[MOD] Station Engineers

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X Rebirth.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

Post Reply
w.evans
Posts: 2962
Joined: Tue, 18. Nov 14, 17:23
x4

Post by w.evans » Thu, 9. Jul 15, 15:21

Hey Jess,

good to know that it's working. And sorry I couldn't help with your other problems, but couldn't replicate them.

JESS 246
Posts: 543
Joined: Mon, 3. Jul 06, 03:24
x3

Post by JESS 246 » Thu, 9. Jul 15, 19:44

Thanks W.

As i said i'm now capturing ships to loot cargo then sell on rather than keep and still yet to see if engineers work on station repairs but so far what station i have are still being built.

A pointer for your combat mod some of the weapon in game are slightly weak in comparison with enemy fighters maybe some new or existing ones beefed up a bit as the only one that's any good at dissidents is the pulse master mks I % 2 but are weak and overheat to quick.

w.evans
Posts: 2962
Joined: Tue, 18. Nov 14, 17:23
x4

Post by w.evans » Thu, 9. Jul 15, 23:05

Hey Jess,

Player weapons are actually more powerful than NPC weapons of the same type. Example:

player pulsed maser mk1:

Code: Select all

      <bullet speed="3400" lifetime="0.7" range="2380" amount="1" barrelamount="1" icon="player_weapons_primary_impulse" timediff="0.1" angle="0.15" maxhits="1" ricochet="0" scale="0" attach="0" />
      <heat value="240" />
      <reload rate="8" />
      <damage value="450" repair="0" />
NPC fighter pulsed maser mk1:

Code: Select all

      <bullet speed="3400" lifetime="0.7" range="2380" amount="1" barrelamount="1" timediff="0.2" angle="0.15" maxhits="1" ricochet="0" scale="0" attach="0" />
      <reload rate="8" />
      <damage value="175" repair="0" />
so the player weapon is identical to the NPC weapon, except for doing a little more than 2.5 times more damage per hit.

The main limitation with the player weapon is the heat value, but I think that's a gameplay thing to make the player think about evading/boosting -- something to do other than point the nose of the Skunk at hostile fighters and mash the fire button. (Which is how I remember having played Wing Commander a very long time ago!) And heat is sort of simulated with NPC fighters since they're programmed to approach while shooting, then evade for a while until they reach some distance before beginning another approach.

Fighters become easy to deal with once 1 or 2 capships are in the squad, which you'll probably know since you've been playing longer than I have! Missiles are useful too. I do admit to having beefed up my missiles a bit since I like astrobees and always hated how they kinda suck, but never released that particular mod. oliverjanda published a mod a while back that makes missiles much faster, and much more effective, though. You can get that here.

JESS 246
Posts: 543
Joined: Mon, 3. Jul 06, 03:24
x3

Post by JESS 246 » Fri, 10. Jul 15, 03:06

Hi W.

Thanks for info though player weapons don't seem like it oh well how about new ones.

I do use the fast missile mod and i did use the more missile mod but they were so slow even with the fast mod so i went back to vanilla ones.

Have you tried this mod Novadrones dump-fire their far better than firing them the old way against cap ships.

Also i use improved missile mod i think this one adds a couple new ones and there's a very destructive one dropped by xenon cap ships if you're lucky called Thanners i think well something like that, usually one will take out an average cap ship and two for your bigger ships and its self guiding long range torpedo mind you i haven't seen any yet in 3.60v maybe when i get to xenon territory.

w.evans
Posts: 2962
Joined: Tue, 18. Nov 14, 17:23
x4

Post by w.evans » Fri, 10. Jul 15, 08:51

There's NovaCameron's mod too. Not sure if it still works, though. Hasn't been updated in a while, but I'm pretty sure that it's more recent than Improved Missiles.

JESS 246
Posts: 543
Joined: Mon, 3. Jul 06, 03:24
x3

Post by JESS 246 » Fri, 10. Jul 15, 12:57

Hi W.

That's the one i said were slow and most had too shorter range nearly all fighters escape and i think it dose not work with the craft missiles mod had mentioned something to author.

I will give it a thumbs up as some were very good when they hit but some had very large blast radius you hit an enemy and all the friendlies around copt it as well that is very rear with vanilla ones.

Now we have had another update 3.60 beta 3 and still the engineers won't repair so i won't know if this mod is working for me.

Sparky Sparkycorp
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)
Posts: 7873
Joined: Tue, 30. Mar 04, 12:28
x4

Post by Sparky Sparkycorp » Fri, 14. Aug 15, 00:41

Hiya,

A bit of feedback follows:

1. It seems like Engineers don't become added to the list of hireable station crew in the sidebar. Purely cosmetic but thought you might like to know.

