[TOOL] Unlocking info and object knowledge.

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X Rebirth.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

Assailer
Posts: 476
Joined: Sun, 25. May 14, 17:45
x4

[TOOL] Unlocking info and object knowledge.

Post by Assailer » Mon, 13. Oct 14, 12:26

In case you do not want to spend time to unlock info points and install agents via smalltalk, the tool here does it for you.

http://mage-online.com/public/images/xrb.7z


You will see all the zones, sectors, clusters, stations, highways and you will get most of the module info point discoveries on stations.

You will have agent installed to all stations.


This is a command line tool. If you run it without parameter, it tries to load quicksave.xml by default, otherwise it opens the file in the argument.

The original file is never changed, it will always save a new file instead e.g. quicksave.xml is saved as quicksave.xml_ (adds '_' to end)

It works best if you start a new game, wait a minute (so macros at start will finish running) then hit quick save. Go to command line, find your saves, run the tool. Before overwriting the original with the new '_', this is the point when you would take backup.

It should of course work on existing save games as well, but in that case i strongly suggest taking backups.
Last edited by Assailer on Fri, 17. Oct 14, 12:11, edited 1 time in total.

reggie368
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon, 29. Mar 04, 08:38
x4

Post by reggie368 » Mon, 13. Oct 14, 17:45

Cool !

I'm gonna try it right away ! Thanks ! :)

User avatar
Earth Ultimatum IV.
Posts: 5280
Joined: Mon, 3. May 10, 14:39
x4

Post by Earth Ultimatum IV. » Mon, 13. Oct 14, 18:34

Cool! Having just recently started a new game, I really dont feel like getting those trade agents again.
I had one on every possible station of the game, now I dont have any.
Will try this!

But here is a question first:
how are enemy stations handled? Iam enemy with PMC, cause I stole a few things from them, will trade agents be also added on PMC stations?

Assailer
Posts: 476
Joined: Sun, 25. May 14, 17:45
x4

Post by Assailer » Tue, 14. Oct 14, 06:55

Yes, the agents will install and they will report prices in trade window. They will show up in red, so it's only informational, but at least you will see enemy prices and wares :)


If you wish, i could exclude hostile factions. The only reason this is c++ because python runs forever on 40mb XML... Nothing beats RapidXML & c++ when it comes to speed :P

Edit: So far, these 3 factions are excluded:

if (strcmp(station->m_owner, "xenon") == 0)
{
}
else if (strcmp(station->m_owner, "familyryak") == 0)
{
}
else if (strcmp(station->m_owner, "reivers") == 0)
{
}
else
{
if (SubscriptionsNode)
{
n = SubscriptionsNode->document()->allocate_node(node_element, "object");
SubscriptionsNode->append_node(n);
a = SubscriptionsNode->document()->allocate_attribute("id", station->m_id);
n->append_attribute(a);
}
}

Sparky Sparkycorp
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)
Posts: 8074
Joined: Tue, 30. Mar 04, 12:28
x4

Post by Sparky Sparkycorp » Tue, 14. Oct 14, 08:43

Nice one :)

Having gone through the process of doing it manually across the galaxy a few times now, I'll look forward to this on my next restart.

Assailer
Posts: 476
Joined: Sun, 25. May 14, 17:45
x4

Post by Assailer » Tue, 14. Oct 14, 09:16

I will share sources on GitHub.

Assailer
Posts: 476
Joined: Sun, 25. May 14, 17:45
x4

Post by Assailer » Tue, 14. Oct 14, 09:33

If you wish to compile it for yourself, or make changes to what the tool does, you can get all the source files i used here:

https://github.com/mageonline/xrb

The binary is in the release folder.

Enjoy!

