X3AP Retail versions

General discussions about the games by Egosoft including X-BTF, XT, X², X³: Reunion, X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

DiveBomberDave
Posts: 188
Joined: Mon, 16. Feb 04, 08:59

Post by DiveBomberDave » Mon, 17. Dec 12, 11:55

Thanks mate, hopefully I'll get it before christmas.

DiveBomberDave
Posts: 188
Joined: Mon, 16. Feb 04, 08:59

Post by DiveBomberDave » Wed, 9. Jan 13, 16:46

Hi, I've finally got the game...

Yeah!

Is there something wrong with what I'm doing?

I registered my TC with steam...
And suprise, suprise it wants to download the whole 6 gig of TC, typical steam rubbish, they don't mind spending $95US that I dont have!

OK ignore steam TC it works fine as a program...

I then click the english launcher on the new AP disc, loads some stuff from disc 1, the installer ignores disc 2 and starts downloading the 6 gig of TC, great, don't we all just love STEAMW@#NKERS!

Cancel that, google my problem, paste the Egosoft/TC folder into the Steam/TC folder, no worries that should fix it...

I open my steam tray and steam starts downloading another 2 gig of data, is this what is on the second disc, do I need to paste the contents into my steam directory?

Now for the rant!
I have to say I hate steam, X2 was so easy to install, just put in the disc and code away you go, no crap store to control my access to my licensed product. I understand the distribution benefits but remember the old problem has always been the distributors greed so I'm not sure it is fair to penalize the customer for this.
End of rant.

Please help with this installation otherwise it will cost me more than I paid for the game including postage from the opposite side of the world just in downloads to run the game.

CBJ
EGOSOFT
EGOSOFT
Posts: 36001
Joined: Tue, 29. Apr 03, 00:56

Post by CBJ » Wed, 9. Jan 13, 16:48

It might say it's going to download 6GB (or whatever) but it will only actually download what it needs to, i.e. what is different between what you have on disk and the current version of the game.

DiveBomberDave
Posts: 188
Joined: Mon, 16. Feb 04, 08:59

Post by DiveBomberDave » Wed, 9. Jan 13, 16:58

Thanks for the speedy response mate.

should it ask me to put in disc 2?

I'll try it again.

DiveBomberDave
Posts: 188
Joined: Mon, 16. Feb 04, 08:59

Post by DiveBomberDave » Wed, 9. Jan 13, 17:09

No difference, with either disc 1 or 2 in the drive it still wants to download a 1.2 gig file.

I wish I knew if it will ask me to change the disc too.

I don't want to pay my ISP more than I payed Egosoft, I know who has done more work for it.

I'll try again tomorrow when I have time to wait for it to download.

User avatar
X2-Illuminatus
Moderator (Deutsch)
Moderator (Deutsch)
Posts: 20864
Joined: Sun, 2. Apr 06, 16:38

Post by X2-Illuminatus » Wed, 9. Jan 13, 17:24

See also the Steam FAQ on Installing from Disc instead of Steam.
Besteht Interesse an einem Nopileos-Hörbuch?

Farnhams Legende und Nopileos als E-Books!

"People who think they know everything are a great annoyance to those of us who do." - Isaac Asimov

"If it's not impossible, there must be a way to do it." - Sir Nicholas Winton

CBJ
EGOSOFT
EGOSOFT
Posts: 36001
Joined: Tue, 29. Apr 03, 00:56

Post by CBJ » Wed, 9. Jan 13, 17:32

DiveBomberDave wrote:...it still wants to download a 1.2 gig file.
Again, don't be fooled by what it says. It may think it needs 1.2GB of data, but if it finds it already has it because it's on the DVD then it won't actually download it. There is bound to be some data for it to download from Steam though, because both games have been patched since whatever version you have on disk.

