[Mayhem] Star Wars for Mayhem (Experimental)

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

Post Reply
Angrybiscit
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue, 21. Jun 16, 17:23
x3ap

Re: [Mayhem] Star Wars for Mayhem (Experimental)

Post by Angrybiscit » Tue, 13. Aug 19, 00:24

Sounds good :thumb_up: already started on it. To start with I'll just look at the resource values.

Angrybiscit
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue, 21. Jun 16, 17:23
x3ap

Re: [Mayhem] Star Wars for Mayhem (Experimental)

Post by Angrybiscit » Tue, 13. Aug 19, 00:45

Image


Look what decided to show up with the new release! So, hopefully that is working again :) (Ranger BP)

temetvince
Posts: 164
Joined: Fri, 29. Jul 11, 20:58
x4

Re: [Mayhem] Star Wars for Mayhem (Experimental)

Post by temetvince » Tue, 13. Aug 19, 21:35

Gamestart 3 Normal Fighter crashes the game (and forces me to reboot my pc) as soon as the first "jump" occurs (before mayhem is initialized, but after I can see my ship). Where can I find a logfile that may be helpful for you?

Edit: Actually, it works. It just takes awhile to load!

User avatar
XenonArchitect7
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri, 5. Jul 19, 07:19

Re: [Mayhem] Star Wars for Mayhem (Experimental)

Post by XenonArchitect7 » Wed, 14. Aug 19, 01:05

Was it during the asteroid generation phase of loading or before that? Not that I claim to be an expert on Mayhem or anything. I'm just curious so I can look out for it in the future.

temetvince
Posts: 164
Joined: Fri, 29. Jul 11, 20:58
x4

Re: [Mayhem] Star Wars for Mayhem (Experimental)

Post by temetvince » Wed, 14. Aug 19, 06:18

XenonArchitect7 wrote:
Wed, 14. Aug 19, 01:05
Was it during the asteroid generation phase of loading or before that? Not that I claim to be an expert on Mayhem or anything. I'm just curious so I can look out for it in the future.
When you first start a game, it will say "Initializing Mayhem", then it will automatically send you through a warp tunnel/gate into the x-universe. This is before asteroid generation or any control is given to the player. When my game screen went black from entering the warp gate, it never turned unblack, just got stuck mid warp.

Is that helpful?

User avatar
Joubarbe
Posts: 4068
Joined: Tue, 31. Oct 06, 13:11
xr

Re: [Mayhem] Star Wars for Mayhem (Experimental)

Post by Joubarbe » Wed, 14. Aug 19, 08:27

X3 sometimes freeze during a sector change. It's extremely rare. It can also be caused by an error in the universe file. Less likely: an object that the game is unable to load. The engine is loaded before anything else, so a script would make the game freeze after entering the sector, not during warp.

Also, CTRL ALT DEL is your friend. X3 (Windows in fact) should never force you to reset your computer.

User avatar
alexalsp
Posts: 961
Joined: Fri, 18. Jul 14, 05:28
x4

Re: [Mayhem] Star Wars for Mayhem (Experimental)

Post by alexalsp » Wed, 14. Aug 19, 10:31

For fun, I tried this mod.

3 menu item, everything is fine, at least the game started without problems.

https://youtu.be/-uM6JpsAxYg

:D

User avatar
Joubarbe
Posts: 4068
Joined: Tue, 31. Oct 06, 13:11
xr

Re: [Mayhem] Star Wars for Mayhem (Experimental)

Post by Joubarbe » Wed, 14. Aug 19, 11:07

There's a Russian localization of Mayhem...?

User avatar
alexalsp
Posts: 961
Joined: Fri, 18. Jul 14, 05:28
x4

Re: [Mayhem] Star Wars for Mayhem (Experimental)

Post by alexalsp » Wed, 14. Aug 19, 11:26

Joubarbe wrote:
Wed, 14. Aug 19, 11:07
There's a Russian localization of Mayhem...?
Yes :)

temetvince
Posts: 164
Joined: Fri, 29. Jul 11, 20:58
x4

Re: [Mayhem] Star Wars for Mayhem (Experimental)

Post by temetvince » Thu, 15. Aug 19, 04:00

Joubarbe wrote:
Wed, 14. Aug 19, 08:27
...The engine is loaded before anything else, so a script would make the game freeze after entering the sector, not during warp.

