[SCRIPT] Group Management System

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Reunion.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

This script is...

pointless
1
1%
interesting, but I wont use it
5
7%
usefull
66
92%
 
Total votes: 72

Jase555
Posts: 114
Joined: Fri, 13. May 05, 17:17
x3tc

Post by Jase555 » Sun, 14. Jan 07, 14:45

Thank you. Truly useful

jlehtone
Posts: 17249
Joined: Sat, 23. Apr 05, 21:42
x4

Re: [SCRIPT] Group Management System

Post by jlehtone » Thu, 25. Jan 07, 11:38

moggy2 wrote:3. Group Management System
- it handles the automatic resupply of energy for jumpdrives, missile and ammo, when docked at stations that sell the supplies.
You do have "Define Missile Loadout" command as separate package. But does that, or some other code, determine the desired loadout of fuel and ammo too? Ie, what are the defaults? 0?
Goner Pancake Protector X
Insanity included at no extra charge.
There is no Box. I am the sand.

User avatar
moggy2
Posts: 4588
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31
x3ap

Re: [SCRIPT] Group Management System

Post by moggy2 » Thu, 25. Jan 07, 16:33

jlehtone wrote: You do have "Define Missile Loadout" command as separate package. But does that, or some other code, determine the desired loadout of fuel and ammo too? Ie, what are the defaults? 0?
no, there's nothing that can define those at the moment. Ammo is set to 5 units and energy is a case of "fill her up" once everything else has been loaded (but only if she has the require equipment, ie Mass driver or Jumpdrive).

If you've got suggestions on how this should change, fire away.

jlehtone
Posts: 17249
Joined: Sat, 23. Apr 05, 21:42
x4

Post by jlehtone » Mon, 29. Jan 07, 10:00

It did look to me like there is a 1000 ECell fuel limit.


5 for MD ammo is fine as long as the ship has only one (turret) MD. But unless the ship can use only MD (Mamba R and Chimera turrets), it seems likely that one either has none or full deck. It may not make much sense to load a Centaur with 11 MD. Nova or Mamba with 8 frontal MD might be feasible. And if one does that, then 5 cases of ammo is not what one wants.

Maybe the script should count the installed MD's and have some ammo for each?

"Define Missile Loadout" stores data about a sample ship. It could store the ammo bit as well. Then the refuel code would use the stored value, if existent, or the default, if not. I know, it would not be intuitive to set MD ammo limit with missile-oriented script.

I guess one cannot have a "group" with only the leader? (Or maybe I can.) Because that would allow "default command" (ie Attack all) on single ships.
Goner Pancake Protector X
Insanity included at no extra charge.
There is no Box. I am the sand.

jlehtone
Posts: 17249
Joined: Sat, 23. Apr 05, 21:42
x4

Post by jlehtone » Thu, 8. Feb 07, 12:31

(Sorry for double, slow thinker)

The homebase setting (even if NULL) is copied from Lead to escorts. That is good. Could other properties be copied as well? I know there is GMM for setting Missile firing probability, but doing that as part of setup could be semi-intuitive. Wingman flag. Report when ready. Hue and saturation. Turret command(s). Yes, it could easily bloat into huge routine.

GMS runs in background. It does not check for script updates. So one has to stop/restart it everywhere if there is an update. Easy, if you have only one group. Less so with massive armadas. Another "overhead" routine.

The ship names are mostly static, set at Setup Group. Say, one could show homebase on the name, and then one manually changes homebase on individual ship. The name would become misleading. Yes, I'm in "useless overhead" mode. It may make sense on CAG/CLS like script to say things via shipname, but the thought of couple hundred fighters in the epic furball pondering what they are called this second is somewhat lagging.
Goner Pancake Protector X
Insanity included at no extra charge.
There is no Box. I am the sand.

User avatar
dauntless
Posts: 187
Joined: Fri, 25. Nov 05, 12:14
x3

Post by dauntless » Tue, 27. Feb 07, 17:26

Hello,

I tried your script yesterday, and it´s exactely what I need.
Well I have some problems with this script and wanted to ask
if anything could be done about it.

1. It seems to collide with the "Ships/Stations Name Manager" Script
that can be found here
http://forum.egosoft.com/viewtopic.php?t=155344
(it´s a german script)
After the installation of your script the SSNM doesn´t work anymore.
I´m also not sure if your script is running correctly.
I can find 2 Buttons in the Ship Menue.
"Build Group" and "Group Attack target".
Shouldn´t there be more (with just the base package installed) ?
The readme doesn´t really say what commands should be included with this base package.

2. I downloaded the addons for this package (Hotkeys/Combat Commands/Missle Management)
All of these packages contain files that are allready present in the
base package or one of your other addons. Those files differ in file size.
And I have no clue what needs to be installed first, and wich files should be overwritten or not.

