Newbie Guide to Making Money Through Trading

General discussions about the games by Egosoft including X-BTF, XT, X², X³: Reunion, X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

Rushyo
Posts: 725
Joined: Wed, 18. Feb 04, 15:58
x3

Post by Rushyo » Sun, 22. Feb 04, 17:59

Spoiler
Show
You are supposed to sell it's equipment before you talk to her to finish the mission, if you want to be a low down cheat like everyone else :)
x Danny x and x ShadowElle x
Games Engine Developer, Level Designer, 3dsMax Modeller + Web Developer
Currently attaining a BSc in Games Programming
PC1 - Athlon 64 3k+, 256mb x850PRO 1000mhz+ clock, 2gb DDR400 RAM
PC2 - Athlon XP 2k+, 256mb 6600 700mhz+ clock, 1gb DDR400 RAM

sc4r4b
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed, 18. Feb 04, 02:46
x2

Post by sc4r4b » Sun, 22. Feb 04, 18:05

Thanks. So I am SOL because I completed the mission... :P

Rushyo
Posts: 725
Joined: Wed, 18. Feb 04, 15:58
x3

Post by Rushyo » Sun, 22. Feb 04, 18:07

*no comment* :D
x Danny x and x ShadowElle x
Games Engine Developer, Level Designer, 3dsMax Modeller + Web Developer
Currently attaining a BSc in Games Programming
PC1 - Athlon 64 3k+, 256mb x850PRO 1000mhz+ clock, 2gb DDR400 RAM
PC2 - Athlon XP 2k+, 256mb 6600 700mhz+ clock, 1gb DDR400 RAM

smudga
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun, 22. Feb 04, 01:59
x2

trade guide

Post by smudga » Sun, 22. Feb 04, 19:57

Cheers Creston,
Now off to try - looks superb, thanks for taking the time :)

Creston
Posts: 1382
Joined: Tue, 3. Feb 04, 22:48
x3tc

Post by Creston » Sun, 22. Feb 04, 22:48

stig12 wrote:hi can anyone help plz ,i am following theses tip and have upgraded my ship ,gone to geo's buck and got the best buy and sell upgrades but i cant get them to work game says i need trading extenion software ,now i have got this and game said installed but every time i press "5" it dont work what am i missing here
thx for any help
stig
Hi Stig,

The "5" key bit can actually be a bit misleading, since it doesn't work on every screen. To always get to the best buy, best sell locator, press enter while you're flying around, go to the Navigation screen, and that's where you'll find two menu options for them. That should always work.

Let us know if it doesn't.

Creston

rival
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31

Post by rival » Wed, 25. Feb 04, 13:20

Thanks for this - it made me my first million!

Al
Posts: 8706
Joined: Mon, 11. Nov 02, 11:26
x3tc

Post by Al » Fri, 27. Feb 04, 14:51

<bump>

Great post that shouldn't be down on page 7 :evil:
X2 Capture Guru - X3:TC Noob :D
X2 Capture Guide

purpleblob
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri, 20. Feb 04, 17:39
x2

Post by purpleblob » Fri, 27. Feb 04, 15:32

the best buys and sells, can you only check in the sector you are in? or has it got a better range than that?

Huw
Posts: 85
Joined: Sat, 14. Feb 04, 10:54
x4

Post by Huw » Fri, 27. Feb 04, 15:48

Al wrote:<bump>

Great post that shouldn't be down on page 7 :evil:
Maybe someone who runs a fansite would consider hosting this technique?

Al
Posts: 8706
Joined: Mon, 11. Nov 02, 11:26
x3tc

Post by Al » Fri, 27. Feb 04, 16:02

I've posted a link in the Ultimate guide sticky. Guess that'll have to do for now.

Al
X2 Capture Guru - X3:TC Noob :D
X2 Capture Guide

Mercenary
Posts: 1557
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31
x3tc

Post by Mercenary » Fri, 27. Feb 04, 16:30

Great post :thumb_up:

There are many ways to earn credits through trading. Remote trading is the next step. I supposed you could say the next advanced trading step over and above doing all the freight haulage yourself.

