[MOD][05.08.2009] Hangarmod/External-Docking [v. 1.8 BETA]

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

Post Reply
Coffee-Man
Posts: 791
Joined: Sat, 29. Dec 07, 04:05
x3tc

Post by Coffee-Man » Mon, 15. Dec 08, 19:48

Nice to have so much feedback in such a short time, the germans are much slower than you guys :D.

The Mod doesn't contain any scripts by now, I would like to add an AI-Plugin so GoD may use the Mod aswell, but as I don't know anything about scripting I'll have to learn that first...so that's not more than a wish by now *g*.

Also I will improve this mod. Attaching the dockingslots as close to the carrier as possible is one of the improvements I want to make, but that's not as easily done as it sounds. The ships vary in size and height, the Mistral Superfreighter for example is nearly twice the size of an Argon Merkur, attaching the dockingslot for both ships to look natural is the difficult part... What would help me most are screenshots of ships which don't look good when they are docked.

I don't know exactly which method fud used, but I just opened the scenefiles in Gmax than added the dockingbodies (with doubleshadows programms). Most of them are below the carrier, but I also added some fighterdocks on the upper surface or beneath structures which might look like a dockingspot on some ships.
Due to my study I don't have much time left for this mod, so improving it might take a while (examens are in sight now, so I have to learn...), but I will try to fix any bugs as fast as possible.

athelred
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri, 2. Jan 04, 00:07
x3

Rapid Share problems

Post by athelred » Tue, 16. Dec 08, 04:02

Hey just curious, is it possible to have this hosted somewhere else? I seem to be having a great deal of trouble getting it from the current site. The captcha on the download page is always blank (Actually I don't think that is true. It has a little red dot in the lower right hand corner.).

If not I guess I can try again later, but it has been this way for the last 6 hours or so.

athelred

Coffee-Man
Posts: 791
Joined: Sat, 29. Dec 07, 04:05
x3tc

Post by Coffee-Man » Tue, 16. Dec 08, 09:18

Just send me a link with an upload-host somewhere in the us or uk(which would accept an upload from germany :D).
Can't do it till evening, though, I'll be at university from 10 till 19 o' clock.

athelred
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri, 2. Jan 04, 00:07
x3

Post by athelred » Tue, 16. Dec 08, 18:29

FileFront maybe? It isn't much better than rapid share, but it is the next day and the captcha is still broken on rapid share.

http://uploadhosted.filefront.com/

I have no idea if they will accept files from Germany, but I see no reason why not.

athelred

Coffee-Man
Posts: 791
Joined: Sat, 29. Dec 07, 04:05
x3tc

Post by Coffee-Man » Tue, 16. Dec 08, 20:14

Thanks for the link, upload completed :) (Download-Link on page one now refers to filefront instead of rapidshare).

Stealth17
Posts: 325
Joined: Thu, 1. Nov 07, 20:11
x3tc

Post by Stealth17 » Tue, 16. Dec 08, 22:14

Ok, I got the -- Savegames are corrupt -- error. How do I get the mod to work? I'd like to use it rather than uninstall it.
Like a thousand other commanders on a thousand other battlefields, I wait for the dawn...

User avatar
Gazz
Posts: 12430
Joined: Fri, 13. Jan 06, 17:39
x3tc

Post by Gazz » Tue, 16. Dec 08, 22:20

Stealth17 wrote:Ok, I got the -- Savegames are corrupt -- error. How do I get the mod to work? I'd like to use it rather than uninstall it.
That can be caused by a typo (typically a semicolon...) in the mod files.
My complete script download page. . . . . . I AM THE LAW!
There is no sense crying over every mistake. You just keep on trying till you run out of cake.

fud
Posts: 6989
Joined: Wed, 25. Jan 06, 15:26
x3

Post by fud » Tue, 16. Dec 08, 22:52

Are you in one of the edited ships? Are any of the edited ships in sector with you?

