[MOD]DeadAirGate Overhaul v0.6

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X4: Foundations.

Moderators: Scripting / Modding Moderators, Moderators for English X Forum

DeadAirRT
Posts: 118
Joined: Fri, 25. Jan 19, 04:26
x4

Re: [MOD]DeadAirGate Overhaul v0.5

Post by DeadAirRT » Mon, 8. Apr 19, 18:16

ledhead900 wrote:
Mon, 8. Apr 19, 01:29
I too have actually run into the issue where the ships will take a jump that is 4 or so long only to loop around into the connected sector of 1 jump quite strange, seems with this many gates all going everywhere the ai has issues with shortest routes.
I also ran into issues in Paranid space with the wharfs simply never producing any ships they just sit there waiting for resources and that is with all of Mysterials https://steamcommunity.com/workshop/fil ... 1672198487 faction fixs installed except for the catchup module.
The jump calculation has a few quirks that can cause what looks like strange behavior. It calculates the whole route based on distance to next waypoint that leads it to destination. It may take what looks like an indirect path but the actual travel distance is shorter most of the time. There is however a bug that i posted about when a long route ends in sector 002 of a multi-sector cluster where it will diverge wildly from the route to sector 001.

The wharf issue is a bit more of a puzzle. It could be due to several different things but the most likely is the jobs. What mods do you run again?

User avatar
ledhead900
Posts: 315
Joined: Mon, 15. Mar 04, 09:07
x4

Re: [MOD]DeadAirGate Overhaul v0.5

Post by ledhead900 » Tue, 9. Apr 19, 10:12

Could be jobs could be the Ai doing dumb shit, yea could be that bug you speak about, tho I am unsure how going from the center of a races sector to a sector literally next to that it with a line of sight of 1 gate between them makes the Ai decide to jump to around to the outer edges of the races sectors and back too get too the destination which is what is going on a lot for me when I order pilots of ships I am just a passenger on to take me to some station a sector over I wind up seeing the order path looping up 2-5 sectors before reaching the destination which as Is said with my own eye-balls I can see is only 1 gate away from current destination.

I do not think it is this galaxy's fault I believe it is the Ai Logic in general which a chore to be had at the best of times.
I am also not very familiar with a lot of complex tasks yet, I barely started my own station some 80 hours into this play I was lacking hardware to run the game above a consistent 40 on launch and last few months have been only time I had to toy with it in a playable state and have been swapping mods like crazy but coming to an idea of what I like atm in this mod list.


Mods I run.
Image
Image


Unrelated stuff:
I lean towards the savvy side a bit and If I can wrap my head around this XML crap (which I hate I like LUA and Python)
I have been wanting to make a diverse larger universe myself using the galaxy editor you can grab here I am sure you have advice on it hope its pretty simple and not all manual XML edits because I probably won't bother if it is.
But I like this design you have going, I was going to fire up a map of X3 then maybe Rebirth and merge those into a seamless addon for this.

With some law behind them, like you cant just simply find the gate for X3 its more of a task like you eventually find the gate but it's destroyed initially as you'd expect and you will have to rebuild it however once built you get access too X3's sectors along with the Split Race which I know is not released yet but a nice way to lore in why there is no real Split presence in X4 as all but the traders and civs got stuck behind a broken gate during the old wars when the gates were broken.

Same deal with Rebirth, I was just waiting for the DLC but I could setup the universe now and do testing before then only it just adds more sectors and a more spread out kind of universe to what exists now.
I have no idea if the whole sector take over thing is in the game yet but I know it is supposed to be a thing in X4 eventually but that is what I had in mind for most of my expanded galaxy to work as
you would have a few obvious sector choices for existing races to start with to get the economy moving in those unreachable by player sectors but the vast majority will be different from a time period closer to X4 post X3 wars and majority of them un-claimed by any race leaving the olde now redesigned galaxys open for the taking or loosing it would be quite interesting to see how it shapes up after races begin to take claim and fight to expand naturally across the galaxy.
*modified*
I lost my Hans to be flying Solo.
Image

DeadAirRT
Posts: 118
Joined: Fri, 25. Jan 19, 04:26
x4

Re: [MOD]DeadAirGate Overhaul v0.5

Post by DeadAirRT » Tue, 9. Apr 19, 20:08

Do you happen to remember specifically which sector to which sector is causing issues? I can do some more digging on the jump route issue.

