[MOD] Updated: 1/7/06 "M6 upgrade mod(/w cockpits/restored models)"

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Reunion.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

Mehrunes
Posts: 619
Joined: Wed, 3. Dec 03, 04:10
x4

Post by Mehrunes » Thu, 22. Dec 05, 00:52

It's the fastest by quite a large margin. It can outrun M3s and quite a few M4s so I decided that an extra shield was uncalled for. I know what it's like though, having had to rely on the Mamba Raider's piddly 25mw shields for quite some time. :)


Update: Reconnected the Falcon's rear turret (it was already there on the model, but there was no turret set for it in the TShips file.)

User avatar
NZ-Wanderer
Posts: 1496
Joined: Thu, 5. Aug 04, 01:57
x4

Post by NZ-Wanderer » Thu, 22. Dec 05, 01:00

Fair enuff..

I have settled on the Paranid M6, as I did a test last night with the Paranid and Argon M6's by turning the whole of Argon Prime against me...

It was a amazing battle, and until I came up against the M2 and M1's I was holding my own in both ships.. - But I found that the Paranid one was slightly better at keeping its shields than the Argon one :) :) (Couldn't test the other M6's as my race rank wasn't high enuff)

User avatar
-XTM-
Posts: 1277
Joined: Sat, 12. Nov 05, 20:46
x3

Post by -XTM- » Thu, 22. Dec 05, 01:01

I meant the standard Falcon and the pirate ones.
Rearturrets with psg's?, no don't think so either, that's why I gave them AHEPT's, which can even be tuned down to the standard p-falcon BPAC and the Vanguard A-HEPT, or whatever....my point was that I suspect they were all meant to have rear turrets, like the Nova's.

I think it's only fair to do this, the Falcon and the Pirate Falcon are with ease the weakest M3's in the game...they're hardly a challenge With the aft-turret enabled, it's pitch/yaw rate is that of a cow anyway.

Too bad you think otherwise, but np anyway.
The Xtended Mod

Need Help?

Ask Questions / View the FAQ's at TheXUniverse Forums
Read the News on Mod Developments at our Website

Mehrunes
Posts: 619
Joined: Wed, 3. Dec 03, 04:10
x4

Post by Mehrunes » Thu, 22. Dec 05, 01:17

I like the Pirate Falcon the way it is as it allows new pilots to ease their way into combat and ship capturing. The Pirate Nova's rear HEPT can clean your clock when you're still in a Buster. I don't think the Falcon's are a complete loss though. The Sentinel at least can mount 250mw worth of shields which could make it ideal for cap ship escort.

User avatar
CO. Dragon Corp
Posts: 483
Joined: Wed, 23. Nov 05, 15:49

Post by CO. Dragon Corp » Thu, 22. Dec 05, 01:19

Ok, I tested your Mod a bit and it really kicks /\SS! :)

As the previous speaker said, now it's really worth to own an M6. Before they were really weak, because of their low firepower (in comparision to an M3) + their low turning rate and low speed. Like an underarmed moving target :D .

THANK YOU!

PS: I don't think the Nemesis needs a 4th shield bay. But...why are you talking of only 2 shield bays, NZ-Wanderer? If Mehrunes didn't change the Nemesis shield bays it should still have three...(regarding to a ship toc I know)
Commanding Officer of the 'Dragon Corporation'
Image

Mehrunes
Posts: 619
Joined: Wed, 3. Dec 03, 04:10
x4

Post by Mehrunes » Thu, 22. Dec 05, 01:20

NZ-Wanderer wrote:I have settled on the Paranid M6, as I did a test last night with the Paranid and Argon M6's by turning the whole of Argon Prime against me...
I love the look of the Paranid Nemesis. It's very nimble, but pays the price with an extremely small cargo bay.

Mehrunes
Posts: 619
Joined: Wed, 3. Dec 03, 04:10
x4

Post by Mehrunes » Thu, 22. Dec 05, 01:22

CO. Dragon Corp wrote:PS: I don't think the Nemesis needs a 4th shield bay. But...why are you talking of only 2 shield bays, NZ-Wanderer? If Mehrunes didn't change the Nemesis shield bays it should still have three...(regarding to a ship toc I know)
He's talking about the Split Dragon since it still only has 2 shield bays since it's about 50% faster than the rest of the lot (aside from the P).

User avatar
CO. Dragon Corp
Posts: 483
Joined: Wed, 23. Nov 05, 15:49

Post by CO. Dragon Corp » Thu, 22. Dec 05, 01:31

Mehrunes wrote:
CO. Dragon Corp wrote:PS: I don't think the Nemesis needs a 4th shield bay. But...why are you talking of only 2 shield bays, NZ-Wanderer? If Mehrunes didn't change the Nemesis shield bays it should still have three...(regarding to a ship toc I know)
He's talking about the Split Dragon since it still only has 2 shield bays since it's about 50% faster than the rest of the lot (aside from the P).
Ah, I see.

BTW: Is it possible for you to write a script that replaces ALL M6 in the game with the new ones? Or would this blow up my PC? :lol:

Maybe step by step, like one script for all boron M6, then one for split M6...and so on.

Also, if this is possible it may be a good idea to only give the new corvettes two weapons in a 4-weapon-turret, 1 in a 2-weapon-turret and so on. Only half the fire power, to not unbalance the game too much.

Why? I give you an example: In one sector there's a pirate station with many ships attacking it. At the moment they can't really harm the station, but there's also one single boron M6. If you give 'em the full fire power it'll blow up the station sooner or later :wink: .

