Gameplay Bugs and Issues List Tech Support Summission Discussion.

General discussions about the games by Egosoft including X-BTF, XT, X², X³: Reunion, X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

User avatar
apricotslice
Posts: 13734
Joined: Sun, 16. May 04, 13:01
x4

Post by apricotslice » Mon, 28. Aug 06, 04:11

Bug in Convoy mission :
richardthesane wrote:I've just started plot mission 5 where I am escorting the mammoths and the mission just never seems to end!

I killed all the Khaak from three turrets, then mopped the remainder up in my Nova. One of the mammoths did die (ran into an asteroid I think, not sure though).
I followed the convoy to Paranid prime and now they just keep flying round.

So does anyone know what should happen to complete the mission?

User avatar
apricotslice
Posts: 13734
Joined: Sun, 16. May 04, 13:01
x4

Post by apricotslice » Mon, 28. Aug 06, 06:03

New update to OP list.

The only one not listed as yet is the disappearing ships bug, but Nanook was going to post that one as he is the expert on it.

Also added :

Issue : IS Mobile Mining.

IS Mobile Mining is way to dangerous still. Part of this is the auto-pilot and its problems, but most of it is the fact the ship is moving while picking up the ore chunks, and vulnerable to collision. Picking up can only be done safely while the player is OOS. The whole process of a moving ship

I suggest that the pickup process be changed as follows. Require a transporter device. On activation of "collect rocks in sector" command, ship moves to a safe point within transporter range of collectable rocks. Ship stops. Ore Collector and transporter combination beams rocks into the cargo bay without opening the cargo bay doors. Ship is moved to another safeplace near collectable rocks, stops, collects, moves and repeat.

No messing about with the auto-pilot, no having to ensure 2 roids are not too close together and unable to avoid an impact.

Nanook
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)
Posts: 25993
Joined: Thu, 15. May 03, 20:57
x4

Post by Nanook » Mon, 28. Aug 06, 08:13

Disappearing Ships Bug - captured spawns:

From my observations, this particular disappearing ship phenomenon is restricted to the pirate M5's and occasional M4's that spawn near the edges of sectors, in groups of three, and the civilian ships that spawn in regulated space. These spawns were introduced in the latest patch. They cannot be saved, no matter what you try. Believe me, I've tried everything I could think of. These disappearances occur some amount of time after you leave the sector where the ship is located, or send it to another sector. They disappear out of stations, out of TL's, as they pass through gates, and just out in space. If it's their time to go, they go. And you never get a message that they've been destroyed. It appears to be a 'despawn' flag or some such thing that doesn't get reset when the player captures the ship.

It doesn't seem to affect any of the other spawns, such as pirates at Teladi shipyards and pirate bases. I've never had any TS/TP/M3 disappear in that manner (other ways, yes). So far, out of some 500+ captures in the two games I've started since 1.4, I've had maybe 20 go missing due to this bug. So I don't thnk it's a major problem, unless you really want to keep one of these ships (for me, it was a Pirate Harrier Raider that I really, really, REALLY wanted, but it just wasn't to be :( )
Having an Acronym Attack? See the Ego FAQ. Also now for Terran Conflict and Albion Prelude.
NOT an Egosoft employee.

Nanook
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)
Posts: 25993
Joined: Thu, 15. May 03, 20:57
x4

Post by Nanook » Mon, 28. Aug 06, 08:23

Plot Ore Mine won't trade with Free Traders:

The ore mine you 'buy' in the plot doesn't trade with any free traders, neither buyers nor sellers. You have to give it your own buyers and sellers. And this applies to complexes made with that mine. I put it in a complex with a SQUASH mine factory and a Soyery, hoping to free up some of the buying/selling ships. The NPC traders refused to buy the SQUASH mines, and they refused to sell it energy or soja beans, despite drastically reducing/increasing prices appropriately. It appears that the 'Trade with other races' is permanently set to 'NO'. Either that, or it was made somehow 'invisible' to the NPC's to protect it when your Paranid rep was so low, and didn't get reset to normal. Either way, it doesn't work properly.
Having an Acronym Attack? See the Ego FAQ. Also now for Terran Conflict and Albion Prelude.
NOT an Egosoft employee.