Stealth17
Posts: 325
Joined: Thu, 1. Nov 07, 20:11
x3tc

Post by Stealth17 » Tue, 16. Dec 08, 23:00

Negative. Just me in Omicron Lyrae in my Disco in the shipyard. The only other ship there is a TS. All of my Capships are occupied or parked elsewhere.

Gazz: In my Modfolder the mod is called Hangermod14.cat. That could be the problem. I'll try renaming the mod to Hangermod.cat and see if that works.
Like a thousand other commanders on a thousand other battlefields, I wait for the dawn...

Coffee-Man
Posts: 791
Joined: Sat, 29. Dec 07, 04:05
x3tc

Post by Coffee-Man » Tue, 16. Dec 08, 23:23

The mod will also change the AI-Ships, and there are propably TLs, M1s and M2s somewhere with you in omicron lyrae, which are causing these problems. Please follow the installation guide, fly to an empty unknown sector, save, install the mod, load that savegame!

@Gazz: no typos in my scenefiles (haven't typed them by hand, always klicked onetime at the old scenefile, switched directory, saved...so the name is the same as in the original game/your turret script), the mod is working fine for most users.

Also the name of the mod shouldn't be the problem, as I run the game with the "hangarmod14.cat" without any issues. But renaming it wouldn't affect it in any ways, so no risk in doing so *G*.

Stealth17
Posts: 325
Joined: Thu, 1. Nov 07, 20:11
x3tc

Post by Stealth17 » Wed, 17. Dec 08, 00:44

Got it working. I went to an unknown sector and saved. Loaded after installing and it works perfectly. Good script. Keep up to good work :thumb_up:
Like a thousand other commanders on a thousand other battlefields, I wait for the dawn...

Coffee-Man
Posts: 791
Joined: Sat, 29. Dec 07, 04:05
x3tc

Post by Coffee-Man » Wed, 17. Dec 08, 00:53

Glad to hear that it's working now =).

Stealth17
Posts: 325
Joined: Thu, 1. Nov 07, 20:11
x3tc

Post by Stealth17 » Wed, 17. Dec 08, 01:36

Ok, the script it working in the sense that I can launch and play my game without fault. I can even get my M5 Disco to accept the order to dock at my M2 Boreas. Thing is, it never does dock. I just sit there in my Disco for an eternity waiting to dock. I may have read past something important, but I don't think so.
I've already tried to move the targetship (Boreas) to a different place to get the docking-procedure to start, but to no avail.
Any suggestions as to what I'm doing wrong?

Regards,
Stealth
Like a thousand other commanders on a thousand other battlefields, I wait for the dawn...

Coffee-Man
Posts: 791
Joined: Sat, 29. Dec 07, 04:05
x3tc

Post by Coffee-Man » Wed, 17. Dec 08, 01:44

Ok, I fear you have the most common bug with preexisting games. The shipscenes are loaded correctly but somehow the game doesn't recognise the new added dockingslots. You may try to send the ship OOS and than back IS and retry the command, though it only helps in some cases. If this doesn't work I can only give the advice to replace the ships by a new one, either scripting it/using cycrows cheat-script to create it, or buy it at a shipyard. The mod will work with new spawned ships in game.

I'll try to find a solution for this in the near future, but as I first have to learn and understand the scriptingengine it might take a while. Sorry for the complications.
Last edited by Coffee-Man on Wed, 17. Dec 08, 01:47, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Gazz
Posts: 12430
Joined: Fri, 13. Jan 06, 17:39
x3tc

Post by Gazz » Wed, 17. Dec 08, 01:46

Buy a new Boreas (no need to equip it) and try again.

For some changes the ship needs to be recreated.
My complete script download page. . . . . . I AM THE LAW!
There is no sense crying over every mistake. You just keep on trying till you run out of cake.

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Terran Conflict / Albion Prelude - Scripts and Modding”