DiveBomberDave
Posts: 188
Joined: Mon, 16. Feb 04, 08:59

Post by DiveBomberDave » Thu, 10. Jan 13, 07:27

Cheers CBJ,

That page looks like what I'm looking for, I'll try it now.

User avatar
Earth Ultimatum IV.
Posts: 5133
Joined: Mon, 3. May 10, 14:39

Post by Earth Ultimatum IV. » Tue, 29. Jan 13, 17:32

19.99 €? I got it from steam for 9.99€, via PaySafe card, LulZz

User avatar
X2-Illuminatus
Moderator (Deutsch)
Moderator (Deutsch)
Posts: 20864
Joined: Sun, 2. Apr 06, 16:38

Post by X2-Illuminatus » Tue, 29. Jan 13, 17:34

This topic is about the retail version, though.
Besteht Interesse an einem Nopileos-Hörbuch?

Farnhams Legende und Nopileos als E-Books!

"People who think they know everything are a great annoyance to those of us who do." - Isaac Asimov

"If it's not impossible, there must be a way to do it." - Sir Nicholas Winton

hsung
Posts: 208
Joined: Sat, 3. Jul 04, 08:09

Post by hsung » Sat, 18. May 13, 09:44

CBJ wrote:It might say it's going to download 6GB (or whatever) but it will only actually download what it needs to, i.e. what is different between what you have on disk and the current version of the game.
When I registered my X3 TC non-steam version, it only gave me the option to install it in the ..\Steam\SteamApps\common folder whereas my original installation is else where. So I re-installed X3 TC in the Steam folder but when I re-activated it with Steam, it deleted the folder and proceeded to download the 6Gb game again :evil:

Please advise a work around.

vr01
Posts: 1032
Joined: Sun, 10. Sep 06, 00:01

Post by vr01 » Sat, 18. May 13, 11:59

After you installed TC into the steam folder did you manually update it to the latest version? Try that first. I suspect that Steam thought there were too many differences and cleared the whole thing out.

You didn't have to delete your original installation. All you had to do was copy it into the Steam folder.

hsung
Posts: 208
Joined: Sat, 3. Jul 04, 08:09

Post by hsung » Mon, 20. May 13, 14:47

After several unsuccessful attempts, I had to exit from Steam after it started downloading TC. Then, I re-installed TC from DVD before resuming Steam's update ... that tricked it to jump to 87% complete when it started to update from ver. 3.0 to 3.2.

However, after I purchased AB, bloody Steam deleted my TC installation again :evil: Hence, I have to start all over again ... probably consumed at least 2Gb or more of my bandwidth.

Hope my experience will help another ...

User avatar
ballti
Posts: 112
Joined: Wed, 29. May 13, 11:50

Post by ballti » Wed, 29. May 13, 12:13

Hey, I wish to play only X3 AP, and now i dont know what to buy, only X3 AP via STEAM, or X3 TC + X3 AP via STEAM?

ty
Wargasm

User avatar
X2-Illuminatus
Moderator (Deutsch)
Moderator (Deutsch)
Posts: 20864
Joined: Sun, 2. Apr 06, 16:38

Post by X2-Illuminatus » Wed, 29. May 13, 12:22

X3AP is an addon to X3TC. That means you need an X3TC installation to play X3AP. If you already have a version of X3TC you can use that to register it with Steam and get a Steam version. See this FAQ article for reference. Afterwards you should be able to just buy X3AP. If you don't have X3TC yet, then the X3: Terran War Pack would be the best solution, as it contains X3TC and X3AP.

Edit: typo.
Last edited by X2-Illuminatus on Wed, 29. May 13, 15:38, edited 1 time in total.
Besteht Interesse an einem Nopileos-Hörbuch?

Farnhams Legende und Nopileos als E-Books!

"People who think they know everything are a great annoyance to those of us who do." - Isaac Asimov

"If it's not impossible, there must be a way to do it." - Sir Nicholas Winton

Post Reply

Return to “X Trilogy Universe”