Augustini
Posts: 1239
Joined: Tue, 13. Dec 05, 22:55
x4

Post by Augustini » Mon, 28. Aug 06, 08:31

Plot -> The nividium mission in Ore Belt:

During the briefing, the player is instructed to head to the "Nividium Processing Plant" in Home of Light... The first time i got that mission i spent like 3 hours trying to find this elusive factory untill i finally checked the EGOSOFT forums to realise that it did not exist!!!!

User avatar
apricotslice
Posts: 13734
Joined: Sun, 16. May 04, 13:01
x4

Post by apricotslice » Tue, 29. Aug 06, 02:52

Plea : Re-allow TS/TP ships to dock with TL and M1.


soleseacher
well with the new bonus packs frieght beamer mods you don't need to dock with them now just beam your stuff in bit of a pain thou i know if your jumping your TL all over the universe and you can't take you TS's with you.

Nanook
That only solves a relatively minor problem. When placing large numbers of factories, the inability to gather up freighters in your TL means that you need to outfit every freighter with jumpdrives and energy cells simply to get them safely to where they're needed. No more flying a TL to a shipyard, purchasing the TS's, loading them up and transporting them to their factories. It's now a LOT more tedious to do, not to mention expensive. You can buy a TS for as little as 100K, but then you have to give them a 100K jumpdrive! And then, you have to get the jumpdrives on them, which means, since you can't carry more than one at a time, you need a TL to carry a load of fighters that can carry the jumpdrives. Then you need to somehow transfer all those jumpdrives from the fighters to the transports simply to get the transport to jump to where they're needed. Whew!! Yeah, that sounds like fun. Rolling Eyes

And yet another problem. I capture ships for a 'living'. That means lots of TS & TP smugglers. In X2, any captured freighter could be loaded on the TL/M1 and shipped to market. Now, unless a shipyard is nearby, it means equipping the new capture with a jumpdrive, Nav software and energy cells and jumping it to a shipyard. But then, unlike X2 where you could beam the jumpdrive off the ship before it jumped, in X3, you have to fly to the shipyard and manually transfer the jumpdrive off the TS/TP before you sell it, or lose 50K for each jumpdrive you use. That also sounds like fun, doesn't it? Rolling Eyes Razz

The lack of TS/TP docking capability on both TL's and M1's has dramatically reduced gameplay and increased tedium in a number of areas. It's not simply about transferring wares between two ships. Indeed, I need to transfer upgrade modules between two ships much more often than wares. So the remote transfer function is of limited use to me.

Apricotslice
For whatever reason the decision to not allow TS/TP's to dock with a TL/M1 was made, playing the game as a TRADER is now significantly more complicated, as Nanook has outlined. The ability to move large numbers of unoutfitted ships to the few places they can be outfitted (especially jumpdrives) is essential given the inability to buy things like jumpdrives at more than 1 a ship. Anyone who is based in the east sectors, has significant trouble, not to mention fluing time, getting a newly bought ship to CBSW to buy a jumpdrive. It basically isnt fair on the trader (or the capper for that matter) to have taken away the ability to transport freighters accross the universe in a single jump using a TL or M1. The M1 has become purely a strike-carrier, and the trader player does not need this. Traders need a ship mover-carrier instead, and this has been taken away from us. The freighters are too big to dock argument is very thin. The docktl script shows it can be done, but that script has its own limitations.

Please please please please please put this functionality back and let us dock TS and TP ships at a TL or M1.

