Page 2 of 7

Posted: Sat, 8. Nov 14, 22:59
by StormMagi
I am not going to do anything until 3.00 is released for two very important reasons.

1) Beta patches have broken it before but it worked again on patch release
2) I only published this mod (with permission). The code came from a discussion thread long ago. I know very little coding and to fix it I would either have to spend far more time that I would care to commit at this point to learn enough scripting to debug and fix. Or I would have to ask the original code creator to debug and fix for me, which he/she may or may not do.

I am planning on asking, but I cannot promise anything.

Posted: Sun, 9. Nov 14, 20:02
by YorrickVander
You used the code from NESA for this? Mad Joker is very relaxed about others using his work (with due credit given of course) and I don't thnk he's even around any more sadly.

Posted: Sun, 9. Nov 14, 22:34
by StormMagi
That is why I said I will ask but I can't promise anything.

Posted: Mon, 10. Nov 14, 02:10
by werewolves?
Maybe someone else can fix it (like Yorrick) :p

Posted: Mon, 10. Nov 14, 02:29
by StormMagi
Going to wait and see once 3.00 is out.

Posted: Fri, 14. Nov 14, 21:38
by wwdragon
StormMagi wrote:Going to wait and see once 3.00 is out.
Ok. :-)

Posted: Fri, 14. Nov 14, 22:52
by werewolves?
Works again. :D

Posted: Sun, 16. Nov 14, 23:40
by wwdragon
werewolves? wrote:Works again. :D
:D

Posted: Sat, 13. Dec 14, 07:43
by StormMagi
Anyone having any trouble with this mod? I have one report via steam that it stops the engineer from repairing modules... (that is all they said so far). I haven't had time to play X:R lately but that should change come Sunday/Monday

Posted: Sat, 13. Dec 14, 12:18
by w.evans
Seems to be working fine. But if there's a conflict with characters (captains, pilots, defence officers, engineers, etc.) who work for the player, adding this:

Code: Select all

        <check_value value="event.param.owner != faction.player"/>
to the conditions SHOULD keep the script from running at all for player-owned entities. It will prevent you from looking up the skills of people who already work for you, though. Haven't tested it since I haven't encountered the engineer bug.

edit: sorry, spoke too soon. "Show me your skills" still appears when talking to characters in the back of the Skunk.

Posted: Sat, 13. Dec 14, 14:50
by w.evans
Been fiddling with the script for a bit, and getting nowhere, when I thought to run the game in pure vanilla.

If I understand the problem correctly, it is that Engineers working for faction.player who are assigned to different ships do not give the option to repair the Skunk when spoken to. This change appears to have been done in vanilla, and the Showskills.xml script in this mod does not interfere with that in any way. That is, we are now no longer able to ask Engineers working for us to repair the Skunk, the way we could ask, say, an NPC Engineer in a Station. Also, the option to ask NPCs to "show me your skills, please." are now always present. Can't remember if it was always like that, since I've been playing with the Show Skills mod active since v2.50.

That said, an Engineer assigned to the Skunk should repair the Skunk as normal within the limits set by the game. (up to 90% hull for a 5-star Engineer, not sure if modules are repaired by default as well anymore since the Skunk can no longer acquire construction drones.)

Engineers working for faction.player, but who are assigned to different ships, will repair the ships they are assigned to, but cannot be asked to repair the Skunk. Again, this appears to be working as intended as set by vanilla X-Rebirth.

Posted: Sat, 13. Dec 14, 18:49
by ty_cho
w.evans wrote:That said, an Engineer assigned to the Skunk should repair the Skunk as normal within the limits set by the game. (up to 90% hull for a 5-star Engineer, not sure if modules are repaired by default as well anymore since the Skunk can no longer acquire construction drones.)
I've never once bought construction drones for the skunk (2.0, 2.5, 3.0 betas), the engineer has always repaired the hull and modules very quickly, even in the middle of combat. I don't think they were ever needed/used, which is why they removed the option to buy them for the skunk.

Posted: Sun, 14. Dec 14, 02:03
by StormMagi
OK I will play around with that scenario to start then. Get in fight with engineer on board with mod/vanilla and see what happens.

If something is broken though I will (as mentioned before) need help fixing it or I can just pass on the mod to whoever wants to take it over since I just published it.

Posted: Sun, 14. Dec 14, 16:28
by w.evans
I'd gladly help, but I must say that I'm not all that experienced in xml scripting in general, and in md scripting in particular.

That said, the code looks fine.

I think that this line:

Code: Select all

        <show_help force="true" chance="0" custom="'Revealed skills of NPC %1 (%2), distance=%3, combinedskill=%4'.[event.object, event.object.knownname, event.object.distanceto.{player.entity}, event.object.combinedskill]" />
in [/mdscript/cues/cue/actions] is redundant though. Tried running the game with that line commented out, and it worked fine.

Posted: Sun, 14. Dec 14, 17:51
by UniTrader
w.evans wrote:I'd gladly help, but I must say that I'm not all that experienced in xml scripting in general, and in md scripting in particular.

That said, the code looks fine.

I think that this line:

Code: Select all

        <show_help force="true" chance="0" custom="'Revealed skills of NPC %1 (%2), distance=%3, combinedskill=%4'.[event.object, event.object.knownname, event.object.distanceto.{player.entity}, event.object.combinedskill]" />
in [/mdscript/cues/cue/actions] is redundant though. Tried running the game with that line commented out, and it worked fine.
this is just for displaying a hint/notice that the Skills of an NPC are now set to known, it doesnt have anything to do with the actual functionality ;)