.

For me to be able to represent different "black market" values at higher cost I would need to have a whole new set of rules to emulate how these should behave and would have to dynamically check the topography of the X-Verse to be fully functional.

The easiest thing for me to include as an upgrade would be for me to allow players to decide which items they consider "black-market" as a playstyle choice and then apply a black market % increase adjustment to price. This would give more flavour than just yes or no inclusion. Let me know if this would be wanted.

draffutt
Posts: 4286
Joined: Wed, 21. Feb 07, 18:46
x4

Post by draffutt » Sun, 26. Apr 09, 16:47

pelador wrote:stripped of everything?
here is a pic to show you better what i am talking about:
Image

as you can see my ship has no shields when a new game is run for the first time and your menu pops up. it appears your script interferes with what god is doing on first setting up. as i said when i set "allow equipment/software to be removed/sold:" to yes and hit the X in the corner my ship had no equipment of any kind installed when your menu went away. i tried the same thing with "allow workshop...." and i also tried the "(remove...." just to see what would happen. (i'm good at breaking things and testing everything out. :wink: ). but if i changed anything else above those 3 options then all default equipment seems to install after the menu closes. so maybe put a slight delay in the menu popping up so god can finish setting up the game first?

The faction ratings are used for the standard processes when buying items from stations that are hardcoded into the interface. They have specific notoreity settings to apply based on owner race. As the workshops are based on player infrastructure and you are 100% freindly with yourself the inclusion of equipment/software is pretty black and white if you have set a particular item to be included. And are then based on average price settings.

For me to be able to represent different "black market" values at higher cost I would need to have a whole new set of rules to emulate how these should behave and would have to dynamically check the topography of the X-Verse to be fully functional.

The easiest thing for me to include as an upgrade would be for me to allow players to decide which items they consider "black-market" as a playstyle choice and then apply a black market % increase adjustment to price. This would give more flavour than just yes or no inclusion. Let me know if this would be wanted.
which ever way is easiest for you. i was just a little suprised when i loaded up an old save game and docked at my EQ to find i could buy docking computers even thou my faction with the paranid is something like over -4000 and the blackmarket came to mind. :wink: i'd still use your script either way.
None of us is as smart as all of us. ~Ken Blanchard

TC player bug fixes
Reunion player bug fixes

pelador
Posts: 1230
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31
x3tc

Post by pelador » Sun, 26. Apr 09, 17:11

V1.5 Bugfix Available.

Configuration menu is no longer loaded on game start for set-up. You will need to run the menu from the hotkey if using the workshop for the first time.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thanks draffutt. I was honestly trying to be helpfull, but as its not really important to impose a set-up on game load I've changed the setup process to no longer load the menu and made it user required to use the configuration menu from the hotkey to activate the workshop.

Apologies, teach me for trying to be clever.

I could have introduced a time delay, but probably better to do it this way to avoid conflicts especially if other scripts are using null processes on start up that ignore setup ordering etc (e.g. inits or setups launching scripts).



I'll try to introduce the "black market" value settings in the near future.

draffutt
Posts: 4286
Joined: Wed, 21. Feb 07, 18:46
x4

Post by draffutt » Sun, 26. Apr 09, 17:30

pelador wrote:Apologies, teach me for trying to be clever.

I could have introduced a time delay, but probably better to do it this way to avoid conflicts especially if other scripts are using null processes on start up that ignore setup ordering etc.
no worries :wink: just trying to do my part and make this script even better. :wink: don't really like the idea of my EQ and trade docks being nothing more then large parking lots.

but i do like your clever idea. hopefully you'll be able to reintroduce it in the future. :D
None of us is as smart as all of us. ~Ken Blanchard

TC player bug fixes
Reunion player bug fixes

pelador
Posts: 1230
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31
x3tc

Post by pelador » Mon, 27. Apr 09, 15:38

V1.6 Upgrade Available.

Optional "Black Market" settings introduced. Details in first main post. Thanks to user draffutt for the concept.

Hieronymos
Posts: 829
Joined: Fri, 30. Dec 05, 23:14
x3

Post by Hieronymos » Tue, 28. Apr 09, 05:46

Another excellent script Pelador. This one greatly eases the micromanagement hassles of new ship equipage..and greatly eases an off-the-grid pirate/Yaki playstyle as well. A much more elegant and intuitive solution than the 3R scripts that created customizable ED's..