Thank You

User avatar
Cith
Posts: 466
Joined: Thu, 21. Sep 06, 19:47
x3tc

Post by Cith » Fri, 9. Mar 07, 22:03

I tried the script, but somehow I can't get it working.
I assigned a fleet "JumpSquad" then I added 3 novas to that group. I chose the "Group Attack Target.." command, selected a random ship and nothing happens. The leadership action is set to "None" in the console and I dunno what I did wrong as I tried to reset the group several times. Any idea?
Give a man a fish and he'll eat for a day, teach a man how to fish and he'll eat yours.

John Buford
Posts: 163
Joined: Sat, 3. Jan 04, 21:11
x2

Post by John Buford » Sat, 10. Mar 07, 11:39

I have a similar problem. I tried to reasign novas that were already in another squad to a new big squad but I cannot get this to work. It is as if an old flag on the ships still asigns them to their former groups and it is not deleted when i make the new group. The result is that when I try to make the new group in an equipment dock only one ship is renamed and shown as leader, when I make it in free space ( 3 novas assigned to follow the leader) all ships are renamed properly, but their group behaviour does not change (aka they do not follow the leader or accept any group commands).

I did not have the problem with newbought newly assigned Novas, so thats why I assume it has something to do with a not removed "flag".

Edit: Just tried it again, if you assign 5 new ships it works as intended, group commands work, missile propability is set. But as soon as you assign this group again (different name, everything else the same (including fleet number) the group commands do not work any more.

User avatar
Cith
Posts: 466
Joined: Thu, 21. Sep 06, 19:47
x3tc

Post by Cith » Sat, 10. Mar 07, 12:35

Yes it's pretty annoying. I have 3 novas and I want them to act like a group. The only thing that seems to work for me is the return to protect leader thingy. Any other commands just returns them to [None]. I think I'll wait for an update to this one as the commands just get in the way when they can't be used. The idea is great though :) .
Give a man a fish and he'll eat for a day, teach a man how to fish and he'll eat yours.

User avatar
moggy2
Posts: 4588
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31
x3ap

Post by moggy2 » Sat, 10. Mar 07, 17:25

Thanks for the reports. I think I have enough info now to know where to look for the problem.

povljr
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon, 12. Mar 07, 00:57

Post by povljr » Thu, 29. Mar 07, 11:36

as a quicknote: I just want to say that the more I read through these threads forums and tutrials the more respect I have for you people who script mod and help those of us who don't (yet).
YOU GUYS DO A GREAT JOB!

Problem:
I'm getting readtext names on my ships.

I DL'd the XAI group management system and used cycrows installer.
if i select a ship
enter command menu "c"
go to general "5"
setup goup "1''
the first prompt is for fleet name / input string
whatever I type, (after the remaining prompt)s all the names of grouped ships become "readtext 7211-1000"
the only exception is when I use the special cases of
"-l" "-d" ect.
in these cases "%s(%s)%s%s" is the name of the ship

can anyone help me out?

One other question, what's the diffenece between fleet and group name?
Or are they the same?

FOLLOW UP:
okay. Problem solved. Moggy you were right. As it turns out I was using the group management system packaged with "Ultimate Cammand Pack" and this version is older. DL'ing and installing the newest one did the trick thanks again. :)
Last edited by povljr on Mon, 2. Apr 07, 11:49, edited 2 times in total.

John Buford
Posts: 163
Joined: Sat, 3. Jan 04, 21:11
x2

Post by John Buford » Thu, 29. Mar 07, 12:03

It is fleet number and group name. Fleet numer is to differ bewtween sqaudrons in a unified task and the name is your personal preference. For Example "Rogue (group name) 1 (Fleet number) Nova V. (ship type generated automatically) lead (leader of the group)".

No idea about the random text you get.

jlehtone
Posts: 17249
Joined: Sat, 23. Apr 05, 21:42
x4

Post by jlehtone » Thu, 29. Mar 07, 12:34

povljr wrote:whatever I type, (after the remaining prompt)s all the names of grouped ships become "readtext 7211-1000"
Missing the language file? Without that, the engine cannot convert variable "7211-1000" into proper string value. Without string value, the rest of the string formatting is naturally fubar.

User avatar
moggy2
Posts: 4588
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31
x3ap

Post by moggy2 » Thu, 29. Mar 07, 22:32

are you sure you're using the latest version available?

John Buford
Posts: 163
Joined: Sat, 3. Jan 04, 21:11
x2

Post by John Buford » Fri, 30. Mar 07, 06:52

I have installed the latest version (3.1.7 got the aknowledgment message after installation, deinstalled the older version pirior to this) but still encounter the same problem.

Ships that have been assigned to a group cannot be reassigned to a new group even id the GMS command button is manually deactivated. The setup group command does not recognize them as "free" ships. If you make them follow a ship in space the name of the new group is correctly shown, but they do not behave as if memebers of the group (no refueling, not accepting the group command "group attack target of leader" or automatically switching to "protect leader")

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Reunion - Scripts and Modding”