Page 2 of 6

Posted: Sun, 14. Dec 14, 20:59
by StormMagi
This was the message from the Steam user:
Arcast 3 hours ago
I only had two mods installed, yours and Capital Ships Bridge. An engineer aboard my Arawn was stuck on analysing components so i suspected one of the mods. I disabled them and the engineer started repairing. I enabled them both and the issue was back. So I disbled Show Skills and the engineer started repairing again.


I had to reinstall XR since a number of things were acting up. I will be testing the Skunk w/ Engineer hopefully today but no later than tomorrow.

Also if it helps I can post the entire mod code here in the thread for easy troubleshooting :P

Posted: Sun, 14. Dec 14, 21:57
by w.evans
I can't see how though. The only actions present in this mod are:

Code: Select all

      <actions> 
        <set_skills_visible entity="event.object" visible="true" /> 

        <show_help force="true" chance="0" custom="'Revealed skills of NPC %1 (%2), distance=%3, combinedskill=%4'.[event.object, event.object.knownname, event.object.distanceto.{player.entity}, event.object.combinedskill]" />

        <reset_cue cue="this" /> 
      </actions> 
The first action sets the visibility of the skills of the person you're talking with to "true."

The second is redundant, but all it does, according to UniTrader, is to provide a hint that the skills of a given NPC are known.

And the third resets the script.

The rest of the mod are conditions to make sure that the target of the mod is valid. I must say, very solidly written. And I really can't see anything that might cause the problem described. Don't doubt that it happened, but have no explanation nor solution for it, I'm afraid.

edit: Sorry. Meant the skills of the person you're talking with. Of course the visibility of the person is "true." Would be interesting if that could be set to "false" though.

Posted: Sun, 14. Dec 14, 22:41
by StormMagi
Well when I fired up XR yesterday I couldn't talk to any of the NPCs I hired at all, even w/o the mod. Did a fresh install today so will be testing from a stock scenario start.

Posted: Sun, 14. Dec 14, 22:43
by UniTrader
StormMagi wrote:Well when I fired up XR yesterday I couldn't talk to any of the NPCs I hired at all, even w/o the mod. Did a fresh install today so will be testing from a stock scenario start.
what was the last NPC you talked to? CBJ mentoined somewhere else that this happens if a conversation is not proerly terminated..

Posted: Sun, 14. Dec 14, 22:46
by StormMagi
I don't recall TBH and I already deleted that save set since I forgot what I was doing. I logged into the Skunk, went to crew quarters and none of the npcs would talk to me so I landed and could talk to other npcs just fine. Boarded Skunk again and still nada, couldn't even comm the crew on my plot Rahanas.

Posted: Mon, 15. Dec 14, 01:14
by StormMagi
I honestly don't know how, but I did verify that having Show Skills running does prevent/interrupt (if it is already running and you activate the mod) the engineer repair process.

Will contact Mad_Joker to see if he/she is willing to help update the mod.

Posted: Mon, 15. Dec 14, 01:18
by w.evans
Have you tried testing it with the second action commented out? Can't see how it should cause what's happening, but it shouldn't be necessary, so might as well.

Posted: Mon, 15. Dec 14, 01:35
by StormMagi
No I haven't. I can try but as I mentioned earlier in the thread I published this mod with permission but didn't write it.

Posted: Mon, 15. Dec 14, 01:42
by w.evans

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!-- 
	This file is part of the X Rebirth ShowSkills mod.
	The code was mostly copied from the NESA mod with 
	permission of the author Mad_Joker.
	
	Author: StormMagi
  
	Last Change:
	Version: V1.0
	Date: 28th Nov 2013
  
	X Rebirth version: 1.17
-->
<mdscript name="ShowSkills" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance" xsi:noNamespaceSchemaLocation="../../../modding/md.xsd"> 
  <cues>
    <!-- 
        Cue to reveal skills. 
     --> 
    <cue name="SectionHandler_ShowSkills_RevealSkills" instantiate="false" namespace="this"> 
      <conditions> 
        <check_all> 
          <event_conversation_started />          
          <!-- We ignore opening of the main menu (which is a conversation with Yisha) --> 
          <check_value value="event.object" exact="player.copilot" negate="true" /> 
          <!-- Only specific NPC types have skills --> 
          <set_value name="$lSuitableTypes" exact="[entitytype.pilot, entitytype.commander, entitytype.manager, entitytype.engineer, entitytype.architect, entitytype.marine, entitytype.defencecontrol]" /> 
          <!-- some checks, mostly copied from Smalltalk.xml --> 
          <check_value value="event.object.page and (event.object.isspecialist or not event.object.iscontrolentity) and not event.object.skillsvisible" exact="true" /> 
          <check_value value="event.object.isspecialist or $lSuitableTypes.indexof.{event.object.type}" exact="true" /> 
        </check_all> 
      </conditions> 
      <actions> 
        <!-- finally, we can set the skills to be visible --> 
        <set_skills_visible entity="event.object" visible="true" /> 
        <!-- <show_help force="true" chance="0" custom="'Revealed skills of NPC %1 (%2), distance=%3, combinedskill=%4'.[event.object, event.object.knownname, event.object.distanceto.{player.entity}, event.object.combinedskill]" />  -->

        <!-- we reset the cue to make sure we can trigger it again --> 
        <reset_cue cue="this" /> 
      </actions> 
    </cue>
  </cues> 
</mdscript> 
Hope that helps.

