Page 1 of 14

Ships scale image (25 ships)

Posted: Sun, 4. Dec 05, 00:47
by scoochy
I was thinking of making an image, showing the scale of the ships in relation to one another.
The work in progress can be seen here.

Also, a Hi-Res image, hosted by NZ-Wanderer can be found here:
http://www.nzscenery.com/x3-reunion.html
a comressed .rar file.

Standard paper size---- http://img8.imageshack.us/img8/6733/a48st.jpg


PS I know there is typos :P

Posted: Sun, 4. Dec 05, 00:52
by humility925
Nice but problem is I pilot Discover, and when close to M1, almost crash, seen discover or buster is bigger people while M1 is a Smaller people but I'm understand if egosoft could make Discover lot smaller to make M1 look bigger, it's will less lag and closer real size when it's done in 3 person view. But if try to make M1 bigger then there will be more lag.

Posted: Sun, 4. Dec 05, 00:52
by James_2k
Well, when my game arrives.. but having said that, my lappy screen only goes to 1280x800.

Oh well, but anyway, that looks good so far

edit;

i cant even understand what reader said.

something about discoverers.

Prepare a disco immediately! :P

Posted: Sun, 4. Dec 05, 00:54
by scoochy
You do not need to be close. The picture of the m2 was taken at 1.6km and the picture of the m6 was taken at 400 meters.

And, the disco is about the size of a flea on an elephant when compared to m1's.

Posted: Sun, 4. Dec 05, 01:02
by DarthVodka
Does X3 use any negative LOD adjustments, where distant objects are scaled up a little to make them easier to see? I think that's what its called anyway.
If so, taking shots at distance might make your image inaccurate. Just a thought, but probably a load of old bo......

Posted: Sun, 4. Dec 05, 01:23
by scoochy
well, that would certainly suck....

Posted: Sun, 4. Dec 05, 01:26
by Tiedyeguy
I would think putting a grid in the background to mark length would be helpful.
Brian

Posted: Sun, 4. Dec 05, 01:29
by humility925
Funny, That's Boron M1 and M2 is huge then M6 and somehow single M3 beat M1 and M2 anytime.

Posted: Sun, 4. Dec 05, 03:13
by James_2k
DarthVodka wrote:Does X3 use any negative LOD adjustments, where distant objects are scaled up a little to make them easier to see? I think that's what its called anyway.
If so, taking shots at distance might make your image inaccurate. Just a thought, but probably a load of old bo......
umm, i think AHQ (or whatever) does that, but it lowers the poly count, and doesnt (as far as i know) increase the size

Posted: Sun, 4. Dec 05, 03:18
by scoochy
Did a few test concerning that. The poly count does change, but not at the distance needed for ships. This may affect large stations though. But the size of the object does not appera to change.

Took a picture of a freighter at 43 meters, and one at 1.6km. Scaled the image, and they both matched.

Posted: Sun, 4. Dec 05, 03:20
by RaGodofTehSun
i would like to see this

Posted: Sun, 4. Dec 05, 03:21
by scoochy
Tiedyeguy wrote:I would think putting a grid in the background to mark length would be helpful.
Brian
this is just an example. Once all the ships are compiled, then I will add the nice background and all that stuff and merge the layers.

Posted: Sun, 4. Dec 05, 03:26
by Arwan
i can do one of a titan just tell me how far out from the ship you want me to make it acurate for the boron ones. sending me a PM rather than posting here is better for me to see it. :D

Posted: Sun, 4. Dec 05, 04:04
by General Dave
How do you take the backgrounds off the ships ????

Nice work and ideas, i'm liking it.

Posted: Sun, 4. Dec 05, 04:15
by The CG Cleric
One would assume he simply used photoshop to remove the backgrounds.

The idea is nice and while it has very little practical use should give a good idea of the scales involved.
Best of luck with this. Ill look out for future info.