User avatar
Earth Ultimatum IV.
Posts: 5280
Joined: Mon, 3. May 10, 14:39
x4

Post by Earth Ultimatum IV. » Tue, 14. Oct 14, 14:03

Downloading right now.
Does it work with games that are already started? (with around 5 hours of gameplay)

Assailer
Posts: 476
Joined: Sun, 25. May 14, 17:45
x4

Post by Assailer » Tue, 14. Oct 14, 15:50

yes, it does, i have patched my 2.20 saves to test it.
Last edited by Assailer on Tue, 14. Oct 14, 16:47, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Earth Ultimatum IV.
Posts: 5280
Joined: Mon, 3. May 10, 14:39
x4

Post by Earth Ultimatum IV. » Tue, 14. Oct 14, 16:41

Uhmmm... How does it work?
Iam no computer genious, how to make it working? :)

Assailer
Posts: 476
Joined: Sun, 25. May 14, 17:45
x4

Post by Assailer » Tue, 14. Oct 14, 16:46

1. find your save files
2. take backup just in case :)
3. copy the tool to the folder where the xml files are
4. double click xrb.exe to load your savegame.xml
5. you should see a new file called savegame.xml_ appear after it has finished
6. rename the savegame.xml_ to savegame.xml
7. load the game

swatti
Posts: 1278
Joined: Sun, 7. Dec 03, 12:03
x4

Post by swatti » Tue, 4. Nov 14, 15:00

Doesnt work... Or did i do something wrong?

Found saves, backed up, dropped the exe there, ran it, it made me a new "quicksave" with the _ on its name, removed my old one, removed the _ in the name, launched game and loaded it...

First time in devries but no stations in map, no agents added.

EDIT: it did increase my save size and says certain sectors "info X-time old" like ive been there but i havent.

User avatar
Sandalpocalypse
Posts: 4447
Joined: Tue, 2. Dec 03, 22:28
x4

Post by Sandalpocalypse » Tue, 4. Nov 14, 16:11

nice tool. is there a parameter to stop it adding trade agents?
Irrational factors are clearly at work.

Sparky Sparkycorp
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)
Posts: 8074
Joined: Tue, 30. Mar 04, 12:28
x4

Post by Sparky Sparkycorp » Sun, 14. Dec 14, 02:27

Hi there,

Does anyone know if this is compatible with the Rebirth 3.0 release?

Cheers,
Sparks

Sparky Sparkycorp
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)
Posts: 8074
Joined: Tue, 30. Mar 04, 12:28
x4

Post by Sparky Sparkycorp » Sun, 14. Dec 14, 02:27

Double post.
Last edited by Sparky Sparkycorp on Mon, 16. Mar 15, 10:12, edited 1 time in total.

Assailer
Posts: 476
Joined: Sun, 25. May 14, 17:45
x4

Post by Assailer » Sun, 14. Dec 14, 09:32

I will check this to be sure. In theory it should be, as it only adds KNOWN flags and rebuilds SCAN data.

Sparky Sparkycorp
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)
Posts: 8074
Joined: Tue, 30. Mar 04, 12:28
x4

Post by Sparky Sparkycorp » Sun, 14. Dec 14, 09:36

Thanks very much!

Assailer
Posts: 476
Joined: Sun, 25. May 14, 17:45
x4

Post by Assailer » Sun, 14. Dec 14, 09:49

Assailer wrote:I will check this to be sure. In theory it should be, as it only adds KNOWN flags and rebuilds SCAN data.
Just tested and it is compatible.

Create a fresh teladi start for example, talk through the initial script and scan at least one INFO point before saving, so the tool can find in XML where to add the other info points.

If you start story mode, the unlocks and info scanning is limited as before.

You can run on a 2.5 save which was once loaded and saved as 3.0 to unlock new zones and gates.

Sparky Sparkycorp
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)
Posts: 8074
Joined: Tue, 30. Mar 04, 12:28
x4

Post by Sparky Sparkycorp » Sun, 14. Dec 14, 10:21

Thanks very much for quick testing :)

I used the DeVries Freelancer start as a new game in 3.0 but I was unable to use your tool successfully. Probably a mistake on my end.

When I ran the tool from within the default Rebirth directory containing my quicksave, a small black window pops open for a fraction of a second then disappears. A quicksave.xml_ file wasn't created.

DeVries Freelancer start in case relevant:
http://forum.egosoft.com/viewtopic.php?t=369194

meltedplasticarmyguy
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun, 15. Mar 15, 22:53

Post by meltedplasticarmyguy » Mon, 16. Mar 15, 00:34

Either it stopped working for 3.5 or I am doing something wrong because the .exe does not create the new file. I am running Win 8.1 and it is the STEAM version. When I click on the .exe file a window flashes on the screen and nothing happens. Any ideas?

Post Reply

Return to “X Rebirth - Scripts and Modding”