I'd recommend grabbing DeadAir God too with World War Start. It only affects new games but it fixes some holes in the economy set up by vanilla. PAR for example are missing some resources entirely and can't source from others if they are at war. None of the other mods look like they would cause any issues but I'm not too familiar with some of them.

The gate rebuilding idea is something I had early on too, but from what I've seen it sadly can't be done at the current stage. It seemed like most galaxy stuff is static based on the files. I haven't used the galaxy creator so I can't speak on that, I do all my changes manually in XML. Once you find a decent system of naming things, a lot of it becomes find/replace which helps reduce the amount of errors (which are bound to happen when you have to connect several hundred macros/connections over several files)

Also, update:

DeadAirGateOverhaulROR -
Adjusts map and gates so that mods can be used together.

User avatar
ledhead900
Posts: 315
Joined: Mon, 15. Mar 04, 09:07
x4

Re: [MOD]DeadAirGate Overhaul v0.5

Post by ledhead900 » Tue, 9. Apr 19, 21:01

DeadAirRT wrote:
Tue, 9. Apr 19, 20:08
Do you happen to remember specifically which sector to which sector is causing issues? I can do some more digging on the jump route issue.

I'd recommend grabbing DeadAir God too with World War Start. It only affects new games but it fixes some holes in the economy set up by vanilla. PAR for example are missing some resources entirely and can't source from others if they are at war. None of the other mods look like they would cause any issues but I'm not too familiar with some of them.

The gate rebuilding idea is something I had early on too, but from what I've seen it sadly can't be done at the current stage. It seemed like most galaxy stuff is static based on the files. I haven't used the galaxy creator so I can't speak on that, I do all my changes manually in XML. Once you find a decent system of naming things, a lot of it becomes find/replace which helps reduce the amount of errors (which are bound to happen when you have to connect several hundred macros/connections over several files)

Also, update:

DeadAirGateOverhaulROR -
Adjusts map and gates so that mods can be used together.
Update - Nice now just need to wait for VRO to get his update out, also have feeling it may req new game to work correctly with his new mod due to new sectors.

As to what you asked -
Image
Redline is behaviour I tend to see and usually happens immediately after you give a direct order to fly to or dock at.
Also, the start of both lines is the sector I had issues sending them from, but tbh I stopped paying attention how they get where many hours ago and just let them do whatever and if I am onboard and they do a silly path I just jump in the seat and do it myself, deffo seems to be mainly an issue when I command to dock at that they tend to fly across a few sectors and loop back even when there is 1 to 2 jumps I can see visually they kinda just ignore that and go for the longest route.

As for my mods, well the ones you know are the ones which matter really.
The rest are pure visual or changes to Mission offers/Rewards or the UI

The two API mods are simply that API do nothing on thier own and only used to run mods which use the API to modify the HUD and add functions to the right click menu or map which as you can see in my screen shot I have a new button in the map which lists all of my stuff in a more useful way, and one of the mods adds a bunch of default orders too right click menu so no need to go digging around the info pane for the ship just drag and select a bunch then set default instruction or do some other instructions to the whole selection.

The only ones which modify the actual economy and trade sectors are the ones you would be aware about, like Faction mods and yours, VRO is a ship balance and visual overhaul.
*modified*
I lost my Hans to be flying Solo.
Image

TSchmidtC
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri, 29. Mar 19, 17:44

Re: [MOD]DeadAirGate Overhaul v0.5

Post by TSchmidtC » Wed, 10. Apr 19, 13:01

I intend to start a new game with ROR, VRO, FW and this mod as the X Universe almost doubles it would not be a good idea to double the number of shipyards and equipment docks as many ships have to be built in larger battles and is this feasible for this mod?

