[GUIDE] Play as Kha'ak (and living to tell about it)

General discussions about the games by Egosoft including X-BTF, XT, X², X³: Reunion, X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

Kurt Shur'Tugal
Posts: 481
Joined: Sat, 25. Feb 06, 06:23
x3

Post by Kurt Shur'Tugal » Sun, 16. Apr 06, 08:29

does anyone know how to unlock the khaak start? (legitly


also is their a xenon start?

Jakesnake5
Posts: 2874
Joined: Fri, 17. Feb 06, 05:55
x4

Post by Jakesnake5 » Sun, 16. Apr 06, 09:10

No Xenon starts.

And there's alot of THEORY's of how to legitly unlock, but nobody able to verify for sure.

Oh yea, and if you play as a Kha'ak, you'll never be able to dock at the Goner temple. They hate you too.

Unless someone knows of a way to legitimately raise Goner race rep.
Last edited by Jakesnake5 on Wed, 20. Dec 06, 19:20, edited 1 time in total.

Jakesnake5
Posts: 2874
Joined: Fri, 17. Feb 06, 05:55
x4

Post by Jakesnake5 » Wed, 20. Dec 06, 19:22

I have neatened up the OP, and created a PDF version as well.
Perfection is in the hands of God, we bags of dirt can only do the best we can©
Image
Modders are a source of ideas to help the Game Makers improve what they have made. Cherrish them, for they are the fruit of thy labors.©

WingC3
Posts: 269
Joined: Wed, 28. Sep 05, 04:02
x4

Post by WingC3 » Wed, 20. Dec 06, 20:29

You know, the last comment about checking the race rank on the khaak stations in the khaak sector made me think: sometimes when you gain rep with a race, you still have to comm numerous ships and say "weapons fire was in error" But you can't do that with the khaak. Perhaps if someone scripted that ability in, we'd find that even the khaak in the home sectors are actually friendly??? Maybe not...but I'm just curious. Even if they were friendly...you may have noticed that their stations have no docking ports/bays.

anneking
Posts: 306
Joined: Tue, 5. Feb 08, 18:33

Post by anneking » Fri, 22. Feb 08, 13:50

Yaki Stations

Sounded great at the start but apart from buying a triplex scanner it proved be one odd script to add for Khaak start!

Buying some wingmen was more trouble than it was worth, hopeless AI, most of them crashed into something or ME. Gave up with them in the end. Drones are much better wingmen!

I guess the mobile Pirate station is nice but can’t dock it or load with stations. And didn’t get one until I had the rep with Argon for a jumpdrive.

And when I sent in an Argon Mammoth to pick up some stations, the Yaki blew it up, I guess they’ll do that with any race ship. So the only way to get a station is to buy your own TL, right. That’s a long way into the game, by then you can already buy any fab from the Argon shipyards.

Anyway thought I’d script in a TL to see what your Yaki shipyard had to offer. First off the connection node is unavailable (insufficient rep) although half the other fabs are available. Odd. Also the Xenon solar plant needs crystals, I see the Xenon fab is scripted in correctly but it doesn’t work as it should. Also odd.

I guess if the mobile pirate station was dockable and could load stations AND you got lucky with an early jumpdrive then it would have been a great script to add.

I thought I’d be clever and buy a mobile Pirate station and whilst still docked at the Yaki shipyard buy a station to load on it BUT it comes up with ZERO space. Aaaargh. Can’t win!

Whuppee
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon, 29. Oct 07, 08:47

Post by Whuppee » Fri, 22. Feb 08, 18:03

Ok, for those who play Kha'ak Invader, DON'T GO TO KHA'AK SECTORS!!!

Not, at least, without enough firepower to take on your 'brothers'.
Probably a good thing, if nonsensical..

I was just sitting here thinking about how easy having them as neutral would make mobile nividium mining ops.. :P

anneking
Posts: 306
Joined: Tue, 5. Feb 08, 18:33

Post by anneking » Fri, 22. Feb 08, 18:33

Whuppee wrote:
Ok, for those who play Kha'ak Invader, DON'T GO TO KHA'AK SECTORS!!!

Not, at least, without enough firepower to take on your 'brothers'.
Probably a good thing, if nonsensical..

I was just sitting here thinking about how easy having them as neutral would make mobile nividium mining ops.. :P
It is nonsensical. As a khaak invader, other khaak flying around in race sectors are neutral, but the khaak in the home sectors are hostile, some bad scripting going on here.

Yes, it would be brilliant if the khaak sectors were neutral (playing khaak of course), with EQ and shipyard for bartering capped ships in exchange for khaak ordinance, lasers, missiles, fighters. BBS in Pirate base sells the coords.

This would make the khaak start 10 times more fun.

Build up enough credit and get a carrier or destroyer !! You see, the only way to get to the khaak sectors is by jumpdrive, so it would still be a tough challenge building up rep with the Argon to buy the jumpdrives to send the capped ships over (or get lucky finding a jumpdrive and selling a ton of missiles instead, another way to do it)

Time to write my own script.

Jakesnake5
Posts: 2874
Joined: Fri, 17. Feb 06, 05:55
x4

Post by Jakesnake5 » Fri, 22. Feb 08, 22:14

Actually, getting the "Home Kha'ak" friendly would take a script. Just get a list of all Kha'ak race ships and set their FOF to Neutral.