Perhaps you could tie this script into your Blueprint Drone script; whereby newly scanned equipment can be RE'd for sale in designated trading stations or pirate bases..
Image

pelador
Posts: 1230
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31
x3tc

Post by pelador » Wed, 29. Apr 09, 00:27

Hieronymos wrote:Another excellent script Pelador. This one greatly eases the micromanagement hassles of new ship equipage..and greatly eases an off-the-grid pirate/Yaki playstyle as well. A much more elegant and intuitive solution than the 3R scripts that created customizable ED's..

Perhaps you could tie this script into your Blueprint Drone script; whereby newly scanned equipment can be RE'd for sale in designated trading stations or pirate bases..
Thanks H.

I think I get the "gist" of the RE process. Though unsure about the economic impact as i'd expect you want to include various tech, including custom. I'd need to give it some thought and as previously mentioned to best apply other developments custom tech, I'd prefer to do this in collaboration to not circumvent other developments design considerations. But for "vanilla" it may have potential, as I've obviously made equipment and upgrades more accessible in this development as is.

But I have a natural resistance to making a fully automated "supermarket" as it removes other aspects of the game potentially, which may not provide overall value even if it makes life easier. As one example Trade rank for instance could be impacted if you remove the need for it. As a result I wouldnt want to provide a "pseudo-complex" and would like to avoid adding specific wares to docks to avoid complications with their ware useage (e.g. PHQ, Hub, FDN), so emulating factories with resources is something I'd like to keep in the realms of the "build" area of the vanilla game. But maybe limited options might be useful, like boarding pods or slave conversion centres, just some immediate thoughts, or limiting the RE process to Player EQ docks and Trading stations only which would provide a more stable platform to work from given their limited "wharehouse" abilities and give them more purpose, even if the resulting production volumes would be small.

If you want to expand on the concept so I can understand your thoughts better then please do so, I'd prefer not to assume anyhow.

Hieronymos
Posts: 829
Joined: Fri, 30. Dec 05, 23:14
x3

Post by Hieronymos » Wed, 29. Apr 09, 01:38

There were a pair of scripts produced by Voxol for 3R, called "Player Friendly SY & ED". For a pile of $$$ player could bankroll 2 groups of unemployed dock/SY workers, who would set up a SY or ED where player specified.

For the PFSY: SY would stock any ships for which blueprints were provide; or player could feed in a ship for RE'ing.

For the PFED: ED would stock any wares or upgrades fed into it. Upgrades & tunings, once uploaded, would replenish just as in a normal ED. Wares like weapons would have to be manually offloaded for resale..

Coupla' thoughts occur here:
1) The Pirate Fence could perhaps sell 'upgrades', in addition to other goodies that could then be added to player-owned Trd.stations & ED's.
2) The Blueprint Drone could be alternatively programmed to seek out & copy upgrades (in addition to ship blueprint). Would increase use of B.D., and present more choice to player.
Image

pelador
Posts: 1230
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31
x3tc

Post by pelador » Sat, 2. May 09, 00:28

Sorry for not answering sooner, thinking it through.

Troubleshooter11
Posts: 718
Joined: Sat, 8. Nov 08, 03:51
x4

Post by Troubleshooter11 » Sat, 2. May 09, 00:57

This script is amazing. The different 'sets / packages' feature is just wonderful.

Excellent work. :)

pelador
Posts: 1230
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31
x3tc

Post by pelador » Wed, 6. May 09, 20:34

V1.7 Upgrade available.

Now includes optional priority of taken monies from stations first than the player account. Default no.

Now includes optional use of Community Plugin Manager by Cycrow.

(Suggestions from draffutt)

Details in main first post.

draffutt
Posts: 4286
Joined: Wed, 21. Feb 07, 18:46
x4

Post by draffutt » Thu, 7. May 09, 00:06

Thanks for the update. :thumb_up:
None of us is as smart as all of us. ~Ken Blanchard

TC player bug fixes
Reunion player bug fixes

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Terran Conflict / Albion Prelude - Scripts and Modding”