[MOD][05.08.2009] Hangarmod/External-Docking [v. 1.8 BETA]

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

Post Reply
Stealth17
Posts: 325
Joined: Thu, 1. Nov 07, 20:11
x3tc

Post by Stealth17 » Wed, 17. Dec 08, 12:01

Thanks people.
I'll try buying a new Boreas and see if it works. Thing is, I have 3 Boreas M2s, 1 Akuma, 1 Shuryu, several M7s and 4 M7Ms. It's going to take A LOT of money to replace all that :lol:

Oh well, I have 600 mil in my account so I guess it'll work out.
Like a thousand other commanders on a thousand other battlefields, I wait for the dawn...

athelred
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri, 2. Jan 04, 00:07
x3

Post by athelred » Wed, 17. Dec 08, 17:59

I can confirm that cloning the ships (or presumably buying another ship) will fix the docking. As far as I can tell just having the ships go from sector to sector is not sufficient. The docking slots show up, but the ships will not actually dock. Cloning the ships and then destroying the originals fixes this issue without losing anything.

Other than that issue (and the whole fly through the ship while undocking and docking thing, but that is cosmetic) it looks great.

BTW do you include all of Gazz's excellent turrent mod, or only the parts that intersect what you have changed? Correct me if I am wrong, but if you do the second, then we could install (and update frequently) Gazz's mod as a base line and this mod as a higher false patch number. Your changes would overwrite his on the ships you are interested in, but the ones you don't change would use his mod, correct? This would make it so that you did not have to update as frequently I think, since he tends to update his stuff often.

athelred

Coffee-Man
Posts: 791
Joined: Sat, 29. Dec 07, 04:05
x3tc

Post by Coffee-Man » Wed, 17. Dec 08, 18:51

There are 73 of 75 ships from Gazz Turretfix included in this mod by now, which means that also the ships are included, which I didn't mod (the M6 and M3 for example). I don't know which scenefiles would be read primary, the false patch or the mod, installing both (Gazz Turretfix and the hangarmod) might lead to the problem that only one of the mods is recognized by the game (I think the false patch has a higher priority, but I don't know that exactly). You can try to run both of them, I'm curious if that works, but I will add the missing 2 shipsscenes from Gazz this weekend anyways.

fud
Posts: 6989
Joined: Wed, 25. Jan 06, 15:26
x3

Post by fud » Wed, 17. Dec 08, 20:52

Priority:

1. Mods folder
2. Sub folders
3. Highest Cat.

That said, I think any files in the subfolders, will over-ride the mods folder...


I had a modified universe file in mods and in "\maps", enabled the mod, but it read the one in "\maps". Once I removed that one, it read the one in mods.

User avatar
Krewzur
Posts: 725
Joined: Mon, 16. Jun 08, 20:14
x4

Post by Krewzur » Thu, 18. Dec 08, 22:08

So are you going to add the ability for M6's to dock M5's like in x2???
Corsair 400c // Intel i7 8700k // H100i v2 // ASUS Maximus X Code // ASUS 1080ti Strix OC // 2x8GB Corsair Vengeance 3200MHz // Samsung 960 Evo 250GB // 960GB SanDisk Ultra II // Corsair RM850i

fud
Posts: 6989
Joined: Wed, 25. Jan 06, 15:26
x3

Post by fud » Thu, 18. Dec 08, 23:18

Don't know about Coffee, but *I* never intended on it.

M6s can dock at any station, the reason they could carry one M5 in X2 was because of thte lack of that ability.

User avatar
Krewzur
Posts: 725
Joined: Mon, 16. Jun 08, 20:14
x4

Post by Krewzur » Thu, 18. Dec 08, 23:23

fud wrote:Don't know about Coffee, but *I* never intended on it.

M6s can dock at any station, the reason they could carry one M5 in X2 was because of thte lack of that ability.
Yeah but their really slow, and you could use the M5 to dock at stations faster, scout, retrieve wares, deploy satellites, etc.

This would be especially useful if the only ships you own are an M6 and an M5
Corsair 400c // Intel i7 8700k // H100i v2 // ASUS Maximus X Code // ASUS 1080ti Strix OC // 2x8GB Corsair Vengeance 3200MHz // Samsung 960 Evo 250GB // 960GB SanDisk Ultra II // Corsair RM850i

Magnabyte
Posts: 127
Joined: Thu, 14. Feb 08, 01:24
x4

Post by Magnabyte » Fri, 19. Dec 08, 00:20

I concure, M5's have little use other than as shuttle's to and from larger ships, and exploration. Plus, I miss having M5's docked at M6's since I only equip corvettes and larger with jumpdrives (Its my Rp mindset, why would a one man fighter beable ot travel long distrance without a carrier to support it, that makes TM's, M7's and M1's rather obsolite in my mind)

Coffee-Man
Posts: 791
Joined: Sat, 29. Dec 07, 04:05
x3tc

Post by Coffee-Man » Fri, 19. Dec 08, 00:35

Hm...as far as I see there is no special-M5 dock. Possible would be to add a normal M3/M4/M5 Dock at M6/M6Ms, or I will see if can change the given dockingslots so that only one specific shipclass can use them. But that might take a while.
Ok, best solution is probably to add a normal fighter dock until I figuered out how to change the dockingslots, than replace them lateron.

