[EMP]Extended Mod Pack (2.7 compatible) [Not needed for latest Plugin Manager]

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderators: Scripting / Modding Moderators, Moderators for English X Forum

Post Reply
Vivicector
Posts: 158
Joined: Thu, 10. Jul 08, 09:10

Post by Vivicector » Thu, 10. Jun 10, 08:30

Thank's.

P.S. Looks like I'm the only one who actually read it or cares about it :wink:

DIGSIN
Posts: 395
Joined: Fri, 28. Oct 05, 12:37
x4

Post by DIGSIN » Thu, 10. Jun 10, 20:52

Slight update, i forgot to put in the setup scripts :oops:

Not much of a problem if you dont care about having the new wares tagged with the ZA/ZB names though

Monk
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu, 27. Feb 03, 00:00

Post by Monk » Sun, 13. Jun 10, 10:24

Ok, tried to read this thread and figure out if I can fix my own issue, but after reading and tinkering I'm still confused and stuck with the wares changing to ZA_whatever issue.

Basically I have the Advanced Jumpdrive script which when I start my game shows the wares properly in the Argon stations, but then after undocking they seem to change to the ZA_ stuff. Is there no reliable fix for this or am I just not getting what is being explained in here?

I have a boatload of other scripts installed and everything except this one thing appears to be working properly. Sure, it's a minor issue...but man, it bugs me every time I see it. =)

User avatar
LV
Sith Lord
Posts: 6362
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31
x3tc

Post by LV » Sun, 13. Jun 10, 11:25

do you have the plugin manager installed?

that has emp built in and willl need to be updated to 2.7 and i'm hoping the game calling the wares twice (once with PM once with the dat/cat file) is the problem

if not i'll build a global signal docked script into it and see if reloading the emp text everytime playership docks could fix

need cycrow to update the plugman first though
LV's TC Scripts
Readme's For All My Scripts


I felt a great disturbance in the forum, Like millions of voices cried out in terror, then were silenced

si tacuisses, philosophus mansisses

Monk
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu, 27. Feb 03, 00:00

Post by Monk » Sun, 13. Jun 10, 11:56

I have the plugin manager lite v 1.10 installed. I at one point had emp 1.4 fake patch in that too, and apparently uninstalling that was a big no no. Ah well, who cares about weeks of gameplay lost in an instant...haha.

Ok, so I should wait on the update for the plugin manager then?

Cycrow
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Posts: 20608
Joined: Mon, 15. Nov 04, 00:26
x4

Post by Cycrow » Wed, 23. Jun 10, 13:53

the emp with the plugin manager doesn't need to be updated for each new game patch.

as it simply adds the emp extra bits onto the latest twares file from what ever patch you have installed.

so it should continue to work even after updating the game.

however, the fix that LV pointed out earlier about the text will be in the next release of the plugin manager

virgil64
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri, 24. Nov 06, 15:17
x3tc

ZA_EMP_BLANK_WARE_CUSTOM20_2 - What's happening ???

Post by virgil64 » Tue, 6. Jul 10, 05:27

Hi there,

I am looling for an explanation and hoping some scripter can enlighten me please. I've already had to start again after installing the 2.7.1 update and am about 50 hours in and have encountered two strange wares, the first being

ZA_EMP_BLANK_WARE_CUSTOM20_2 (crate found in Seizewell)

I have many scripts running but have not installed any new ones recently. I don 't know if the "EMP" part is significant but i have never installed the EMP mod/script and to the best of my knowledge run no scripts requiring the EMP. I don't want to have to start yet again but if this signifies increasing trouble throughout the game, id rather deal with it now. Any advice on how to fix or whether to restart would be welcomed and appreciated, thank you for your time :)


{Whether you do have installed EMP or not, the EMP thread appears the best place to find asnwers from. Merging. jlehtone}

User avatar
ancient demise
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun, 18. Jul 10, 14:57
x3tc

Post by ancient demise » Thu, 22. Jul 10, 16:51

I hate to be redundant in repeating what others have said, but I believe I have a slightly different problem

After installing EMP, I have a *large* list of missing ware names. Of this list, there are a few distinct series, as listed here:
SS_WARE_SW_NEW*
SS_WARE_SW_X3TC_*
ZA_EMP_10***_WARE_CUSTOM_1_*******cr
ZA_EMP_BLANK_WARE_CUSTOM*.....
ZB_EMP_6****_WARE_**_**
ZZ_EMP_MOD_USE_ONLY**_**

where * represents one or more numbers

This problem appears with emp being installed via the NEW beta version of the plugin manager as well as being installed completely manually.
The strangest part is, even when I uninstalled EMP completely, this stuff still shows up in full list of wares. (list of wares found in cycrow's cheat menu)

Any ideas?
"A tool should never confuse itself with the hand that wields it."

