[AL PLUGIN]Conflicts Official Release Thread - v0.85 released -> Collaboration works!

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderators: Scripting / Modding Moderators, Moderators for English X Forum

Post Reply
Mavor
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue, 31. Jul 07, 19:50
x3ap

Post by Mavor » Sun, 30. Nov 08, 03:44

I posted up the SPK. Please download it and play around, give me some feedback, and have fun. ^-^

Oh btw, be careful with the size multiplier... it increases the size of military fleets by that mulitiplier so.. if you put in a mulitplier of 4 or more you might crash your game (unless you are running a power rig).

Chroniss
Posts: 153
Joined: Mon, 10. Nov 03, 22:15
x3tc

Post by Chroniss » Sun, 30. Nov 08, 06:06

OK just some quick stuff here. My main issues so far are

1) Theres too much conflict. I know its called conflicts and thats the point but it gets to a point where its just ridiculous.

2) No reasoning behind the racial wars, I would love to see the original race relations kept in tact at the beginning, that is Argon vs Paranid, Split vs Boron, Teladi helping whoever suits them or stay neutral. As it is its very random and chaotic.

3) Ships appearing and disappearing out of nowhere. Sometimes I'm attacking a ship and it just disappears, or tons of ships pop in randomly. This isn't like jumping in or out, its like ships being plopped in front of me, or instantly gone.

4) Sectors can be taken instantly even if they don't have a ship in the sector. This happens very often with the pirate sectors with no stations, they change hands instantly with nothing happening. Also the message that says From -Race- to -Race- is backwards, should be switched.

I'm just listing these off the top of my head, I'm sure theres many more but thats the ones I remember most, I will take notes next time I run a test.

You mention increasing the military fleets, as it's set at 1 by default. Is there a way to decrease this? I see battles with 5 or more M2's with dozens of fighters and thats just one of multiple fleets, so already the battles are huge.

Also, how does the alliance stuff work with the player, is this implemented yet? A player does not need to own sectors to be rich and powerful, and if they are enemies and helping other races without owning sectors, their enemies should still be able to strike at their empires in other races territory. I notice they only cared once I actually had sector control, but thats not a good determination of my capabilities against them.

I think this should be tied to how many "Conflict" ships you have killed. The more of that races conflict assets destroyed by the player, the greater the threat and response towards that player. Maybe start with small task forces to attack the players ship, and eventually it should reach a point where they will invade whatever race the players factories reside in to get to them.
Last edited by Chroniss on Sun, 30. Nov 08, 06:27, edited 1 time in total.

BlackRain
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Posts: 6280
Joined: Mon, 15. Dec 03, 19:53
x4

Post by BlackRain » Sun, 30. Nov 08, 06:27

Well, if the alliances are dynamic, I see no problem with that but I suppose it makes no sense for the Boron and Argon to ever fight but I see no reason why the paranid and split might not fight over something.

Mavor
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue, 31. Jul 07, 19:50
x3ap

Post by Mavor » Sun, 30. Nov 08, 06:33

Ah, at the start the sectors that have nothing in them will be claimed right away, this is because I have defined holding a sector as having a station/factory/whatever in it.

Racial wars have reasoning, you just don't see it. Just roleplay it, mabye a important diplomat was assasinated or something like that. :)

The ships will ignore you if you are only one or two ships. They don't care about a force that can't really hurt them (aka you, if you only have a single ship).

They disappear because they are using their jumpdrives. The jump graphic is crashing the game so i had to pull the actual graphic out, but rest assured, they are not disappearing, just moving to a more important sector where stuff is going on. :)

The instant sector takeover only happens at the very beginning of your map, because again, sectors with no station in it will be taken.