I think there'll be another TS dock at the TL-class.

User avatar
Krewzur
Posts: 725
Joined: Mon, 16. Jun 08, 20:14
x4

Post by Krewzur » Fri, 19. Dec 08, 00:36

Thanks Coffee-Man :D
Corsair 400c // Intel i7 8700k // H100i v2 // ASUS Maximus X Code // ASUS 1080ti Strix OC // 2x8GB Corsair Vengeance 3200MHz // Samsung 960 Evo 250GB // 960GB SanDisk Ultra II // Corsair RM850i

Magnabyte
Posts: 127
Joined: Thu, 14. Feb 08, 01:24
x4

Post by Magnabyte » Fri, 19. Dec 08, 00:46

*wrings hands golum like "when will the next version of the percious be released???"

User avatar
Krewzur
Posts: 725
Joined: Mon, 16. Jun 08, 20:14
x4

Post by Krewzur » Fri, 19. Dec 08, 00:48

Magnabyte wrote:Its my Rp mindset, why would a one man fighter beable ot travel long distrance without a carrier to support it, that makes TM's, M7's and M1's rather obsolite in my mind
Reasons you might have a jumdrive on a fighter:

-If you want to move the fighters around but don't have a carrier

-If your carrier is destroyed, the fighter can still jump.

-If you only want to attack someone/something in a distant sector with a small strike force, leaving the carrier free for emergencies

-Multiple attacks against you in different sectors, carrier can't handle all of them.

Reasons carriers wouldn't be obsolete:

-Carriers are the best way to manage and equip fighters.

-Most M7's don't really count as carriers (except the Cerberus, Panther and Griffin) so M7's wouldn't be obsolete.

-You may be operating with different wings of fighters in different sectors with the carrier as a central location, e.g. patrolling multiple sectors.

-TM's are useful for getting new fighters to the larger carriers without interrupting what the carrier is doing.

-Carrier would be better for command and control

-Still use the carrier for jumping your fighters to save energy cells, just have the option for a fighter to detach from the carrier group by itself.


If you prefer to not use jumpdrives on your fighters than fair enough. I'm just pointing out the advantages of having them installed. :D

I prefer not to use M1's though, a TL or an M7 Carrier like the Panther is large enough for me, and can do the job.
Corsair 400c // Intel i7 8700k // H100i v2 // ASUS Maximus X Code // ASUS 1080ti Strix OC // 2x8GB Corsair Vengeance 3200MHz // Samsung 960 Evo 250GB // 960GB SanDisk Ultra II // Corsair RM850i

Magnabyte
Posts: 127
Joined: Thu, 14. Feb 08, 01:24
x4

Post by Magnabyte » Fri, 19. Dec 08, 01:04

oh, I fully grasp the usefulness, but the little Rper voice in the back of my head keep saying "when have you ver seen examples of fighters being able ot jump like that in scifi on the TV and such....so i just stick to using carriers....

as for multiple attacks, I have a supition that somewhere I've hit like an easy button on X3: TC, cos I hardly see trouble unless in a mission....which is sort of dull

User avatar
Krewzur
Posts: 725
Joined: Mon, 16. Jun 08, 20:14
x4

Post by Krewzur » Fri, 19. Dec 08, 01:14

Magnabyte wrote:when have you ver seen examples of fighters being able ot jump like that in scifi on the TV and such
err.............. star wars, lots and lots in star wars. :lol: In fact in the last one when the rebels were attacking the second death star they didn't even bother using the carriers to jump the fighters, all the ships jumped individually.
Magnabyte wrote:as for multiple attacks, I have a supition that somewhere I've hit like an easy button on X3: TC, cos I hardly see trouble unless in a mission....which is sort of dull.
Have you tried the Conflicts Mod, it's just a tad more action packed...................... a lot a tad more action packed :lol:

Linky:
http://forum.egosoft.com/viewtopic.php?t=225928
Corsair 400c // Intel i7 8700k // H100i v2 // ASUS Maximus X Code // ASUS 1080ti Strix OC // 2x8GB Corsair Vengeance 3200MHz // Samsung 960 Evo 250GB // 960GB SanDisk Ultra II // Corsair RM850i

Magnabyte
Posts: 127
Joined: Thu, 14. Feb 08, 01:24
x4

Post by Magnabyte » Fri, 19. Dec 08, 01:21

got conflicts, enemies just seem to ignore me, and pirates die off ot quickly. I heard you can ally with races, but not figured out how.

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Terran Conflict / Albion Prelude - Scripts and Modding”