[MOD] Turret Fix - 75 ships

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

Locked
954flyer
Posts: 326
Joined: Wed, 9. Nov 05, 21:24
x3

Post by 954flyer » Sun, 7. Dec 08, 19:53

Or, you could just extract the cat/dat into the main folder, letting it create the subdirectories needed. Personally I prefer this instead of a dozen cat/dat's as false patches or mods. But that's me.
Ok now I'm confused. If I understood Gazz correctly, you use the 'select mod' feature at your own risk, but it was safer to add it as a false patch.

So, a few questions to hopefully clear me up!

1) What's the safest and most compatible way to use this fix?

2) If it's added as a false patch, will the 1.3 patch overwrite it? Do I have to do anything special after 1.3 is downloaded? (I'm one of those happy Steam users)

3) Do I have the following correct?: All OOS ships that this fix affects will be fixed the next time I encounter them? Any affected In Sector ships will need to leave sector and come back to be fixed?


Edit: I forgot to [/sarcasm] from question 2

User avatar
Cadvan
Posts: 2784
Joined: Sun, 14. Mar 04, 06:05
x4

Post by Cadvan » Sun, 7. Dec 08, 20:06

1. the best way to use this is to use it via "select mod"
only if you are using mods wich adds ships etc. you cann get troubles.
if you get toubles you should use it as a fake-patch.

2. if you are allready using 1.2.1 then 1.3 will not overwrite it.
1.2.1 uses cat/dat up to number 05. 1.3 overwrites 04 and 05 as far as i noticed and uses even 05 as highest number too. so no worry

3. all oos ships will be fixed the moment you load the game. is-ships will be fixed the moment they went oos or you leave the sector.

954flyer
Posts: 326
Joined: Wed, 9. Nov 05, 21:24
x3

Post by 954flyer » Sun, 7. Dec 08, 20:28

Thanks Huefte.

One follow-on since I can't test it right now: Do I have to start a new game or can I use it with my existing saved games as a selected mod?

User avatar
Cadvan
Posts: 2784
Joined: Sun, 14. Mar 04, 06:05
x4

Post by Cadvan » Sun, 7. Dec 08, 20:37

as gazz said: no need for new game, runs in existing games.

new games are (as far as i know) only needet if you want to build in new sektors / galxymaps.

User avatar
Gazz
Posts: 12430
Joined: Fri, 13. Jan 06, 17:39
x3tc

Post by Gazz » Sun, 7. Dec 08, 21:00

TSM wrote:Now I have capped the Galleon :wink:

no longer wating added these changes :)
Whatcha think of the new cockpit camera?

The default one was at the very tip of the ship, only facing that one triangular antenna.
My complete script download page. . . . . . I AM THE LAW!
There is no sense crying over every mistake. You just keep on trying till you run out of cake.

User avatar
TSM
Not a Moderator
Posts: 1766
Joined: Thu, 1. Jul 04, 12:31
x4

Post by TSM » Sun, 7. Dec 08, 21:15

Gazz wrote:
TSM wrote:Now I have capped the Galleon :wink:

no longer wating added these changes :)
Whatcha think of the new cockpit camera?

The default one was at the very tip of the ship, only facing that one triangular antenna.
its nice, the cerebus has same problem really.
FAQ's Egosoft Interactive FAQ
Egosoft Wiki

tontonfred
Posts: 126
Joined: Tue, 2. Jan 07, 00:43
x3

Post by tontonfred » Mon, 8. Dec 08, 19:12

Hey Gazz,

great work as usual !

I was thinking that to help keep track of your progress, you could also specify in your opening post which ships you checked, but found no bugs with. I think I remember reading you tested the Titan and Panther but found that their turrets were ok ; so it could be listed like this :

Fixed

Argon Colossus
Boron Angel
Boron Thresher / Calamari
OTAS Boreas
OTAS Zephyrus
Pirate Brigantine
Pirate Carrack
Pirate Galleon
Split Python
Split Tiger
Teladi Shrike / Neundreivierteltöter
Terran Claymore
Terran Cutlass / Machete
Terran Katana
Terran Osaka
Terran Springblossom
Terran Vidar
Terran Yokohama
Xenon J
Xenon K
Xenon Q
Yaki Akuma
Yaki Shuri

No Fix Needed

Argon Titan
Split Panther
etc.

