esd's X² guide to loops

General discussions about the games by Egosoft including X-BTF, XT, X², X³: Reunion, X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

theKettle
Posts: 406
Joined: Mon, 15. Nov 04, 23:39
x3

Tip: Styles can be applied quickly to selected text.

Post by theKettle » Sun, 28. Aug 05, 20:42

Warning: Slight Unknown-Sector spoilers contained in post!


Great guide esd, now I've installed the bonus packs I have the fun of removing all the TS's from my closed loop system, outfitting them with ATC (perhaps selling most of them and replacing with mambas) and getting them all going again - a slightly daunting task!

The main reason I use closed loops is for atmosphere/role-playing reasons - I have all my basic loop factories in the first unknown sector near Interworlds, with the top-end weapon and shield production in the adjacent sector - hidden away so I can build up and arm my fleet in secret. There's a lack of much silicon however, so I'm considering using the unknown sector behind the Xenon sector, which has enough silicon and ore to power loads of factories. For normal space, however, open loops definitely the way to go (currently my income is primarily from assassination and XI missions, but I haven't got many factories running in populated space).
------------------

If I want to be toned up, calmed down, invigorated or anything then it's very simple. I just have a cup of tea.

bpfontain
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri, 30. Sep 05, 12:31
x2

x2thethreat

Post by bpfontain » Sun, 2. Oct 05, 02:05

can l buy a factory in the first mission andwhere is guide for beginners

User avatar
esd
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)
Posts: 11597
Joined: Tue, 2. Sep 03, 05:57
x3tc

Re: x2thethreat

Post by esd » Sun, 2. Oct 05, 02:22

bpfontain wrote:can l buy a factory in the first mission andwhere is guide for beginners
Please see your original thread :)

Everyone else - glad you like the guide, and that it's actually helped one or two of you :)
esd's Guides: X² Loops - X³ MORTs

Yellowman
Posts: 617
Joined: Mon, 3. May 04, 12:54
x4

Post by Yellowman » Tue, 22. Nov 05, 18:15

maby a bit of n00b but what do u mean with ''Logistics Software Equipped'' :) what is the logistics software.

User avatar
esd
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)
Posts: 11597
Joined: Tue, 2. Sep 03, 05:57
x3tc

Post by esd » Tue, 22. Nov 05, 19:03

This is an X² guide :)
esd's Guides: X² Loops - X³ MORTs

CHAZZ
Posts: 1815
Joined: Fri, 13. Feb 04, 19:48
x3tc

Post by CHAZZ » Tue, 22. Nov 05, 21:38

The 'upgraded' SDS script in X2 is also called 'Commodity Logistics Software" maybe he refers to that one :roll:

On a side note, the Commodity Logistics Software is NOT identical to the older SDS. SDS can deliver, for example, Silicon from silicon mine to silicon mine, while the CLS cannot, since it sees both silicon mines as 'Source' and none as 'destination' or 'customer'. That was a major hickup for me, because i used to use the SDS script to gather tons of silicon from my mines in Ore belt to one mine, and ferry it from there with 2 SDS Demeters to my (then) biggest loop complex in Herron's Nebula. What i did, was to build a Silicon mine on that useless silicon asteroid in H. Nebula (nicely positioned to me), and, as said, ferry tons of silicon from Ore Belt to that 'useless' silicon mine acting as a dump storage. All the Crystal fabs/drone fabs etc would buy their needed silicon from there.
Not doable with CLS.

Workaround: deinstall CLS, install SDS, set your SDS freighters as needed, re-install CLS again. Done. CLS ships work as intended (10 suppliers to 20 customers) and the few SDS do their part of the job.
The developers should kept the option to deliver same product between same fabs (also useful to ferry Food from Food fabs scattered around to a central positioned Food Fab with many Hi-Tech fabs like 125MW Shield fabs and God knows if they can suck huge amounts of resources all of a sudden.

C.

Apocholypse
Posts: 2097
Joined: Thu, 1. Jul 04, 17:19
x3

Post by Apocholypse » Tue, 22. Nov 05, 23:23

Didn't realise logistics software exsisted, I know SDS does but logistics :o

Well you learn something every day, this will be quite useful cheers esd!