It also requires that you have already bought the best buys / sell additions, trading system extension for your own ship, and as soon as you have a second freighter the main piece of equipment is to have on that is perhaps a duplex / triplex scanner (but only so you can check if it's in potential danger)

As you save the 0.5M credits for a Mk3 trading extension you'll have to manage your freighters manually. So whilst you have the auto pilot guiding your ship to the next destination you can be ordering you second / third / fourth freighter to buy and sell goods in other sectors of the universe.

This is trading on a grand scale and without having to build a single station. Silicon is a great starting point but when running multiple trading ships numerous short runs will outstrip the profits of single long runs.

Once you reach the point of self managing nine to ten remote traders, jumpgates and docking will suddenly become inconveniences and you won't even touch the SETA button to get anywhere, you'll be too busy. Until you buy them all a mk3 trading extension each.

As a side note: Also remember that Silicon Mines need energy cells. When you strip a mine of all it's Silicon remember to haul in some EC's to help with the production of the next major profit bonus for yourself.

Creston
Posts: 1382
Joined: Tue, 3. Feb 04, 22:48
x3tc

Post by Creston » Sat, 28. Feb 04, 18:59

In response to a few things mentioned above :

The range of the best buy / best sell locator is one sector only, yes, but it works for every sector that you have an "asset" in. Hence my advice to plunk satellites down in sectors with a lot of potential suppliers and / or buyers, so you can always check the prices in those sectors.

Mercenary,

I tried doing stuff remotely, and it just annoyed me. First of all you lose so much time on the peculiarities of the auto pilot, and second it becomes too much work for too little profit. You mention hauling energy cells back to a silicon mine, which seems like a complete waste of time to me, since there is very little profit to be made in it. (Percentage wise the profit is excellent, but in profit per volume unit it's just crap)

I'm not sure that you'd be making a million credits an hour if you remote managed ten ships all by yourself and didn't use SETA. Not to mention the fact that probably not everyone can remote manage that many ships, I know I can't. :)

Also, I think if you put too many ships out there hauling silicon around (or perhaps you were just talking about any kind of freight in general), you're going to start averaging the lowest buy and highest sell price out. I'd rather do one silicon load which I buy for 230 and sell for 760 than three of them which I buy at 450 and sell at 550, if you know what I mean.

But, to each his own, ofcourse, I was actually more offering advice for how to get your first few million. What people do with it afterwards is totally up to them. There's quite a few better ways to make money afterwards than trading, to be honest. (Capture NOVAS!!! :D )

Creston

Aziraphale
Posts: 79
Joined: Sun, 29. Feb 04, 17:53
x3tc

Post by Aziraphale » Mon, 1. Mar 04, 01:21

Does game difficulty has any bearing on the min/max price of the different produces?

Because in my trading (been plying the lanes for a good 10 hours now, on and off) I have never encountered anywhere where they're willing to pay more than 592 for a unit of silicium, even if the factory in question is totally out of the resource.
And on the flipside, even if the silicium mine is full, it won't part with its produce for less than 414 a unit.

What's up? :?

The_Abyss
Posts: 8474
Joined: Tue, 12. Nov 02, 01:26
x3

Post by The_Abyss » Mon, 1. Mar 04, 01:22

Aziraphale wrote:Does game difficulty has any bearing on the min/max price of the different produces?
None at all
Strung out on Britain's high, hitting an all time low

Aziraphale
Posts: 79
Joined: Sun, 29. Feb 04, 17:53
x3tc

Thanks for the reply

Post by Aziraphale » Mon, 1. Mar 04, 15:40

OK.

What's up then? Has the prices been changed with the patches then? I'm running v1.2 and I'm certain I haven't seen the same ranges as reported in this thread. Nor for energy cells. The ranges I've seen go from 6 to 26, not from 9 to 23.

Not that I mind. I was just wondering is all. :wink:

Locked

Return to “X Trilogy Universe”