So you could see which ships you have fixed, which ones don't need fixing, and which ones you haven't checked yet.

Thanks again for your hard work !

User avatar
Gazz
Posts: 12430
Joined: Fri, 13. Jan 06, 17:39
x3tc

Post by Gazz » Mon, 8. Dec 08, 19:33

tontonfred wrote:I was thinking that to help keep track of your progress, you could also specify in your opening post which ships you checked, but found no bugs with. I think I remember reading you tested the Titan and Panther but found that their turrets were ok ; so it could be listed like this :
Not sure about the Titan but I added a section for that. Even old ships (Python) had issues so nothing can be assumed.

Nearly all fighters with just a back and/or front turrets should work fine.
Excepting active sabotage like with the Claymore...
My complete script download page. . . . . . I AM THE LAW!
There is no sense crying over every mistake. You just keep on trying till you run out of cake.

fud
Posts: 6989
Joined: Wed, 25. Jan 06, 15:26
x3

Post by fud » Mon, 8. Dec 08, 20:18

Gazz, do you have a list of the ships you've fixed?

Mainly, M1/M2/M7/TL?


Reason I ask, if you changed the scenes in any of those, my TS/TP dock mod won't work. :)

It'd be a simple copy/paste though.

User avatar
TSM
Not a Moderator
Posts: 1766
Joined: Thu, 1. Jul 04, 12:31
x4

Post by TSM » Mon, 8. Dec 08, 20:22

fud wrote:Gazz, do you have a list of the ships you've fixed?

Mainly, M1/M2/M7/TL?


Reason I ask, if you changed the scenes in any of those, my TS/TP dock mod won't work. :)

It'd be a simple copy/paste though.
Fud I love you in a none gay way :wink: (also seen your car in another thread :o very nice)

I looked into doing the above but you scene files are all pretty and Gazz's are a MESS! :roll: , don't tell him I said so though!
FAQ's Egosoft Interactive FAQ
Egosoft Wiki

fud
Posts: 6989
Joined: Wed, 25. Jan 06, 15:26
x3

Post by fud » Mon, 8. Dec 08, 20:26

Well, most likely, why mine are "pretty" is because that's the way dbox exports them from max.

It makes them A LOT easier to read.

That said, I don't know if it'd be easier to change the turret info in mine to match his, or to c/p the docking clamps from mine to his? :?:

User avatar
TSM
Not a Moderator
Posts: 1766
Joined: Thu, 1. Jul 04, 12:31
x4

Post by TSM » Mon, 8. Dec 08, 20:30

i would say c&p your bits into his as I would imagine less work for you?
FAQ's Egosoft Interactive FAQ
Egosoft Wiki

User avatar
Cadvan
Posts: 2784
Joined: Sun, 14. Mar 04, 06:05
x4

Post by Cadvan » Mon, 8. Dec 08, 20:53

fud wrote:Gazz, do you have a list of the ships you've fixed?

Mainly, M1/M2/M7/TL?


Reason I ask, if you changed the scenes in any of those, my TS/TP dock mod won't work. :)

It'd be a simple copy/paste though.
Is this a joke?
Have you ever read his first post?
Have you ever seen the list of fixed ships in it?

fud
Posts: 6989
Joined: Wed, 25. Jan 06, 15:26
x3

Post by fud » Mon, 8. Dec 08, 21:03

Heh.

Didn't really look.

Guess I'm an asshole. :roll:

xiriod
Posts: 1102
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31
x3tc

Post by xiriod » Tue, 9. Dec 08, 00:59

Great work as always! :) I procured an Hyperion through boarding early in the morning today. I wonder, is the cockpit view correct for that one? I have searched the model but I really can't find out if this is right or not. It seems out of place right on the hood like that though. And I am not sure about the turrets.

I loved this ship in X3:R. I wonder if it is just as good in TC :)

Locked

Return to “X³: Terran Conflict / Albion Prelude - Scripts and Modding”