[REQUEST] Docked AI Ships stay longer

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X4: Foundations.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

altug

[REQUEST] Docked AI Ships stay longer

Post by altug » Fri, 6. Jan 23, 08:57

AI ships almost undock immediately after they docked, which seems bit immersion breaker. Is it possible to make their wait time between two random timers like 1min - 5 mins. Also I have some modding & scripting experience if someone can give directions I may also solve this. Thanks!

PromX
x4

Re: [REQUEST] Docked AI Ships stay longer

Post by PromX » Sat, 7. Jan 23, 11:00

I agree, this is quite jarring if you start paying attention to it

Shadow1980
x4

Post by Shadow1980 » Mon, 9. Jan 23, 12:42

Ideally, ships should stay long enough to unload their cargo and load any new cargo, just as the player would have to wait.

For non-trade ships, like you said - a random number to simulate the captain/crew having business on the station.
The surest sign of intelligent life in the universe is that none of it has tried to contact us.

euclid
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)
x4

Post by euclid » Mon, 9. Jan 23, 17:15

altug wrote:
Fri, 6. Jan 23, 08:57
AI ships almost undock immediately after they docked, which seems bit immersion breaker. Is it possible to make their wait time between two random timers like 1min - 5 mins. Also I have some modding & scripting experience if someone can give directions I may also solve this. Thanks!
I have not tested it myself but you should check the aiscript move.undock.xml line 348:

Code: Select all

<undock ship="$thisship" />
which could be delayed by inserting

Code: Select all

<wait min="60s" max="100s" />
before this line There is another undock command (line 667) but this is for player controlled ships only. In any case I do recommend to be careful with the delay range. It may cause ships to queue waiting for free docking slots.

Cheers Euclid