Also, CTRL ALT DEL is your friend. X3 (Windows in fact) should never force you to reset your computer.
Good to know! And yes, you would think that, but in this case x3 wouldn't yield the window to the task manager. I even have task manager set to Always on top. :gruebel:

User avatar
XenonArchitect7
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri, 5. Jul 19, 07:19

Re: [Mayhem] Star Wars for Mayhem (Experimental)

Post by XenonArchitect7 » Thu, 15. Aug 19, 04:04

When X3 crashes, Ctrl+Alt+Del won't yield the task manager because it will be stuck behind the X3 window. You can fix this by then pressing Windows+Tab and moving either task manager or X3 to a different virtual desktop and accessing it there.

User avatar
alexalsp
Posts: 961
Joined: Fri, 18. Jul 14, 05:28
x4

Re: [Mayhem] Star Wars for Mayhem (Experimental)

Post by alexalsp » Thu, 15. Aug 19, 07:09

Tell me, please, where is the original of this mod? If it's not difficult, please provide a link to the mod.

User avatar
XenonArchitect7
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri, 5. Jul 19, 07:19

Re: [Mayhem] Star Wars for Mayhem (Experimental)

Post by XenonArchitect7 » Thu, 15. Aug 19, 07:19

alexalsp wrote:
Thu, 15. Aug 19, 07:09
Tell me, please, where is the original of this mod? If it's not difficult, please provide a link to the mod.
This is a small asset port of my main "SWLU" mod, which you can easily find on the ModDB website. A lot of the ship models are originally from MikSka's mod called "Star Wars Reborn", which can also easily be found on ModDB. Star Wars Reborn is for X3AP and was released in 2016. After getting permission to use the base ship models for my own project, I released SWLU earlier this year for Litcube's Universe after nearly a year in development. Today, SWLU is in continued development between me and Tormox and it will gradually gain additional ships and other improvements, of which some of them will slowly make their way into this Mayhem patch over the long run.

If you are talking about Mayhem itself, well that should be even easier to find... You can also find it on ModDB...

Also, both Mayhem and SWLU are extensions of the original "Litcube's Universe" mod, which has its own website where you can download it.

Not sure which of the four options you are referring to :) .

Star Wars Reborn: https://www.moddb.com/mods/mikhail-skatchkov

SWLU: https://www.moddb.com/mods/star-wars-lu-swlu

Mayhem: https://www.moddb.com/mods/mayhem

Litcube's Universe: viewtopic.php?t=365706

User avatar
alexalsp
Posts: 961
Joined: Fri, 18. Jul 14, 05:28
x4

Re: [Mayhem] Star Wars for Mayhem (Experimental)

Post by alexalsp » Fri, 16. Aug 19, 17:35

Can you do not pack text files into cat/dat files? At least until the release. Or, when you add new text to text files, write about it in the version history.

For example: the text file 65748.xml is modified. This will make it easier to control the changes for translation.

Thank you.

User avatar
XenonArchitect7
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri, 5. Jul 19, 07:19

Re: [Mayhem] Star Wars for Mayhem (Experimental)

Post by XenonArchitect7 » Sat, 17. Aug 19, 01:19

alexalsp wrote:
Fri, 16. Aug 19, 17:35
Can you do not pack text files into cat/dat files? At least until the release. Or, when you add new text to text files, write about it in the version history.

For example: the text file 65748.xml is modified. This will make it easier to control the changes for translation.

Thank you.
I don't know what the 65748.xml file is or where it is located. Where did you see this?

The only file I changed was 9700-L044.xml, which is an English language file that I added myself. It contains all the ship descriptions and ship names. Yes, it is currently contained within the last cat/dat, but you can have it here: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1tpK3I ... J5xdfa23JN

You can also create the "t" folder in your game's addon folder and throw it in there, since files in the game directory load after those in cat/dat files. This will override anything contained in the cat/dat.

I didn't realize you were doing a translation for the mod, that's pretty cool! I can move the file outside of the cat/dat in future releases if that makes things easier.

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Terran Conflict / Albion Prelude - Scripts and Modding”