User avatar
LV
Sith Lord
Posts: 6362
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31
x3tc

Post by LV » Thu, 22. Jul 10, 17:31

depends on which scripts you are using, the plugman has the new version so the emp mod is not needed to be installed

if they are my scripts get the emp fix in the list here Image

run it manually with r,r,enter once you have put it in your scripts folder and it will fix all imperial entries (at least it should do)

if they are someone else's you need to post in the thread to tell the author their internal emp warelist needs updating
LV's TC Scripts
Readme's For All My Scripts


I felt a great disturbance in the forum, Like millions of voices cried out in terror, then were silenced

si tacuisses, philosophus mansisses

User avatar
ancient demise
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun, 18. Jul 10, 14:57
x3tc

Post by ancient demise » Thu, 22. Jul 10, 18:05

hmm so that means i need to do some massive troubleshooting, huh.
Uninstall, run, see what changed, quit, repeat.

Is there an easier way to do this?
"A tool should never confuse itself with the hand that wields it."

User avatar
LV
Sith Lord
Posts: 6362
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31
x3tc

Post by LV » Thu, 22. Jul 10, 18:25

trust me on this, the people doing "massive" troubleshooting are the scripters, your need to press 2 buttons to fix mine i would not consider to be trouble ;)


re-writing the entries and checking over 200 scripts (only to paste over half of them again with the old scripts) is what i'd consider to be troubleshooting

;)

User avatar
ancient demise
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun, 18. Jul 10, 14:57
x3tc

Post by ancient demise » Thu, 22. Jul 10, 18:55

hey, its relative to our respective skill levels :P
"A tool should never confuse itself with the hand that wields it."

tianlongprc
Posts: 127
Joined: Tue, 18. Aug 09, 09:41
x3tc

Post by tianlongprc » Mon, 2. Aug 10, 06:39

I am having trouble installing EMP for 2.7.

I need to know if I need to extract TWareT.txt into my x3tc main directory can some one help me?

xfir01
Posts: 433
Joined: Sun, 13. May 07, 17:28
x3tc

Post by xfir01 » Mon, 2. Aug 10, 14:19

tianlongprc wrote:I am having trouble installing EMP for 2.7.

I need to know if I need to extract TWareT.txt into my x3tc main directory can some one help me?
First off, if you're using Cycrow's Plugin Manager you don't need to install this, it's already included and they don't really play nice together.

Probably the easiest way to deal with this, and many scripts require it to run anyway.

http://forum.egosoft.com/viewtopic.php?t=265915
Q: I use many scripts that require EMP, do i need to install EMP seperatly ?
A: No, the plugin manager will generate the requires files for EMP automatically, so theres no need to use it seperatly

Q: I have some scripts installed that use wares, but they dont have the correct ware name, more like a code
A: This is a problem with EMP, make sure the standalone version is removed and let the plugin manager use its own version


As for the TWareT.txt file, it doesn't really matter as it's not used. The important things to install are the cat/dat files which need to be installed as a false patch.

Extract everything to your main Terran Conflict install directory. In there you should also see a bunch of files named 1.cat 2.cat....etc up to i think 12 on an unmodified 2.71 instalation. Whatever the highest number is, add one and rename the 2 cat and dat files to (number).cat and (number).dat

Cycrow
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Posts: 20608
Joined: Mon, 15. Nov 04, 00:26
x4

Post by Cycrow » Mon, 2. Aug 10, 15:25

the TwaresT.txt file is just for reference, the actual used wares file is in the cat file itself.

the seperate one is more for scripters to use so they can check the ids used for the wares

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Terran Conflict / Albion Prelude - Scripts and Modding”