2. Not 100% positive it's not a mod conflict/other mod issue (I have a few...) but my stations with or without hired Engineers can have non-working Engineers listed amongst the crew in the station Detail (4) screen. Not sure if this is bad or not, although the extra mods are part of the stated number of Employees.

Regards,
Sparks
boarding options
brspawnnpc
cf.mission_computer
copilotconvo
ego_dlc_teladi_outpost
galaxystationrange
greenmousecursors
litauen_capital_ship_bridge
litauen_stationannouncements
litauen_yisha_in_hiringfiring
loltak_icim
mt_enhanced_money_transfer
phipszmultiassignment
show skills
showmeyourfactionplease
sidebarextender
UTCombinedDocks
UTFasterDialogue-master
w.e_engineerdronefix
w.e_mct (sorry, I lazied out after the earlier update and will use Nexus before posting in MCT threads)
w.e_plot_station
w.e_stationengineers

w.evans
Posts: 2962
Joined: Tue, 18. Nov 14, 17:23
x4

Post by w.evans » Fri, 14. Aug 15, 00:45

Do you mean in player-owned stations? Have you noticed the same problem in NPC-owned stations? I just ask because I have been hiring engineers from NPC-owned stations, and if there's a new problem in that regard, I'd like to know.

In player-owned stations, I must confess that, while I got and installed BR's spawn NPC mod, I haven't actually checked any of my stations since I was busy playing with fleets again. Will check now.

Sparky Sparkycorp
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)
Posts: 7873
Joined: Tue, 30. Mar 04, 12:28
x4

Post by Sparky Sparkycorp » Fri, 14. Aug 15, 01:01

Good question - NPC stations look fine. Just player ones. I noticed when double-checking which player station I had just assigned an Engineer to before assigning one to a 2nd player station in same zone.

w.evans
Posts: 2962
Joined: Tue, 18. Nov 14, 17:23
x4

Post by w.evans » Fri, 14. Aug 15, 01:01

Hey Sparky,

Just went to Lava Flow where I have four stations built, and the sidebar comm is showing 37 engineers for hire distributed among the four stations.

edit: I have everything on your list except for:

boarding options
greenmousecursors
litauen_stationannouncements
litauen_yisha_in_hiringfiring
loltak_icim
UTCombinedDocks
UTFasterDialogue-master

Don't see any conflicts in that list, although I'm not familiar with loltak_icim, litauen's yisha_in_hiringfiring, and both of Uni's mods.
Last edited by w.evans on Fri, 14. Aug 15, 01:06, edited 1 time in total.

Sparky Sparkycorp
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)
Posts: 7873
Joined: Tue, 30. Mar 04, 12:28
x4

Post by Sparky Sparkycorp » Fri, 14. Aug 15, 01:05

Ah, I think I wasn't clear, sorry. I mean the extra Engineers are seen in the station's Detail menu (option 4 from the Zone map).

w.evans
Posts: 2962
Joined: Tue, 18. Nov 14, 17:23
x4

Post by w.evans » Fri, 14. Aug 15, 01:15

Just checked again. This time, there are 44 engineers in Lava Flow, but station details are each showing just one engineer on-staff. (A pity. Was hoping that the 37 I saw there before would all be working!)

Also tried hiring an engineer and assigned him to a station to see if they'd double up. They switched: the engineer already working there took a pod to the Skunk while the guy I assigned took the pod to the station. Station details still shows just one engineer working.

Sparky Sparkycorp
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)
Posts: 7873
Joined: Tue, 30. Mar 04, 12:28
x4

Post by Sparky Sparkycorp » Fri, 14. Aug 15, 01:19

Thank you and sorry for goose chase.

w.evans
Posts: 2962
Joined: Tue, 18. Nov 14, 17:23
x4

Post by w.evans » Fri, 14. Aug 15, 01:21

No problem. If you do manage to track down cause, would be great if you could let me know.

eMYNOCK
Moderator (DevNet)
Moderator (DevNet)
Posts: 2042
Joined: Thu, 21. Aug 03, 10:37
x4

Post by eMYNOCK » Sat, 15. Aug 15, 20:12

w.evans wrote:No problem. If you do manage to track down cause, would be great if you could let me know.
brspawnnpc

this one creates NPC's on Playerstations.. including Player Race that will be shown in the Management Overview.

For example:

If you have a Player Race Ammo Dealer he will be shown under Station Crew.

If you have a Player Race Drone Dealer... or other non "working" NPC they will be shown.

A possible way to prevent confusing informations in the Crew Overview would be to not spawn Player Race Station NPCs via Script...

Regards
For my Steam Workshop, klick below:
Image

Post Reply

Return to “X Rebirth - Scripts and Modding”