The patch 1.3 will add pirate ships defending their homebases, but until the patch will be released these stations are in danger :D . We need to save them :wink: .
Commanding Officer of the 'Dragon Corporation'
Image

Mehrunes
Posts: 619
Joined: Wed, 3. Dec 03, 04:10
x4

Post by Mehrunes » Thu, 22. Dec 05, 01:42

CO. Dragon Corp wrote:BTW: Is it possible for you to write a script that replaces ALL M6 in the game with the new ones? Or would this blow up my PC? :lol:
The problem is that all of these ships are presumably being handled by something, like the GOD engine or whatever. I have no way to give control of the new ships back to it's handler, so they would just float there with nothing to do.

User avatar
CO. Dragon Corp
Posts: 483
Joined: Wed, 23. Nov 05, 15:49

Post by CO. Dragon Corp » Thu, 22. Dec 05, 02:39

Mehrunes wrote:
CO. Dragon Corp wrote:BTW: Is it possible for you to write a script that replaces ALL M6 in the game with the new ones? Or would this blow up my PC? :lol:
The problem is that all of these ships are presumably being handled by something, like the GOD engine or whatever. I have no way to give control of the new ships back to it's handler, so they would just float there with nothing to do.
What a pity.

But I know from the modding scene of rome total war that new things are being revealed every day. So maybe, in the future, it'll be possible :wink: .

Until then your mod is great as it is :) .

Ah, ok...one (hopefully final) question ^^: Is there any natural action in the game that forces the game to "build" new M6. Like an M6 dies in a fight against pirates for example and the game creates a new now to replace the lost --> voilá, we got a new corvette with your changes.

Are there such events, even if the player is not in the same sector?

If there are such events and if they happen regular than all the corvettes will get replaced sooner or later anyway...

PS: Don't need to hurry with the answer as I'm going to bed now :D
Commanding Officer of the 'Dragon Corporation'
Image

User avatar
-XTM-
Posts: 1277
Joined: Sat, 12. Nov 05, 20:46
x3

Post by -XTM- » Thu, 22. Dec 05, 02:58

*Gives Mehrunes savegame with Falcons with turrets and all* Here look, see, nice nice red thingies flashing all over cie place, mucho beautifull it's not?
Aaaaah plz plz plz....no? stil no?...well...ok then.

Ok ok, point taken, youre right as far as beginner's universe goes, and that's someting to take into the equation...only feels a bit contradictionary from someone who just turned M6's into small battleships *hihi*

Btw, djeeeeez how long can it take to get 1 turret into a good position!!!
I suppose expert modders like you and all do this with help of 3dsmax hm? (or are you just realy talented and figure out the exact placement in 2 shots, could also be).

About that script to add new ships to shipyards as wares, don't suppose you've got someting like that in the back of hanger-1 do you? :)
The Xtended Mod

Need Help?

Ask Questions / View the FAQ's at TheXUniverse Forums
Read the News on Mod Developments at our Website

User avatar
NZ-Wanderer
Posts: 1496
Joined: Thu, 5. Aug 04, 01:57
x4

Post by NZ-Wanderer » Thu, 22. Dec 05, 04:26

Yea, I noticed that.. - However, I find that filling it up with E-Cells, I can jump from CBSW to Interworlds AND BACK without filling up again.. - so for now that will do me...
Mehrunes wrote:I love the look of the Paranid Nemesis. It's very nimble, but pays the price with an extremely small cargo bay.

User avatar
Sandalpocalypse
Posts: 4186
Joined: Tue, 2. Dec 03, 23:28
x4

Post by Sandalpocalypse » Thu, 22. Dec 05, 05:07

a script that just blows them all up would be acceptable

Mehrunes
Posts: 619
Joined: Wed, 3. Dec 03, 04:10
x4

Post by Mehrunes » Thu, 22. Dec 05, 05:08

CO. Dragon Corp wrote:Ah, ok...one (hopefully final) question ^^: Is there any natural action in the game that forces the game to "build" new M6. Like an M6 dies in a fight against pirates for example and the game creates a new now to replace the lost --> voilá, we got a new corvette with your changes.

Are there such events, even if the player is not in the same sector?
Hopefully the GOD engine, or whatever it's called, will replace anything that's destroyed eventually.


Moxy: It's not necessary to edit the scene files, because they already have the turret and cameras placed. All you'd have to do is add a new turret to the pirate falcons and then add a gun on to that turret in X3 editor. You can copy the path and body IDs from any of the non-pirate falcon variants because they use the same numbers (path 28 for the camera and 10 for the turret I believe).

User avatar
Sandalpocalypse
Posts: 4186
Joined: Tue, 2. Dec 03, 23:28
x4

Post by Sandalpocalypse » Thu, 22. Dec 05, 05:15

O Mighty Mehrunes, would you mind fixing the (*#$ rear turret on the Orca? Either the cockpit or the turret is facing the wrong way.

Edit: As an example of what Mehrunes is talking about:

http://www.deadlyshoe.com/images/stalwart1.jpg
http://www.deadlyshoe.com/images/stalwart2.jpg
http://www.deadlyshoe.com/images/stalwart3.jpg

the above images show the turret and gun settings of a Teladi Falcon modified to have 3 Turrets mounting 4 total guns. It uses the base scene file. As such the Left and Right turrets are actually forward facing turrets using the weapondummy rather than turret dummies with left/right fire arcs. I use Left and Right to indicate which gun is on which side.

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Reunion - Scripts and Modding”