[Guide] Apricot Software Guide

General discussions about the games by Egosoft including X-BTF, XT, X², X³: Reunion, X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

Huggy_Monster
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu, 23. Mar 06, 19:11
x3

Post by Huggy_Monster » Tue, 28. Mar 06, 22:05

Question...

how do i get the non-standard software's?

also, how to i get Strafe Drive Extension? i never noticed options for it anywhere

User avatar
Andaius
Posts: 1316
Joined: Tue, 21. Mar 06, 14:06

Post by Andaius » Tue, 28. Mar 06, 22:46

The non-standards are from scripts made by other players that you can get in the S&M forum.

Reread the entery for strafe drive and you will get your answer. :D

Huggy_Monster
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu, 23. Mar 06, 19:11
x3

Post by Huggy_Monster » Tue, 28. Mar 06, 22:50

oh my doh! here me wanting to side step and looking for equipment and i had it all along

now i ask why oh why dont the manual or the ship equipment list actually tell you all ships can strath or that the equipment is installed uggg

qtv
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri, 7. Oct 05, 06:45
x3

Post by qtv » Tue, 28. Mar 06, 23:32

Great, very useful. = ) For a newbie I'll be referring to it often!

It might be an idea to include "prerequisites" in it...eg, I;ve bought a second Mercury and loaded it with best buys and best sell, but without trading extension its...useless when trying to check prices whil flying along (can it be used when I am already docked?). Which annoyed me...I didn;t know if the program was bugged, if i hadn't installed it properly, if I'd done something wrong, or what i did need to be able to check prices while flying along (which is what i actually wanted to do and why i bought them in the first place.)

What is a "factory based ship"?

User avatar
Andaius
Posts: 1316
Joined: Tue, 21. Mar 06, 14:06

Post by Andaius » Tue, 28. Mar 06, 23:40

A "factory based ship" is when you buy and set up a factory of your own you can then "homebase" ships and then with the right trade softwares tell them to buy and sell supplies that the station makes/needs automaticly.

kekaha
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun, 11. Dec 05, 00:02
x3

Post by kekaha » Wed, 29. Mar 06, 00:08

I believe the range for Claim Software is <100. You said <30
P II 833Mhz MMX
32 Meg Geforce 2 GTS
256 Mb RAM (2x 128Mb SIMMs)
Win 98 v.4.10.1998

User avatar
Andaius
Posts: 1316
Joined: Tue, 21. Mar 06, 14:06

Post by Andaius » Wed, 29. Mar 06, 00:14

What I have heard alot is it only prevents you from going EVA the range is the same as if you had to though.

Xylaan
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu, 2. Mar 06, 03:17
x3tc

Post by Xylaan » Wed, 29. Mar 06, 01:49

I think the Trade MK3 software can also be purchased at some Teladi EQ docks ( at least in my game, it's available at the one in Seizewell ).

User avatar
Andaius
Posts: 1316
Joined: Tue, 21. Mar 06, 14:06

Post by Andaius » Wed, 29. Mar 06, 05:36

Trade Mk 3 is availible in all Teladi Equipment Docks and TerraCorp HQ.

egamadeus
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun, 12. Sep 04, 09:05
x3tc

Post by egamadeus » Wed, 29. Mar 06, 06:21

good job being in character and all apricote...

I like it.

egamadeus
--Kuldaris Corporation
--egamadeus, currently learning what I can about scripting, big thanks to All those with tutorials
--current project: Order Ship

User avatar
apricotslice
Posts: 13649
Joined: Sun, 16. May 04, 13:01
x3ap

Post by apricotslice » Wed, 29. Mar 06, 07:18

Major update put in. I hope you like the style. :)

I still need a breakdown of all the scripted commands.

User avatar
apricotslice
Posts: 13649
Joined: Sun, 16. May 04, 13:01
x3ap

Post by apricotslice » Tue, 9. Dec 08, 03:33

Terran Conflict Update.

I'm not going to update this guide for Terran Conflict, as the Manual that comes with the game seems to deal with it all very well (this time).

If anyone finds anything not well enough dealt with in the manual, let me know and I'll reconsider.

User avatar
Spaceweed Adict
Posts: 2350
Joined: Wed, 10. Oct 07, 10:53
x3tc

Post by Spaceweed Adict » Tue, 9. Dec 08, 05:24

well apricotslice I take it the Universe as got that boring for you now a days you've reverted to writing manuals for the misguided then :D

Ar well I suppose someone has too :roll:

Good job there's pilots like yourself out there or a lot of the lads around here would never be able to fly :lol:

Danya Turrel
Posts: 379
Joined: Fri, 22. Dec 06, 03:28
x3tc

Post by Danya Turrel » Tue, 9. Dec 08, 06:04

Nice work, sir!

I think best buy and best sell is working differently in X3TC.

It seems having it in your personal ship is no longer sufficient, as it was in X3R. Now you need it in the MORT (or whatever you want to call it) now.

Perhaps someone with more script savvy can explain how its working this go around.

D

User avatar
apricotslice
Posts: 13649
Joined: Sun, 16. May 04, 13:01
x3ap

Post by apricotslice » Tue, 9. Dec 08, 07:30

I think the difference is that some of the new trade software actually uses the buy and sell, where in X3, only 3rd party scripts did. So its the new software that needs the buy and sell in the ship thats running the script.

From memory, some of the trade scripts that came along for X3 very late on used buy and sell in the trade ship as well.

But vanilla X3 only even needed it in the player ship.

I used to put them standard on all ships anyway, on the basis you never know when you might want to jump in the closest ship at hand, and you want all the software there when you do.

Post Reply

Return to “X Trilogy Universe”