Yellowman
Posts: 617
Joined: Mon, 3. May 04, 12:54
x4

Post by Yellowman » Wed, 23. Nov 05, 13:00

aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhh X2 lol yeah but how too do that with X3 :wink:

big biff
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon, 19. Dec 05, 05:21
x2

Post by big biff » Wed, 18. Jan 06, 14:53

:? SO CALL ME STUPID BUT .. Where do or can i get this bonus plug in pack :o ???? I have installed the 1.4 update for x2 is there anything else i need any help would be appreciated ........ :arrow: :)
BAD DOG, GET DOWN..

User avatar
esd
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)
Posts: 11597
Joined: Tue, 2. Sep 03, 05:57
x3tc

Post by esd » Wed, 18. Jan 06, 14:55

big biff wrote::? SO CALL ME STUPID BUT .. Where do or can i get this bonus plug in pack :o ???? I have installed the 1.4 update for x2 is there anything else i need any help would be appreciated ........ :arrow: :)
Click me, I'm a link to the download :)

I really should get around to doing a loop-guide for X³, but I'd need to build a loop in X³ before I could do that :wink:
esd's Guides: X² Loops - X³ MORTs

User avatar
Stevio
Posts: 1983
Joined: Sat, 4. Jun 05, 10:36
x3tc

Post by Stevio » Wed, 18. Jan 06, 15:13

esd wrote:I really should get around to doing a loop-guide for X³, but I'd need to build a loop in X³ before I could do that :wink:
Good idea.
*HINT*
don't forget. Spp production is alot easier to understand in X³ as sunlight in all sectors are the same [100%]

so no matter what sector you choose the same size Spp [M,L,XL] supply for the same amount of factories in a loop or complex.

cheers

stevio
My Scripts
Image
So say we all!

jlehtone
Posts: 17295
Joined: Sat, 23. Apr 05, 21:42
x4

Post by jlehtone » Wed, 18. Jan 06, 15:22

stevio wrote:
esd wrote:I really should get around to doing a loop-guide for X³, but I'd need to build a loop in X³ before I could do that :wink:
*HINT*
don't forget. Spp production is alot easier to understand in X³ as sunlight in all sectors are the same [100%]
I would not call the X2 sunlight "difficult". I call it fun. :wink:

And 'complex' is an implementation of 'loop'. The CLS ships are merely replaced by tube mess. :wink:

User avatar
Stevio
Posts: 1983
Joined: Sat, 4. Jun 05, 10:36
x3tc

Post by Stevio » Wed, 18. Jan 06, 15:52

jlehtone wrote:
stevio wrote:
esd wrote:I really should get around to doing a loop-guide for X³, but I'd need to build a loop in X³ before I could do that :wink:
*HINT*
don't forget. Spp production is alot easier to understand in X³ as sunlight in all sectors are the same [100%]
I would not call the X2 sunlight "difficult". I call it fun. :wink:

And 'complex' is an implementation of 'loop'. The CLS ships are merely replaced by tube mess. :wink:
i didn't say X² sunlight was "difficult" i said X³ Spp production is easier to understand

a loop is not a Complex, the definition of a Complex is a link of Stations via a Complex Construction Kit *No Freighters*

but i know where your coming from :D
My Scripts
Image
So say we all!

User avatar
esd
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)
Posts: 11597
Joined: Tue, 2. Sep 03, 05:57
x3tc

Post by esd » Wed, 18. Jan 06, 16:05

stevio wrote:a loop is not a Complex
No, but a complex is a loop, just with hard-wired zero-credit inter-trading.
esd's Guides: X² Loops - X³ MORTs

User avatar
Roenie
Posts: 185
Joined: Mon, 8. Dec 03, 22:29
x3tc

Post by Roenie » Sun, 8. Oct 06, 14:10

Good stuff.

Here's my guide on loops:
http://forum2.egosoft.com/viewtopic.php?t=73990

A lot bigger, but uses a similar way of explaining things...using images!
Last edited by Roenie on Sun, 8. Oct 06, 14:11, edited 1 time in total.
I claim this planet in the name of Ed, bringer of bacon.
Roenie's Guide to Open and Closed Loops (X2)

Post Reply

Return to “X Trilogy Universe”