User avatar
ledhead900
Posts: 315
Joined: Mon, 15. Mar 04, 09:07
x4

Re: [MOD]DeadAirGate Overhaul v0.5

Post by ledhead900 » Wed, 10. Apr 19, 15:24

TSchmidtC wrote:
Wed, 10. Apr 19, 13:01
I intend to start a new game with ROR, VRO, FW and this mod as the X Universe almost doubles it would not be a good idea to double the number of shipyards and equipment docks as many ships have to be built in larger battles and is this feasible for this mod?
FW?
Also, this mod requires Faction FIxes, I think VRO recommends it aswell.
https://steamcommunity.com/workshop/fil ... 1672198487 - everything but the catchup unless you want the AI to be able to get a handicap when they are much too overwhelmed in the war lossing badly if so use the catchup module which gives them % of bonus towards production over the enemys.
*modified*
I lost my Hans to be flying Solo.
Image

TSchmidtC
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri, 29. Mar 19, 17:44

Re: [MOD]DeadAirGate Overhaul v0.5

Post by TSchmidtC » Wed, 10. Apr 19, 17:14

ledhead900 wrote:
Wed, 10. Apr 19, 15:24
TSchmidtC wrote:
Wed, 10. Apr 19, 13:01
I intend to start a new game with ROR, VRO, FW and this mod as the X Universe almost doubles it would not be a good idea to double the number of shipyards and equipment docks as many ships have to be built in larger battles and is this feasible for this mod?
FW?
Also, this mod requires Faction FIxes, I think VRO recommends it aswell.
https://steamcommunity.com/workshop/fil ... 1672198487 - everything but the catchup unless you want the AI to be able to get a handicap when they are much too overwhelmed in the war lossing badly if so use the catchup module which gives them % of bonus towards production over the enemys.

FW = Faction War, I have already tried something with Rise of the Ossian Raider and Fraction War and the Xenon and the ORA are very strong opponents that the other factions do not come with the shipbuilding because they have to build warships and freighters

DeadAirRT
Posts: 118
Joined: Fri, 25. Jan 19, 04:26
x4

Re: [MOD]DeadAirGate Overhaul v0.5

Post by DeadAirRT » Wed, 10. Apr 19, 17:57

ledhead900 wrote:
Tue, 9. Apr 19, 21:01
Redline is behaviour I tend to see and usually happens immediately after you give a direct order to fly to or dock at.
Also, the start of both lines is the sector I had issues sending them from, but tbh I stopped paying attention how they get where many hours ago and just let them do whatever and if I am onboard and they do a silly path I just jump in the seat and do it myself, deffo seems to be mainly an issue when I command to dock at that they tend to fly across a few sectors and loop back even when there is 1 to 2 jumps I can see visually they kinda just ignore that and go for the longest route.
In that instance, it is calculating the distance to the gate it is using as shorter than the gate that is direct. I believe it uses a similar method to Dijkstra
Spoiler
Show
Image
The easiest fix sadly is to put a waypoint first closer to the gate you think is better then tell them to dock. Obviously very annoying and if I can find a solution, I will work on it as soon as an idea comes to me.
Last edited by DeadAirRT on Wed, 10. Apr 19, 18:26, edited 1 time in total.

DeadAirRT
Posts: 118
Joined: Fri, 25. Jan 19, 04:26
x4

Re: [MOD]DeadAirGate Overhaul v0.5

Post by DeadAirRT » Wed, 10. Apr 19, 18:21

TSchmidtC wrote:
Wed, 10. Apr 19, 13:01
I intend to start a new game with ROR, VRO, FW and this mod as the X Universe almost doubles it would not be a good idea to double the number of shipyards and equipment docks as many ships have to be built in larger battles and is this feasible for this mod?
From my experience, the changes of my submods allows the factions to almost fully utilize the one shipyard/wharf but it isn't the limiting factor yet. I have an idea already in the works of how to make a faction build a second shipyard/wharf if they have a very strong economy.

I have an unpublished mod that tweaks the economy even more (scales production amounts for 5 minute cycles, increases effect of workforce, increases cargo space of all transport ships and station storage modules, and others) that I am still tweaking. The longest I've had to wait for a ship to start production was about 10 minutes during a multi front offensive (argon attacking Xen, Tel, and Hop) so I feel that it's almost to a state to publish.

kmunoz
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun, 25. Feb 07, 20:59
x4

Re: [MOD]DeadAirGate Overhaul v0.5

Post by kmunoz » Thu, 11. Apr 19, 00:51

Is anyone else having an issue where there are a whole lot of dark sectors, with no backgrounds and no light sources?