**Edit: I suppose I could add a way to change the alliances to favor different races... Thanks for the feedback :)

Chroniss
Posts: 153
Joined: Mon, 10. Nov 03, 22:15
x3tc

Post by Chroniss » Sun, 30. Nov 08, 06:34

BlackRain wrote:Well, if the alliances are dynamic, I see no problem with that but I suppose it makes no sense for the Boron and Argon to ever fight but I see no reason why the paranid and split might not fight over something.
I think the race relations system should be expanded. Attacking should lower your relation with all neutral races. Too many attacks and war is declared. Helping a race would raise relations, possibly donating resources or a sector to set relations to peaceful, things like that. I don't know the specifics on how it works now but I don't think its complex enough. There shouldn't be any hard set alliances or enemies, but I think in the beginning there should be more of a reluctance to go to war instead of massive nonstop galaxy war.
*Edit: I suppose I could add a way to change the alliances to favor different races... Thanks for the feedback
That would be a nice change in the short run , I know I would set most races to stop fighting, and leave paranid vs argon, split vs boron, maybe a little more mix-up. I just don't plan on saving a game the way it is, its just way too random and hectic.

Like I said, don't get the wrong idea about what I'm saying here. I understand that it should be more chaotic, but it gets to a point where its just nonstop attack in random sectors all over the place, I can't possibly keep track of anything.

Edit: Argon attacked hatikvahs or whatever. They came in with 7 M2's + a long list of smaller ships and took the sector. The moment it was taken 4 Paranid M2's appeared in the center with the Military Outpost. I wanted to see if they were fighting so I warped over (Was OOS) ...Game froze at a black screen loading all that ;)

Thats my biggest issue right now, the fleets are just way to large for my computer to handle. That multiplier is still at default. Also, that sector had zero defense so all that military force was a bit unnecessary.

BlackRain
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Posts: 6280
Joined: Mon, 15. Dec 03, 19:53
x4

Post by BlackRain » Sun, 30. Nov 08, 07:11

How does the player take a sector?

Thrandisher
Posts: 357
Joined: Sun, 1. Jul 07, 03:33
x3tc

Post by Thrandisher » Sun, 30. Nov 08, 07:21

The problem i had was i have DMA installed also, so when i goto look at the menu, its titled DMA and i dont see one for this (yet dma labeled menu option opens this up). Since both are new i dont know if the problem is with this or dma.

While i havent done much due to stupid tv shows, i see alot going on. Mainly because i started a new game with this.

Chroniss
Posts: 153
Joined: Mon, 10. Nov 03, 22:15
x3tc

Post by Chroniss » Sun, 30. Nov 08, 07:31

asser69 wrote:The problem i had was i have DMA installed also, so when i goto look at the menu, its titled DMA and i dont see one for this (yet dma labeled menu option opens this up). Since both are new i dont know if the problem is with this or dma.
Yeah they both use custom command slot 1310.
How does the player take a sector?
Happened automatically for me, I took Contorted Dominion I think its called, destroyed the split Military Outpost and then left. I found out it was mine because the split counter attacked it, until then I didnt even know I owned it. It gives you a Military Outpost full of goods, maybe that should be a OWP for defense?

BlackRain
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Posts: 6280
Joined: Mon, 15. Dec 03, 19:53
x4

Post by BlackRain » Sun, 30. Nov 08, 07:56

I don't know if it is this mod but right now my game freezes after a little while of playing. This didnt happen before I put in this mod, actually it did happen before when I installed the race patrol mod but after deinstalling the race patrol mod everything was fine. Now similar issue is coming up.

Mavor
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue, 31. Jul 07, 19:50
x3ap

Post by Mavor » Sun, 30. Nov 08, 08:38

Alright yea looks like DMA used the same custom command slot o_O. That'll be changed next version.

Black screen is because of the load time, I will be decreasing the default forces for the next version since it seems to be too much for some comps to handle.

Blackrain, did the freeze happen as you loaded into a new sector or did it happen randomly in a sector? (I thought I fixed this issue before, it has to do with new ships jumping into the sector that the player is currently in).

Also, did you use cycrows cheat menu to teleport into the sector?

BlackRain
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Posts: 6280
Joined: Mon, 15. Dec 03, 19:53
x4

Post by BlackRain » Sun, 30. Nov 08, 09:36

Well, I don't know if there were any conflict ships in the sector or not. I do use the Free jump command to jump in and out of sectors. I don't know the mechanics of it.