User avatar
apricotslice
Posts: 13734
Joined: Sun, 16. May 04, 13:01
x4

Post by apricotslice » Tue, 29. Aug 06, 03:00

Bug : Disappearing ships
Apricotslice
It seems to be that 1.4 introduced random spawnings of small groups of M4/M5, with no particular hit this target order or go here order. These spawned ships are later de-spawned but players are capping them before the despawn happens. Some ships that are capped, disappear as soon as they leave the sector. They just vanish, without any log entry as to why.
Nanook
From my observations, this particular disappearing ship phenomenon is restricted to the pirate M5's and occasional M4's that spawn near the edges of sectors, in groups of three, and the civilian ships that spawn in regulated space. These spawns were introduced in the latest patch. They cannot be saved, no matter what you try. Believe me, I've tried everything I could think of. These disappearances occur some amount of time after you leave the sector where the ship is located, or send it to another sector. They disappear out of stations, out of TL's, as they pass through gates, and just out in space. If it's their time to go, they go. And you never get a message that they've been destroyed. It appears to be a 'despawn' flag or some such thing that doesn't get reset when the player captures the ship.

It doesn't seem to affect any of the other spawns, such as pirates at Teladi shipyards and pirate bases. I've never had any TS/TP/M3 disappear in that manner (other ways, yes). So far, out of some 500+ captures in the two games I've started since 1.4, I've had maybe 20 go missing due to this bug. So I don't thnk it's a major problem, unless you really want to keep one of these ships (for me, it was a Pirate Harrier Raider that I really, really, REALLY wanted, but it just wasn't to be Sad )
Apricotslice
In the claim code, it would seem there should be a check to see if the player has claimed the ship, and if so, the despawn is aborted, by removing whatever flag exists to make that happen. Should be a minor if-else check in the claim code to disable the despawn flag.

User avatar
moggy2
Posts: 4588
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31
x3ap

Post by moggy2 » Tue, 29. Aug 06, 03:22

Nanook wrote:Plot Ore Mine won't trade with Free Traders:

The ore mine you 'buy' in the plot doesn't trade with any free traders, neither buyers nor sellers. You have to give it your own buyers and sellers. And this applies to complexes made with that mine. I put it in a complex with a SQUASH mine factory and a Soyery, hoping to free up some of the buying/selling ships. The NPC traders refused to buy the SQUASH mines, and they refused to sell it energy or soja beans, despite drastically reducing/increasing prices appropriately. It appears that the 'Trade with other races' is permanently set to 'NO'. Either that, or it was made somehow 'invisible' to the NPC's to protect it when your Paranid rep was so low, and didn't get reset to normal. Either way, it doesn't work properly.
Not true someone was trading with mine before I'd finished the plot, and it wasn't any of my ships (no UT's, no ships assigned to the station, no ship's selling energy within range)


I think it's ore mines in general don't seem to get many visitors. I have one in Ore belt that nobody visits.

User avatar
apricotslice
Posts: 13734
Joined: Sun, 16. May 04, 13:01
x4

Post by apricotslice » Tue, 29. Aug 06, 03:26

I never got that far in the plot.

Is it possible that that mine has a set of random variables about it ? Trade or not trade, produce or not produce ? Or again, maybe its the individual game determining if the ore there is even wanted or not. Or if the price is too high.

ta1981
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon, 2. Jan 06, 03:36
x3tc

Post by ta1981 » Tue, 29. Aug 06, 03:50

Buying a transporter device:

Perhaps it is me but I started on the "aspiring explorer"? start and have essentially no Goner rep. Despite purchasing a significant amount of insurance it hasn't seemed to move and I really don't want to follow a goner around all day trying to save them when something happens.

I don't mind having a path to gain rep in order to make me work to be able to buy something (such as a capital ship from the various races) however there doesn't seem to be any reasonable path here (other than possibly buying a few million salvage insurances like others have mentioned).

