[SCR] Docking Lockup Fix + Upgrade (v6 - 13.06.09)

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderators: Scripting / Modding Moderators, Moderators for English X Forum

User avatar
Gazz
Posts: 12430
Joined: Fri, 13. Jan 06, 17:39
x3tc

Post by Gazz » Sun, 12. Apr 09, 19:52

Locksley wrote:Dang! No solution for Aldrin then :P
You could work around the problem.

Code: Select all

Arguments
1: Position , Var/Sector Position , 'Position' 

Source Text
001   $Object =  get player tracking aim
002   $X = $Position[0]
003   $Y = $Position[1]
004   $Z = $Position[2]
005   $Object -> force position: x=$X y=$Y z=$Z
If stations/gates/whatever do not work that close to the Fat Rock, why not move them to where then can work?

You could arrange everything into a "regular" sector 500km away from the rock. =P
My complete script download page. . . . . . I AM THE LAW!
There is no sense crying over every mistake. You just keep on trying till you run out of cake.

User avatar
Locksley
Posts: 366
Joined: Fri, 18. Mar 05, 17:26
x3tc

Post by Locksley » Sun, 12. Apr 09, 20:04

Thankyou Gazz, you are a most helpfull person - if ever you close go Gothenburg Sweden I'll buy you an IPA :D

Lately I've been thinking about what can be done to optimize the standard scripts in TC. I'm wondering if there are alot of overhead that could be removed or run when in station only or entering a new sector... Now I'll go and play some more, I got to get a Xenon invasion mission so I will know how much my system will slow down :p

User avatar
Gazz
Posts: 12430
Joined: Fri, 13. Jan 06, 17:39
x3tc

Post by Gazz » Wed, 6. May 09, 23:16

Version 5 released.

SIGNAL_DOCKED issue resolved for OOS ships.
Still remains for IS ships.
My complete script download page. . . . . . I AM THE LAW!
There is no sense crying over every mistake. You just keep on trying till you run out of cake.

tc3
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun, 30. Jul 06, 13:16
x3tc

Post by tc3 » Sun, 7. Jun 09, 12:59

thanks for this dude, gonna give it a shot, looks very handy. :)

Motika
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue, 9. Jan 07, 04:53

Post by Motika » Mon, 8. Jun 09, 03:55

will this work ok with CODEA Weapon system?

7ate9tin11s
Posts: 812
Joined: Sat, 12. Nov 05, 00:18
x4

Post by 7ate9tin11s » Mon, 8. Jun 09, 10:46

Very nice, was just about to toss something like this together myself. I prefer carrier fleets and the stuck 1km away and will not fly in problem was getting on my nerves. Plus this has the bonus of letting everyone dock quicker after combat :D

User avatar
Gazz
Posts: 12430
Joined: Fri, 13. Jan 06, 17:39
x3tc

Post by Gazz » Sat, 13. Jun 09, 13:22

Version 6 released.

Corrected a typo. (rather an oddity of the script editor)

Since noone noticed so far, it didn't have any noticable effect anyway. =)
My complete script download page. . . . . . I AM THE LAW!
There is no sense crying over every mistake. You just keep on trying till you run out of cake.

Scoob
Posts: 7676
Joined: Thu, 27. Feb 03, 23:28
x4

Post by Scoob » Sun, 2. Aug 09, 02:37

Hi Gazz,

I'm using this script along with the Transcend II mod and while it generally works great in certain situations it gets confused. I'll try to explain...

The Trancend mod gives some ships both internal and external docking bays - the external intended for TS and larger ships. However with the docking fix running these externally docking ships elect to dock internally.

If the ship in question only has external docks then it works fine.

I know you wrote your script for vanilla TC but is this something fixable so it works with Transcend II and other mods which allow larger ships to dock externally?

Cheers,

Scoob.

User avatar
Gazz
Posts: 12430
Joined: Fri, 13. Jan 06, 17:39
x3tc

Post by Gazz » Sun, 2. Aug 09, 03:27

Try removing the docking computer from your big ships.

And what is the problem anyway?
You said that the ships dock. Internally, externally - docked is docked.
You're not describing a problem.
My complete script download page. . . . . . I AM THE LAW!
There is no sense crying over every mistake. You just keep on trying till you run out of cake.