Okay I was fighting in a sector with a huge force of yaki, some paranid and myself. It was fine for a few minutes then locked up.

I think there are just too many ships. I think you should lower the amount. You can make smaller attack forces and still have a considerable force. For instance, in my opinion this is how a force could be:

1 Carrier
2 Destroyers
3 M7's
6 M6's

and the carrier is full of fighters. I think that is a large enough force. Perhaps a few bombers as well.

Thrandisher
Posts: 357
Joined: Sun, 1. Jul 07, 03:33
x3tc

Post by Thrandisher » Sun, 30. Nov 08, 11:26

Hmm, pretty much a new install, tossed .81 on. started out as correct menu, then after a few it goes back to DMA, i do a restart on scripts and it goes back to what it should, then after a bit it goes back to dma. T file looks ok so i dunno.

Andy86
Posts: 104
Joined: Sat, 13. Oct 07, 11:11
x3tc

Post by Andy86 » Sun, 30. Nov 08, 11:31

i still can't play TC cause lack of time, i wanna ask if you have implemented a system where the races start to conquer sectors "on the edge" of theie enemies empire (eg. paranid can't attack argon prime if they do not take home of light, ore belt, etc), i don't know how to explain better :D

second, what about a system to "clarify" who is your ally? a notoriety system, as written in the posts before would be nice, regarding military help, holding of key sectors, and so on, for the friendly races, neutral races that might fear you, hostile races that even attacks your sectors as retaliation
I think the race relations system should be expanded. Attacking should lower your relation with all neutral races. Too many attacks and war is declared. Helping a race would raise relations, possibly donating resources or a sector to set relations to peaceful, things like that. I don't know the specifics on how it works now but I don't think its complex enough. There shouldn't be any hard set alliances or enemies, but I think in the beginning there should be more of a reluctance to go to war instead of massive nonstop galaxy war.
i'm too thinking to something like this

Chroniss
Posts: 153
Joined: Mon, 10. Nov 03, 22:15
x3tc

Post by Chroniss » Sun, 30. Nov 08, 11:56

I think the race response to invasions is not working. The Split attacked Ministry of Finance and were left untouched to slowly destroy the entire system. The Teladi never attempted to defend it.

The Argon keep attacking Elena's Fortune. They already own this sector, and it doesn't make sense. It happens every single time.

My game froze up while entering SETA in a quiet sector with no fighting. I CTRL-ALT-DEL'ed and noticed in task manager X3TC.exe was using more then 4 gigs of memory :o

I'm not entirely sure but I don't think it normally uses that much ram, so thats probably a big issue if it doesn't. This was under .80 btw, will update now.

Edit: Running .81 now:
Okay I saw Yaki attack Empires Edge, and the Paranid countered. It told me the Paranid was sending a massive fleet there and I was like "oh great another attacking their own sector business", so I checked and it was being sieged by the Yaki (never told me that though). So the response is working there, but it was not working when the Teladi got attacked.

You said you toned down the fights? They are still soooo massive, heres that Yaki vs Paranid fight I talked about (Ignore the drones I'm running MARS):

http://img204.imageshack.us/img204/5218 ... ictnm6.jpg

The problem is the massive amount of escort ships, especially the "Carrier" fighters, sometimes theres more then 100 little fighter ships flying around. I love the idea that it can get that big, but I would like the option to make it much smaller because that was just a slide-show and my machines pretty modest.

On the plus side it didn't crash and I ran it pretty long. I checked TC in the task manager and it was using about 700megs of ram. I'll keep an eye on that in the future.
Last edited by Chroniss on Sun, 30. Nov 08, 13:00, edited 4 times in total.

BlackRain
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Posts: 6280
Joined: Mon, 15. Dec 03, 19:53
x4

Post by BlackRain » Sun, 30. Nov 08, 12:19

I use Sector takeover, will this script register that those sectors are mine?

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Terran Conflict / Albion Prelude - Scripts and Modding”