Graaf
Posts: 3742
Joined: Fri, 9. Jan 04, 17:36
x3tc

Post by Graaf » Tue, 29. Aug 06, 07:28

6a.BUG: The ability to buy a Tractor Beam Forge. Currently I cannot find any for sale (unless I missed it?).

6b.BUG: The Tractor Beam Forge had Computer Components listed as a primary resource, but food (Rastar Oil or Soya Husks) listed as a secondary resource. Maybe if you switch these the problem of GOD removing it will end.

6c.ISSUE: Add voice for the Tractor Beam Forge. Everytime I select one its "...... ...... ...... alpha".

ISSUE: When you fire a Wasp missile about 6 missiles will go after the target. Unfortunately if the pilot bails the remaining wasps will destroy your captured ship. Maybe selfdestruction after losing enemy-status?

jlehtone
Posts: 17249
Joined: Sat, 23. Apr 05, 21:42
x4

Post by jlehtone » Tue, 29. Aug 06, 09:35

apricotslice wrote:The ability to move large numbers of unoutfitted ships to the few places they can be outfitted (especially jumpdrives) is essential given the inability to buy things like jumpdrives at more than 1 a ship.
So there are two possible solutions: either let something to carry freighters, or make remote bulk transfer of upgrades possible. I would rather see the mass hauling of upgrades. However, I fear that adding docking possibility is easier to implement.

But this is not a "bug". The game is very much a first person shooter. Whatever you do, you practically have to do it yourself personally. Mobile mine, pull stations, build stations, exchange ship contents, capture, fight efficiently, look for missions. If there is something that does not fit this theme, it is Trade Mk1/Mk3, which can actually do something without the player.


Vanilla TP. They are too slow, too small, etc. Practically useless. Cannot do Tours. Too slow for weapon trade, too small for resource trade. For every conceivable task, there are better options. IMO, if the docking of carriers has to be expanded, then vanilla TP personnel ferry would be logical. Just one. 65 Manta's in a Raptor would be awful.


But these are clearly feature requests.


ISSUE? I did build a mine, The default name was "Silicon Mine L alpha". So were all the other too. I did rename them to contain the yield in the name. The targeting still says "Silicon Mine L alpha". That is understandable. Then I joined them into complex. Now every one of them is again "Silicon Mine L alpha". The name was not preserved. :evil: If you ask me, that is an absolutely insane design feature.


Edit: One more related feature idea. A command similar to "Transfer Pilot": You pick two ships and a station to land on. When both ships have docked, a "Exchange freight" menu pops up. Naturally, that requires a mod to hardcoded menu, because the other ship is neither current ship nor a carrier. But at least the remote upgrade transfer would be possible. Too difficult? Well, there is always the "Goner shrine on every EQdock" possibility. The price of convenience can be high.

User avatar
apricotslice
Posts: 13734
Joined: Sun, 16. May 04, 13:01
x4

Post by apricotslice » Tue, 29. Aug 06, 12:24

Webpage version of submission to Tech Support is now available for final comments.
http://circleofatlantis.com/games/X3/newbugs.html

Aketzali
Posts: 107
Joined: Thu, 3. Jun 04, 23:21
x3tc

Post by Aketzali » Tue, 29. Aug 06, 13:00

Bug: Pressing TAB after manually having flied through a gate makes an M5 class ship fly backwards through the gate.

When I am in my Argon Discoverer and are on a mission of delivering persons or some wares to a station on a certain amount of time, then I often fly manually though gates, using strafe-drive, in order to fly through them at full speed. On the other side of the gate, I usually press the TAB key to continue the journey. However, this usually causes the M5 ship to fly backwards into the gate, so that I end up back in the sector that I came from.

User avatar
apricotslice
Posts: 13734
Joined: Sun, 16. May 04, 13:01
x4

Post by apricotslice » Tue, 29. Aug 06, 13:03

Aketzali wrote:On the other side of the gate, I usually press the TAB key to continue the journey.
Why do you do that ?

Locked

Return to “X Trilogy Universe”