[SCRIPT] Pandora Tunings -v0.2 - updated 15/11/2008

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderators: Scripting / Modding Moderators, Moderators for English X Forum

Teladidrone
Posts: 641
Joined: Tue, 24. Aug 04, 11:41
x3tc

Post by Teladidrone » Fri, 21. Nov 08, 15:32

Well I don't.
Those crates are created randomly for every game start (or when you install the script for the first time to an already running game).
Spoiler
Show
But your current game knows.
The script places the array of the sectors names used in global variable TD.PANDORA.SECTORS.
You could always read out that variable and narrow the search down... to some degree.
The exact coordinates of the crates within a sector are not saved anywhere though, a little searching would still be necessary.

mcsquared
Posts: 568
Joined: Sun, 17. Sep 06, 04:08
x3tc

Post by mcsquared » Wed, 3. Dec 08, 19:31

Will an M5 set to map a sector with a 110Km range be able to find these Pandora Tunings if their present?

Teladidrone
Posts: 641
Joined: Tue, 24. Aug 04, 11:41
x3tc

Post by Teladidrone » Wed, 3. Dec 08, 22:37

In theory - yes.
I mean if your scout gets into scanning range of a tuning box it will appear on the radar like any other flying ware.

However, I am not sure if the vanilla explorer script really follows a true 3-dimensional search pattern... anybody know this?

mcsquared
Posts: 568
Joined: Sun, 17. Sep 06, 04:08
x3tc

Post by mcsquared » Thu, 4. Dec 08, 19:16

In X3 Reunion, when using the Explorer Software, you set the range in kms AND the variation from the ecliptic. In X3 TC you are given only the option of setting the range. I've explored about 10 sectors using my M5 and have not found anything yet.

mcsquared
Posts: 568
Joined: Sun, 17. Sep 06, 04:08
x3tc

Post by mcsquared » Mon, 8. Dec 08, 21:59

I see that your request for a true 3D search ability in X3 TC has gone unanswered. Perhaps you might consider setting the "z" to something between 0 and 25. At least a search to 110km would have a chance of finding something then. I had my M5 search over 15 sectors and it found nothing.

Teladidrone
Posts: 641
Joined: Tue, 24. Aug 04, 11:41
x3tc

Post by Teladidrone » Tue, 9. Dec 08, 23:45

Yeah, I've got a few complaints that the hints are not really sufficient to find those tuning boxes easily.
In my own game I have only found 2 of my own boxes yet :o - but they ARE out there, you just need to look harder.

Maybe I should think about a way to provide more in-game hints about their locations - or simply include a cheat script that reveals the locations for the impatient pilots out there...

mcsquared
Posts: 568
Joined: Sun, 17. Sep 06, 04:08
x3tc

Post by mcsquared » Wed, 10. Dec 08, 08:46

If you can only find two of the tunings and your the script author! That answers your own question!

TheLastHero
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed, 23. Jan 08, 17:51
x3tc

Post by TheLastHero » Mon, 22. Dec 08, 18:05

How about adding random mission to ships example.

Money symbol

I hear you have some information about salvage?

Pirates attacked Boron convoy boron ran leaving behind advanced engine tuneings. For 2mil credits This boron will part with the location as its too dangerous for boron to return.


This way getting the location isnt cheating.. but its expensive.

Teladidrone
Posts: 641
Joined: Tue, 24. Aug 04, 11:41
x3tc

Post by Teladidrone » Mon, 22. Dec 08, 22:36

Yeah, something like that sounds reasonable enough.
Wont happen this year for sure though because I'm outta town for the holidays and cant run TC on my crappy old laptop here
:(

Tanooshman
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri, 3. Apr 09, 08:05
x3tc

UMM - "Hints" are empty to my eyes

Post by Tanooshman » Tue, 21. Apr 09, 07:18

Uh oh. Leg pulling alert! There AREN'T any hints right, cause I sure don't anything in under over right or left of the "hints" or "Spoiler" buttons.

Fascinating idea though.

Vicius
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue, 8. Apr 08, 02:29

Post by Vicius » Tue, 28. Apr 09, 03:08

Yeah, I like the idea two posts above about paying for hints.

Also, would it be possible to make a box respawn randomly again after it's picked up, pretty much like the Shivan Dragons did in XTM when you killed one?

Tanooshman
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri, 3. Apr 09, 08:05
x3tc

nice job!

Post by Tanooshman » Wed, 29. Apr 09, 19:26

Through the normal course of exploration and mining/trading I've found 4 crates over about 4 days since installing the package.

I like the logic behind the random placement! it doesn't "feel" like a cheat.

Of course anytime I actually go looking for 'em - NADA, ZILCH. Just like RL.

Good job.

[/list]

TiborB
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu, 25. Dec 08, 22:52
x3tc

Post by TiborB » Mon, 22. Jun 09, 15:17

Does these boxes with engine/rudder tunnings respawn when collected ?
Or just 4 rudder and 4 engine tunnings are available and after collecting them no more ones are available ?

Grimshad
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed, 6. May 09, 06:31
x3ap

Post by Grimshad » Fri, 14. Aug 09, 14:30

I'de also like to know if they respawn? I don't want to go waste picking it up with a crappy ship when I may find a better ship later that I would have rather used it on?

borgrel
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon, 5. May 08, 00:37

Post by borgrel » Fri, 30. Oct 09, 18:58

Its simple........use 2 engine tuning on ur favourite M3+ so it can hunt down M5's.....3 rudder optimisations on ur choice of M6 so it can turn like a fighter and 2 engine tuning and 1 rudder on your choice of M1/2 so it doesn't seem as much like a fat pig.

Be careful though........remember that the ships acceleration rating doesn't change so putting all upgrades on an M2 is suicide, sure u can turn 90 degrees in 4 secs but u'll keep on drifting left for another 6km......especially if the M2 was going 400 at the time.

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Terran Conflict / Albion Prelude - Scripts and Modding”