User avatar
ThomasAH
Posts: 144
Joined: Wed, 3. Sep 08, 10:46
x4

Post by ThomasAH » Sun, 2. Aug 09, 09:41

Gazz wrote:Try removing the docking computer from your big ships.

And what is the problem anyway?
You said that the ships dock. Internally, externally - docked is docked.
You're not describing a problem.
Hmm, maybe this explains the problems with the Hangarmod I experienced:
The TS docked internally at the TL where it should have docked externally. When jumping into the TS I got effects as known for beamdock and LV's Dock TS, i.e. being lost somewhere between the stars.
(maybe it was caused by something completely different, but I'm no longer using Hangarmod and I'm happy enough with beamdock to not miss it :))

Scoob
Posts: 7676
Joined: Thu, 27. Feb 03, 23:28
x4

Post by Scoob » Sun, 2. Aug 09, 11:15

Hi,

Yes, removing the docking computer would fix the issue of course. I just found it odd that the ship will insist on docking internally but with vanilla it will dock externally correctly. I guess there must be some extra check or something in vanilla so the docking ship choses an appropriate docking point.

Like you say docked is docked, however undocking = boom for these large internal dockers...sorta like trying to pass a whole watermelon I'd imagine...ouch.

Cheers,

Scoob.

bennyg
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed, 13. Sep 06, 12:55

Post by bennyg » Tue, 18. Aug 09, 07:31

Nice one mate, this bug has (well... had !! :) ) led to multiple ship losses, mostly in X3R:XTM (where it was horrible) but have also seen it happen in TC.

Hope egosoft paid you to do their work for them. Great game + rubbish QC = :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:

User avatar
Gazz
Posts: 12430
Joined: Fri, 13. Jan 06, 17:39
x3tc

Post by Gazz » Tue, 18. Aug 09, 09:32

Scoob wrote:Like you say docked is docked, however undocking = boom for these large internal dockers...sorta like trying to pass a whole watermelon I'd imagine...ouch.
Well, noone mentioned any ships getting destroyed. Only that there would be some vague "problem".

Alas, scripts can not tell if an object has multiple types of hangars.
Only if ship A is physically able to dock at object B and if object B has a matching docking slot free. This is just an overall total of all available docking bays.
Since the script can only use put into environment to fake-dock the ship it can not tell what kind of docking slot the ship is actually put in.

So this problem is unavoidable with objects that can dock more than one ship class. There is no way for a script to detect this situation.

For 99% of vanilla X3 this script should be perfectly safe. Worst case a TS tries to undock from the internal hangar of an argon trading station or somesuch...


Hmmm. However...
What if every ship in the game were invulnerable when undocking until it had traveled 200m + it's own ship length.
It would still not be perfect in some situations but maybe...
My complete script download page. . . . . . I AM THE LAW!
There is no sense crying over every mistake. You just keep on trying till you run out of cake.

Anticept
Posts: 143
Joined: Sat, 18. Mar 06, 05:47
x4

Post by Anticept » Wed, 19. Aug 09, 20:12

You were saying it would be silly to instantly dock across 24km of open space, I suppose you could look at it this way gazz: In eve you can dock with some stations from a HUGE unrealistic distance due to massive docking radii. However, there's a bit of RP they put in, when you dock, a message comes up saying "Your ship will be TOWED into station"

Applying this to your script could make large docking more feasible from a roleplay point of view.

By the way, is the flight paths hard coded for undocking? It would really help if the ships would dock facing OUTWARDS rather than inwards, it would allow them to launch away from the station rather into each other.
Signature.

User avatar
ThomasAH
Posts: 144
Joined: Wed, 3. Sep 08, 10:46
x4

Post by ThomasAH » Fri, 21. Aug 09, 09:01

Gazz wrote:
Scoob wrote:Like you say docked is docked, however undocking = boom for these large internal dockers...sorta like trying to pass a whole watermelon I'd imagine...ouch.
Well, noone mentioned any ships getting destroyed. Only that there would be some vague "problem".
I do not have problems with ships being destroyed, only with being sent into the void when trying to fly the docked the TS myself.
It looks like I am outside and the ship still is landed (internally). After that I can only restart TC.

But I tried replacing this script with the original script files from the DVD and for me it behaved identically, so I think it is a different script that causes this (for me).

But your idea with turning of collisions while undocking might be a good thing anyway.

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Terran Conflict / Albion Prelude - Scripts and Modding”