Posted: Mon, 15. Dec 14, 02:31
by StormMagi
Will copy and run that then.

Doesn't effect anything. From what I can observe, the script is preventing the engineer from launching and(or) issueing orders to Construction URVs to begin repair. If the script is started mid repair the Con. URVs just fly around without any orders (they drop w/e orders they had) but still belong to the ship.

At least for other ships, every time i try to test w/ the Skunk I manage to kill myself XD

Posted: Thu, 18. Dec 14, 00:39
by w.evans
Hi StormMagi, any news?

Posted: Thu, 18. Dec 14, 01:21
by StormMagi
Sorry forgot to post a reply post even though I updated the first post.

Same problem all around. It interrupts the engineer's repair commands somehow. While I have a small understanding of programming, I have no idea where to even begin looking and Mad_Joker hasn't responded to my message yet. Also X:R isn't my primary game focus right now so I have no major desire to start delving into code to even attempt to fix. If no one steps up to takeover or help by mid January I will be abandoning the mod and removing it from Nexus and Steam. Or I might leave it as a pre 3.0 mod on those sites, not sure yet.

Posted: Thu, 18. Dec 14, 02:19
by w.evans
A shame, although I can understand that.

I can take a look tomorrow, but I wish someone more competent than I could take a look at this code. Would be a shame to lose the mod. It's useful!

Can't test it properly though, because I haven't observed the problem described. I did observe some freaking out Interceptor drones while playing one of the v3.0 betas. They'd just launch and sit there, and the mother ship would just keep moving like nothing happened. No hostiles to trigger. Never did find the cause for that, but it sounds sort of similar if the problem might be drone-related rather than engineer related.

Having said that I'm not really very good at this (just picked up XML what, last week?), I'm not familiar with how this works:

Code: Select all

xsi:noNamespaceSchemaLocation="../../../modding/md.xsd
It looks like a path referencing md.xsd, but as far as I know, md.xsd is in the "libraries" folder. Maybe something legacy from when it was a part of NESA? (Never used NESA, so don't know what its folder structure looks like.) It looks like this file was nested several folders in from root, in which there is a folder called modding, in which there is a copy (modified?) of md.xsd.

Posted: Thu, 18. Dec 14, 03:27
by StormMagi
NESA was "Never Enter Stations Again" and was pre 2.5 (iirc, which was when Egosoft added similar functionality).

Posted: Thu, 18. Dec 14, 05:23
by ty_cho
I can't tell if this mod is affecting anything or not. Is it the cause of construction drones showing as always in use, even if there are no repairs needed? If not, i've not seen any negative effects that I know of...?

Posted: Thu, 18. Dec 14, 05:47
by StormMagi
That is one of the effects. It either prevents launching to start repairs or if they are in space, prevents them from repairing and returning to dock.

Posted: Thu, 18. Dec 14, 09:19
by wwdragon
StormMagi wrote:That is one of the effects. It either prevents launching to start repairs or if they are in space, prevents them from repairing and returning to dock.
Are you saying that Show Skills is screwing up repairs???? :o

Posted: Thu, 18. Dec 14, 09:49
by StormMagi
Yes, it somehow is. I confirmed it with a clean install, merchant start and just damaged the freighter you get. It prevents engineers from starting repairs and cancels repair operations in progress (which if you then remove the mod the urvs are perma stuck in a loop and won't listen to any commands).

Posted: Thu, 18. Dec 14, 10:49
by w.evans
I posted the code a page back if anyone wants to take a look.

@StormMagi Should I take that down, by the way?

Posted: Thu, 18. Dec 14, 11:25
by w.evans
StormMagi wrote:NESA was "Never Enter Stations Again" and was pre 2.5 (iirc, which was when Egosoft added similar functionality).
I know. I meant, could this:

Code: Select all

xsi:noNamespaceSchemaLocation="../../../modding/md.xsd"
have been carried over from NESA, and could it now be causing problems?

Like I said, I don't really understand how XML works (yet?), but that looks like a path, and as far as I know, the file "md.xsd" is in the "libraries" folder.

Downloaded NESA, and it is so stated there. Also noted that the line could automatically be generated by an xml editor when associating a script with an xsd.

However, checked a couple of other mods, and this line is stated as:

Code: Select all

xsi:noNamespaceSchemaLocation="md.xsd"
in other mods, as well as in Egosoft's own scripts.

Don't know if that'll fix anything because I don't know what it does, but I thought it looked odd.