That, and adding shipyards and other structurs the Kha'ak 'captured', with the right wares, can be scripted too. (it'd have to be an AL script if you want the stations to remain 'stocked').

As for GETTING to the home sectors, you'd have to get friendly enough with a race to 'purchase' the coords (also not very logical).

Getting the JumpDrive isn't so difficult, if you can get a ship to bail that has one left on it. :D
Perfection is in the hands of God, we bags of dirt can only do the best we can©
Image
Modders are a source of ideas to help the Game Makers improve what they have made. Cherrish them, for they are the fruit of thy labors.©

Lancefighter
Posts: 2936
Joined: Sun, 19. Dec 04, 03:41
xr

Post by Lancefighter » Sat, 23. Feb 08, 04:40

So then, I started over as a khaak game

I started in a good system (imo), presidents end. This gives me access to the PB nearby at brennans triumph, or split fire. I chose to get my rep up with the argon.

I start killing pirates over at elena's fortune, and get my rep up to ~80% on the worst one, over an hour or so

I figure, meh im gonna go save at the PB in brennans triumph.. I dock, check the BBS. Oh look, some pirate wants me to go find something for 500k. Sure thing boss.

Oh btw, go through 3 paranid core sectors to get there! ah whatever.

I cross the first few paranid border sectors without incident, and get to the first core sector. All things good, no problems... cross safely, get to the gate, line up my approach and hit seta.


OMGWTF?!?! a TL appears in front of me.

Game Over.


Ahh well, the life of a khaak.
in the market for a new sig, willing to pay 1 billion credits for a proper sig...

anneking
Posts: 306
Joined: Tue, 5. Feb 08, 18:33

Post by anneking » Sat, 23. Feb 08, 18:06

Jakesnake5 wrote:As for GETTING to the home sectors, you'd have to get friendly enough with a race to 'purchase' the coords (also not very logical).
Hi Jakesnake,

How about a scripting contract ? PM me if you're interested.

Khaak invader script:

It needs to be simple and logical. Basically you’re a Khaak invader starting from scratch. The pirates bases are the only friends you have and the only group willing to do business with you. That’s the default start position. So how do we build an empire within this framework with minimal changes to the vanilla game.

Here’s my idea.

Khaak sector co-ords available in Pirate BBS

Khaak ships neutral to Khaak invader

Khaak sector has one shipyard, one EQ. Khaak ordinance ONLY, ships, lasers and missiles, usual ship turnings. That’s it. Only stuff the khaak would use for themselves.

------------------------------

So that’s fun if you get a jumpdrive. Otherwise it’s the usual slog.

So lets bring the Marauder in Farnhams Legend online, selling all the pirate ships and illegal fabs (as per your Yaki shipyard). Makes sense. No rep required. The pirates are happy selling to anyone.

No pirate EQ dock though, that’s one addition too far. You can still sell your missiles loaded on a transport of course and the turning you get from pirate bases so an EQ is not essential.

So we now have a consistent scenario for Khaak start. Do you agree?

There are 2 glitches in these ideas.

1. The mobile pirate base has no docking rights. Without a TL you are stuffed, it means getting friendly with one of the races, i.e. same old scenario as before, hardly befitting for a khaak invader and pirate associate. Can this be fixed? I noticed you can manually load a station onto the mobile PB using the cheat scripts, the PB will then deploy the station correctly. So it does half work. Alternatives?

2. Can the Khaak co-ords be added to the pirate BBS or otherwise become available to the player at the start? I’m thinking this might be hard coded into the game. An alternative is using one of the unknown sectors but that’s illogical, too easy, don’t like it. Players always enjoy things better when there’s minimal screwing about with the vanilla game.

You can see where I’m coming from.

Madman01
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri, 20. Dec 02, 03:09
x3

Post by Madman01 » Wed, 7. May 08, 17:03

Has this project reached the end of it's development, or is it still a work in progress? Thanks.
Stress is when you wake up screaming and you realize you haven't fallen asleep yet.

Smart_Bomb
Posts: 466
Joined: Fri, 22. Dec 06, 14:35
x3tc

Post by Smart_Bomb » Sun, 21. Nov 10, 03:51

In Kha'ak sectors is their trading ports, shipyards and equipment docks you can trade with?

if not, WHY NOT!

if yes, awesome! ill start that now.
Great Resource for all your X3 questions & Info: X3 Wiki (Personal contributor)
Check out My: Tri-Mega Complex HQ
And my Suggestion Topic
Image

pjknibbs
Posts: 28927
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31
x4

Post by pjknibbs » Sun, 21. Nov 10, 09:43

No, you can't, primarily because they don't exist--the only stations you'll see in Kha'ak sectors don't have docking capabilties.

Smart_Bomb
Posts: 466
Joined: Fri, 22. Dec 06, 14:35
x3tc

Post by Smart_Bomb » Mon, 22. Nov 10, 01:24

Sorry about the other necro post pjknibbs, I wasn't paying attention to that. I just ran a search to find anything relative to what I'm searching for.
Great Resource for all your X3 questions & Info: X3 Wiki (Personal contributor)
Check out My: Tri-Mega Complex HQ
And my Suggestion Topic
Image

Acosmicist
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon, 17. Nov 08, 20:26
x3tc

Post by Acosmicist » Fri, 9. Dec 11, 17:03

*post removed*
Last edited by Acosmicist on Fri, 9. Dec 11, 22:59, edited 2 times in total.

Post Reply

Return to “X Trilogy Universe”