DeadAirRT
Posts: 118
Joined: Fri, 25. Jan 19, 04:26
x4

Re: [MOD]DeadAirGate Overhaul v0.5

Post by DeadAirRT » Thu, 11. Apr 19, 04:50

kmunoz wrote:
Thu, 11. Apr 19, 00:51
Is anyone else having an issue where there are a whole lot of dark sectors, with no backgrounds and no light sources?
Saw your post on nexus.

If the sectors have no skybox, light, background it means that the assets aren't being loaded. Most likely due to filepath of mod.

What operating system are you on?
Where is mod located? (full drive filepath)

User avatar
ledhead900
Posts: 315
Joined: Mon, 15. Mar 04, 09:07
x4

Re: [MOD]DeadAirGate Overhaul v0.5

Post by ledhead900 » Thu, 11. Apr 19, 06:30

There is a well known issue for win7 and 8 and some win 10 configurations where if a mod is not in the games root folder under assets it does things like this and cannot find the mod or use assets.

For some packing file into a catalog resolves but tbh it would be much better if everyone just installed everything to the root to begin with to avoid errors.

This is a good idea because the documents folder is a protected user folder and some users likely don't have or have not given the permission for the game process to access more sub folders than the game initlsly sets up for itself I could be wrong on this.

A solution tho if savvy enough is to symlink the extension folder into the root then you can keep the extensions folder anywhere you want in any drive.

Symlink are symbolic to the operation system and it reads any linked files or paths as it narivelly placed into the location of the link.

Sys operators use them all the time get around situations where you want to move a lot of user files into one server but retain system path access.
*modified*
I lost my Hans to be flying Solo.
Image

kmunoz
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun, 25. Feb 07, 20:59
x4

Re: [MOD]DeadAirGate Overhaul v0.5

Post by kmunoz » Sat, 13. Apr 19, 03:50

Normally I would put mods in the correct (application) extensions directory, but I was using Vortex for this one, which doesn't have an option to put the mod anywhere other than the documents directory.

User avatar
ledhead900
Posts: 315
Joined: Mon, 15. Mar 04, 09:07
x4

Re: [MOD]DeadAirGate Overhaul v0.5

Post by ledhead900 » Sat, 13. Apr 19, 07:04

kmunoz wrote:
Sat, 13. Apr 19, 03:50
Normally I would put mods in the correct (application) extensions directory, but I was using Vortex for this one, which doesn't have an option to put the mod anywhere other than the documents directory.
My Vortex did that recently as well very annoying but you know what I did, I copied it all back to the games root after install.
Another way to do that is to use the same trick Vortex does with a hard link back to the extension folder in your Documents.
It as Vortex is not using some magic to make these links and storage the files somewhere else no they are using what is called an mklink

This allows a file to be located anywhere on any drive/ network location and creating various kinds of links to it which the OS will interpret the location of the link as all those files existing in the location of the link the software has no idea the files are located anywhere else and it also gets around a lot of permission issues so it is widely used on domain servers to give access to various folders without sharing the entire path which may req access to several or more servers and becomes a security risk when you can just symbolic link all you need back to the Domain Server and call it a night without setting up any access to anything the path the links are kept in.

If you are not comfy doing this manually you can use tools to make links http://schinagl.priv.at/nt/hardlinkshel ... nsion.html which is what I use or https://sourceforge.net/projects/symlink-creator/
Vortex makes those links for you already even when it installs them into your Docs folder just copy whole extension folder to the root of X4 and delete the one in the Docs it will not take any more space or use any space on the drive X4 unless you have Vortex saving it's downloaded mods to the same drive.

Alternatively, you can be a bit savvier and use mklink to create a mirror link in which you can keep your files in the docs folder but have it update the links in your X4 Root for new files.
The most simple way tho would be too Symbolic link the docs extension folder into the ROOT of X4 which will work around all the issues as X4 will have no idea your mods are in Doc as far as the application is concerned they are loading from the root path and you will never have to worry about permissions to the Docs folder as it will use the system user which has access to everything anyway.

Hope that helps.
*modified*
I lost my Hans to be flying Solo.
Image

kmunoz
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun, 25. Feb 07, 20:59
x4

Re: [MOD]DeadAirGate Overhaul v0.5

Post by kmunoz » Sun, 14. Apr 19, 04:52

That's a great idea, I'll definitely set that up. Thanks for the suggestion!

Post Reply

Return to “X4: Foundations - Scripts and Modding”