Will there ever be x-online mmorpg

General discussions about the games by Egosoft including X-BTF, XT, X², X³: Reunion, X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

Nothingbetter2do
x3

Will there ever be x-online mmorpg

Post by Nothingbetter2do » Wed, 8. Apr 09, 03:36

I have been playing Eve online for the past 7 months but now im bored of the game........ i prefer the dogfighting combat style of x3 rather than the orbit at optimal range and fire approach to eve online fighting.

Also eve online missions are very few (in difference) and very repetitive thus boring.

Mining is equally as boring

the skill training system in eve online is a pain in the ass as it holds u up from getting stuck into the game thus forcing u to get bored very quickly.

i would love to see x-online mmorpg game... i understand some restrictions would be needed such as not being able to command huge npc fleets... but thats ok cos a huge fleet of players in a guild would be more fun anyways... dogfights would be great fun. much better than just the orbit n shoot approach to eve online

a similar setup of core nursery systems (argon prime, etc) could be safe zones for noobs but any system thats unknown is open season for pvp.

does anyone else think x-online would be a cool game?

Eandir
x3tc

Post by Eandir » Wed, 8. Apr 09, 03:42

Eve is orbit and shoot because MMOFPS are impossible to keep from being laggy for 90% of the player base.

Not that it matters, the X3 universe will never see multiplayer, much less MMO status.

arcana75
x3tc

Post by arcana75 » Wed, 8. Apr 09, 04:02

Due to trajectory flight of X's ships it's easier to calculate and predict movement paths to optimise network traffic, compared to FPS for example.

And there are FPS MMOs.

If u want to experience a sort of X MMO, try this old game called Terminus (I think). It's around X2's time IIRC and allows multiplayer on a single host.

Then there's Freelancer.

PaulyJ76